Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada Quarterly Financial Report For the quarter ended December 31, 2013 - Revised

Erratum

Date: March 21, 2014

Location: Table 1: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited), Fiscal year 2012-2013, Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013, Professional and special services and Total Budgetary Expenditures.

Revision: “Professional and special services 2,083” replaces “Professional and special services 1,974” and, “Total Budgetary Expenditures 12,718” replaces “Total Budgetary Expenditures 12,609”.

Rational for the revision: To include the frozen allotment related to Budget 2012 of 109 (in thousands of dollars) in the Total Budgetary Expenditures since the frozen allotment was included in Total Authorities in the Statement of Authorities (unaudited), in fiscal year 2012-2013, in the Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013 column.

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program

1. Introduction

The Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (OIC) prepared this quarterly report under section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat. This report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates. It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

The OIC conducts efficient, fair and confidential investigations into complaints about federal institutions’ handling of access to information requests. The goal of these investigations is to maximize compliance with the Access to Information Act while fostering disclosure of public sector information. The Commissioner uses the full range of tools, activities and powers at her disposal, from mediation to persuasion and litigation, as required.

The OIC also supports the Commissioner in her advisory role to Parliament and parliamentary committees on all access to information matters. In delivering its mandate, the OIC promotes information rights and advocates a pro-disclosure culture to ensure government transparency, accountability and citizen engagement.

Further information on the OIC’s mandate, responsibilities and program activities can be found in the OIC’s 2013–2014 Report on Plans and Priorities and Strategic Plan.

1.1 Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report was prepared on an expenditure basis. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the OIC's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the OIC, consistent with the Main Estimates for 2013–2014. The authority of Parliament is required before the Government can spend moneys. Organizations receive annually approved expenditure limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes. In light of this, this report was prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs related to the use of spending authorities.

The OIC uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present the annual financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and year-to-date results

The Statement of Authorities below shows that the OIC spent approximately 23% of its authorities in the third quarter of 2013–2014. Because personnel expenses represent 63% of planned expenditures, the spending is spread out equally over the year. This statement also indicates an increase in the Total Authorities of $1.9 million. This is primarily attributable to the receipt of a one time loan of $2.6 million to pay for the cost of the OIC’s relocation this fiscal year. This loan will be repaid over 15 years.

As Table 1 indicates, the OIC’s total budgetary expenditures increased by $246,000 (8%) in the third quarter of 2013−2014, compared to the same period in 2012−2013. There were significant variances within elements of planned expenditures, as follows:

  • The increase of $223,000 in Professional and Special Services is mostly due to additional legal fees and temporary help services for the relocation paid in 2013-2014;
  • The increase of $133,000 in Acquisition of Machinery and Equipment is mainly due to the cost of new furniture and equipment related to the relocation of our offices in 2013-2014;
  • Partially offset by a decrease of $71,000 in Personnel and a decrease of $30,000 in Rentals.

3. Risks and uncertainties

A well-functioning access system is predicated on there being up-to-date legislation, sound administration and robust oversight. In the absence of this foundation, Canadians’ right to access government information is jeopardized.

In the last four years, the OIC has significantly improved its performance. The inventory of complaints has been reduced by more than 28%; 67% of the administrative complaints are being closed in 90 days, and 61% of priority and early resolution files are being closed within six months. However, in the third quarter, there was a 38% increase in complaints. With the current staff complement, the OIC faces significant challenges trying to keep up with this volume of work. For example, there is a roughly seven-month gap between when complaints are registered and when they are assigned to investigators. In order to maintain recent performance levels, the OIC requires a significant influx of resources, such that files can be assigned immediately upon receipt.

Since 2009-2010, our year-end lapse of funds has been 3%, on average. This has left us with nearly no financial flexibility, a situation exacerbated by our budget having been impacted by nearly 9% since 2009, due to various cuts and other measures. In addition, we project that the relocation of our offices in early 2014 will require us to divert 2.5% of our budget from our program to cover ongoing costs, including repaying the loan we secured to finance the move, starting in 2014–2015. Under the operational spending freeze announced in the 2013 Speech from the Throne, we will also have to absorb salary increases. All in all, this could amount to a further impact on our budget.

In combination, these factors have a direct impact on the OIC’s ability to safeguard requestors’ rights under the Access to Information Act.

4. Significant changes in operations, personnel and program

There have been no significant changes in operations, personnel or program in the third quarter of 2013–2014.

5. Budget 2012 implementation

The OIC is vulnerable to unexpected spikes in workload, such as an influx of complaints or unexpected court cases, triggered by events outside of its control. The OIC does not have flexibility within its funding envelope to respond to increases in its workload or any other unexpected situation. With the Budget 2012 cut of $543,000 coupled with the additional pressure of loan repayments and new incremental costs, there will potentially be repercussions for the OIC’s ability to carry out its mandate and progress toward its long-term vision.

Access is one of the tools that make citizen engagement in government and the public policy process possible. When the system is at risk, it is more than just an inconvenience to requesters; ultimately, it is the health of Canadian democracy that is at stake.

