Appendix B: Annual Report of the Information Commissioner Ad Hoc

This is the fourth year that it has been my pleasure to report on the activities of the Office of the Information Commissioner, Ad Hoc. On April 1, 2007, the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) became subject to the Access to Information Act (the "ATI Act"). The law that brought this about did not create at the same time a separate mechanism to investigate any complaints that an access request to the OIC has been improperly handled. 

Since it is a fundamental principle of access to information law that decisions on the disclosure of government information should be reviewed independently, the office of an independent Information Commissioner, Ad Hoc, was created and given the authority to investigate any such complaints about the OIC.

More specifically, pursuant to subsection 59(1) of the ATI Act, the Information Commissioner has authorized me, as Commissioner, Ad Hoc:

… to exercise or perform all of the powers, duties and functions of the Information Commissioner set out in the Access to Information Act, including sections 30 to 37 and section 42 inclusive of the Access to Information Act, for the purpose of receiving and independently investigat[ing] any complaint described in section 30 of the Access to Information Act arising in response to access requests made in accordance with the Act to the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada.

I am the fourth person to hold this office since 2007.

The following reviews all the complaints my office investigated and closed from April 1, 2014, to the end of my term on May 30, 2015.

Outstanding complaints from previous year

Three complaints from last year were still outstanding as this year began, all filed by the same person. 

The central issue in these complaints concerned the proper application of paragraph 16.1(1)(c) of the ATI Act. This provision exempts from production information obtained or created in the course of an investigation by the OIC. Once the investigation and all related proceedings are finally concluded, however, the exemption is partially lifted. At that point, the exemption no longer applies to documents created during the investigation.

In each case, our investigation revealed that the disputed documents had been obtained during the course of the OIC’s own investigations. The OIC was therefore right to apply the mandatory exemption and to refuse to disclose these documents.

In two of these cases, the OIC had also applied the exemption for personal information under section 19 of the Act. Our investigation confirmed that this exemption, too, was correctly invoked.

An interesting issue arose in one of these complaints. The OIC had made two separate responses to the ATI applicant. In the first, which it called its formal response, the OIC applied section 16.1(1)(c) strictly, refusing disclosure of all information obtained by it during its investigation, including the personal information that the requester himself had provided to the OIC. In the second, which the OIC called its informal response, it had given the applicant back his own personal information.

The OIC no longer makes such informal releases. Taking into account comments by this Office about paragraph 16.1(1)(c) in another matter, the OIC has changed its practice. In section 6 of its Annual Report on the Administration of the Access to Information Act from April 1, 2013, to March 31, 2014, the OIC explained why it had first adopted this practice, and why it had changed its procedures:

The ATIP Secretariat no longer issues informal releases to individuals seeking access to records pertaining to investigations of their own complaints. It had introduced this practice in the interests of transparency, since otherwise it would be unable, due to the requirements of paragraph 16.1(1)(c) of the Act, to release to requesters information they themselves had provided to the OIC in the context of investigations. The decision to cease this practice was made in light of observations by the Information Commissioner ad hoc in the context of an investigation about the OIC’s application of paragraph 16.1(1)(c). The Commissioner will address this matter in her upcoming special report on modernizing the Act.

Given this change of procedure, and the fact that the informal release had actually resulted in more information being given to the applicant, not less, this Office concluded that all three complaints were not well-founded.

New complaints this year

Twelve new complaints were received this year, 10 of them from the same person who had filed the three complaints discussed in the section immediately above. All 12 were investigated and disposed of before the end of my term.

The main issue in the 10 new complaints lodged by the same person, as well as in one complaint filed by another individual, again concerned the proper application of paragraph 16.1(1)(c) of the ATI Act. One also involved an exemption for personal information. 

The results of these 11 investigations were the same as for the three similar cases from last year. We found that sections 16.1 and 19 of the ATI Act had been properly applied throughout, and in the one instance in which the OIC had made both a formal and an informal response, that request had been processed before OIC had stopped issuing informal releases.

In the upshot, all 11 of these complaints were held to be not well-founded.

The last new complaint dealt with paragraph 19(2)(a) of the ATI Act, which allows the head of a government institution to disclose personal information if the individual to whom the personal information relates consents to the disclosure. This complaint raised two related issues: first, had the OIC properly sought the consent of the affected individuals and, second, if consent was given, did the OIC retain any residual discretion to refuse to disclose the records?

