5. Corporate services

Strategic plan

This year brought the Commissioner and her office to the conclusion of her 2011–2014 strategic plan. The plan has guided the organization’s activities in three key areas since 2011.

Exemplary service to Canadians: The Commissioner closed more than 4,900 complaints over three years. The same period also saw improvements in how quickly investigators respond to complainants. In addition, the Commissioner secured more information for requesters whenever possible. New business tools and a strategic approach to managing the caseload were instrumental in making these achievements possible.

A leading access to information regime: The Commissioner completed a diagnostic of the causes of delays in the access system. Through subsequent projects, including systemic investigations, she contributed to the improvement of policy instruments governing access. Due to the Commissioner’s attention to these issues, some institutional practices have also improved.

An exceptional workplace: Targeted recruitment strategies have succeeded in reducing turnover among investigators. In addition, a number of new and talented employees have been recruited. Managers are exploring various creative and cost-effective training and staff development opportunities. With the relocation of her office in January 2014, the Commissioner is also considering collaborating with co-tenants (fellow agents of Parliament) on training and professional development activities.

Stewardship of limited resources

The Commissioner’s budget has been impacted by 9 percent since 2009, due to various cuts and other measures. In addition, the office move, including the fit-up of the new space, will require the Commissioner to divert 2.5 percent of her budget from the program to cover ongoing costs, including repaying the loan secured to finance the move, starting in 2014–2015. Under the operational spending freeze announced in the 2013 Speech from the Throne, salary increases will have to be absorbed in the overall budget. This will likely have a further impact on the resources available for investigating complaints.

In this context, the 30-percent increase in new complaints in 2013–2014 is of particular concern. The Commissioner’s investigative capacity is stretched at a time when she has no funding available to augment it. This means she is unable to immediately assign files. Ultimately, this will jeopardize her ability to safeguard the rights conferred by the Access to Information Act. In light of these circumstances, the Commissioner continues to be vigilant about monitoring the use of her limited resources.

The Commissioner introduced an internal evaluation function in 2013–2014 to complement the existing internal audit capacity. To that end, the Commissioner updated the charter for her office’s Audit and Evaluation Committee, and the audit policy, and introduced a policy on evaluations. A new and comprehensive plan sets out a series of risk-based audits and evaluations that will take place between 2014 and 2018. To ensure the objectivity and independence of the audit and evaluation function, an external member of the Audit and Evaluation Committee acts as Chief Audit Executive.

The Office of the Information Commissioner received another clean audit from the Office of the Auditor General for 2012–2013. The future-oriented financial statements are available on the Commissioner’s website.

Exceptional workplace

The Commissioner filled the position of General Counsel in July 2013. This has brought stability to the Commissioner’s senior management group, since all the positions reporting directly to her are now staffed on a permanent basis.

The Commissioner launched a new integrated human resources plan in 2013. The plan reviews demographics and other factors affecting the workforce, and sets out human resources priorities and staffing plans. As of March 31, 2014, the Commissioner had a full staff complement. The plan sets out clear priorities for future recruitment in order to attract the best people to help the Commissioner meet her objectives.

In 2013–2014, the Commissioner and her managers worked to ensure that the organization’s performance management program aligns with the new Treasury Board Secretariat Directive on Performance Management. To reflect the unique work of investigators, the program supplements the government-wide approach with specific performance targets, and knowledge and skills requirements. These measures were implemented in 2013 as a pilot project and are being adjusted based on the first year’s experience.

The performance management program dovetails with the Commissioner’s talent management program, which provides developmental opportunities to high-performing employees. Performance management and talent management are key components of how the Commissioner will meet her goal of achieving excellence in all aspects of her work&the cornerstone of the integrated human resources plan.

The new Values and Ethics Code for the Office of the Information Commissioner sets out the values and behaviours everyone who works at the organization must demonstrate. Living up to the Code, which also aligns with the values of the public service, helps strengthen the ethical culture of the Commissioner’s office, contributes to the public’s confidence in its integrity and helps the Commissioner deliver her mandate by providing guidance for employees in their day-to-day dealings with co-workers, complainants and other stakeholders.

Information management/information technology

Over the past five years, the organization has sought to update its information management/information technology (IM/IT) infrastructure. Under a five-year IM/IT strategy, which came to an end in 2013–2014, investigators now have tools to help them do their jobs more efficiently and effectively.

