Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Senate Committee of the Whole

Address by the Interim Information Commissioner of Canada

Tuesday, June 22, 2010

Check Against Delivery

Thank you. I am delighted to be here today to answer your questions on my nomination as Information Commissioner.

I am honoured to be conferred this tremendous privilege of being nominated for the position of Access to Information Commissioner of Canada. I am excited about the great responsibilities and the challenges that come with the position of agent of Parliament in serving both Parliament and Canadians.

Almost a year ago, when I accepted to take on this job on an interim basis, I made a commitment to maximize the effectiveness and timeliness of our investigative function to fully meet the current needs and expectations of Canadians. Over the last year, through sustained and ongoing efforts, we have made great strides towards the achievement of this goal.

Mr. Chair, I would like to briefly talk about my career path leading up to this nomination.

I am a lawyer by training. I graduated from McGill University with a bachelor of civil law and common law. I moved to the national capital region where I practiced law as a crown prosecutor and a criminal defence lawyer. I joined the public service in 1996, with the Competition Bureau, where I have honed my skills as an investigator in both criminal and civil matters. I also assumed the role of special advisor to the Commissioner of Competition during a crucial time in the restructuring of the airline sector in Canada.

I briefly joined the Department of Justice as a legal counsel and litigator responsible for a wide variety of files related to competition matters before returning to the Competition Bureau in 2001 to join the executive ranks.

Before joining the Office of the Information Commissioner in 2007, I spent a year at the University of Ottawa in the Jarislowsky Chair in Public Sector Management where I worked on the integration of competition policy in rule making across the federal government.

I was appointed Assistant Information Commissioner, Policy, Communications and Operations in June 2007 and interim Information Commissioner in June 2009.

In summary, I have spent the last 20 years working in a variety of environments including the private sector, the public service and academia. Through my diverse work experiences, I have honed my skills in investigations, mediation, negotiation and litigation. My experience as a public servant has taught me much about policy development on complex matters and the privileged relationship that we hold with Parliament and its committees.

This experience also made me a steward of sound management practices. Over the last three years, the Office has fundamentally changed and I can honestly say today that it has come a long way – it is stronger, more accountable and more effective. I was directly involved in establishing and improving the organization’s capacity in areas such as corporate services, information management, parliamentary affairs and systemic issues. My office’s efforts at improving our financial management practices and governance were recognized last year by the Office of the Auditor General. I have also reinforced our internal audit functions to ensure that we gain maximum efficiencies and make adjustments in a timely fashion. Since joining the Office of the Information Commissioner in 2007, I have gained an in-depth knowledge of the Access to Information Act and about the institution.

Above all of these work experiences, however, the greatest strength I bring to the position of Information Commissioner is my ability to deal with highly complex matters and to find creative solutions.

Since starting my interim term as Information Commissioner, I have been directly involved in our investigations, on a daily basis. I have made full use of the powers at my disposal and the tools I have to maximize adherence to legislative requirements. My office has collaborated with all stakeholders during investigations in the search for the best resolution to complaints. However, I took a firm hand when required. I have also adopted a more proactive and integrated approach to assess compliance with our Act, as articulated in the Three-year plan.

My focus was on investigations and on the investigative function. As a result, we have closed more complaints this year than we have in the past two decades and we have made the largest dent in our existing caseload. We have also reduced by nearly one third the average time it took us to conclude investigations into our recent complaints.

If my nomination is confirmed, my leadership and my vision will be governed by excellence - that is excellence in service to Canadians, excellence in service to Parliament, excellence in stewardship of the OIC and excellence as an employer.

In practical terms, this means that first and foremost, my focus will remain on our investigations. We have made great strides this year in reducing our inventory of cases. However, we continue to deal with an important caseload and until such time as we reach a manageable caseload, dealing with investigations will be my number one priority.

I will systematically work towards improving the access to information as a whole, at all levels – in terms of requests, dealing with systemic problems and strengthening legal standards.

I do not think it is helpful to say that everything related to the federal access to information regime is broken. As my experience has taught me, it is much more productive to address specific issues with the right people, based on strong evidence. I am optimistic that with this approach, the access to information regime will become stronger.

