4. Promoting access

The Commissioner promotes access to information in Canada through ongoing dialogue with Parliament, government institutions and Canadians, and through initiatives such as Right to Know Week.

Right to Know

As part of the 2013 celebration of Right to Know Week, the Office of the Information Commissioner hosted, in conjunction with the University of Ottawa’s Faculty of Civil Law, a conference on access to information. The event—held on Right to Know Day, September 28—brought together more than 130 people for panel discussions featuring access to information practitioners, government representatives, journalists, academics and lawyers. The panels addressed current issues in the world of access, including building a model Canadian access law and developing international standards for transparency. (The panels were recorded for broadcast by CPAC and have been archived for viewing on the channel’s website.) The conference also marked the university’s annual Germain Brière Day, established in 2008 to honour the memory of a professor in the Faculty of Civil Law who had an abiding interest in transparency and accountability.

The Commissioner gave the keynote address at the conference. She also presented the annual Grace-Pépin Access to Information Award. The 2013 recipient was the Canadian Access and Privacy Association. The association promotes professional development among its members and engages in public education about information rights.

Inger Hansen

Canada’s first Information Commissioner, Inger Hansen, died on Right to Know Day, September 28, 2013, at the age of 83. Born in Denmark in 1929, Ms. Hansen immigrated to Canada in 1950 and subsequently practised law in British Columbia. She was appointed Canada’s first Privacy Commissioner in 1977 and became Information Commissioner in 1983. She held the latter post until 1990.

Dialogue with stakeholders

The Commissioner continued her series of semi-annual meetings with institutional access to information coordinators, with a second session in the fall of 2013. These meetings, in which the Commissioner, Assistant Commissioner and other senior officials participate, have been received positively by the access community as a forum for discussing priorities, sharing information about the Commissioner's investigation process and expectations, and getting feedback from institutions on possible improvements.. Another session is scheduled to take place in the late spring of 2014.

To extend the dialogue to complainants and other stakeholders, the Commissioner will post a survey on her website in 2014 asking for feedback from Canadians on how to improve service to complainants.

The Commissioner also takes opportunities to share her views with the government on various access-related issues. In September 2013, for example, she wrote to the President of the Treasury Board, the Honourable Tony Clement, to reinforce the need for the government to modernize the Access to Information Act as part of Canada’s commitments under the international Open Government Partnership.

At an October 2013 meeting, the Commissioner and Mr. Clement discussed ways to improve the performance of the federal access to information system. The topics discussed included the performance of the 20 institutions that account for roughly 90 percent of the access requests received each year, the ongoing shortage of access to information professionals, and the need for institutional leadership to ensure maximum compliance with the Act. The Commissioner wrote to Mr. Clement in April 2014 to provide further insights on these and other issues.

The Commissioner was also a signatory to a joint resolution from Canada’s access and privacy commissioners urging the government to modernize the respective laws in the face of dramatic technological change and the demands of engaged citizens.

Finally, the Commissioner published, on her website, a summary of the submissions she received as a result of her consultations on modernizing the Access to Information Act. This input has informed the Commissioner’s report on legislative reform, which will be published in the fall of 2014.

Process improvements

The Commissioner welcomes improvements that facilitate access to information, including the advent of electronic request submission forms. Currently, 21 institutions are taking part in a Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS) pilot project to accept access requests online. However, these developments must not go against the spirit or letter of the law, in the name of efficiency.

In April 2013, a requester made a request to TBS using the online request form. In order to submit the form, the requester had to choose an option for “category of requester” (e.g. media, member of the public). There was no option to leave the field blank or insert “no answer.” The requester complained to the Commissioner about this situation.

While institutions are required to provide TBS with statistics about the categories of requesters, the Act does not require requesters to identify whether they fall within a specified category. In fact, the duty to assist set out in the Act stipulates that institutions must process requests “without regard to the applicant’s identity.”

In response to the Commissioner’s investigation, TBS committed to modifying its online form by adding a “decline to answer” option. It will also amend the paper version of the form accordingly.

Parliamentary activities

In 2013–2014, the Commissioner issued five reports to Parliament:

These reports provided perspective to Parliament on the Commissioner’s oversight role in the access to information system, her work to uphold the principles and right of access at the federal level, and various aspects of the operations of her office. The Commissioner’s website contains a table of other Parliamentary activities—namely, bills, motions and other business—that had or may have an impact on access to information in general and the Access to Information Act in particular.

Appearances before parliamentary committees

The Commissioner made four appearances before parliamentary committees in 2013–2014.

In April 2013, she presented two annual reports (2010–2011 and 2011–2012) to the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics (ETHI).

During an appearance before ETHI in May 2013, as part of the Main Estimates process, the Commissioner spoke about her recent achievements, priorities for the coming year and some of the challenges her office faces.

