Letter to the Minister of Justice and President of the Treasury Board regarding the impact of the Supreme Court of Canada’s decision in Information and Privacy Commissioner of Alberta v. The Board of Governors of the University of Calgary on OIC investigations

The Honourable Scott Brison, P.C., M.P.
President of the Treasury Board of Canada
90 Elgin Street, 8th Floor
Ottawa ON  K1A 0R5

and

The Honourable Jody Wilson-Raybould, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada
284 Wellington Street
Ottawa, ON  K1A 0H8

 

Re: Implications of the Supreme Court of Canada decisions in Alberta (Information and Privacy Commissioner) v. University of Calgary, 2016 SCC 53 and Lizotte v. Aviva Insurance Company, 2016 SCC 52 for the application of the Access to Information Act


Dear Ministers:

I am writing to you in your respective capacities as minister responsible for the administration of the access to information regime at the federal level and minister responsible for overseeing amendments to federal legislation.

I am concerned about the potential ramifications for the federal access to information regime of the Supreme Court of Canada’s recent decisions in both Alberta (Information and Privacy Commissioner) v. University of Calgary, 2016 SCC 53 (University of Calgary) and Lizotte v. Aviva Insurance Company, 2016 SCC 52 (Lizotte). I will first address my concerns with the University of Calgary decision, before turning to Lizotte.

In University of Calgary, a majority of the Supreme Court determined that the Alberta Information and Privacy Commissioner is not empowered to order the production of records over which public institutions have claimed solicitor-client privilege. In my view, this decision, which was issued in relation to Alberta’s Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FOIPP), does not displace the obligation of federal government institutions subject to the Access to Information Act (the Act) to provide the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) with records over which solicitor-client privilege is claimed.

The reasons articulated by the majority of the Supreme Court are silent with respect to the Act, which was passed more than a decade earlier than the Alberta legislation, before solicitor-client privilege had been fully recognized as a substantive legal rule. In my view, in granting the Information Commissioner the power to order the production of records notwithstanding any privilege under the law of evidence, Parliament intended to include solicitor-client privilege within the scope of this power.

This view is consistent with longstanding practice at the federal level. Over the course of the more than 30 years since the enactment of the Act, federal government institutions have been providing records over which the solicitor-client privilege exemption has been claimed to the OIC so that it can verify that this privilege has been properly asserted. In addition, the Attorney General of Canada elected not to intervene before the Supreme Court in relation to these proceedings. Taken together, these considerations reflect the clear understanding at the federal level that the Act entitles the Information Commissioner to review records over which the solicitor-client exemption has been claimed.

Accordingly, the OIC will continue to proceed on the basis that it has the power to review and order the production of records in respect of which government institutions subject to the Act have claimed the exemption for solicitor-client privilege. I will also expect institutions to continue to provide such records to the OIC.

To proceed otherwise would be tantamount to transforming the exemption for solicitor-client privileged records into an exclusion, effectively requiring that such records be treated in a manner akin to Cabinet confidences. In my view, such an approach cannot be reconciled with either the fundamental purposes of the Act, which include ensuring effective, independent oversight of government decision-making with respect to the disclosure of government information, or longstanding practice at the federal level.

Similarly, the OIC’s investigation practices will remain unchanged following the Supreme Court’s decision in Lizotte, which determined that clear, explicit and unequivocal language is required to lift litigation privilege. Although the Supreme Court recognized litigation privilege as a common law class privilege that is a fundamental principle of the administration of justice and central to the justice system, it did not refer to this privilege as anything other than a privilege under the law of evidence. In my view, the language of the Act, which allows the Information Commissioner to examine any record to which the Act applies notwithstanding any privilege under the law of evidence, is sufficiently clear to apply to litigation privilege.

In order to avoid any uncertainty, I would ask that you clearly instruct all ministers and ministerial staff members, including your own, as well as the public servants in all of the government institutions for which you and your fellow ministers are collectively responsible that they continue to be obliged to provide the OIC with all records to which the Act applies, including any records in respect of which either solicitor-client privilege or litigation privilege is claimed as an exemption.

For even greater certainty, I would ask that the Act be amended as part of Phase I of the ongoing legislative review to include language that states a clear and unambiguous legislative intent that the Information Commissioner’s investigative powers, including her power to compel institutions to produce records, apply to records over which the exemption for solicitor-client privilege has been claimed.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly in the event that you wish to further discuss this matter.

 

Sincerely,
 

Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada

 

cc.    Yaprak Baltacioğlu, Secretary of the Treasury Board of Canada
         William F. Pentney, Deputy Minister of Justice and Deputy Attorney General of Canada

Lettre au Ministre de la Justice et au Président du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor au sujet de l'impact de la décision de la Cour suprême du Canada dans Information and Privacy Commissioner of Alberta c. The Board of Governors of the University of Calgary sur les enquêtes du Commissariat


L’honorable Scott Brison, c.p., député
Président du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
90, rue Elgin, 8e étage
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0R5

et

L’honorable Jody Wilson-Raybould, c.p., députée
Ministre de la Justice et procureure générale du Canada
284, rue Wellington
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0H8

Objet : Incidences des arrêts Alberta (Information and Privacy Commissioner) c. University of Calgary, 2016 CSC 53, et Lizotte v. Aviva, Compagnie d’assurance du Canada, 2016 CSC 52, prononcés par la Cour suprême du Canada relativement à l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information



Madame la Ministre, Monsieur le Ministre,

Je m’adresse à vous, respectivement, en votre qualité de ministre responsable de l’administration du régime fédéral d’accès à l’information et de ministre responsable des modifications aux lois fédérales.