In 2013–2014, the IT group put the finishing touches on the legal component of the organization’s case management system, in anticipation of launching it in 2014. By interfacing with the investigation component, this new tool will facilitate reporting and the sharing of information about investigations across the Office of the Information Commissioner.

The office’s relocation provided opportunities to update and standardize IT infrastructure. This has significantly decreased the amount of equipment necessary to provide the required IT capacity, and also led to improvements in how well the systems function, as evidenced by the 30-percent reduction in IT service desk requests in 2013–2014.

Renewal of the IM program continued in 2013–2014, with ongoing updating of the electronic document and information management system, and work to ensure compliance with various directives and policies on document management and retention.

Access to information and privacy

For information on the Commissioner’s access to information and privacy activities in 2013–2014, consult her annual reports to Parliament on these topics. Appendix B contains the annual report of the Information Commissioner ad hoc, who investigates complaints about the Office of the Information Commissioner’s handling of access requests.

5. Services organisationnels

Plan stratégique

Cette année a vu la conclusion du plan stratégique 2011–2014 de la commissaire et de son bureau. Ce plan guidait les activités de l’organisation dans trois domaines clés depuis 2011.

Prestation de service exemplaire aux Canadiens : La commissaire a complété plus de 4 900 plaintes en trois ans. La même période a également vu des améliorations dans la rapidité avec laquelle les enquêteurs répondaient aux plaignants. En outre, la commissaire a permis aux demandeurs d’obtenir plus d’information lorsque c’était possible. Les nouveaux outils opérationnels et l’approche stratégique adoptée pour la gestion de la charge de travail ont contribué à rendre possibles ces réussites.

Régime d’accès à l’information de premier plan : La commissaire a terminé le diagnostic des causes des retards dans le système d’accès. Grâce aux projets subséquents, y compris les enquêtes systémiques, elle a contribué à l’amélioration des instruments de politique régissant l’accès à l’information. En raison de l’attention portée à ces questions par la commissaire, certaines pratiques institutionnelles se sont également améliorées.

Milieu de travail exceptionnel : Les stratégies de recrutement ciblées ont permis de réduire le roulement du personnel parmi les enquêteurs. En outre, plusieurs nouveaux et talentueux employés ont été recrutés. Les gestionnaires explorent diverses possibilités créatives et rentables de formation et de perfectionnement du personnel. Avec le déménagement de son bureau en janvier 2014, la commissaire envisage également de collaborer avec ses colocataires (collègues agents du Parlement) à propos des activités de formation et de perfectionnement professionnel.

Intendance de ressources limitées

Le budget de la commissaire a été atteint de 9 % depuis 2009, en raison de diverses compressions budgétaires et d’autres mesures. En outre, le déménagement du bureau, comprenant l’aménagement du nouvel espace, nécessitera que la commissaire prélève 2,5 % de son budget consacré au programme afin de couvrir les coûts permanents, notamment le remboursement du prêt obtenu pour financer le déménagement, à compter de 2014-2015. Compte tenu du gel des dépenses de fonctionnement annoncé au cours du discours du Trône 2013, les augmentations de salaire devront être absorbées par le budget global. Cela aura vraisemblablement d’autres répercussions sur les ressources disponibles pour enquêter sur les plaintes.

Dans ce contexte, l’augmentation de 30 % des nouvelles plaintes en 2013-2014 est particulièrement préoccupante. Les capacités d’enquête de la commissaire sont sous pression à un moment où elle n’a aucun financement disponible pour les augmenter. Cela signifie qu’elle n’est pas en mesure d’assigner immédiatement les dossiers à un enquêteur. Finalement, cela minera sa capacité à protéger les droits conférés par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Compte tenu de cette situation, la commissaire continue de surveiller avec vigilance l’utilisation de ses ressources limitées.

En 2013-2014, la commissaire a mis en place une fonction d’évaluation interne pour compléter la capacité de vérification interne existante. À cette fin, elle a mis à jour la charte du comité de vérification et d’évaluation de son bureau ainsi que la politique de vérification et elle a mis en place une politique sur les évaluations. Un plan nouveau et exhaustif décrit une série de vérifications et d’évaluations en fonction du risque, qui auront lieu entre 2014 et 2018. Pour garantir l’objectivité et l’indépendance de cette fonction de vérification et d’évaluation, un membre externe du comité de vérification et d’évaluation occupera le poste de dirigeant principal de la vérification.