Later that same month, the committee invited the Commissioner to appear on Bill C-461. This private member’s bill proposed to repeal section 68.1 of the Access to Information Act. This provision excludes information relating to the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation’s (CBC) journalistic, creative and programming activities. The bill proposed to replace that exclusion with an exemption that would allow the CBC to withhold records that could reasonably be expected to prejudice the “journalistic, creative or programming independence” of the CBC. In her remarks, the Commissioner noted that the proposed amendments reflected what she had suggested when she appeared before the committee in October 2011, during its study of the Commissioner’s access to information dispute with and resulting court actions concerning the CBC. The bill was removed from the order of precedence in the House in March 2014. (See Chapter 2 for information about the Commissioner’s work closing complaints against the CBC, including the three instances in 2013–2014 when she agreed with the institution’s application of section 68.1.)

Finally, in November 2013, the Commissioner appeared before the House of Commons Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs as part of its review of the Board of Internal Economy, the governing body of the House of Commons. In her remarks, the Commissioner spoke in favour of extending the coverage of the Access to Information Act to the administration of Parliament, rather than simply relying on proactive disclosure rules to increase that institution’s accountability and transparency, particularly with regard to parliamentarians’ expenses (see, “Bringing Parliament under the Access to Information Act,” right, for a excerpt of the Commissioner’s remarks). The committee issued its report in December 2013, declining to recommend that the Act be amended to cover Parliament. Instead, the committee noted that the “level of proactive disclosure already available is sufficient for the transparency and accountability of the House and its Members.”

Bringing Parliament under the Access to Information Act

“During the hearings thus far, there has been a lot of discussion on proactive disclosure and whether or not the new rules set out by the Board of Internal Economy are sufficient.

In my view, proactive disclosure of expenses is a necessary step to making detailed information available to the public. Consistent proactive disclosure can be done in a detailed way, in an open, accessible and reusable format, on a regular cycle, and in a timeframe that preserves the relevance of the information.

So proactive disclosure is a good thing. However, it isn’t enough. In order to promote trust in public institutions, there is not only a need to increase the availability and the quality of information, but also to ensure access to that information.

Citizens want to be able to validate the information that is provided to them, or to obtain more details about an issue of interest or simply know that the right is there for them to exercise when needed.

Bringing Parliament under the Access to Information Act, with appropriate safeguards, would guarantee that right.”

—Information Commissioner Suzanne Legault before the House of Commons Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs, November 2013

Joint letter on Bill C-520, the Supporting Non-Partisan Agents of Parliament Act

In February 2014, the Commissioner was a signatory, along with six of her fellow agents of Parliament, on a letter to the chair of the ETHI committee on Bill C-520, a private member’s bill that seeks to avoid conflicts that may arise or could be perceived to arise between partisan activities and the official duties and responsibilities of an Agent of Parliament or one of its employees. The letter set out several matters the agents of Parliament wished to bring to the committee’s attention about the bill. The Commissioner provided further written information to the committee on May 7, 2014, prior to the clause-by-clause consideration of the bill.

4. Promotion de l’accès

La commissaire fait la promotion de l’accès à l’information au Canada grâce à un dialogue permanent avec le Parlement, les institutions fédérales et les Canadiens, et au moyen d’initiatives telles que la Semaine du droit à l’information.

Droit à l’information

Lors des célébrations de la Semaine du droit à l’information de 2013, le Commissariat à l’information, conjointement avec la Faculté de droit civil de l’Université d’Ottawa, a organisé une conférence sur l’accès à l’information. L’événement, qui s’est tenu au cours de la Journée du droit à l’information (soit le 28 septembre) a réuni plus de 130 personnes dans des débats d’experts, dont des spécialistes de l’accès à l’information, des représentants du gouvernement, des journalistes, des universitaires et des avocats. Les groupes ont abordé les enjeux actuels dans le domaine de l’accès à l’information, y compris la création d’une loi canadienne type sur l’accès à l’information et les normes internationales en matière de transparence. (Les groupes ont été enregistrés aux fins de diffusion par CPAC, et les enregistrements ont été archivés pour pouvoir être visionnés sur le site Web de la chaîne.) La conférence marquait également la Journée Germain Brière, une journée célébrée chaque année depuis 2008 pour honorer la mémoire d’un professeur de la Faculté de droit civil qui s’intéressait vivement aux questions de transparence et de responsabilisation.

La commissaire a prononcé le discours liminaire de la conférence. Elle a également présenté le Prix annuel Grace-Pépin de l’accès à l’information. Le lauréat 2013 était l’Association canadienne d’accès à l’information et de protection des renseignements personnels. Cette association encourage le perfectionnement professionnel de ses membres et participe à la sensibilisation du public à propos du droit à l’information.