This last complaint arose out of an access to information request for a list of all access and privacy requests submitted to the OIC in a certain period. With respect to the Privacy Act requests, the OIC severed the names of requesters and other personal information, and then disclosed the rest of the information. But the OIC did not ask the Privacy Act requesters if they would consent to the disclosure of their personal information. It is longstanding policy of the Treasury Board Secretariat to protect the name of all requesters under both the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act. The OIC said that it felt that for it to go against such established policy and to seek consent to the disclosure of personal names would cause distress to the people involved, and be perceived as insensitive to privacy values fundamental to the ATIP regime that the OIC is dedicated to preserving. Since it could see no public interest in releasing such details, it exercised its discretion not to seek consent. This Office agrees with this decision.

As for the ATI Act requests, many of them related to the same subject matter. The OIC realized that, because of the context and the interconnectedness of these records, if they were released even with the names severed it would be possible to figure out the identity or identities of other individuals associated with these documents. This is due to the so-called mosaic effect. This is the idea that when bits of seemingly innocuous information are joined with other bits of equally innocuous information, they sometimes combine to tell a story that the individual pieces by themselves do not. It is similar to what happens when a jigsaw puzzle is assembled from many separate pieces, none of which, by itself, looks like the finished picture. In this case, because these requests overlapped, there was a strong mosaic effect, so the other information was withheld.For this and other reasons, the OIC did not ask the requesters for their consent to the disclosure, direct or indirect, of their personal information.

This Office agreed with this decision, too, except in one instance in which it seemed more information might be safely disclosed. Following discussions with this Office, the OIC contacted the individual to whom the personal information related in that ATI request and sought her consent to its disclosure. This individual consented to the release of the entire document containing her personal information.

Despite the individual’s consent to the release of the whole document, the OIC nevertheless continued to exempt portions of the record. The OIC did so because it said it still believed that, through the mosaic effect, disclosing the entire record would reveal personal information about other people, too. The OIC therefore exercised its discretion under paragraph 19(2)(a) not to disclose the full record, an approach supported by recent Federal Court case law. This Office agreed with the OIC’s handling of this request.

This complaint was therefore resolved.

In addition to these complaints, this Office also received two letters about matters that were outside our mandate. One, for example, was from an individual who was dissatisfied with how the OIC had investigated his complaint about how another government department had dealt with his access request. This Office does not have jurisdiction to investigate such cases. Our mandate is limited to receiving and investigating complaints that an access request for a record under the control of the OIC itself may have been improperly handled.

Conclusion

The existence of an independent Commissioner, Ad Hoc, ensures the integrity of the complaints process at the OIC. It has been a privilege to serve as Information Commissioner, Ad Hoc, these past four years.

 

Respectfully submitted,

John H. Sims, Q.C.

Annexe B : Rapport annuel du commissaire à l’information ad hoc

C’est avec plaisir que je présente, pour une quatrième année, le rapport des activités du Commissariat à l’information ad hoc. Le 1er avril 2007, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada est devenu assujetti à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi). La loi qui a amené cette modification n’a pas créé en même temps un mécanisme distinct pour enquêter sur les plaintes selon lesquelles une demande d’accès au Commissariat à l’information du Canada n’a pas été traitée correctement.  

Étant donné que l’examen indépendant des décisions relatives à la divulgation de l’information gouvernementale constitue un principe cardinal de la Loi, on a créé le bureau d’un commissaire à l’information ad hoc indépendant et on lui a conféré un pouvoir d’enquête relativement aux plaintes visant le Commissariat.

Plus précisément, en vertu du paragraphe 59(1) de la Loi, la commissaire à l’information m’a autorisé, en qualité de commissaire ad hoc :

[…] à exercer tous les pouvoirs et fonctions qui lui sont conférés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, y compris les articles 30 à 37 et 42 de la Loi, afin, d’une part, de recevoir toute plainte décrite dans l’article 30 de la Loi et découlant des réponses aux demandes de communication adressées au Commissariat à l’information du Canada en vertu de la Loi et afin, d’autre part, de faire enquête de façon indépendante sur une telle plainte.
Je suis la quatrième personne à occuper cette fonction depuis 2007.

Le rapport rend compte de l’ensemble des plaintes sur lesquelles mon bureau a enquêté et qu’il a complétées entre le 1er avril 2014 et la fin de mon mandat, le 30 mai 2015.

Plaintes reportées de l’exercice précédent

Les trois plaintes de l’exercice précédent, qui restaient en suspens au début du présent exercice, émanaient de la même personne.  