As an ombudsperson, I see my role as a catalyst between the various stakeholders to bring about advancement in the access to information regime in Canada. I have said in the past that the Access to Information Act is lagging behind most Canadian and foreign jurisdictions. My goal is to bring about greater convergence between legal standards in Canada and those in more progressive laws internationally. As information is now flowing across levels of governments and across national and international boundaries, Canadians should not have to face varying standards and receive different responses depending on where the request is made.

I will also continue to uphold the highest standards in terms of management of the Office.

Mr. Chair, on December 12, 2006, when former Commissioner Marleau appeared before this committee to discuss his own nomination, he said the following: “When Parliament grants an agent of Parliament a trust on behalf of all Canadians, the very least Parliament deserves to receive in return is leadership that it can trust”. Mr. Chair, I am most honoured by this nomination. In the last year as interim Information Commissioner, I have demonstrated that I can lead my Office through its complex mandate in a trustworthy manner.

Thank you. I will be pleased to answer your questions.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Comparutions devant les comités parlementaires

Année


Le comité plénier du Sénat

Allocution de la commissaire à l’information du Canada par intérim

Le mardi 22 juin 2010

L'allocution prononcée fait foi

Merci. C’est avec grand plaisir que je suis ici aujourd’hui pour répondre à vos questions sur ma nomination à titre de commissaire à l’information.

Je suis honorée d’avoir cet immense privilège d’être nommée au poste de commissaire à l’information du Canada. Je suis enthousiasmée par les grandes responsabilités et les défis que propose le poste d’agent du Parlement, au service du Parlement et des Canadiens.

Il y a près d’un an, lorsque j’ai accepté ce poste de façon intérimaire, je me suis engagée à maximiser l’efficacité et la rapidité de notre fonction d’enquête afin de répondre entièrement aux attentes et aux besoins actuels des Canadiens. Au cours de la dernière année, grâce à des efforts soutenus et constants, nous avons fait de grands progrès pour atteindre cet objectif.

Monsieur le Président, j’aimerais parler brièvement du cheminement de carrière qui m’a menée jusqu’à cette nomination.

J’ai suivi une formation d’avocate. Diplômée de l’Université McGill, je suis titulaire d’un baccalauréat en droit civil et d’un baccalauréat en common law. J’ai déménagé dans la région de la capitale nationale où j’ai pratiqué le droit à titre de procureure de la Couronne et d’avocate de la défense en droit criminel. Je me suis jointe à la fonction publique en 1996, au Bureau de la concurrence, où j’ai perfectionné mes compétences tant dans les affaires criminelles que civiles. J’ai également exercé le rôle de conseillère spéciale du commissaire de la concurrence à un moment critique de la restructuration de l’industrie du transport aérien au Canada.

Je me suis jointe brièvement au ministère de la Justice à titre de conseillère juridique et d’avocate plaidante responsable d’un large éventail de dossiers ayant trait à des questions de concurrence avant de retourner au Bureau de la concurrence en 2001 pour y occuper un poste de direction.

Avant de me joindre au Commissariat à l’information du Canada en 2007, j’ai passé un an à l’Université d’Ottawa, à la Chaire Jarislowsky sur la gestion dans le secteur public, où j’ai travaillé à l’intégration de la politique sur la concurrence dans l’établissement de règles à l’échelle du gouvernement fédéral.

J’ai été nommée commissaire adjointe à l’information, Politiques, Communications et Opérations, en juin 2007, et commissaire à l’information par intérim en juin 2009.

En bref, j’ai passé les 20 dernières années à travailler dans divers milieux, notamment le secteur privé, la fonction publique et le milieu universitaire. Grâce à mes expériences de travail diversifiées, j’ai pu perfectionner mes compétences en enquête, médiation, négociation et règlement de litiges. Mon expérience à titre de fonctionnaire m’a permis de développer mes connaissances en élaboration de politiques sur des questions complexes et de la relation privilégiée que nous entretenons avec le Parlement et ses comités.

