Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Appearances before Parliamentary Committees

Year


Speaking notes for Suzanne Legault

Interim Information Commissioner of Canada

REPORT CARDS

Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics (ETHI)

April 15, 2010

CHECK AGAINST DELIVERY

Thank you Mr. Chairman. I am pleased to discuss with you in greater detail this year’s Special Report, which provides an assessment of delays and examines federal institution’s compliance with the Access to Information Act.

The purpose of the report cards is not to chastise institutions. This process is a tool at my disposal to effect greater compliance with the requirements of the Act. It allows me to see compliance issues in their full context, and to recommend meaningful solutions.

This year’s report confirms and substantiates our diagnosis from last year. Although timeliness is the cornerstone of the Act, chronic delays continue to be its Achilles’ heel. In 2008-2009, only 57% of all requests received across the federal government were responded to within 30 days. Almost half of the complaints my office received in 2008-2009 dealt with delays and 3 out of 4 complaints completed with a finding were resolved with merit.

Clearly, this is not what the legislators had envisioned when they established 30 days as the appropriate length of time to respond to a request. It is now imperative to tackle this issue head-on. This is why the Three-Year Plan I announced last summer focuses on assessing the root causes of delays so that solutions can be found. This year’s report cards are the first step under this plan.

To obtain a sound, fact-based assessment, I expanded this year’s sample from 10 to 24 institutions. These 24 institutions received 88% of all access requests. The assessment therefore provides a reliable picture of the overall situation. We rated the institutions globally: we assessed not only their statistical compliance with statutory timelines, but also looked at practices and policies that impact on their performance.

For individual institutions, I have made recommendations that are tailored to their unique situations and challenges. In addition, I am making recommendations to the Treasury Board Secretariat (TBS) as the central agency responsible for the administration of the Act.

With the evidence collected during the process, we have confirmed the continued presence of system-wide issues we identified last year. These include: lack of leadership, inappropriate use of time extensions, time-consuming consultations, insufficient resources and deficiencies in records management. We have also discovered that flawed or ill-enforced delegation orders within institutions constitute another significant obstacle to timely access to information.

A leading cause of delay is the extensive or inappropriate use of time extensions. In fact, institutions’ use of time extensions account for 31 percent of complaints to my Office.

I also want to emphasize that frequent and lengthy consultations between institutions represent a major problem. Federal institutions often consult other institutions before determining whether to exempt, exclude or disclose information. The time needed to complete the consultation then also depends on the efficiency and the goodwill of the institution being consulted. Yet only the consulting institution is responsible under the Act for completing the request within the statutory timelines.

The situation is even worse when government policy requires consultations that are far more extensive than those stipulated by law. For some institutions such as Foreign Affairs and International Trade, the Department of Justice and the Canadian Security Intelligence Service, these mandatory consultations represent more than half of their workload.

Although a persistent issue, there is little known about the impact of these mandatory consultations because there are no statistics or no studies available to assess their impact. I am concerned that this lack of data fails to assign responsibility where it belongs.

Despite previous warnings and recommendations, our findings show that little progress has been achieved to remedy delays across the system. Of the 24 institutions assessed this year, 13 performed below average or worse. These poor performers accounted for 27% of all the access requests made to the federal government in 2008-2009 (45% if not counting the large share of requests sent to Citizenship and Immigration, which are mostly privacy-related).

We used three indicators which taken together expose different facets of timeliness.

In terms of deemed refusals, 9 institutions present rates ranging from 20 to 60 percent.

The second indicator used is the average time required to complete requests. The average figure varies significantly between institutions from 34 days for Citizenship and Immigration to 163 days for Foreign Affairs and International Trade. Seventeen of the 24 institutions completed their requests in 60 days or more. In addition, we looked at the number of requests responded to after statutory deadlines expired. We found that 27 percent of overdue requests took more than 60 days to close.

Mr. Chairman, there is a silver lining in this year’s special report. Two institutions, Citizenship and Immigration and the Department of Justice achieved an outstanding score due to senior management’s ongoing support for a compliance-prone culture. Since last year’s assessment, we also witnessed some very impressive results at the Canada Border Services Agency, the Royal Canadian Mounted Police and Public Works and Government Services. These institutions have adopted a strategic approach to their access to information programs and, therefore, have substantially improved service delivery to Canadians.

