Letter to the Chair of the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics on Recommendation 6.3 and Special Delegation Requirements


Mr. Blaine Calkins, M.P.
Chair, Standing Committee on
Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics
House of Commons
Ottawa ON  K1A 0A6


Dear Mr. Calkins:

Thank you for your letter of June 3, 2016. Please find my response to your questions below.

Recommendation 6.3

Currently, for grants, loans and contributions over $25,000, institutions must proactively disclose on a quarterly basis the name of the recipient, location of the recipient, date, value of the funding, whether the funding is a grant, loan or contribution, the purpose of the grant, loan or contribution and additional technical comments, such as whether the funding is a multi-year commitment or the reporting was belated.Footnote 1

Institutions are not required to proactively release information about grants, loans or contributions of less than $25,000. In addition, they are not required to proactively release the terms associated with these grants, loans or contributions, or information on the status of repayment and compliance with the terms.

Accessing information related to the repayment of loans is a recurring complaint received by my office.

The first reported complaint dates back to 2003–2004, and concerns difficulties obtaining access to repayment information regarding the Technology Partnerships Program. At the time of reporting, $1.6 billion had been contributed to organizations such as Pratt & Whitney and Bombardier.Footnote 2 The requester had asked Industry Canada about whether or not these organizations had ever repaid the loans. Initially, Industry Canada agreed to disclose the total amount of repayments, but not repayments by individual organizations, citing the exemption for third party information. It was only after intervention from the Information Commissioner that the requested information was disclosed per organization.

In the last ten years, this issue has also been the subject of litigation. More recently, in 2014 Bombardier commenced litigation to prevent disclosure of information concerning grants and contributions it had received from government programs, including repayment information. Bombardier claims that the information should be withheld under the exemption for third party information. My office is an added party in these proceedings.

In order to address these ongoing investigation issues, I have recommended that, as part of a publication scheme, institutions should be required to proactively publish information about all grants, loans or contributions given by government, including the status of repayment and compliance with the terms of the agreement.

Increased transparency surrounding the spending of public funds enhances accountability. Proactive disclosure regarding the status of repayment and compliance with the terms of the agreement will allow Canadians to scrutinize whether recipients are abiding by the terms and conditions of repayment.

As with other loans, student loans would already be subject to disclosure if requested under the Access to Information Act (the Act), subject to exemptions, such as the exemption for personal information. Disclosing this information proactively in individual form could be onerous for institutions; however, I would recommend, at a minimum, proactive disclosure of the terms associated with student loans, the status of repayment and compliance with the terms in aggregate form.

Special delegation requirements

Under subsection 59(2) of the Act, the Commissioner (or Assistant Commissioner) may only delegate the investigation of a complaint based on a refusal of access under paragraphs 13(1)(a) or (b) (the exemptions for information obtained in confidence from a foreign state, international organization, or institution thereof) or section 15 (the exemption for international affairs and defence) to a certain number of specifically designated employees.

The number of employees who can undertake these investigations is fixed by the President of the Treasury Board. The maximum number of special delegation investigators is currently set at twelve (12).

In my office, there are presently seven specially delegated investigators.Footnote 3 Of these, two have Top Secret clearance and have undergone indoctrination with Communication Security Establishment Canada (CSEC). As such, they have clearance to view records that relate to signals intelligence (or SIGINT). Two others have Top Secret clearance. The remaining three have Secret clearance.

Special delegation files are assigned based on the requisite level of security needed.

For all investigation files, security measures are put in place to meet the security classification of the records. For Top Secret (SIGINT) records, investigators view records at the originating institution.

As Information Commissioner, I currently hold Top Secret with SIGINT security clearance.

There are 451 active special delegation files in the inventory. Of those, 168 are designated Secret and nine are Top Secret or higher.Footnote 4

I hope this submission is of assistance to the Committee. I remain available for any further assistance it may require as it completes this importance study.

