Highlights

Access to information is an essential tenet of democracy. By being able to request and receive government information, the public can more effectively ensure federal institutions are transparent in their dealings and accountable for the decisions they make.

The Information Commissioner strives to uphold the right of access by investigating complaints about federal institutions’ handling of requests for information. The cases the Commissioner investigates each year reflect the many roles the federal government plays in Canadian society and the myriad ways federal programs and services touch individual lives.

As a result of the Commissioner’s interventions, requesters in 2013–2014 received information from institutions more quickly than they otherwise would have and had administrative matters, such as the charging of fees, resolved. Another outcome of the Commissioner’s investigations was that requesters received additional records from institutions. Overall, 54 percent of the 680 investigations that involved a refusal to grant access to records and that the Commissioner settled or completed with a finding resulted in institutions’ disclosing more information to the requester.

The Commissioner continued to pursue strategies targeted at effectively and efficiently closing files dealing with national security, international affairs and defence matters, and complaints against the Canada Revenue Agency and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC). Through a variety of approaches, the Commissioner closed 565 such complaints. As of March 31, 2014, these three groups of files accounted for 38 percent of the inventory of complaints, compared to 46 percent a year earlier.

In late March 2014, the Commissioner filed a notice of appeal in a case decided by the Federal Court that focused on a 1,110-day time extension National Defence had taken to respond to a request. She also pursued numerous other legal cases, including a variety dealing with the disclosure of third-party information by institutions.

The Commissioner continued her dialogue with the President of the Treasury Board on ways to improve the access to information system. In addition, during appearances before Parliament, the Commissioner provided her perspective on a private members’ bill that proposed to replace the CBC’s unique exclusion in the Act with an exemption, and spoke in favour of extending the coverage of the Access to Information Act to the administration of Parliament.

Finally, the Commissioner laid the groundwork for developing a new strategic plan. The new plan, to be launched in the fall of 2014, will guide her office to the end of her current mandate in 2017. The focus of the plan will be on achieving the highest level of performance in investigating complaints and continuing to be an effective catalyst for advancing access, and fostering openness and transparency.

Faits saillants

L’accès à l’information est un principe fondamental de la démocratie. En pouvant demander et obtenir de l’information gouvernementale, le public peut s’assurer plus efficacement que les institutions fédérales sont transparentes concernant leurs activités et qu’elles rendent des comptes sur les décisions qu’elles prennent.

La commissaire à l’information s’efforce de faire respecter le droit d’accès en menant des enquêtes sur les plaintes concernant le traitement des demandes de communication par les institutions fédérales. Les dossiers sur lesquels la commissaire enquête chaque année reflètent les nombreux rôles joués par le gouvernement fédéral au sein de la société canadienne ainsi que les multiples manières dont les programmes et les services fédéraux touchent la vie des personnes.

À la suite des interventions de la commissaire, les demandeurs ont reçu l’information en provenance des institutions plus rapidement, en 2013-2014, que cela aurait été le cas autrement, et ils ont vu se résoudre leurs problèmes administratifs, comme l’application de frais. Autre résultat des enquêtes de la commissaire : les demandeurs ont reçu des documents supplémentaires de la part des institutions. Dans l’ensemble, 54 % des 680 enquêtes portant sur des plaintes de refus d’accès à l’information réglées ou réglées avec conclusion par la commissaire ont entraîné la divulgation de plus de renseignements au demandeur par l’institution concernée.

La commissaire a poursuivi ses stratégies visant à régler efficacement les dossiers portant sur des questions de sécurité nationale, d’affaires internationales et de défense ainsi que les plaintes contre l’Agence du revenu du Canada et la Société Radio-Canada (SRC). En adoptant diverses approches, la commissaire a réglé 565 plaintes de ce type. Au 31 mars 2014, ces trois groupes de dossiers comptaient pour 38 % des plaintes dans l’inventaire, alors qu’ils en représentaient 46 % un an plus tôt.

À la fin du mois de mars 2014, la commissaire a déposé un avis d’appel dans un dossier jugé par la Cour fédérale concernant un délai prorogé de 1 110 jours par la Défense nationale pour répondre à une demande. Elle a également suivi de nombreuses autres affaires judiciaires, dont plusieurs portaient sur la divulgation de renseignements de tiers par des institutions.

La commissaire a continué de dialoguer avec le président du Conseil du Trésor sur les moyens d’améliorer le système d’accès à l’information. En outre, lors de ses comparutions devant le Parlement, la commissaire a donné son point de vue sur un projet de loi d’initiative parlementaire qui proposait de remplacer par une exception l’exclusion de la SRC dans la Loi et a plaidé pour l’élargissement de la portée de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information afin d’y inclure l’administration du Parlement.

Enfin, la commissaire a préparé le terrain en vue de l’élaboration d’un nouveau plan stratégique. Ce nouveau plan, qui sera lancé à l’automne 2014, guidera son bureau jusqu’à la fin de son mandat actuel, en 2017. Ce plan a pour objectifs principaux d’atteindre un niveau optimal de rendement dans l’enquête des plaintes, de demeurer un catalyseur efficace pour faire progresser l’accès à l’information et de favoriser l’ouverture et la transparence.