This is proof that the system is not irrevocably broken, as we so often hear. We need to look more closely at the challenges that impede the performance of the institutions that did not perform well.

I also believe that Treasury Board Secretariat must establish strong standards to guide institutions and collect more detailed statistics to adequately monitor and measure institutional compliance. These measures are crucial to strengthen institutions’ accountability pending legislative reform.

I would like to acknowledge the collaboration from the subject institutions, and particularly from the access coordinators and their staff in this process. This community represents a unique culture within government, as their mandate is transparency amid an environment that tends to be risk averse.

Before closing, Mr. Chairman, I’d like to clarify my Office’s activities in relation to recent allegations of political interference. As I announced on March 2, my Office is conducting three priority investigations into complaints we received over specific allegations of political interference with requests made under the Access to Information Act. It is my hope that these investigations will be completed promptly.

In addition to these investigations, my Office will undertake a systemic investigation into delays and time extensions, as announced in the three-year plan published last July. The scope and focus of the systemic investigation will be expanded to examine whether political interference in the processing of access requests is a cause of delay or unduly restricts disclosure under the Act. I hope to complete that investigation within eighteen months.

Thank you.

I would be pleased to answer your questions.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Comparutions devant les comités parlementaires

Année


Notes d’allocution de Suzanne Legault

Commissaire à l’information du Canada par intérim

FICHES DE RENDEMENT

Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique (ETHI)

Le 15 avril 2010

SEUL LE TEXTE PRONONCÉ FAIT FOI

Merci, Monsieur le Président. Je suis heureuse de discuter plus en détail du rapport spécial de cette année, qui évalue les retards et examine la conformité des institutions fédérales avec la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Les fiches de rendement ne servent pas à critiquer les institutions. Il s’agit d’un processus à ma disposition pour assurer un plus grand respect des exigences de la Loi. Il me permet d’examiner les problèmes de conformité dans leur contexte et de proposer des solutions constructives.

Le rapport de cette année corrobore notre analyse de l’année dernière. Bien que le respect des délais soit la pierre angulaire de la Loi, les retards chroniques demeurent le talon d’Achille de celle-ci. En 2008-2009, le gouvernement fédéral a répondu à seulement 57 % des demandes dans un délai de 30 jours. Près de la moitié des plaintes reçues par le Commissariat en 2008-2009 portaient sur les retards et 3 plaintes sur 4 qui ont été réglées et qui ont donné lieu à une conclusion étaient fondées.

Ce n’est manifestement pas ce que les législateurs avaient en tête lorsqu’ils ont fixé à 30 jours le délai approprié pour répondre à une demande. Il faut maintenant s’attaquer de front au problème. J’ai donc annoncé l’été dernier un plan triennal axé sur l’évaluation des causes profondes des retards pour permettre de trouver des solutions. Les fiches de rendement de cette année constituent la première étape de ce plan.

Pour que l’évaluation soit rigoureuse et fondée sur les faits, j’ai fait passer l’échantillon de 10 à 24 institutions. Étant donné que celles-ci ont reçu 88 % des demandes d’accès, l’évaluation dresse un portrait fiable de la situation globale. Nous avons évalué les institutions dans leur ensemble, c’est-à-dire que nous avons examiné les statistiques de conformité avec les exigences réglementaires en plus des pratiques et des politiques qui ont une incidence sur le rendement des institutions.

J’ai formulé des recommandations adaptées aux situations et défis propres à chacune des institutions. De plus, j’ai fait des recommandations au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT), qui est l’organisme central chargé d’appliquer la Loi.

Les données recueillies durant le processus nous ont permis de confirmer la persistance des problèmes systémiques cernés l’année dernière, dont le manque de leadership, l’utilisation inappropriée des prorogations de délai, les consultations prolongées, les ressources insuffisantes et les lacunes dans la gestion de l’information. Nous avons aussi découvert que les ordonnances de délégation de pouvoir déficientes ou mal appliquées par les institutions nuisent grandement à l’accès à l’information en temps opportun.

Une des principales causes de retard est l’utilisation fréquente ou inappropriée des prorogations de délai : le recours à celles-ci par les institutions fait l’objet de 31 % des plaintes déposées au Commissariat.

