Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Appearances before Parliamentary Committees

Year


Speaking Notes for Suzanne Legault

Interim Information Commissioner of Canada

Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics (ETHI)

March 30, 2010

Check Against Delivery


Introduction 

Thank you, Mr. Chairman, and congratulations on your re-election as Chair of this Committee. It is indeed a pleasure to appear before what you qualified as the best and hardest working Committee on Parliament Hill.

Today, I will review some of this year’s successes and highlight my priorities for the year ahead.

Setting the stage for greater efficiencies and enhanced stewardship 

Three years ago, in response to considerable challenges in delivering on our mandate, former Commissioner Marleau, initiated major structural and operational changes. The goal was to improve our core investigative function and ensure diligent stewardship of our operations to deliver high quality services to Canadians. In doing so, Mr. Marleau laid down the foundations of our new business model, tailored to our current and unique challenges.

After a full year of implementation, ongoing monitoring and adjustments, I am proud to say that my Office is now breaking new ground in terms of operational and strategic efficiencies.

Priorities 2009-2010: Maximizing investigative efficiency  

Since starting my term as Interim Commissioner, my priority has been to improve the efficiency of our investigative process. I have supported this effort with a strong integrated human resources strategy.

Here are some of the results:

  • Whereas it took an average of 176 days to process administrative complaints from receipt to disposition, the average turnaround time since October 2009 is 107 days. I am confident that we will meet our objective next year to close 85% of our administrative complaints within a 90-day timeline.

  • We have also made a significant dent in our inventory of pre-April 2008 complaints. This inventory has been reduced from approximately 1600 in November 2008 to less than 400 as of last week.

  • However, the most significant accomplishment this year is, no doubt, the number of cases closed, which stands at 2,062.

Since last summer, I have made full and judicious use of my investigative powers. I am making greater use of the formal reporting process under section 37 of the Act and recommending actions to resolve matters directly to heads of institutions. This approach has proven effective for the release of additional records to complainants. I have also used subpoenas and conducted examinations under oath in appropriate cases.

This success on the operational front has been accompanied by a number of precedent-setting cases.

  • My Office sought and has obtained leave to appeal to the Supreme Court of Canada in the cases of the “Prime Minister’s Agenda.” A hearing date has been set for October 2010.

  • I have issued subpoenas to the CBC for the production of records. The institution is challenging my authority to review documents subject to exclusions under section 68.1 of the Act. This case is now before the Federal Court.

  • In the case of the National Gallery of Canada, I have, for the first time, referred a matter to the Attorney General of Canada in relation to the possible commission of an offence under section 67.1 of the Act. This section provides criminal sanctions for wilful destruction, falsification or concealment of a record, or counselling any person to do so.

Achieving the benefits of the business model also required that I fully staff the investigators positions. We are ending the year–and starting the new one–with a full complement of investigators. Moreover, I have established a structured in-house training program to provide investigators with the extra skills and knowledge they need for optimal performance.

Three-year plan

I have adopted an integrated approach to systemic issues through our three-year plan published last July.

My first step was to look into the pervasive problem of delays through this year’s report cards process. I expanded our sample to 24 institutions–representing 88% of all access requests received by government–to provide a sound, fact-based assessment of the situation.

I will be tabling the report in Parliament on April 13th. I also look forward to discussing it in more detail with this Committee on April 22nd.

Main Estimates 

In terms of this year’s Main Estimates, our total planned spending is $12 million in 2010-2011 and our number of FTEs is 106. This reflects additional funding obtained in 2009-2010.

Mr. Chairman, I am currently using every dollar appropriated to the Office. My budget is extremely stretched and I am operating at full capacity. The changes introduced in the Budget will exert a large burden on my organization since 70% of my budget is allocated to salaries. This means I will have to make difficult choices in the coming years to keep within our appropriations while delivering on our mandate and maintaining excellence in corporate governance.  

Strategically moving into 2010-2011 

The intelligence and expertise gained during these past months allow us to be more strategic and proactive in the way we conduct our investigations. In particular, the in-depth knowledge of our complaints inventory–of its composition and evolution–enables us to devise new strategies to resolve complaints more quickly and efficiently. For example, we might decide to prioritize a complaint based on its merit or, alternatively, process a number of complaints through a portfolio approach by institution, complainant or subject matter.