Inger Hansen

La première commissaire à l’information du Canada, Inger Hansen est décédée au cours de la Journée du droit à l’information, le 28 septembre 2013, à l’âge de 83 ans. Née au Danemark en 1929, Mme Hansen a immigré au Canada en 1950 et a ensuite exercé le droit en Colombie-Britannique. Elle a été nommée première commissaire à la protection de la vie privée en 1977 et est devenue commissaire à l’information en 1983. Elle l’est restée jusqu’en 1990.

Dialogue avec les intervenants

La commissaire a poursuivi sa série de réunions semestrielles avec les coordonnateurs de l’accès à l’information, avec une seconde séance à l’automne 2013. Ces réunions, auxquelles participent la commissaire, la commissaire adjointe et d’autres cadres supérieurs, ont été bien accueillies par la communauté de l’accès à l’information en tant que forum pour discuter des priorités, donnant l’occasion de mettre en commun des renseignements au sujet du processus d’enquête et des attentes du Commissariat, et d’obtenir des commentaires de la part des institutions sur les manières d’améliorer les façons de faire du Commissariat. Une autre séance est prévue à la fin du printemps 2014.

Pour étendre ce dialogue aux plaignants et aux autres intervenants, la commissaire publiera un sondage sur son site Web en 2014 pour demander l’avis des Canadiens sur la manière d’améliorer les services apportés aux plaignants.

La commissaire profite également des occasions qui lui sont offertes pour partager ses opinions avec le gouvernement à propos des différents enjeux en lien avec l’accès à l’information. Par exemple, en septembre 2013, elle a écrit au président du Conseil du Trésor, l’honorable Tony Clement, pour insister sur la nécessité que le gouvernement modernise la Loi sur l’accès à l’information dans le cadre des engagements du Canada au titre du Partenariat pour un gouvernement transparent à l’échelle internationale.

Au cours d’une réunion, en octobre 2013, la commissaire et M. Clement ont discuté des différentes manières d’améliorer le rendement du système fédéral d’accès à l’information. Les thèmes abordés comprenaient le rendement de 20 institutions qui comptent pour environ 90 % des demandes d’accès reçues chaque année, la pénurie actuelle de professionnels de l’accès à l’information et la nécessité d’un leadership institutionnel pour assurer une conformité maximale avec la Loi. La commissaire a écrit à M. Clement en avril 2014 pour lui communiquer des idées supplémentaires sur ces questions et d’autres.

La commissaire a également signé une résolution conjointe des commissaires canadiens à l’accès à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée exhortant le gouvernement à moderniser les lois respectives, compte tenu des bouleversements technologiques et des pressions exercées par les citoyens engagés.

Enfin, la commissaire a publié, sur son site Web, un résumé des commentaires reçus à la suite de ses consultations sur la modernisation de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Ces commentaires ont permis d’éclairer le rapport de la commissaire sur la réforme législative, qui sera publié à l’automne 2014.

Améliorations du processus

La commissaire salue toutes les améliorations qui facilitent l’accès à l’information, y compris l’arrivée des formulaires de demande électroniques. À l’heure actuelle, 21 institutions participent au projet pilote du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) consistant à accepter les demandes d’accès en ligne. Cependant, ces progrès ne doivent pas aller à l’encontre de l’esprit ou de la lettre de la Loi au nom de l’efficacité.

En avril 2013, un demandeur a déposé une demande au SCT à l’aide du formulaire de demande en ligne. Afin de soumettre le formulaire, le demandeur devait choisir une « catégorie de demandeur » (p. ex., membre de la presse, du grand public). Aucune option ne permettait de laisser le champ vierge ou de saisir « aucune réponse ». Le demandeur a déposé une plainte auprès de la commissaire à propos de cette situation.

Alors que les institutions doivent fournir au SCT des statistiques à propos des catégories de demandeurs, la Loi n’exige pas des demandeurs qu’ils indiquent s’ils appartiennent à une catégorie précise. En fait, l’obligation de prêter assistance énoncée dans la Loi stipule que les institutions doivent traiter les demandes « sans égard à l’identité de la personne ».

En réponse à notre enquête, le SCT s’est engagé à modifier son formulaire en ligne en ajoutant une option permettant au demandeur de refuser de répondre. Il modifiera également la version papier du formulaire en conséquence.

Activités parlementaires

En 2013-2014, la commissaire a déposé cinq rapports au Parlement :

Ces rapports fournissent au Parlement un aperçu du rôle de surveillance de la commissaire dans le système d’accès à l’information, de son travail pour faire respecter les principes et le droit d’accès au niveau fédéral ainsi que des divers aspects des activités de son bureau. Sur le site Web de la commissaire, un tableau répertorie les activités parlementaires, à savoir les projets de loi, les motions ou autres, qui ont eu ou qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur l’accès à l’information en général et sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en particulier.