Je tiens également à souligner que les consultations fréquentes et prolongées posent un grave problème. Les institutions fédérales se consultent souvent pour déterminer s’il faut exempter, exclure ou divulguer l’information. Le temps nécessaire à cette opération dépend en partie de l’efficience et de la bonne volonté de l’institution consultée, mais celle qui consulte est seule responsable, en vertu de la Loi, de répondre à la demande dans les délais réglementaires.

La situation empire lorsqu’une politique gouvernementale demande des consultations beaucoup plus approfondies que celles prévues par la loi. Pour certaines institutions, comme Affaires étrangères et Commerce international, le ministère de la Justice et le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité, ces consultations obligatoires représentent plus de la moitié de la charge de travail.

Les consultations obligatoires constituent un problème persistant, mais leurs répercussions sont peu connues puisqu’il n’existe aucune statistique ou étude à ce sujet. Je crains que le manque de données empêche d’attribuer les responsabilités au bon endroit.

Malgré des avertissements et des recommandations antérieurs, nos constatations montrent que peu de progrès ont été réalisés relativement au problème des retards dans l’ensemble du système. Des 24 institutions évaluées cette année, 13 affichent un rendement sous la moyenne ou pire encore. Les institutions affichant un piètre rendement ont reçu 27 % des demandes d’accès reçues par le gouvernement fédéral en 2008-2009 (45 % si l’on exclut le grand nombre de demandes envoyées à Citoyenneté et Immigration, qui concernent surtout la protection de la vie privée).

Nous avons utilisé trois indicateurs qui, ensemble, montrent différentes facettes de la rapidité d’exécution. Pour ce qui est des taux de présomption de refus, 9 institutions se situent entre 20 et 60 %. Le deuxième indicateur est le délai de traitement moyen, qui varie considérablement d’une institution à l’autre : il est de 34 jours pour Citoyenneté et Immigration et de 163 jours pour Affaires étrangères et Commerce international. Des 24 institutions étudiées, 17 prenaient en moyenne 60 jours ou plus pour régler les demandes. En outre, nous avons examiné le nombre de demandes auxquelles on a répondu après les délais réglementaires, et nous avons constaté que 27 % des demandes expirées étaient fermées après plus de 60 jours.

Monsieur le Président, il y a néanmoins un aspect positif dans le rapport spécial de cette année. Deux institutions, Citoyenneté et Immigration et le ministère de la Justice, ont obtenu un excellent résultat attribuable au soutien continu de la haute direction à une culture qui tend vers la conformité. Depuis l’évaluation de l’année dernière, l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada, la Gendarmerie royale du Canada et Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux ont présenté des résultats très impressionnants. Ces institutions ont adopté une stratégie d’accès à l’information qui leur a permis d’améliorer considérablement les services offerts aux Canadiens.

Cela prouve que le système n’est pas irrémédiablement déficient, comme on le prétend souvent. Nous devons examiner plus attentivement les obstacles qui nuisent au rendement des institutions qui n’ont pas bien performées.

Je crois également que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor doit établir des normes strictes afin de guider les institutions et compiler des statistiques plus détaillées pour surveiller et mesurer adéquatement la conformité de celles-ci. Ces mesures sont essentielles pour consolider la responsabilité des institutions en attendant une réforme législative.

En terminant, Monsieur le Président, je tiens à souligner la collaboration des institutions étudiées, notamment de leurs coordonnateurs de l’accès et de leur personnel. Cette communauté est unique au sein du gouvernement, car son mandat consiste à assurer la transparence dans un environnement qui a tendance à craindre le risque.

Avant de terminer, Monsieur le Président, j’aimerais clarifier les activités du Commissariat en ce qui a trait aux allégations d’ingérence politique. Comme je l’ai annoncé le 2 mars dernier, nous avons amorcé trois enquêtes prioritaires sur les plaintes que nous avons reçues concernant des allégations d’ingérence politique dans le traitement des demandes qui ont été soumises en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. J’espère pouvoir terminer ces enquêtes dans les plus brefs délais.

Outre ces enquêtes, le Commissariat entreprendra une enquête systémique sur les retards et les prorogations de délai, conformément au plan triennal qui a été publié en juillet dernier. La portée et les éléments de cette enquête systémique seront élargis pour déterminer si l’ingérence politique dans le traitement des demandes d’accès occasionne des délais ou limite indûment la divulgation en vertu de la loi. Je compte clore cette enquête dans les prochains 18 mois.

Merci.

Je répondrai à vos questions avec plaisir.