6. Looking ahead

Access to information: Freedom of expression and the rule of law

The upcoming year, 2015–2016, will see the next developments in the Commissioner’s application before the Ontario Superior Court challenging the constitutionality of the amendments to the Ending the Long-gun Registry Act brought about by the enactment of Bill C-59.

As amended, the Ending the Long-gun Registry Act retroactively ousts the application of the Access to Information Act to long-gun registry records, including the Commissioner’s power to make recommendations and report on the findings of investigations relating to these records and the right to seek judicial review in Federal Court of government decisions not to disclose these records. The legislation also retroactively immunizes Crown servants from any administrative, civil or criminal proceedings with respect to the destruction of long-gun registry records or for any act or omission done in purported compliance with the Access to Information Act.

The Commissioner’s application seeks to invalidate these amendments on the grounds that they unjustifiably infringe the constitutional right of freedom of expression and that they contravene the rule of law by interfering with vested rights of access to this information.

Scientists and the media

On February 20, 2013, the Environmental Law Clinic at the University of Victoria and Democracy Watch made a complaint to the Commissioner alleging that federal government communications and media relations policies and practices have undergone significant changes in recent years. These organizations also alleged that current policies and practices prevent the media and, through it, the wider public, from obtaining timely access to government scientists to speak with them about publicly funded scientific research of significant national concern.

On March 27, 2013, the Commissioner began a systemic investigation to determine whether government communications and media relations policies are impeding the right of access to information under the Act by restricting government scientists from publicly communicating about their research.

In 2015–2016, the Commissioner intends to complete and report on this systemic investigation.

Lean process for investigations

The Commissioner will pilot test a “lean process” for investigating complaints in 2015–2016. The objective is to establish clear procedures and to increase predictability for complainants and institutions.

The future of transparency

Modernizing the Access to Information Act remains a priority for the Commissioner. She will continue to speak out on the need to bring Canada’s law up to date so it is a relevant and effective tool. She will also stand ready to assist parliamentarians should they decide to modernize the Act once Parliament reconvenes after the fall 2015 election.

Canada’s commitment to open government

The government’s current action plan under the international Open Government Partnership comes to an end in 2016. The Commissioner will continue to provide recommendations to the government on the Open Government action plan in order to ensure an integrated vision that recognizes access to information as an important foundation of open government.

Employer of choice

Talent management will continue to be a top-of-mind concern in 2015–2016. The Commissioner will continue to develop the tools and training needed by employees to foster a culture of excellence among her staff.

Digital strategy

Under her new strategic plan that will be published in 2015–2016, the Commissioner will launch a digital strategy aimed at increasing the use of blogging and social media in an effort to further engage access stakeholders and Canadians. To be a leader in the area of transparency and an agent of change, the Commissioner will also develop targeted approaches to interact with a broader group of stakeholders and develop more sustained interest in access to information.

6. Un regard sur l’avenir

Accès à l’information : liberté d’expression et primauté du droit

Nous verrons au cours de la prochaine année, 2015-2016, les suites à la demande de la commissaire déposée devant la Cour supérieure de l’Ontario contestant la constitutionnalité des modifications apportées à la Loi sur l’abolition du registre des armes d’épaule par l’adoption du projet de loi C-59.

Dans sa version modifiée, la Loi sur l’abolition du registre des armes d’épaule retire, de manière rétroactive, l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information aux documents du registre des armes d’épaule, y compris le pouvoir de la commissaire de faire des recommandations et de faire rapport des conclusions d’enquêtes concernant ces documents et le droit de soumettre des décisions du gouvernement de ne pas divulguer ces documents à un contrôle judiciaire par la Cour fédérale. La loi accorde également l’immunité aux fonctionnaires de l’État relativement à toute procédure administrative, civile ou criminelle par rapport à la destruction des documents du registre des armes d’épaule ou pour toute action ou omission survenue en prétendue conformité avec la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

La demande de la commissaire vise à faire annuler ces modifications en se fondant sur le motif qu’elles portent atteinte de manière injustifiable au droit constitutionnel de liberté d’expression et qu’elles vont à l’encontre de la primauté du droit en faisant obstacle à l’exercice des droits acquis d’accès à cette information.

Les scientifiques et les médias

Le 20 février 2013, le Centre du droit de l’environnement de l’Université de Victoria et l’organisme Démocratie en surveillance ont soumis à la commissaire une plainte selon laquelle les politiques et pratiques du gouvernement fédéral en matière de communications et de relations avec les médias avaient changé de façon considérable au cours des dernières années. Ces organisations prétendaient également que les politiques et pratiques en vigueur empêchaient les médias et, par conséquent, le grand public, d’avoir accès en temps opportun aux scientifiques employés par le gouvernement pour discuter des recherches scientifiques d’intérêt national considérable qui sont financées par l’État.

Le 27 mars 2013, la commissaire a lancé une enquête systémique en vue de déterminer si les politiques gouvernementales en matière de communications et de relations avec les médias portent atteinte au droit d’accès à l’information prévu par la Loi en empêchant les scientifiques employés par le gouvernement de communiquer publiquement des renseignements au sujet de leurs recherches.

La commissaire compte terminer son enquête et produire son rapport en 2015-2016.

Processus d’enquête simplifié

En 2015-2016, la commissaire mettra à l’essai un « processus simplifié » d’enquête sur les plaintes. L’objectif est d’établir des procédures claires et de renforcer la prévisibilité pour les plaignants et les institutions.

La transparence future

La modernisation de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information demeure une priorité pour la commissaire. Elle continuera de faire valoir la nécessité d’actualiser la loi du Canada afin qu’elle soit un outil pertinent et efficace. De plus, elle est disposée à prêter assistance aux parlementaires s’ils décident de moderniser la Loi à la reprise de la session parlementaire après les élections à l’automne 2015.

L’engagement du Canada envers un gouvernement ouvert

Le plan d’action actuel du Canada en vertu du Partenariat pour un gouvernement transparent à l’échelle internationale prend fin en 2016. La commissaire continuera de formuler des recommandations au gouvernement sur le plan d’action pour un gouvernement ouvert afin de s’assurer de l’existence d’une vision intégrée qui reconnaît l’accès à l’information comme un fondement important d’un gouvernement ouvert.

Employeur de choix

La gestion des talents continuera d’être une préoccupation omniprésente en 2015-2016. La commissaire poursuivra l’élaboration d’outils et de formations dont a besoin son personnel afin de nourrir une culture d’excellence au sein de son équipe.

Stratégie numérique

Dans le cadre de son nouveau plan stratégique qui sera publié en 2015-2016, la commissaire lancera une stratégie numérique ayant pour but l’utilisation croissante du blogage et des médias sociaux en vue de renforcer l’engagement des intervenants de l’accès à l’information et de la population canadienne. Afin d’être une chef de file en matière de transparence et une agente de changement, la commissaire établira des approches ciblées pour interagir avec un plus grand nombre d’intervenants et parvenir à un intérêt plus soutenu en matière d’accès à l’information.