Appendix B: Annual report of the Information Commissioner ad hoc

It is my pleasure to report here on the activities of the Office of the Information Commissioner, Ad Hoc. On April 1, 2007, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) became subject to the Access to Information Act (Act). This means that an access to information request can be made to the OIC as an institution to which the right of access to information applies.

The law that brought this about did not, however, create a mechanism separate from the OIC, which oversees government compliance with access requests, to investigate any complaints that access requests to the OIC have not been handled as the Act requires. Since it is a fundamental principle of access to information law that decisions on the disclosure of government information should be reviewed independently, the office of an independent Information Commissioner, Ad Hoc,was created and given the authority to investigate any such complaints about the OIC

More specifically, pursuant to subsection 59(1) of the Act, the Information Commissioner has authorized me, as Commissioner, Ad Hoc:

…to exercise or perform all of the powers, duties and functions of the Information Commissioner set out in the Access to Information Act, including sections 30 to 37 and section 42 inclusive of the Access to Information Act, for the purpose of receiving and independently investigating any complaint described in section 30 of the Access to Information Act arising in response to access requests made in accordance with the Act to the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada.

Outstanding complaints from previous year

Our Office had no outstanding complaints from the previous year.

New complaints this year

Eleven new complaints were received this year, all of them from the same person. Eight complaints were investigated and disposed of by the end of fiscal year and the remaining three will be part of next year’s annual report.

The central issue in the nine complaints, as well as in the other complaint mentioned, concerned the proper application of paragraph 16.1(1)(c) of the Act. This provision exempts from production information obtained or created in the course of an investigation by the OIC. Once the investigation and all related proceedings are finally concluded, however, the exemption is partially lifted. At that point, the exemption no longer applies to documents created during the investigation. 

In each case, our investigation revealed that the disputed documents had been obtained during the course of the OIC’s own investigations. I therefore found that the OIC had properly applied the mandatory exemption in refusing to disclose the requested documents.

In two of these cases, the OIC had also applied the exemption for personal information and solicitor-client privilege. My investigation confirmed that these exemptions, too, had been properly invoked.

In the upshot, all of these complaints were found to be not well-founded.

In addition to these nine complaints, this Office also received correspondence from a number of individuals who were dissatisfied with how the OIC had investigated their complaints. They also raised concerns about what they described as the OIC’s delay in issuing findings regarding their complaints. This Office does not have jurisdiction to investigate concerns about how the OIC has investigated complaints made to it as the oversight body under the Act. Nor can my Office investigate concerns about any delay by the OIC in processing such complaints. My mandate is limited to receiving and investigating complaints that an access request for a record under the control of the OIC itself may not have been handled in accordance with the legislation.  

Conclusion

The existence of an independent Commissioner, Ad Hoc, helps to ensure the integrity of the OIC’s handling of access requests made to it, as an institution, and therefore contributes to the overall system of access to information at the federal level. My Office looks forward to continuing to play this part in access to information. 

May 31, 2016

David Loukidelis, QC
Information Commissioner, Ad Hoc for the
Office of information Commissioner of Canada

Annexe B : Rapport annuel du commissaire à l’information ad hoc

Rapport du commissaire à l’information ad hoc, pour 2015-2016

J’ai le plaisir de vous présenter mon rapport concernant les activités du bureau du commissaire à l’information ad hoc. Depuis le 1er avril 2007, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada est assujetti à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi). En conséquence, il est possible de présenter une demande d’accès à l’information au Commissariat à titre d’institution à laquelle le droit d’accès à l’information s’applique.

Cependant, cette loi n’a pas créé de mécanisme distinct du Commissariat, lequel est responsable de surveiller la conformité du gouvernement en ce qui a trait aux demandes d’accès à l’information, pour enquêter sur les plaintes impliquant le Commissariat qui n’auraient pas été traitées conformément à la Loi. La loi en matière d’accès à l’information ayant pour principe fondamental que les décisions de communiquer l’information gouvernementale fassent l’objet d’un examen indépendant, le rôle de commissaire à l’information ad hoc a été créé. Celui-ci  est investi du pouvoir de mener enquête au sujet des plaintes concernant le Commissariat.

Plus précisément, en vertu du paragraphe 59(1) de la Loi, la commissaire à l’information m’a autorisé, à titre de commissaire ad hoc, exercer :

[…] tous les pouvoirs et fonctions qui lui sont conférés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, incluant les articles 30 à 37 et l’article 42 de la Loi afin de recevoir les plaintes et de faire des enquêtes de façon indépendante au sujet de toute plainte énumérée à l’article 30 de la Loi provenant des réponses aux demandes de communication faites au Commissariat à l’information du Canada en vertu de la Loi.

Plaintes en suspens depuis l’exercice précédent

Notre bureau n’avait aucune plainte en suspens depuis l’exercice précédent.

Nouvelles plaintes présentées au cours de l’exercice visé par le présent rapport

Onze nouvelles plaintes, toutes formulées par la même personne, ont été reçues au cours de l’exercice visé par le présent rapport. Huit plaintes ont fait l’objet d’une enquête et ont été réglées avant la fin de l’exercice.  Les trois plaintes restantes seront présentées dans le rapport annuel du prochain exercice.

Le problème principal soulevé dans les neuf plaintes, tout comme dans la plainte additionnelle, concerne la bonne application de l’alinéa 16.1(1)c) de la Loi. Selon cette disposition, le Commissariat est exempté de communiquer les renseignements obtenus ou créés dans le cadre d’une enquête. Cependant, une fois l’enquête et toutes les procédures connexes terminées, cette exemption est levée en partie. À ce stade, l’exemption ne s’applique plus aux documents créés durant l’enquête.

Dans chaque cas, notre enquête a révélé que les documents faisant l’objet de la plainte avaient été obtenus durant les enquêtes menées par le Commissariat. J’ai donc conclu que ce dernier avait appliqué cette exemption obligatoire comme il se doit lorsqu’il a refusé de communiquer les documents demandés.

Dans deux de ces cas, le Commissariat avait également appliqué l’exeption concernant les renseignements personnels et le secret professionnel de l’avocat. Mon enquête a confirmé que ces exemptions ont, elles aussi, étaient invoquées comme il se doit.

Il en découle que les plaintes ont été jugées non fondées.

Outre ces neuf plaintes, le commissaire ad hoc a reçu de la correspondance d’un certain nombre de personnes qui n’étaient pas satisfaites de la manière dont le Commissariat avait traité leurs plaintes. Elles ont également soulevé des questions sur le délais pris par celui-ci pour formuler ses conclusions à leur égard. Mon bureau n’a pas les compétences pour enquêter sur la façon dont le Commissariat a mené ses enquêtes n’y au sujet du temps pris par le Commissariat pour traiter  les plaintes qui lui ont été présentées. Mon mandat se limite à la réception des plaintes concernant des demandes d’accès à un dossier relevant du Commissariat que lui-même n’aurait pas traité en conformité avec la Loi.

Conclusion

L’existence du commissaire ad hoc permet de veiller à l’intégrité du traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information présentées au Commissariat, en tant qu’institution, et contribue ainsi au système global d’accès à l’information à l’échelle fédérale. Mon bureau continuera de jouer ce rôle en matière d’accès à l’information.

Le 31 mai 2016,

David Loukidelis, c.r.
Commissaire à l’information ad hoc pour le Commissariat à l’information du Canada.