Cette expérience m’a permis de mettre en œuvre de saines pratiques de gestion. Au cours des trois dernières années, le Commissariat a fondamentalement changé et je peux vous dire en toute honnêteté aujourd’hui qu’il a beaucoup avancé. Il est maintenant plus fort, plus responsable et plus efficace. J’ai directement participé à l’établissement et à l’amélioration de la capacité organisationnelle dans des domaines comme les services intégrés, la gestion de l’information et la technologie de l’information, les affaires parlementaires et les affaires systémiques. Les efforts déployés par le Commissariat pour améliorer nos pratiques de gestion financière et notre gouvernance ont été reconnus l’an dernier par le Bureau du vérificateur général. J’ai également renforcé nos fonctions de vérification interne afin que nous soyons en mesure d’atteindre une efficacité maximale et d’apporter des ajustements en temps opportun. Depuis mon arrivée au Commissariat à l’information en 2007, j’ai pu acquérir une connaissance approfondie de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

En plus de toutes ces expériences de travail, la plus grande force que j’apporte au poste de commissaire à l’information est ma capacité de traiter des questions extrêmement complexes et de trouver des solutions créatives.

Depuis que j’ai commencé mon mandat intérimaire à titre de commissaire à l’information, je participe directement et quotidiennement à nos enquêtes. J’utilise pleinement les pouvoirs qui me sont conférés et les outils que j’ai à ma disposition pour maximiser la conformité aux exigences législatives. Le Commissariat a collaboré avec toutes les parties intéressées pour trouver la meilleure façon de régler les plaintes. Toutefois, j’ai fait preuve de fermeté lorsqu’il le fallait. J’ai également adopté une approche plus proactive et intégrée pour évaluer la conformité à notre loi, tel qu’il est exprimé dans le plan triennal.

J’ai concentré mes efforts sur les enquêtes et sur la fonction d’enquête. Par conséquent, nous avons réglé davantage de plaintes cette année comparativement aux deux dernières décennies et nous avons fait le plus grand progrès dans nos dossiers existants. Nous avons également réduit de près du tiers le temps moyen pour terminer les enquêtes à l’égard de nos plaintes récentes.

Si ma nomination est confirmée, mon leadership et ma vision seront régis par l’excellence; l’excellence du service aux Canadiens, l’excellence du service au Parlement, l’excellence dans l’administration du Commissariat et l’excellence à titre d’employeur.

Dans les faits, cela signifie que d’abord et avant tout, je consacrerai principalement mes énergies à nos enquêtes. Nous avons fait d’excellents progrès cette année pour réduire le nombre de cas en inventaire. Toutefois, nous continuons de traiter un nombre de dossiers important, et jusqu’à ce que nous ayons un nombre de dossiers raisonnable, la gestion des enquêtes demeurera ma plus grande priorité.

Je travaillerai systématiquement à l’amélioration de l’accès à l’information dans l’ensemble, à tous les paliers, sur le plan des demandes, de la gestion des problèmes systémiques et du renforcement des normes juridiques.

Je ne crois pas qu’il soit utile de dire que tout ce qui est lié au régime fédéral d’accès à l’information ne fonctionne plus. Comme mon expérience me l’a appris, il est beaucoup plus productif de régler des problèmes précis avec les bonnes personnes, en fonction de la preuve concluante. Je suis convaincue qu’avec cette approche, le régime d’accès à l’information deviendra plus solide.

En tant qu’ombudsman, mon rôle est celui d’un catalyseur entre les divers intervenants pour provoquer l’avancement du régime d’accès à l’information au Canada. J’ai dit dans le passé que la Loi sur l’accès à l’information traîne derrière les lois de la plupart des instances canadiennes et étrangères. Mon objectif est d’entraîner une plus grande convergence entre les normes juridiques au Canada et celles des lois plus progressives à l’échelle internationale. Maintenant que l’information circule entre les différents paliers de gouvernement et au-delà des frontières nationales et internationales, les Canadiens ne devraient pas être confrontés à diverses normes et ne devraient pas recevoir des réponses différentes selon l’endroit de la demande.

Je vais également continuer à imposer le respect des normes les plus élevées en ce qui a trait à la gestion du Commissariat.

Monsieur le Président, le 12 décembre 2006, quand l'ancien commissaire Marleau a comparu devant ce comité pour discuter de sa nomination, il a déclaré qu' « un agent du Parlement qui se voit attribuer un poste de confiance au nom de tous les Canadiens doit, à tout le moins, se montrer digne de cette confiance par ses actions ». Monsieur le Président, cette nomination représente un grand honneur pour moi. Dans la dernière année, à titre de commissaire à l’information par intérim, j’ai démontré, de façon satisfaisante, que je peux diriger le Commissariat et remplir un mandat aussi complexe d’une manière digne de confiance.

Merci. Il me fera plaisir de répondre à vos questions.