L’enjeu central de ces plaintes concernait l’application de l’alinéa 16.1(1)c) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Cet alinéa porte sur l’exception relative à l’obligation de communiquer les renseignements obtenus ou créés dans le cadre d’une enquête du Commissariat à l’information du Canada. Toutefois, dès que l’enquête et toutes les procédures connexes sont terminées, l’exception est partiellement levée. À cette étape, l’exception ne s’applique plus aux documents créés durant l’enquête.

Dans chaque cas, notre enquête a permis de conclure que les documents contestés avaient été obtenus durant des enquêtes menées par le Commissariat. Par conséquent, le Commissariat a eu raison de faire valoir l’exception obligatoire et de refuser de communiquer les documents en question.

Dans deux des dossiers, le Commissariat a également fait valoir l’exception relative aux renseignements personnels visée à l’article 19 de la Loi. Notre enquête a confirmé que le Commissariat avait également invoqué cette exception à bon droit.

L’une de ces plaintes a soulevé une question intéressante. Le Commissariat a donné deux réponses distinctes à l’auteur des demandes en vertu de la Loi. Dans la première, qu’il appelle sa « réponse officielle », le Commissariat a appliqué à la lettre l’alinéa 16.1(1)c) en refusant de communiquer tous les renseignements qu’il a obtenus dans le cadre de son enquête, y compris les renseignements personnels que l’auteur de la demande avait fournis lui-même au Commissariat. Dans la seconde réponse, que le Commissariat qualifie d’« informelle », il transmet à l’auteur de la demande ses propres renseignements personnels.

Depuis, le Commissariat a cessé de communiquer des renseignements de manière « informelle ». Il a cessé cette pratique par suite des commentaires sur l’alinéa 16.1(1)c) que lui avait formulés notre bureau dans un autre dossier. Dans la section 6 de son Rapport annuel sur l’administration de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information du 1er avril 2013 au 31 mars 2014, le Commissariat explique pourquoi il avait adopté cette pratique en premier lieu, et pourquoi il a modifié ses façons de procéder :

Le Secrétariat de l’AIPRP ne transmet plus à titre non officiel des dossiers à des particuliers cherchant à accéder à des documents concernant des enquêtes sur leurs propres plaintes. Compte tenu des obligations prévues à l’alinéa 16.1(1)c), le Secrétariat avait mis en œuvre cette pratique dans l’intérêt de la transparence puisque autrement, il ne pouvait pas divulguer aux demandeurs l’information qu’ils avaient eux-mêmes donnée au Commissariat dans le cadre d’une enquête. Cette décision de cesser cette pratique a été prise à la lumière d’observations faites par le commissaire à l’information ad hoc dans le contexte d’une enquête sur l’application de l’alinéa 16.1(1)c) par le Commissariat. La commissaire se penchera sur cette question dans son prochain rapport spécial sur la modernisation de la Loi.

Au vu de la décision du Commissariat de cesser de communiquer des renseignements de manière informelle, et étant donné que, dans les faits, cette pratique a donné lieu à la communication de plus de renseignements à l’auteur de la demande et non l’inverse, notre bureau a conclu que les trois plaintes étaient non fondées.

Nouvelles plaintes au cours du présent exercice

Douze nouvelles plaintes ont été reçues au cours de l’exercice, dont 10 provenaient de la même personne à l’origine des trois plaintes évoquées précédemment. Les 12 plaintes ont fait l’objet d’enquêtes et ont été complétées avant la fin de mon mandat.

L’application de l’alinéa 16.1(1)c) de la Loi constituait à nouveau l’objet principal des 10 nouvelles plaintes du même auteur, ainsi que d’une plainte d’une autre personne. Une autre plainte avait trait à une exception concernant des renseignements personnels.  

Ces 11 nouvelles plaintes ont abouti à la même conclusion que les trois plaintes similaires soumises au cours de l’exercice précédent. Nous avons conclu que les articles 16.1 et 19 de la Loi avaient été appliqués correctement et que, dans le dossier ayant donné lieu à la fois à une réponse officielle et à une réponse informelle du Commissariat, la plainte avait été traitée avant que celui-ci cesse cette pratique.

Par conséquent, les 11 plaintes ont été jugées non fondées.