Comparutions devant les comités parlementaires

La commissaire a comparu quatre fois devant les comités parlementaires en 2013-2014.

En avril 2013, elle a présenté deux rapports annuels (2010-2011 et 2011-2012) au Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique (ETHI) de la Chambre des communes.

Au cours d’une comparution devant le comité ETHI en mai 2013, dans le cadre du processus du Budget principal, la commissaire a abordé ses dernières réalisations, ses priorités pour l’année à venir et certains des défis auxquels son bureau doit faire face.

Plus tard le même mois, le comité a invité la commissaire à comparaître concernant le projet de loi C-461. Ce projet de loi d’initiative parlementaire proposait d’abroger l’article 68.1 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Cette disposition de la Loi exclut les renseignements liés aux activités de journalisme, de création ou de programmation de la Société Radio Canada (SRC). Le projet de loi proposait de remplacer cette exclusion par une exception qui permettrait à la SRC de ne pas divulguer des documents qui risqueraient vraisemblablement de porter préjudice à l’« indépendance de la SRC en matière de journalisme, de création et de programmation ». Dans ses remarques, la commissaire notait que ce projet de modification reflétait ce qu’elle avait proposé au cours de sa comparution devant le comité en octobre 2011, au cours de son examen d’un différend au sujet de l’accès à l’information et des poursuites en découlant concernant Radio-Canada. Le projet de Loi a été retiré de l’ordre de priorité de la Chambre en mars 2014. (Voir la « Plaintes contre la Société Radio-Canada » pour obtenir des renseignements sur les travaux de la commissaire pour régler les plaintes à l’encontre de la SRC, y compris les trois cas en 2013-2014 dans lesquels elle était d’accord avec l’application de l’article 68.1 par l’institution.)

Enfin, en novembre 2013, la commissaire a comparu devant le Comité permanent de la procédure et des affaires de la Chambre des communes dans le cadre de son examen du Bureau de régie interne, l’organisme de gouvernance de la Chambre des communes. Dans ses remarques, la commissaire a parlé en faveur de l’extension de la portée de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information à l’administration du Parlement, au lieu de s’appuyer simplement sur les règles de divulgation proactive pour accroître la responsabilisation et la transparence de cette institution, particulièrement en ce qui concerne les dépenses des parlementaires (voir l’encadré ci-dessous, intitulé « Intégration du Parlement à la Loi d’accès à l’information », pour un extrait des remarques de la commissaire). Le comité a rendu son rapport en décembre 2013, refusant de recommander que la Loi soit modifiée pour couvrir le Parlement. Au lieu de cela, le comité remarque que « le niveau actuel de divulgation proactive suffit à la transparence et à la reddition de compte de la Chambre et de ses députés ».

Intégration du Parlement à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

« Pendant les audiences, jusqu’à maintenant, bon nombre de discussions ont porté sur la divulgation proactive et sur le caractère suffisant des nouvelles règles établies par le Bureau de régie interne.

À mon avis, la divulgation proactive des dépenses est une étape nécessaire pour rendre des renseignements détaillés accessibles au public. La divulgation proactive uniforme peut être réalisée de manière détaillée, dans un format ouvert, accessible et réutilisable, et ce, de façon régulière, selon un échéancier qui préserve la pertinence de l’information.

La divulgation proactive est une bonne chose. Toutefois, elle n’est pas suffisante.

Afin de renforcer la confiance envers les institutions publiques, il faut non seulement accroître l'accessibilité et la qualité des renseignements, mais également en assurer l’accès.

Les citoyens veulent être en mesure de valider l’information qui leur a été fournie ou d’obtenir de plus amples détails sur une question d’intérêt. En fait, ils veulent savoir qu’ils peuvent exercer leur droit s’ils les désirent.

L’assujettissement du Parlement à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, en tenant compte des protections nécessaires, garantirait ce droit. » [traduction]

— Allocution de Suzanne Legault, commissaire à l’information, devant le Comité permanent de la procédure et des affaires de la Chambre des communes, novembre 2013.

Lettre collective à propos du projet de loi C-520, Loi sur l’impartialité politique des agents du Parlement

En février 2014, la commissaire a signé, avec six de ses collègues agents du Parlement, une lettre envoyée au président du comité ETHI à propos du projet de loi C-520, un projet de loi d’initiative parlementaire ayant pour objet d’éviter les conflits qui pourraient survenir ou sembler survenir entre les activités partisanes et les fonctions et les responsabilités officielles d’un agent du Parlement ou de l’un de ses employés. Cette lettre expose plusieurs questions que les agents du Parlement souhaitaient porter à l’attention du comité à propos de ce projet de loi. Le 7 mai 2014, la commissaire a fourni de plus amples renseignements par écrit au comité avant l’examen article par article du projet de loi.