Approved by

Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada

Layla Michaud, CPA, CMA, MBA
Director General, Corporate Services,
Chief Financial Officer

Ottawa, Canada
December 31, 2013

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

(In thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2013–2014 Fiscal year 2012–2013
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2014* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2013 Year-to-date used at quarter-end Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013* Used during the quarter ended December 31, 2012 Year-to-date used at quarter-end
Vote 40: Program expenditures 13,171 2,938 7,637 11,284 2,692 7,569
Budgetary statutory authorities:
contributions to employee benefit plans
1,359 340 1,019 1,434 340 1,019
Total Budgetary Authorities 14,530 3,278 8,656 12,718 3,032 8,588
Total Authorities 14,530 3,278 8,656 12,718 3,032 8,588

*Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Table 1: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

(In thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2013–2014 Fiscal year 2012–2013
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2013 Year-to-date
used at
quarter-end
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2013 Expended during the quarter ended December 31, 2012 Year-to-date
used at
quarter-end
Personnel 9,168 2,426 6,930 10,128 2,497 7,335
Transportation and communications 169 43 104 150 37 98
Information 125 32 74 117 47 83
Professional and special services 2,182 601 1,265 2,083 378 919
Rentals 205 22 87 131 52 97
Repair and maintenance 78 3 25 16 3 8
Utilities, materials and supplies 38 13 31 41 13 34
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 2,565 138 140 52 5 14
Other subsidies and payments
Total Budgetary Expenditures 14,530 3,278 8,656 12,718 3,032 8,588

Commissariat à l'information du Canada Rapport financier trimestriel
Pour le trimestre terminée le 31 décembre 2013 Révisé

Erratum

Date: 21 mars 2014

Endroit: Tableau 1: Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié), Exercice 2012-2013, Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013, Services professionnels et spéciaux et Dépenses budgétaires totales.

Révision: « Services professionnels et spéciaux 2 083 » remplace « Services professionnels et spéciaux 1 974 » et, « Dépenses budgétaires totales 12 178 » remplace « Dépenses budgétaires totales 12 609 ».

Raison de la révision: Pour inclure le 109 (en millier de dollars) en affectation bloquée reliée au Budget 2012 dans les Dépenses budgétaires totales puisque l’affectation bloquée était incluse dans les Autorisations totales, dans l’État des Autorisations (non vérifié), pour l’exercice 2012-2013, dans la colonne Total disponible pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013.

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada (le Commissariat) a préparé le présent rapport trimestriel aux termes de l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Ce document devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses. Il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Le Commissariat mène des enquêtes efficaces, équitables et confidentielles sur les plaintes relatives à la façon dont les institutions fédérales traitent les demandes d’accès à l’information. Le but de ces enquêtes est de maximiser la conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en favorisant la communication de l’information du secteur public. La Commissaire utilise la gamme d’outils, activités et pouvoirs à sa disposition, depuis la médiation jusqu’à la persuasion et le recours aux tribunaux, au besoin. 

Le Commissariat appuie également la Commissaire dans son rôle consultatif auprès du Parlement et des comités parlementaires pour toutes les questions touchant l’accès à l’information. Dans l’exécution de son mandat, le Commissariat met en valeur le droit à l’information et préconise une culture propice à la communication pour assurer la transparence gouvernementale, la reddition de comptes et la participation des citoyens.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le mandat, les responsabilités et les activités de programme du Commissariat, on peut consulter son Rapport sur les plans et les priorités 2013-2014 et son Plan stratégique.

1.1 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé selon la comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Commissariat accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Commissariat, en conformité avec le Budget principal des dépenses pour 2013-2014. Le gouvernement doit demander l’autorisation du Parlement pour dépenser. Les organisations reçoivent, par l’entremise de lois de crédits, des limites annuelles approuvées ou, par l’entremise de lois, des pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées. À la lumière de ce qui précède, ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière concernant l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le Commissariat utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation et la présentation des états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont encore établies en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

L’État des autorisations ci-dessous indique que le Commissariat a dépensé environ 23 % de ses autorisations au cours du troisième trimestre de 2013-2014. Étant donné que les dépenses liées au personnel représentent 63 % des dépenses prévues, les dépenses se répartissent uniformément sur toute l’année. Cet état indique aussi une augmentation de 1,9 millions de dollars aux autorisations totales. Cette hausse est principalement attribuable à la réception d’un prêt unique de 2,6 millions de dollars pour payer le coût du déménagement de cette année. Ce prêt sera remboursé sur une période de 15 ans.

Comme le tableau 1 l’indique, les dépenses budgétaires totales ont augmentées de 246 000 $ (8 %)  au cours du troisième trimestre de 2013-2014, comparativement à la même période en 2012-2013. Iil y avait des écarts importants par rapport à certains éléments des dépenses prévues :

  • Une augmentation de 223 000 $ des dépenses liées aux services professionnels et spéciaux causée principalement par une hausse des frais légaux et des frais pour de l’aide temporaire pour le déménagement en 2013-2014;
  • Une augmentation de 133 000 $ pour des acquisitions de matériel et d’outillage causée principalement par le coût des achats de meubles et d’équipements dans le cadre de la relocalisation de nos bureaux en 2013-2014;
  • Ces augmentations sont compensées en partie par une baisse de 71 000 $ en dépenses liées au personnel et une diminution de 30 000 $ en dépenses de location.

