6. Looking ahead

A leading access regime

The Commissioner will publish her special report to Parliament on modernizing the Access to Information Act in the fall of 2014. The report will be based on Canada’s experience with the Act over 30 years, the Commissioner’s unique investigative perspective, and analysis of modern access laws from across Canada and around the world. In this connection, the Commissioner sought and received input from a variety of interested individuals and groups during consultations during 2012–2013. (The Commissioner’s website contains a summary of these submissions.)

In late October 2014, the Commissioner will host, in conjunction with the Office of the Privacy Commissioner, the annual meeting of federal-provincial-territorial access to information and privacy commissioners. The two-day event will offer an opportunity for the commissioners to exchange ideas and best practices.

Exemplary service to Canadians

The Commissioner will improve her existing investigative procedure, particularly for complex refusal cases. Under the more streamlined procedure, the Commissioner will clearly communicate her expectations about how investigations will unfold by providing turnaround times and deadlines for various steps.

The Commissioner will also evaluate the complaints resolution process, to enhance the efficiency of the investigative function and continue to improve service to complainants.

An exceptional workplace

The groundwork for developing a new strategic plan was laid in the early months of 2014. The new plan will take the Office of the Information Commissioner from 2014 to 2017, the end of the Commissioner’s current mandate. The focus of the plan will be on achieving the highest level of performance in investigating complaints and continuing to be an effective catalyst for advancing access, and fostering openness and transparency. The plan will include input from employees and stakeholders to ensure it is grounded in current realities and anticipated opportunities. Consultations will take place in the spring and summer of 2014, with the new plan to be launched in the fall.

The Office of the Information Commissioner will carry out a threat and risk assessment of its new offices in 2014–2015, having been early adopters of the Workplace 2.0 standard for office design. An audit of information technology infrastructure will assess the effectiveness of management practices and controls to ensure security in the new space.

6. Un regard sur l’avenir

Régime d’accès à l’information de premier plan

La commissaire publiera à l’automne 2014 son rapport spécial au Parlement sur la modernisation de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Le rapport s’appuiera sur l’expérience du Canada concernant cette Loi au cours des 30 dernières années, sur la perspective d’enquête unique de la commissaire et sur l’analyse des lois actuelles sur l’accès à l’information dans tout le Canada et dans le monde entier. Dans ce contexte, la commissaire a demandé et obtenu les commentaires d’un éventail de personnes et de groupes intéressés au cours de consultations menées en 2012-2013. (Le site Web de la commissaire contient un résumé de ces commentaires.)

À la fin du mois d’octobre 2014, la commissaire organisera, conjointement avec le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée, la réunion annuelle des commissaires à l’accès à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée à l’échelle fédérale, provinciale et territoriale. Cet événement de deux jours donnera l’occasion aux commissaires d’échanger leurs idées et leurs pratiques exemplaires.

Service exemplaire aux Canadiens

La commissaire améliorera sa procédure d’enquête actuelle, particulièrement pour les cas complexes de refus. Grâce à une procédure simplifiée, la commissaire communiquera clairement ses attentes à propos de la manière dont les enquêtes se dérouleront en fournissant des délais de règlement et des échéances pour les différentes étapes.

La commissaire évaluera également le processus de résolution des plaintes pour améliorer l’efficacité de la fonction d’enquête tout en poursuivant l’amélioration des services fournis aux plaignants.

Milieu de travail exceptionnel

Le travail préparatoire à l’élaboration d’un nouveau plan stratégique a été réalisé en début de 2014. Pour le Commissariat à l’information, ce nouveau plan s’étendra de 2014 à 2017, soit jusqu’à la fin du mandat de la commissaire actuelle. Ce plan a pour objectifs principaux d’atteindre un niveau optimal de rendement dans l’enquête des plaintes, de demeurer un catalyseur efficace pour faire progresser l’accès à l’information et de favoriser l’ouverture et la transparence. Ce plan intégrera les commentaires des employés et des intervenants pour s’assurer qu’il est ancré dans les réalités actuelles et qu’il tient compte des occasions à venir. Les consultations auront lieu au printemps et à l’été 2014, et le nouveau plan sera lancé à l’automne.

Le Commissariat à l’information, en tant qu’utilisateur précoce de la norme de conception des bureaux de l’initiative Milieu de travail 2.0, mènera en 2014-2015 une évaluation des risques et des menaces concernant ses nouveaux bureaux. Une vérification de l’infrastructure des technologies de l’information évaluera l’efficacité des pratiques de gestion et des contrôles pour s’assurer de la sécurité de ce nouvel espace.