Appendix D

Annual report of the Information Commissioner Ad Hoc

It is my pleasure to report here on the activities of the Office of the Information Commissioner, Ad Hoc. On April 1, 2007, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) became subject to the Access to Information Act (Act). This means that an access to information request can be made to the OIC as an institution to which the right of access to information applies.

The law that brought this about did not, however, create a mechanism separate from the OIC, which oversees government compliance with access requests, to investigate any complaints that access requests to the OIC have not been handled as the Act requires. Since it is a fundamental principle of access to information law that decisions on the disclosure of government information should be reviewed independently, the office of an independent Information Commissioner Ad Hoc was created and given the authority to investigate any such complaints about the OIC

More specifically, pursuant to subsection 59(1) of the Act, the Information Commissioner has authorized me, as Commissioner, Ad Hoc:

…to exercise or perform all of the powers, duties and functions of the Information Commissioner set out in the Access to Information Act, including sections 30 to 37 and section 42 inclusive of the Access to Information Act, for the purpose of receiving and independently investigating any complaint described in section 30 of the Access to Information Act arising in response to access requests made in accordance with the Act to the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada.

Outstanding complaints from previous year

Our office had no outstanding complaints from the previous year.

New complaints this year

Four new complaints were received this year. These complaints were investigated and disposed of by the end of fiscal year.

The central issue in three of the complaints concerned the proper application of paragraph 16.1(1)(c) of the Act. This provision exempts from production information obtained or created in the course of an investigation by the OIC. Once the investigation and all related proceedings are finally concluded, however, the exemption is partially lifted. At that point, the exemption no longer applies to documents created during the investigation. 

In each of the three cases, our investigation revealed that the disputed documents had been obtained during the course of the OIC’s own investigations. I therefore found that the OIC properly applied the mandatory exemption in refusing to disclose the requested documents.

In the fourth case, the complainant alleged that he had been denied access to records. My investigation concluded that the records sought were not under the control of the OIC.

In the upshot, all of these complaints were found to be not well-founded.

In addition to these four complaints, this Office also received correspondence from a number of individuals who were dissatisfied with how the OIC had investigated their complaints and what they described as the OIC’s delay in issuing findings regarding their complaints. This Office does not have jurisdiction to investigate concerns about how the OIC has investigated complaints made to it as the oversight body under the Act. Nor can my Office investigate concerns about delay by the OIC in processing such complaints. My mandate is limited to receiving and investigating complaints that an access request for a record under the control of the OIC itself may have been improperly handled.  

Conclusion

The existence of an independent Information Commissioner, Ad Hoc helps to ensure the integrity of the OIC’s handling of access requests made to it, as an institution, and therefore contributes to the proper functioning overall system of access to information at the federal level. My Office looks forward to continuing to play this part in access to information. 

Respectfully submitted,

David Loukidelis, QC
Commissioner, Ad Hoc for the
Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada
April 2017

Annexe D

Rapport annuel du commissaire à l’information ad hoc

Il me fait plaisir de présenter le rapport des activités du Commissariat à l’information ad hoc. Le 1er avril 2007, le Commissariat à l’information est devenu assujetti à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi). En vertu de ce changement, des demandes d’accès à l’information peuvent désormais être déposées au Commissariat à titre d’institution à laquelle le droit à l’information s’applique.

Le Commissariat à l’information s’occupe de surveiller la conformité du gouvernement vis-à-vis les demandes d’accès. Toutefois, les changements à la Loi en 2007 n’ont pas prévus de mécanisme distinct du Commissariat pour enquêter sur les plaintes liées aux demandes d’accès qui n’ont pas été traitées convenablement par le Commissariat comme la Loi le dicte. L’un des principes fondamental de l’accès à l’information est que les décisions sur la communication des renseignements du gouvernement doivent être soumises à un examen indépendant. Pour cette raison, la fonction du commissaire à l’information ad hoc indépendant a été créée et un pouvoir d’enquête sur de telles plaintes déposées au Commissariat lui a été conféré.

Plus précisément, en vertu des dispositions du paragraphe 59(1) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, la commissaire à l’information m’a autorisé, en qualité de commissaire ad hoc, à exercer :

[…] tous les pouvoirs et fonctions qui lui sont conférés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, incluant les articles 30 à 37 et l’article 42 de la Loi afin de recevoir et de faire enquête de façon indépendante au sujet de toute plainte énumérée à l’article 30 de la Loi provenant des réponses aux demandes de communication faites au Commissariat à l’information du Canada en vertu de la Loi.

Plaintes non réglées de l’année précédente

Notre bureau n’a pas de plaintes non réglées datant de l’année précédente.

Nouvelles plaintes de cette année

Quatre nouvelles plaintes ont été reçues cette année. Ces plaintes ont fait l’objet d’une enquête et ont été réglées avant la fin de l’exercice.

Dans trois de ces plaintes, l’enjeu central traitait de l’application adéquate de l’alinéa 16.1(1)(c) de la Loi. Cette disposition exclut de la production tout renseignement obtenu ou créé dans le cadre d’une enquête menée par le Commissariat. Cependant, une fois que l’enquête et toute instance afférente sont terminées, l’exception est partiellement levée. À cette étape, l’exception ne s’applique plus aux documents créés au cours de l’enquête.

Dans chacun de ces trois cas, notre enquête a révélé que les documents en litige ont été obtenus dans le cadre des enquêtes menées par le Commissariat. J’ai donc constaté que le Commissariat a bien appliqué l’exception obligatoire en refusant de divulguer les documents demandés.

Dans le quatrième cas, le plaignant affirme que l’accès aux documents lui a été refusé. Mon enquête a révélé que les documents en litige ne relevaient pas du Commissariat.

Tout compte fait, ces plaintes se sont révélés être non fondés.

En plus de ces quatre plaintes, nous avons également reçu de la correspondance venant d’un certain nombre d’individus qui n’étaient pas satisfaits de la façon dont le Commissariat avait traité leurs plaintes, ni de ce qui a été décrit comme étant un retard avant d’émettre le résultat des enquêtes. Nous n’avons pas la compétence de mener des enquêtes sur les préoccupations portant sur le traitement des plaintes que le Commissariat reçoit en tant qu’organisme de surveillance de la Loi. Nous ne pouvons pas non plus mener des enquêtes sur les préoccupations portant sur les retards occasionnés par le Commissariat pour traiter de telles plaintes. Mon mandat se limite à la réception de plaintes et à l’enquête de celles-ci lorsqu’elles découlent d’une demande d’accès pour des documents qui relèvent du Commissariat et qui n’aurait pas été dûment traitée.

Conclusion

Le poste de commissaire ad hoc a été créé pour assurer l’intégrité du processus lié aux plaintes au sein du Commissariat à l’information en tant qu’institution. Il contribue au bon fonctionnement général du système d’accès à l’information au niveau fédéral. Nous considérons que c’est un privilège d’assumer ces fonctions au chapitre de l’accès à l’information.

Respectueusement soumis,

David Loukidelis, c.r.
Commissaire ad hoc pour le
Commissariat à l’information du Canada
Avril 2017