 

Sincerely,

 

Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada

 

c.c.:   Mr. Joël Lightbound, First Vice-Chair
Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics

Mr. Daniel Blaikie, Second Vice-Chair
Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics

Michel Marcotte, Clerk
Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics

 

Footnotes

Footnote 1

The requirement to publish this information was announced by the government as part of its Management Improvement Agenda on October 21, 2005.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The terms and conditions of the Technology Partnerships Program expired on December 31, 2006. In total, the Technology Partnerships Program gave $3.16 billion in disbursements.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The maximum complement of twelve special delegation investigators is not currently met due to staff turnover and resource level issues. However, I intend on designating more special delegation investigators in the near term.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The percentage of special delegation files designated as Top Secret or higher is consistently small.

Return to first footnote 4 referrer

Lettre au Président du Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique sur la recommandation 6.3 et les exigences relatives aux délégations spéciales


M. Blaine Calkins, député
Président, Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information,
de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique
Chambre des communes
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1A 0A6


Monsieur,

Merci pour votre lettre du 3 juin 2016. Vous trouverez ma réponse à vos questions ci-dessous.

Recommandation 6.3

Actuellement, pour les subventions, prêts et contributions de plus de 25 000 $, les institutions doivent divulguer de manière proactive le nom du bénéficiaire, le lieu où il se trouve, la date, la valeur du financement, si le financement est une subvention, un prêt ou une contribution, le but de la subvention, du prêt ou de la contribution, ainsi que d’autres remarques techniques, notamment si le financement est un engagement sur plusieurs années ou si la déclaration était tardiveNote de bas de page 1.

Les institutions n’ont pas l’obligation de publier de façon proactive des renseignements au sujet des subventions, prêts ou contributions de moins de 25 000 $. En outre, elles ne sont pas tenues de publier de façon proactive les modalités associées à ces subventions, prêts ou contributions, ni les renseignements sur l’état du remboursement et la conformité aux modalités.

Mon bureau reçoit de manière répétée des plaintes liées à l’accès aux renseignements sur le remboursement des prêts.

La première plainte signalée remonte à 2003-2004. Cette dernière concernait la difficulté à obtenir l’accès à des renseignements sur le remboursement dans le cadre du Programme de partenariats en technologie. Au moment de la divulgation, 1,6 milliard de dollars avaient été versés sous la forme de contributions à des organisations telles que Pratt & Whitney et BombardierNote de bas de page 2. Le demandeur avait cherché à savoir auprès d’Industrie Canada si ces organisations avaient déjà remboursé les prêts. Au départ, Industrie Canada a accepté de divulguer le montant total des remboursements, mais non les remboursements versés par chacune des organisations, en invoquant l’exception liée aux renseignements des tiers. Les renseignements demandés n’ont été divulgués qu’après l’intervention du commissaire à l’information.

Au cours des dix dernières années, cette question a également fait l’objet de litiges. Plus récemment, en 2014, Bombardier a intenté des poursuites afin d’empêcher la divulgation de renseignements concernant des subventions et contributions que l’entreprise avait reçues de programmes gouvernementaux, y compris des renseignements sur le remboursement. Bombardier fait valoir que les renseignements ne devraient pas être communiqués en raison de l’exception liée aux renseignements des tiers. Mon bureau est une autre partie à cette procédure.

Afin de régler ce genre de problèmes liés aux enquêtes qui se répètent, j’ai recommandé que, dans une publication, les institutions soient tenues de divulguer de manière proactive des renseignements sur tous les prêts, subventions ou contributions accordés par le gouvernement, notamment l’état du remboursement et la conformité aux modalités de l’entente.

La transparence accrue à propos de la dépense des fonds publics améliore la responsabilisation. La divulgation proactive de l’état du remboursement et de la conformité aux modalités de l’entente permettra aux Canadiens d’effectuer un examen rigoureux pour déterminer si les bénéficiaires respectent les modalités du remboursement.