We are also in a good position to proactively determine where we need to focus our investigative–and training–efforts. For instance, next fiscal year, I will focus on cases related to national security and “advice and recommendations.” In addition, my staff will closely monitor the mandatory notices of extension from institutions to allow us to tackle issues before they become grounds for complaints.

As part of our three-year plan, I am undertaking a systemic investigation into delays and time extensions. As I announced on March 2nd, I will expand the scope and focus of this systemic investigation following recent events to examine whether interference in the processing of access requests is a cause of delay or unduly restricts disclosure under the Act. In parallel, my Office will undertake a report cards assessment of institutions that have become subject to the Act since 2007.

To be strategic and proactive also implies making full use of new technologies to provide greater guidance and serve as a model in providing access to information.

Through our revamped website, we intend to substantially increase public disclosure of our information. Our virtual reading room will give timely access to all OIC decisions and major corporate documents, and list the access to information requests we have received and processed. In addition, we will develop more practice directions regarding our interpretation of the Act and our investigative process.

Mr. Chairman, I informed this Committee last November that my approach as interim Commissioner is simple. I will work diligently to fulfill my mandate by fully implementing the OIC’s business model and maximizing efficiencies in our investigative process. In doing so, I will use all the tools at my disposal under the current legislation and I remain committed to working closely with Parliamentarians, institutions and complainants.

In closing, I would like to put on the public record before this Committee my sincere appreciation for the unwavering support and dedication of my staff in this period of transition.

Thank you.

Ms. Neill and myself will be pleased to answer your questions.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Comparutions devant les comités parlementaires

Année


Notes d’allocution de Suzanne Legault

Commissaire à l’information du Canada par intérim

Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique (ETHI)

Le 30 mars 2010

Seul le texte prononcé fait foi


Introduction 

Je vous remercie, monsieur le Président, et félicitations pour votre réélection en tant que président du Comité. C’est vraiment un plaisir de comparaître devant ce que vous appelez le meilleur comité et le plus travaillant sur la Colline du Parlement.

Aujourd’hui, je vais passer en revue certains des accomplissements de cette année et souligner mes priorités pour l’année à venir.

Préparation pour une efficacité accrue et une gestion améliorée 

Il y a trois ans, face à des défis considérables dans l’exécution de notre mandat, l’ancien commissaire Marleau a procédé à des changements structurels et opérationnels majeurs. L’objectif premier était d’améliorer notre fonction d’enquête, de garantir une gestion prudente de nos activités et d’offrir à la population un excellent service. Ce faisant, M. Marleau a établit les bases de notre nouveau modèle d’affaires qui adresse nos défis uniques et contemporains.

Après un peu plus d’un an de mise en œuvre, de surveillance constante et d’ajustements, je suis très fière de vous témoigner que nous avons atteint de nouveaux sommets en matière d’efficacité au niveau opérationnel et stratégique.

Priorités de 2009-2010 : Maximiser l’efficacité des enquêtes 

Depuis le début de mon mandat en tant que commissaire par intérim, ma priorité a été d’améliorer l’efficacité de notre processus d’enquête. J’ai soutenu cet effort au moyen d’une solide stratégie intégrée de ressources humaines.

Voici certains des résultats :

  • Il a fallu en moyenne 176 jours pour traiter les plaintes administratives, de la réception à la décision, mais le temps de traitement moyen depuis octobre 2009 est de 107 jours. Je suis convaincue que nous atteindrons notre objectif l’an prochain, soit de traiter 85 % des plaintes administratives en 90 jours ou moins.

  • Nous avons également considérablement diminué le nombre de plaintes accumulées dans l’inventaire avant avril 2008. Ce nombre est passé d’environ 1 600 en novembre 2008 à moins de 400 en date de la semaine dernière.

  • Cependant, l’accomplissement principal de cette année est sans aucun doute le nombre de dossiers complétés, qui est de 2 062.

Depuis l’été dernier, j’ai utilisé pleinement mes pouvoirs d’enquête. J’utilise davantage le processus officiel de compte rendu stipulé à l’article 37 de la Loi et recommande les mesures à prendre pour résoudre l’affaire directement aux responsables des institutions. Cette méthode s’est révélée efficace pour la communication de documents supplémentaires aux plaignants. J’ai également utilisé des assignations à produire des documents et nous avons tenu des interrogatoires sous serment dans les dossiers appropriés.