3. Risques et incertitudes

Un système d’accès à l’information qui fonctionne bien est fondé sur une législation à jour, une saine administration et une surveillance rigoureuse. En l’absence de cette fondation, le droit d’accès des Canadiens à l’information gouvernementale est compromis.

Au cours des quatre dernières années, le Commissariat a grandement amélioré son rendement. Le nombre de plaintes a diminué de plus de 28 %; 67 % des plaintes administratives sont résolues en 90 jours, et 61 % des dossiers prioritaires et pour règlement rapide sont fermés dans un délai de six mois. Cependant, au cours du troisième trimestre, les plaintes ont augmentées de 38 %. Avec l’effectif actuel, le Commissariat a beaucoup de difficulté à traiter ce volume de travail. Par exemple, il s’écoule environ sept mois entre le moment du dépôt d’une plainte et celui de son assignation à un enquêteur. Afin de maintenir les récents niveaux de rendement, le Commissariat a besoin d’un ajout considérable de ressources afin de pouvoir assigner les plaintes dès leur réception.

Depuis 2009-2010, les fonds inutilisés en fin d’année ont été en moyenne, 3 %. Cela nous a laissés avec presqu’aucune flexibilité financière, une situation exacerbée par les incidences à notre budget qui ont atteint près de 9 % depuis 2009 en raison des différentes réductions et d’autres mesures. Par ailleurs, nous prévoyons que la réinstallation de nos bureaux au début de 2014 exigera de prélever 2,5 % du budget de notre programme pour couvrir les frais continus, y compris pour rembourser le prêt que nous avons obtenu pour financer le déménagement, et ce, dès 2014-2015. Compte tenu du gel des dépenses opérationnelles annoncé dans le discours du Trône de 2013, nous devrons également absorber les augmentations salariales. Tous ces facteurs pourraient entraîner une incidence additionnelle à notre budget.

Ces facteurs combinés ont des conséquences directes sur la capacité du Commissariat de protéger les droits des demandeurs garantis par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Il n’y a pas eu de changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel ou aux programmes au cours du troisième trimestre de 2013-2014.

5. Mise en œuvre du budget de 2012

Le Commissariat est vulnérable aux augmentations imprévisibles de la charge de travail, comme une hausse du nombre de plaintes ou des causes inattendues portées devant les tribunaux, découlant de situations hors de son contrôle. L’enveloppe budgétaire du Commissariat ne lui donne pas la marge de manœuvre nécessaire pour faire face à une augmentation de la charge de travail ou à toute autre situation imprévisible. Avec une compression de 543 000 $ dans le budget de 2012, ajoutée à la pression additionnelle causée par le remboursement du prêt et les nouveaux coûts supplémentaires, il y aura des répercussions possibles sur la capacité du Commissariat de remplir son mandat et d’avancer dans la mise en œuvre de sa vision à long terme.

L’accès à l’information est l’un des outils qui rendent possible la participation des citoyens au gouvernement et au processus d’élaboration des politiques publiques. Lorsque le système d’accès est en péril, la situation ne cause pas seulement des inconvénients aux demandeurs; à la longue, elle met en jeu la santé même de la démocratie au Canada.

Document approuvé par

Suzanne Legault
Commissaire à l’information du Canada

Layla Michaud, CPA, CMA, MBA
Directrice générale, Services organisationnels,
dirigeante principale des finances

Ottawa, Canada
Le 31 décembre 2013

État des Autorisations (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2013-2014 Exercice 2012-2013
Total disponible pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014* Fonds utilisés durant le trimestre terminé le
31 décembre 2013
Fonds utilisés à la fin du trimestre Total disponible pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013* Fonds utilisés durant le trimestre terminé le
31 décembre 2012
Fonds utilisés à
la fin du trimestre
Crédit 40 – Dépenses du Programme 13 171 2 938 7 637 11 284 2 692 7 569
Autorisations législatives budgétaires –
Contributions aux régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés
1 359 340 1 019 1 434 340 1 019
Autorisations budgétaires totales 14 530 3 278 8 656 12 718 3 032 8 588
Autorisations totales 14 530 3 278 8 656 12 718 3 032 8 588

* N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Tableau 1 : Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2013-2014 Exercice 2012-2013
Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le
31 mars 2014
Dépenses durant le trimestre  terminé le
31 décembre 2013
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013 Dépenses durant le trimestre  terminé le
31 décembre 2012
Cumul des crédits utilisés
à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 9 168 2 426 6 930 10 128 2 497 7 335
Transport et communications 169 43 104 150 37 98
Information 125 32 74 117 47 83
Services professionnels et spéciaux 2 182 601 1 265 2 083 378 919
Location 205 22 87 131 52 97
Services de réparation et d’entretien 78 3 25 16 3 8
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 38 13 31 41 13 34
Acquisition de matériel et d’outillage 2 565 138 140 52 5 14
Autres subventions et paiements
Dépenses budgétaires totales 14 530 3 278 8 656 12 718 3 032 8 588