Message from the Commissioner

Suzanne Legault Last year, I was ringing the warning bell, citing 2014–2015 as one of the most challenging of my mandate.

2015–2016 is showing signs that the tide is turning.

I have noticed a change overall in tone from the government. In my communications with leaders of institutions, there is a perceptible shift towards transparency, a greater willingness to cooperate with my investigations, and an increased respect for the right of access.

The recent announcement from the government to introduce amendments to the Access to Information Act also signals a positive change in terms of transparency from the government, as does the government’s broader commitment to usher in a new era of transparency. I have long believed that one of the most important factors to effect a transformation across government into an open by default culture is meaningful amendment of the Access to Information Act.

The year has not all been positive, however, and difficulties remain. Complaints to my office continue to rise and, without sufficient funding, it is a challenge to close these investigations in a timely manner, while the information is still of value to the requester. The long-gun constitutional challenge remains active, although settlement negotiations aimed at resolving this litigation are ongoing. The two-step approach to reform of the Access to Information Act, as proposed by the government, also gives me pause and leaves me concerned that once the first step has been completed, the second step may be lost as competing priorities emerge for the government.

However, at present, I am optimistic. A new government brings with it new possibilities and I look forward to working with the President of the Treasury Board and the ministers of Justice and Democratic Institutions as they work to revitalize the sorely outdated Access to Information Act to the benefit of Canadians’ access to information rights.

Message de la commissaire

La Commissaire Suzanne Legault

L'an dernier, je lançais le signal d'alarme en citant l'année 2014-2015 comme l'une des plus difficiles de mon mandat.

Le courant semble se renverser en 2015-2016.

J'ai remarqué un changement général dans le ton du gouvernement. Dans mes communications avec les cadres des institutions, j'ai perçu un virage vers la transparence, une volonté accrue de coopérer à mes enquêtes, ainsi qu'un plus grand respect du droit d'accès à l'information.

La récente annonce du gouvernement concernant son intention d'apporter des modifications à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information est également un signe positif de changement en ce qui a trait à la transparence du gouvernement, tout comme son engagement plus vaste à introduire une nouvelle ère de transparence. Je crois depuis longtemps que l'un des principaux facteurs d'instauration d'une culture ouverte par défaut à l'échelle du gouvernement est la modification majeure de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

Cependant, l'année n'a pas été que positive, et des difficultés subsistent. Les plaintes à mon bureau continuent d’augmenter et, sans un financement suffisant, il est difficile de conclure rapidement ces enquêtes, tandis que l'information est toujours valable pour le demandeur. La contestation constitutionnelle relative au Registre des armes d'épaule est toujours d'actualité, bien que des négociations visant la résolution de ce litige soient en cours. L'approche en deux phases proposée par le gouvernement pour la réforme de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information me laisse perplexe : je crains qu'une fois la première étape terminée, la seconde pourrait tomber dans l'oubli au profit de priorités concurrentes pour le gouvernement.

Toutefois, pour le moment, je suis optimiste. Un nouveau gouvernement amène de nouvelles possibilités, et je suis prête à travailler avec le président du Conseil du Trésor et les ministres de la Justice et des Institutions démocratiques dans la revitalisation de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, maintenant nettement désuète, au profit des droits d'accès à l'information des Canadiens.

    Suivant