Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada Quarterly Financial Report For the quarter ended September 30, 2013

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program

Introduction

The Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada (OIC) prepared this quarterly report under section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat. This report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates. It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

The OIC conducts efficient, fair and confidential investigations into complaints about federal institutions’ handling of access to information requests. The goal of these investigations is to maximize compliance with the Access to Information Act while fostering disclosure of public sector information. The Commissioner uses the full range of tools, activities and powers at her disposal, from mediation to persuasion and litigation, as required.

The OIC also supports the Commissioner in her advisory role to Parliament and parliamentary committees on all access to information matters. In delivering its mandate, the OIC promotes information rights and advocates a pro-disclosure culture to ensure government transparency, accountability and citizen engagement.

Further information on the OIC’s mandate, responsibilities and program activities can be found in the OIC’s 2013–2014 Report on Plans and Priorities and Strategic Plan.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report was prepared on an expenditure basis. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the OIC's spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the OIC, consistent with the Main Estimates for 2013–2014. The authority of Parliament is required before the Government can spend moneys. Organizations receive annually approved expenditure limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes. In light of this, this report was prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs related to the use of spending authorities.

The OIC uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present the annual financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of fiscal quarter and year-to-date results

The Statement of Authorities below shows that the OIC spent approximately 18% of its authorities in the second quarter of 2013–2014. Because personnel expenses represent 63% of planned expenditures, the spending is spread out equally over the year. This statement also indicates an increase in the Total Available for Use of $2.4 million. This is primarily attributable to the receipt of a one time loan of $2.6 million to pay for the cost of the OIC’s relocation this fiscal year. This loan will be repaid over 15 years.

As Table 1 indicates, the OIC’s total budgetary expenditures decreased by $140,000 (5.2%) in the second quarter of 2013−2014, compared to the same period in 2012−2013. However, there were significant variances within elements of planned expenditures, as follows:

  • The decrease of $255,000 in Personnel expenditures is mainly due to less regular time paid since there were more vacant positions, offset by higher part time paid and higher severance pay paid in 2013-14 than in 2012-13.
  • The increase of $121,000 in Professional and Special Services is mostly due to additional legal fees and temporary help services paid in Q2 of 2013-14, offset by lower consultant fees.

Risks and uncertainties

A well-functioning access system is predicated on there being up-to-date legislation, sound administration and robust oversight. In the absence of this foundation, Canadians’ right to access government information is jeopardized.

In the last four years, the OIC has significantly improved its performance. The inventory of complaints has been reduced by more than 28%; 68% of the administrative complaints are being closed in 90 days, and 66% of priority and early resolution files are being closed within six months. However, in the second quarter of the new fiscal year, there was a 38% increase in complaints. With the current staff complement, the OIC faces significant challenges trying to keep up with this volume of work. For example, there is a roughly seven-month gap between when complaints are registered and when they are assigned to investigators. In order to maintain recent performance levels, the OIC requires a significant influx of resources, such that files can be assigned immediately upon receipt.

The growing volume of work is compounding the challenges we, ourselves, face, due to recent budgetary measures .The multi-year operating freeze and absorption of increase in salary and wages established by collective agreements under Budget 2010 and the significant and successive cuts under Budget 2012 has impacted the  OIC’s financial resources significantly resulting  in the program being at serious risk. For an organization that was already operating with little budgetary flexibility (the year-end lapse of funds has been less than 5% for the past four years), these Budget Announcements has diminished any financial manoeuvrability the organization had.

Moreover, the OIC is also facing financial uncertainty due to the PWGSC-mandated relocation of its offices in 2013–2014. In addition to the one-time costs associated with the move itself (the OIC will pay back a loan to cover these costs over 15 years), the relocation will impose new and ongoing incremental costs. Even with the loan arrangement, the financial impact of the move will add to the stress and financial pressure on the OIC.

In combination, these factors have a direct impact on the OIC’s ability to safeguard requestors’ rights under the Access to Information Act.

Significant changes in operations, personnel and program

There have been no significant changes in operations, personnel or program in the second quarter of 2013–2014.

Budget 2012 implementation

The OIC is vulnerable to unexpected spikes in workload, such as an influx of complaints or unexpected court cases, triggered by events outside of its control. The OIC does not have flexibility within its funding envelope to respond to increases in its workload or any other unexpected situation. With the Budget 2012 cut of $543,000 coupled with the additional pressure of loan repayments and new incremental costs, there will potentially be repercussions for the OIC’s ability to carry out its mandate and progress toward its long-term vision.

Access is one of the tools that make citizen engagement in government and the public policy process possible. When the system is at risk, it is more than just an inconvenience to requesters; ultimately, it is the health of Canadian democracy that is at stake.