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a obtenu une autre vérification favorable du Bureau du vérificateur général pour l’exercice 2012-2013. Les états financiers prospectifs sont accessibles sur le site Web de la commissaire.

Milieu de travail exceptionnel

La commissaire a doté le poste d’avocate générale en juillet 2013. Cela a apporté de la stabilité dans le groupe de cadres dirigeants de la commissaire, étant donné que tous les postes relevant directement de la commissaire sont désormais pourvus de façon permanente.

La commissaire a lancé un nouveau plan intégré des ressources humaines en 2013. Ce plan examine les données démographiques et les autres facteurs ayant des répercussions sur l’effectif, tout en fixant des priorités et des plans de dotation en matière de ressources humaines. Au 31 mars 2014, la commissaire disposait d’un effectif complet. Le plan fixe des priorités claires pour les recrutements à venir afin d’attirer les meilleurs pour aider la commissaire à atteindre ses objectifs.

En 2013-2014, la commissaire et ses gestionnaires ont travaillé pour s’assurer que le programme de gestion du rendement de l’organisation s’harmonisait avec la nouvelle Directive sur la gestion du rendement du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Pour refléter le travail unique des enquêteurs, le programme complète l’approche pangouvernementale par des objectifs de rendement précis ainsi que des exigences particulières en matière de connaissances et de compétences. Ces mesures ont été mises en œuvre en 2013 en tant que projet pilote et sont en cours de rajustement pour tenir compte de l’expérience de la première année.

Le programme de gestion du rendement se combine avec le programme de gestion des talents de la commissaire, qui fournit des occasions de perfectionnement aux employés présentant un rendement élevé. La gestion du rendement et la gestion des talents représentent les principaux moyens grâce auxquels la commissaire pourra atteindre son objectif d’excellence dans tous les aspects de son travail (la pierre angulaire du plan intégré des ressources humaines).

Le nouveau Code de valeurs et d’éthique du Commissariat à l’information du Canada énonce les valeurs et les comportements dont doivent faire preuve tous ceux qui travaillent dans cette organisation. Être à la hauteur de ce Code, qui correspond également aux valeurs du secteur public, permet de renforcer la culture éthique du Commissariat à l’information, contribue à la confiance du public à l’égard de son intégrité et permet à la commissaire de respecter son mandat en fournissant de l’orientation aux employés dans leurs activités quotidiennes avec leurs collègues, les plaignants et les autres intervenants.

Gestion de l’information/technologie de l’information

Au cours des cinq dernières années, l’organisation a cherché à mettre à jour son infrastructure de gestion de l’information/technologie de l’information (GI/TI). Grâce à une stratégie de GI/TI étalée sur cinq ans, qui s’est achevée en 2013-2014, les enquêteurs disposent désormais d’instruments leur permettant de faire leur travail plus efficacement.

En 2013-2014, le groupe des TI a peaufiné le volet légal du système de gestion des cas de l’organisation, en prévision de son lancement en 2014. En créant une interface avec le volet d’enquête, ce nouvel instrument facilitera l’établissement de rapports et le partage de renseignements à propos des enquêtes dans l’ensemble du Commissariat à l’information.

Le déménagement du bureau a permis de mettre à jour et de normaliser l’infrastructure de TI. Cela a diminué considérablement la quantité de matériel nécessaire pour pourvoir les capacités requises en matière de TI et a également permis d’améliorer la qualité de fonctionnement des systèmes, comme le démontre la baisse de 30 % des demandes adressées au service d’assistance informatique en 2013-2014.

Le renouvellement du programme de GI s’est poursuivi en 2013-2014, avec la mise à jour continue des documents électroniques et du système de gestion de l’information ainsi que le travail constant pour assurer la conformité avec les diverses directives et politiques en matière de gestion et de conservation des documents.

Accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les activités de la commissaire en matière d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels en 2013-2014, vous pouvez consulter ses rapports annuels au Parlement sur ces sujets. L’annexe B contient le rapport annuel du commissaire à l’information ad hoc, qui enquête sur les plaintes portant sur le traitement des demandes d’accès par le Commissariat à l’information.