La douzième nouvelle plainte porte sur l’alinéa 19(2)a) de la Loi, qui autorise le responsable d’une institution gouvernementale à communiquer des renseignements personnels si la personne concernée y consent. Cette plainte soulève deux questions liées : premièrement, le Commissariat a-t-il dûment obtenu le consentement des personnes visées et, deuxièmement, si le consentement a été donné, le Commissariat a-t-il exercé un quelconque pouvoir discrétionnaire résiduel en refusant de communiquer les documents? 

Cette plainte découle d’une demande d’accès à la liste de toutes les demandes d’accès à l’information et demandes liées à la protection des renseignements personnels, qui ont été soumises au Commissariat en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels au cours d’une période donnée. Dans sa réponse aux demandes soumises en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, le Commissariat a retranché les noms des auteurs des demandes et d’autres renseignements personnels avant de communiquer le reste de l’information. Cependant, le Commissariat a omis de demander aux auteurs des demandes, en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, s’ils consentaient à la communication des renseignements personnels les concernant. Depuis longtemps, la politique du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor protège le nom des auteurs de demandes soumises en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Le Commissariat a argué que tout écart de sa part vis-à-vis d’une politique aussi bien ancrée ainsi que la sollicitation du consentement pour communiquer des noms risqueraient d’indisposer les personnes en cause. De plus, le Commissariat pourrait apparaître insensible aux valeurs liées à la protection des renseignements personnels, lesquelles sont l’essence même du régime de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels qu’il a pour mandat de préserver. Jugeant que la communication de ces renseignements ne présentait aucun intérêt public, le Commissariat a exercé son pouvoir discrétionnaire de ne pas demander le consentement des intéressés. Notre bureau est d’accord avec la décision du Commissariat.

Quant aux demandes soumises en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, bon nombre d’entre elles ont le même objet. Le Commissariat a réalisé que, en raison du contexte et des liens entre les documents demandés, il serait possible d’identifier d’autres personnes mises en cause, même si les noms étaient retranchés. C’est ce qu’on appelle l’« effet de mosaïque » : lorsque des bribes d’information censément anodines sont associées à d’autres bribes tout aussi anodines en apparence, le tout peut prendre un sens que chaque partie en elle-même n’a pas. Ce processus est analogue à celui d’un casse-tête, dont chaque morceau pris séparément est différent de l’image obtenue une fois l’œuvre complétée. Dans ce cas-ci, comme les demandes se chevauchaient et produisaient un important effet de mosaïque, les autres renseignements n’ont pas été communiqués.Pour cette raison, entre autres, le Commissariat n’a pas demandé aux auteurs des demandes de donner leur consentement à la communication, directe ou indirecte, des renseignements personnels les concernant.

Notre bureau est également d’accord avec cette décision, sauf dans un cas où il apparaît que plus de renseignements pouvaient être communiqués sans danger. À l’issue de discussions avec notre bureau, le Commissariat a demandé à la personne visée par la demande en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information de consentir à la communication des renseignements la concernant. Celle-ci a consenti à la communication de l’intégralité du document contenant ses renseignements personnels.

Bien qu’il ait obtenu le consentement de la personne concernée pour communiquer la totalité du document, le Commissariat a néanmoins omis certaines parties. Le Commissariat s’en est tenu à sa décision initiale de ne pas communiquer l’intégralité du document parce que, à son avis, l’effet de mosaïque aurait eu pour conséquence de révéler des renseignements personnels concernant des tiers. Il a donc exercé le pouvoir discrétionnaire que lui confère l’alinéa 19(2)a) de refuser de communiquer le document complet, s’appuyant ainsi sur la jurisprudence récente de la Cour fédérale. Notre bureau approuve la manière dont le Commissariat a traité la demande.

La plainte est par conséquent réglée.

Outre ces 12 plaintes, notre bureau a reçu deux lettres portant sur des questions ne relevant pas de son mandat. L’une des lettres provenait d’une personne insatisfaite de la manière dont le Commissariat avait enquêté sur sa plainte concernant le traitement par un autre ministère de sa demande d’accès. Notre bureau n’a pas la juridiction pour enquêter sur de telles affaires. Notre mandat se limite à recevoir les plaintes relatives au traitement inapproprié des demandes d’accès à des documents relevant du Commissariat à l’information du Canada et à enquêter sur ces plaintes.

Conclusion

La fonction de commissaire ad hoc a été conçue pour assurer l’intégrité du processus de traitement des plaintes au sein du Commissariat à l’information du Canada. Ce fut un privilège d’assumer la fonction de commissaire à l’information ad hoc au cours des quatre dernières années.

Présenté respectueusement,

John H. Sims, c. r.