Approved by

Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada

Layla Michaud, CPA, CMA, MBA
Director General, Corporate Services,
Chief Financial Officer

                                        

Ottawa, Canada
September 30, 2013

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

(In thousands of dollars)Fiscal year 2013–2014Fiscal year 2012–2013
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2014*Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2013Year-to-date used at quarter-endTotal available for use for the year ending March 31, 2013*Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2012Year-to-date used at quarter-end
Vote 40: Program expenditures13,1712,2274,69910,8042,3674,877
Budgetary statutory authorities:
contributions to employee benefit plans
1,3593396791,359339679
Total Budgetary Authorities14,5302,5665,37812,1632,7065,556
Total Authorities14,5302,5665,37812,1632,7065,556

*Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Table 1: Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

(In thousands of dollars)Fiscal year 2013–2014Fiscal year 2012–2013
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2013 Year-to-date
used at
quarter-end
Planned expenditures for the year ending  March 31, 2013Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2012Year-to-date
used at
quarter-end
Personnel9,1682,0404,5049,5352,2954,838
Transportation and communications16938611963661
Information12525421272336
Professional and special services2,1824126641,781291541
Rentals2053565913745
Repair and maintenance782228835
Utilities, materials and supplies381218581221
Acquisition of machinery and equipment2,5652228799
Other subsidies and payments
Total Budgetary Expenditures14,5302,5665,37812,1632,7065,556

Commissariat à l'information du Canada Rapport financier trimestriel Pour le trimestre terminée le 30 septembre 2013

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Introduction

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada (le Commissariat) a préparé le présent rapport trimestriel aux termes de l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Ce document devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses. Il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Le Commissariat mène des enquêtes efficaces, équitables et confidentielles sur les plaintes relatives à la façon dont les institutions fédérales traitent les demandes d’accès à l’information. Le but de ces enquêtes est de maximiser la conformité à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en favorisant la communication de l’information du secteur public. La Commissaire utilise la gamme d’outils, activités et pouvoirs à sa disposition, depuis la médiation jusqu’à la persuasion et le recours aux tribunaux, au besoin. 

Le Commissariat appuie également la Commissaire dans son rôle consultatif auprès du Parlement et des comités parlementaires pour toutes les questions touchant l’accès à l’information. Dans l’exécution de son mandat, le Commissariat met en valeur le droit à l’information et préconise une culture propice à la communication pour assurer la transparence gouvernementale, la reddition de comptes et la participation des citoyens.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le mandat, les responsabilités et les activités de programme du Commissariat, on peut consulter son Rapport sur les plans et les priorités 2013-2014 et son Plan stratégique.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Le présent rapport trimestriel a été préparé selon la comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Commissariat accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Commissariat, en conformité avec le Budget principal des dépenses 2013-2014. Le gouvernement doit demander l’autorisation du Parlement pour dépenser. Les organisations reçoivent, par l’entremise de lois de crédits, des limites annuelles approuvées ou, par l’entremise de lois, des pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées. À la lumière de ce qui précède, ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière concernant l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le Commissariat utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation et la présentation des états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les autorisations de dépenser votées par le Parlement sont encore établies en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

L’État des autorisations ci-dessous indique que le Commissariat a dépensé environ 18 % de ses autorisations au cours du deuxième trimestre de 2013-2014. Étant donné que les dépenses liées au personnel représentent 63 % des dépenses prévues, les dépenses se répartissent uniformément sur toute l’année. Cet état indique aussi une augmentation de 2,4 millions de dollars du total disponible pour utilisation. Cette hausse est principalement attribuable à la réception d’un prêt unique de 2,6 millions de dollars pour payer le coût du déménagement de cette année. Ce prêt sera remboursé sur une période de 15 ans.

Comme le tableau 1 l’indique, les dépenses budgétaires totales ont diminué de 140 000 $ (5,2 %)  au cours du deuxième trimestre de 2013-2014, comparativement à la même période en 2012-2013. Toutefois, il y avait des écarts importants par rapport à certains éléments des dépenses prévues :

  • Une diminution de 255 000 $ des dépenses du personnel principalement dû au fait qu’il y a eu une réduction des heures régulières payées, réduction causée par une augmentation des postes vacants. Cette diminution est en partie compensée par une augmentation des heures à temps partiel payées et des prestations de départ plus élevées en 2013-14 qu’en 2012-13.
  • Une augmentation de 121 000 $ des dépenses liées aux services professionnels et spéciaux causée principalement par une hausse des frais légaux et des frais pour de l’aide temporaire. Cette augmentation est en partie compensée par une diminution des frais de consultants payés au cours du deuxième trimestre de 2013-14.

Risques et incertitudes

Un système d’accès à l’information qui fonctionne bien est fondé sur une législation à jour, une saine administration et une surveillance rigoureuse. En l’absence de cette fondation, le droit d’accès des Canadiens à l’information gouvernementale est compromis.