Je me soucie des répercussions sur le régime fédéral d’accès à l’information que pourraient avoir les arrêts Alberta (Information and Privacy Commissioner) c. University of Calgary, 2016 CSC 53 (University of Calgary), et Lizotte c. Aviva, Compagnie d’assurance du Canada, 2016 CSC 52 (Lizotte), récemment rendus par la Cour suprême du Canada. Je vous ferai part de mes préoccupations d’abord en ce qui concerne l’arrêt University of Calgary, et ensuite en ce qui concerne l’arrêt Lizotte.

Dans l’arrêt University of Calgary, les juges majoritaires de la Cour suprême ont déterminé que la commissaire à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée de l’Alberta n’a pas le pouvoir d’ordonner la production de documents à l’égard desquels les institutions publiques invoquent le secret professionnel de l’avocat. J’estime que cet arrêt, qui a été rendu relativement à la Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act (FOIPP) de l’Alberta, ne peut être interprété de manière à écarter l’obligation des institutions gouvernementales fédérales assujetties à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi) de fournir au Commissariat à l’information du Canada (le Commissariat) des documents à l’égard desquels le secret professionnel de l’avocat est invoqué.

Les juges majoritaires ne donnent dans leurs motifs aucune indication eu égard à la Loi, laquelle a été adoptée plus d’une décennie avant la loi albertaine, soit avant que le secret professionnel de l’avocat ne devienne une règle de droit substantiel pleinement reconnue. À mon avis, en accordant à la commissaire à l’information le pouvoir d’ordonner la production des documents nonobstant toute immunité reconnue par le droit de la preuve, le Parlement souhaitait assujettir le secret professionnel de l’avocat à ce pouvoir.

Cet avis est conforme avec la pratique de longue date adoptée au niveau fédéral. Depuis la promulgation de la Loi il y a plus de 30 ans, les institutions gouvernementales fédérales fournissent au Commissariat des documents à l’égard desquels elles invoquent l’exemption relative au secret professionnel afin de permettre au Commissariat de vérifier la validité de telles assertions. De plus, le procureur général du Canada n’est pas intervenu devant la Cour suprême dans le contexte de ces procédures. Ceci démontre qu’il existe au niveau fédéral une compréhension claire que la Loi accorde à la commissaire à l’information le pouvoir d’examiner les documents à l’égard desquels les institutions ont invoqués l’exemption relative au secret professionnel de l’avocat.

Par conséquent, le Commissariat continuera de mener ses enquêtes sur la base qu’il a le pouvoir d’examiner et d’ordonner la production de documents à l’égard desquels les institutions gouvernementales assujetties à la Loi invoquent le secret professionnel de l’avocat. Je m’attendrai à ce que les institutions continuent de fournir au Commissariat de tels documents.

Modifier cette pratique reviendrait à transformer l’exemption applicable aux documents protégés par le secret professionnel de l’avocat en une exclusion qui exigerait dans les faits que les documents soient traités d’une manière qui s’apparente à l’exclusion fondée sur le caractère confidentiel des documents ou renseignements du Cabinet. À mon avis, une telle approche ne se concilie ni avec les objectifs fondamentaux de la Loi, dont celui de veiller à ce que le processus décisionnel du gouvernement à l’égard de la communication des renseignements du gouvernement fasse l’objet d’une surveillance efficace et indépendante, ni avec la pratique de longue date adoptée au niveau fédéral.

De même, les pratiques d’enquête du Commissariat demeurent inchangées par l’arrêt Lizotte, dans lequel la Cour suprême a jugé que des termes suffisamment clairs, explicites et non équivoques étaient requis pour écarter le privilège relatif au litige. La Cour suprême a certes reconnu que le privilège relatif au litige était un privilège générique de common law qui demeure une règle fondamentale pour l’administration de la justice qui se situe au cœur du système judiciaire, mais elle n’a pas expliqué ce privilège autrement qu’en le qualifiant d’immunité reconnue par le droit de la preuve. J’estime que le libellé de la Loi, lequel autorise la commissaire à l’information à examiner les documents auxquels la Loi s’applique malgré l’existence d’une immunité reconnue par le droit de la preuve, est suffisamment clair pour qu’il s’applique au privilège relatif au litige.

Afin d’éviter toute incertitude, je vous demanderais de donner des directives claires à tous les ministres et à tous les membres du personnel ministériel, incluant le vôtre, ainsi qu’aux fonctionnaires œuvrant dans toutes les institutions gouvernementales qui relèvent collectivement de votre responsabilité et de celle de vos collègues ministres, qu’ils continuent d’avoir l’obligation de fournir au Commissariat tous les documents auxquels la Loi s’applique, notamment ceux à l’égard desquels le secret professionnel de l’avocat ou le privilège relatif au litige est invoqué à titre d’exemption.

Pour plus de certitude, je vous demanderais également de modifier la Loi dans le cadre de la première étape du processus d’examen législatif en cours de façon à ce que le législateur exprime en termes clairs et non équivoques que les pouvoirs d’enquête de la commissaire à l’information, notamment son pouvoir d’ordonner aux institutions de produire des documents, s’appliquent aux documents à l’égard desquels l’exemption relative au secret professionnel de l’avocat est invoquée.

N’hésitez pas à communiquer avec moi directement si vous souhaitez discuter plus longuement de cette question.


Je vous prie de recevoir, Madame la Ministre et Monsieur le Ministre, l’expression de mes sentiments distingués.


Suzanne Legault
Commissaire à l’information du Canada
 

c. c.    Yaprak Baltacioğlu, secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor du Canada
           William F. Pentney, sous-ministre de la Justice et sous-procureur général du Canada