4. Advising Parliament

As an Agent of Parliament, the Commissioner provides advice to Parliament on important access-related matters and on the functioning of her office to ensure sufficient ongoing oversight of the access system.

Special report to Parliament: Investigation into an access to information request for the Long-gun Registry

On May 7, 2015, Bill C-59, the Economic Action Plan 2015 Act, No. 1 was introduced in Parliament. Included in this bill were retroactive amendments to the Ending the Long-gun Registry Act (ELRA). (Background: “Access to information: Freedom of expression and the rule of law”).

On May 14, 2015, the Commissioner tabled in Parliament her special report on her investigation into the treatment by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) of an access to information request for the data in the national long-gun registry.

On June 2, 2015, the Commissioner appeared before the House of Commons Standing Committee on Finance as part of its study of Bill C-59 to discuss the division of the bill that amended the ELRA.

The following day, June 3, 2015, the Commissioner appeared before the Standing Senate Committee on National Finance to discuss the same division of Bill C-59. Representatives from the RCMP also appeared on the same issue.

At both of these appearances, the Commissioner voiced her serious concerns with the division of Bill C-59 that amended the ELRA. She advised the committees about the implications of passing this legislation without amendment, warning that, if passed, this legislation would retroactively quash Canadians’ right of access and the government’s obligations under the Access to Information Act.

Bill C-59 was passed on June 23, 2015 without amendment (for more details, see “Access to long-gun registry information and challenge to the constitutionality of the Ending the Long-gun Registry Act”).

Main Estimates

On May 25, 2015, the Commissioner appeared before the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics (ETHI) to discuss the Main Estimates for the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada for 2015–2016. The Main Estimates are a summary of the estimated financial requirements for a federal department or agency in a particular expenditure category.

During this appearance, the Commissioner discussed her budget and priorities, and expressed concern that, in the face of a growing workload, her current funding level was having an impact on her ability to carry out her mandate and to face contingencies. She had voiced similar concerns before this same committee in May and December 2014.

The Committee’s vote for the program expenditure of the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada was agreed to on division.

Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics committee: Setting priorities

In February 23, 2016, the Commissioner was invited to appear at a briefing session before the newly constituted ETHI committee, alongside three of her fellow agents of Parliament that report to this same committee (the Privacy, Lobbying, and Conflict of Interest and Ethics commissioners). Each commissioner was asked to identify priorities for the Committee to study going forward.

The Information Commissioner’s recommendation to the Committee was to give priority to the modernization of the Access to Information Act. She advocated that the Act needs to be amended so that it strikes the right balance between the public’s right to know and the government’s need to protect limited and specific information.

The Committee decided to undertake a study of the Access to Information Act.

Parliamentary study of the Access to Information Act

On February 25, 2016, the ETHI committee commenced its study of the Access to Information Act. The Information Commissioner was the first witness to appear as part of the Committee’s study. During this appearance the Commissioner discussed her special report Striking the Right Balance for Transparency: Recommendations to modernize the Access to Information Act.

On March 22, 2016 also made a further written submission to the Committee, at their request, to elaborate on her recommendation that the Act include criteria for determining which institutions should be subject to the Act.

As part of its study, the Committee has subsequently met with some provincial commissioners, representatives from government and other stakeholders. The Commissioner has also been invited to appear before the Committee for a second time on May 19, 2016.

The Committee intends to table its report before the House of Commons recesses for the summer.

Other parliamentary activities

Library of Parliament seminar

On May 29, 2015, the Commissioner gave a seminar at the Library of Parliament on her special report Striking the Right Balance for Transparency: Recommendations to modernize the Access to Information Act. Parliamentarians and their employees were invited to attend, as were employees of the Senate and the House of Commons and the Library of Parliament.

The Commissioner’s presentation documented the multiple challenges and deficiencies with the Access to Information Act. She gave a high level summary of the 85 recommendations she made in her report to modernize the Act.

Orientation for new members of Parliament on the agents of Parliament

As a result of the October 19, 2015 election, approximately 200 individuals were elected to the House of Commons who had never served as members of Parliament (MPs) before. In light of this large cohort of new MPs, the Commissioner proposed to the Library of Parliament that it consider providing the new MPs a seminar focused on the agents of Parliament during their orientation. The Library agreed and invited the Commissioner and her fellow agents of Parliament to give a panel discussion to the new MPs on February 19, 2016.

Luncheon with the Speaker of the House of Commons

On February 25, 2016, the Commissioner had the pleasure to attend a luncheon with the Speaker of the House of Commons, the Honourable Geoff Regan, alongside her fellow agents of Parliament.

4. Conseiller le Parlement

En tant qu’agente du Parlement, la commissaire fournit des conseils au Parlement sur des questions importantes liées à l’accès à l’information et sur le fonctionnement de son Commissariat pour assurer une surveillance continue et adéquate du système d’accès à l’information.

Rapport spécial présenté au Parlement : enquête sur une demande d’accès à l’information concernant le registre des armes d’épaule

Le 7 mai 2015, le projet de loi C-59 (la Loi no 1 sur le plan d’action économique de 2015) a été déposé au Parlement. Ce projet de loi comprenait des modifications rétroactives à la Loi sur l'abolition du registre des armes d'épaule (LARA). (Contexte : « Accès à l’information : liberté d’expression et primauté du droit ».