Au cours des quatre dernières années, le Commissariat a grandement amélioré son rendement. Le nombre de plaintes a diminué de plus de 28 %; 68 % des plaintes administratives sont résolues en 90 jours, et 66 % des dossiers prioritaires et pour règlement rapide sont fermés dans un délai de six mois. Cependant, au cours du deuxième trimestre du nouvel exercice financier, les plaintes ont augmenté de 38 %. Avec l’effectif actuel, le Commissariat a beaucoup de difficulté à traiter ce volume de travail. Par exemple, il s’écoule environ sept mois entre le moment du dépôt d’une plainte et celui de son assignation à un enquêteur. Afin de maintenir les récents niveaux de rendement, le Commissariat a besoin d’un ajout considérable de ressources afin de pouvoir assigner les plaintes dès leur réception.

La charge de travail croissante complique les défis auxquels le Commissariat est confronté par suite des récentes mesures de restriction budgétaire. Le gel des budgets de fonctionnement et l’absorption des hausses salariales établies par les conventions collectives sous le budget de 2010, ainsi que les importantes restrictions des dépenses successives découlant du budget de 2012 ont diminué nos ressources financière de façon significative et mettent sérieusement en danger nos programmes. Pour une organisation qui fonctionnait déjà avec peu de flexibilité sur le plan budgétaire (les fonds non utilisés à la fin de l’exercice s’élèvent à moins de 5 % depuis les quatre dernières années), les restrictions du budget diminuent toute marge de manœuvre financière du Commissariat.

En outre, le Commissariat connaît de l’incertitude financière en raison du déménagement de ses bureaux, imposé par TPSGC, en 2013-2014. En plus du coût ponctuel associé au déménagement lui-même (le Commissariat remboursera un prêt pour absorber cette dépense sur une période de 15 ans), la réinstallation imposera de nouveaux coûts additionnels permanents. Même avec l’entente de prêt, l’incidence financière du déménagement ajoutera au stress et aux pressions financières que subit le Commissariat.

Ces facteurs combinés ont des conséquences directes sur la capacité du Commissariat de protéger les droits des demandeurs garantis par la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Il n’y a pas eu de changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel ou aux programmes au cours du deuxième trimestre de 2013-2014.

Mise en œuvre du budget de 2012

Le Commissariat est vulnérable aux augmentations imprévisibles de la charge de travail, comme une hausse du nombre de plaintes ou des causes inattendues portées devant les tribunaux, découlant de situations hors de son contrôle. L’enveloppe budgétaire du Commissariat ne lui donne pas la marge de manœuvre nécessaire pour faire face à une augmentation de la charge de travail ou à toute autre situation imprévisible. Avec une compression de  543 000 $ dans le budget de 2012, ajoutée à la pression additionnelle causée par le remboursement du prêt et les nouveaux coûts supplémentaires, il y aura des répercussions possibles sur la capacité du Commissariat de remplir son mandat et d’avancer dans la mise en œuvre de sa vision à long terme.

L’accès à l’information est l’un des outils qui rendent possible la participation des citoyens au gouvernement et au processus d’élaboration des politiques publiques. Lorsque le système d’accès est en péril, la situation ne cause pas seulement des inconvénients aux demandeurs; à la longue, elle met en jeu la santé même de la démocratie au Canada.

Document approuvé par

Suzanne Legault
Commissaire à l’information du Canada

Layla Michaud, CPA, CMA, MBA
Directrice générale, Services organisationnels,
dirigeante principale des finances

Ottawa, Canada
Le 30 septembre 2013

État des Autorisations (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2013 2014 Exercice 2012 2013
Total disponible pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2014* Fonds utilisés durant le trimestre terminé le
30 septembre 2013
Fonds utilisés à la fin du trimestre Total disponible pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013* Fonds utilisés durant le trimestre terminé le
30 septembre 2012
Fonds utilisés à
la fin du trimestre
Crédit 40 – Dépenses du Programme 13 171 2 227 4 699 10 804 2 367 4 877
Autorisations législatives budgétaires –
Contributions aux régimes d ’avantages sociaux des employés
1 359 339 679 1 359 339 679
Autorisations budgétaires totales 14 530 2 566 5 378 12 163 2 706 5 556
Autorisations totales 14 530 2 566 5 378 12 163 2 706 5 556

* N'inclut que les Autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

Tableau 1 : Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2013 2014 Exercice 2012 2013
Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le
31 mars 2014
Dépenses durant le trimestre  terminé le
30 septembre 2013
Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre Dépenses prévues pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2013 Dépenses durant le trimestre  terminé le 30septembre 2012 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Personnel 9 168 2 040 4 504 9 535 2 295 4 838
Transport et communications 169 38 61 196 36 61
Information 125 25 42 127 23 36
Services professionnels et spéciaux 2 182 412 664 1 781 291 541
Location 205 35 65 91 37 45
Services de réparation et d’entretien 78 2 22 88 3 5
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 38 12 18 58 12 21
Acquisition de matériel et d’outillage 2 565 2 2 287 9 9
Autres subventions et paiements - - - - - -
Dépenses budgétaires totales 14 530 2 566 5 378 12 163 2 706 5 556