Comme pour les autres prêts, les prêts étudiants seraient déjà assujettis à la divulgation si une demande était présentée en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (la Loi), sous réserve de certaines exceptions, comme l’exception liée aux renseignements personnels. La divulgation proactive de ce genre de renseignements sous une forme individuelle pourrait coûter cher aux institutions; toutefois, je recommanderais, à tout le moins, la divulgation proactive des modalités liées aux prêts étudiants, de l’état du remboursement et de la conformité aux modalités sous une forme agrégée.

Exigences relatives aux délégations spéciales

En vertu du paragraphe 59(2) le la Loi, le commissaire (ou le commissaire adjoint) peut uniquement déléguer la tenue d’une enquête sur le refus de donner accès en vertu de l’alinéa 13(1)a) ou b) (les exceptions liées aux renseignements obtenus à titre confidentiel d’un gouvernement étranger, d’une organisation internationale ou de leurs organismes) ou de l’article 15 (l’exception liée aux affaires internationales et à la défense) qu’à un certain nombre d’employés désignés.

Le nombre d’employés qui peut entreprendre de telles enquêtes est déterminé par le président du Conseil du Trésor. Le nombre maximal d’enquêteurs chargés des enquêtes sur les délégations spéciales est actuellement établi à douze (12).

Dans mon bureau, il y a maintenant sept enquêteurs spécialement déléguésNote de bas de page 3. De ce nombre, deux ont la cote de sécurité très secrète et ont reçu une formation du Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications Canada (CSTC). Par conséquent, ils ont la cote de sécurité nécessaire pour consulter des enregistrements portant sur le renseignement d’origine électromagnétique (ou ROEM). Deux autres ont une cote de sécurité très secrète. Les trois autres ont une cote de sécurité secrète.

Les dossiers de délégation spéciale sont attribués selon le niveau de sécurité exigé.

Pour tous les dossiers d’enquête, des mesures de sécurité sont mises en place afin de respecter les critères de classification de sécurité des enregistrements. Dans le cas des enregistrements très secrets (ROEM), les enquêteurs consultent les documents dans l’institution d’origine.

À titre de commissaire à l’information, j’ai actuellement une cote de sécurité très secrète avec ROEM.

Il y a 451 dossiers actifs de délégations spéciales en inventaire. 168 d’entre eux sont désignés secrets et neuf ont une cote très secrète ou supérieureNote de bas de page 4.

J’ose espérer que cet exposé sera utile au Comité. Je demeure à sa disposition pour lui apporter toute aide supplémentaire dont il pourrait avoir besoin pendant qu’il mène cette importante étude.



Veuillez agréer, Monsieur le Président, mes salutations distinguées.

 

La commissaire à l’information du Canada,
Suzanne Legault

 

c.c. :  Monsieur Joël Lightbound, premier vice-président
          Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique

Monsieur Daniel Blaikie, deuxième vice-président
Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique

Michel Marcotte, greffier
Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique

 

Notes de bas de page

Notes de bas de page 1

Le gouvernement a annoncé l’obligation de publier ces renseignements dans le cadre de son Programme d’amélioration de la gestion, le 21 octobre 2005.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 1

Notes de bas de page 2

Les modalités du Programme de partenariats en technologie ont expirées le 31 décembre 2006. Au total, le Programme de partenariats en technologie a déboursé 3,16 milliards de dollars.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 2

Notes de bas de page 3

L’effectif maximal de douze enquêteurs chargés des enquêtes sur des délégations spéciales n’est pas atteint pour le moment en raison du roulement du personnel et de problèmes liés aux ressources. Toutefois, j’ai l’intention de désigner d’autres enquêteurs chargés des enquêtes sur des délégations spéciales dans un proche avenir.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 3

Notes de bas de page 4

Le pourcentage des dossiers de délégations spéciales désignés comme étant très secrets ou ayant une cote supérieure est constamment faible.

Retour vers la note de bas de page de référence 4