Le 14 mai 2015, la commissaire a déposé au Parlement son rapport spécial d’enquête sur le traitement par la Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) d’une demande d’accès à l’information concernant les données contenues dans le registre national des armes d’épaule.

Le 2 juin 2015, la commissaire s’est présentée devant le Comité permanent des finances de la Chambre des communes dans le cadre de son étude du projet de loi C-59 pour discuter de la section visant à la LARA.

Le jour d'après, le 3 juin 2015, la commissaire s'est également présentée devant le Comité sénatorial permanent des finances nationales pour discuter de cette même section du projet de loi C-59. Les représentants de la GRC se sont aussi présentés pour la même question.

Lors de ces deux comparutions, la commissaire a exprimé de sérieuses réserves à l'égard de la section du projet de loi C-59 qui modifiait la LARA. Elle a informé les comités des conséquences que pourrait avoir l’adoption du projet de loi sans modification, les avertissant que cette loi pourrait annuler le droit d’accès des Canadiens et les obligations du gouvernement en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Le projet de loi C-59 a été adopté le 23 juin 2015, sans modification. (Pour plus de détails, veuillez consulter « Accès à l'information contenue dans le registre des armes d’épaule et contestation de la constitutionnalité de la Loi sur l’abolition du registre des armes d’épaule ».

Budget principal des dépenses

Le 25 mai 2015, la commissaire s’est présentée devant le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique (ETHI) de la Chambre des communes afin de discuter du budget principal des dépenses du Commissariat à l’information du Canada pour 2015-2016. Le budget principal des dépenses est une estimation sommaire des besoins financiers d’un ministère ou d’un organisme fédéral pour une catégorie particulière de dépenses.

Lors de sa comparution, la commissaire a parlé de son budget et de ses priorités et s’est dite préoccupée que, vu une charge de travail croissante, le niveau actuel de financement compromette sa capacité à remplir son mandat et à faire face aux imprévus. Elle avait déjà exprimé des préoccupations semblables devant ce même Comité en mai et en décembre 2014.

Le vote du Comité concernant les dépenses du programme du Commissariat à l’information du Canada a été adopté à la majorité.

Comité de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique : définition des priorités

Le 23 février 2016, la commissaire a été invitée à se présenter devant le comité ETHI nouvellement constitué, à l’occasion d’une séance d’information, avec trois de ses agents du Parlement relevant du même comité (les commissaires à la protection de la vie privée, au lobbying, aux conflits d’intérêts et à l’éthique). Il a été demandé à chaque commissaire d’indiquer les priorités sur lesquelles le Comité devrait se pencher à l’avenir.

La commissaire à l'information a recommandé au Comité de donner la priorité à la modernisation de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Elle a plaidé en faveur de la modification de la Loi afin que celle-ci puisse atteindre le juste équilibre entre le droit du public à l’information et la nécessité pour le gouvernement de protéger une information précise et limitée.

Le comité a accepté d’entreprendre une étude concernant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Étude parlementaire concernant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

L’étude du comité ETHI concernant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information a commencé le 25 février 2016. La commissaire à l’information a été le premier témoin à se présenter dans le cadre de cette étude. Lors de cette comparution, elle a parlé de son rapport spécial intitulé Viser juste pour la transparence – Recommandations pour moderniser la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Le 22 mars 2016 a également envoyé une soumission écrite au Comité, qui lui avait demandé d’expliquer de manière plus approfondie sa recommandation d’inclure dans la Loi des critères servant à déterminer quelles institutions devraient être assujetties à la Loi.

Dans le cadre de son étude, le Comité a ensuite rencontré certains commissaires provinciaux, représentants du gouvernement et autres intervenants. La commissaire a été invitée à se présenter devant le Comité une seconde fois le 19 mai 2016.

Le Comité entend déposer son rapport devant la Chambre des communes avant les vacances parlementaires estivales.

Autres activités parlementaires

Colloque de la Bibliothèque du Parlement

Le 29 mai 2015, la commissaire a fait une présentation à la Bibliothèque du Parlement portant sur son rapport spécial intitulé Viser juste pour la transparence – Recommandations pour moderniser la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Des parlementaires et leurs employés, ainsi que des employés du Sénat, de la Chambre des communes et de la Bibliothèque du Parlement étaient invités.

Dans sa présentation, la commissaire constatait plusieurs problèmes et lacunes dans la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Elle a sommairement rendu compte des 85 recommandations énoncées dans son rapport en vue de moderniser la Loi.

Orientation des nouveaux membres du Parlement sur les agents du Parlement

À la suite des élections du 19 octobre 2015, environ 200 personnes n’ayant jamais siégé en tant que membres du Parlement auparavant ont été élues à la Chambre des communes. Étant donné ce nombre important, la commissaire a suggéré à la Bibliothèque du Parlement d'organiser un colloque pour les nouveaux députés, consacré aux agents du Parlement dans le cadre de leur orientation. La Bibliothèque a accepté et invité la commissaire et les agents du Parlement à tenir une discussion en groupe avec les nouveaux membres du Parlement le 19 février 2016.

Déjeuner avec le Président de la Chambre des communes

Le 25 février 2016, la commissaire ainsi que les agents du Parlement ont eu le plaisir de déjeuner avec le Président de la Chambre des communes, l’honorable Geoff Regan.