Cette réussite sur le plan opérationnel a été accompagnée de dossiers qui peuvent mener à des précédents.

  • Le Commissariat demandait l’autorisation d’en appeler à la Cour suprême du Canada dans le cas de l’agenda du Premier ministre et il l’a obtenue. L’audience aura lieu en octobre 2010.

  • Nous avons émis des assignations à la SRC pour qu’elle nous transmette des documents. L’institution remet en question nos pouvoirs d’examen des documents assujettis aux exclusions prévues par l’article 68.1 de la Loi. Cette affaire est maintenant devant la Cour fédérale.

  • Dans le cas du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, le Commissariat a pour la première fois renvoyé une affaire au procureur général du Canada en raison de la possible perpétration d’une infraction en vertu de l’article 67.1 de la Loi. Cet article contient les sanctions pénales prévues pour la destruction, la falsification ou la dissimulation volontaire d’un document, ou encore la suggestion à qui que ce soit de ce faire.

Pour tirer parti des avantages du modèle opérationnel, il fallait aussi que les postes d’enquêteurs soient tous pourvus. Nous terminons l’exercice, et en commençons un nouveau, avec un effectif complet d’enquêteurs. De plus, j’ai mis en place un programme structuré de formation interne pour fournir aux enquêteurs les compétences et les connaissances supplémentaires dont ils ont besoin pour être le plus efficace possible.

Plan triennal 

Nous avons également adopté une approche intégrée des problèmes systémiques dans notre plan triennal publié en juillet dernier.

Nous avons commencé par examiner le problème envahissant des délais au moyen des fiches de rendement de cette année. Nous avons augmenté notre échantillon à 24 institutions représentant 88 % du total des demandes d’accès reçues par le gouvernement afin d’obtenir une évaluation de la situation solide et factuelle.

Je déposerai le rapport au Parlement le 13 avril. C’est avec joie que j’en parlerai davantage au Comité le 22 avril.

Budget principal des dépenses 

En ce qui concerne le Budget principal des dépenses de cette année, le total des dépenses prévues pour 2010-2011 est de 12 millions de dollars, et le nombre d’employés à temps plein s’élève à 106. Ces chiffres correspondent aux fonds supplémentaires obtenus en 2009-2010.

Monsieur le Président, nous utilisons actuellement chaque dollar voté pour le Commissariat. Mon budget est extrêmement serré et nous fonctionnons à pleine capacité. Les changements annoncés dans le Budget imposeront un lourd fardeau au Commissariat puisque 70 % de notre budget est consacré aux salaires. Par conséquent, nous aurons des choix difficiles à faire dans les années à venir pour rester dans les limites des crédits tout en continuant à réaliser notre mandat et en maintenant l’excellence de notre gestion corporative. 

Stratégie pour 2010-2011 

L’expertise et les renseignements acquis au cours des derniers mois nous ont permis d’adopter une méthode plus stratégique et proactive pour nos enquêtes. Notamment, notre niveau de connaissance des plaintes accumulées dans l’inventaire, soit leur nature et leur évolution, nous a permis de concevoir de nouvelles stratégies pour traiter les plaintes de façon plus rapide et efficace. Par exemple, nous pouvons choisir d’accorder la priorité à une plainte en raison de son bien-fondé, mais nous avons aussi la possibilité de traiter plusieurs plaintes en utilisant une approche de portefeuille par institution, par plaignant ou par objet.

Nous sommes également bien placés pour déterminer de façon proactive sur quoi concentrer nos efforts d’enquête et de formation. Par exemple, au cours du prochain exercice, nous nous pencherons sur des dossiers liés à la sécurité nationale et aux « avis et recommandations ». De plus, les employés du Commissariat surveilleront de près les avis obligatoires de prorogation des institutions afin de régler des problèmes avant qu’ils ne fassent l’objet de plaintes.

Dans le cadre de notre plan triennal, nous entreprenons une enquête systémique sur les retards et les prorogations de délais. Comme je l’ai annoncé le 2 mars, nous étendrons la portée et l’objectif de cette enquête systémique pour examiner si l’interférence politique dans le traitement des demandes d’accès est une cause de retard ou de communication indûment restreinte aux termes de la Loi. En parallèle, le Commissariat procèdera à l’évaluation des fiches de rendement des institutions auxquelles s’applique la Loi depuis 2007.

L’adoption d’une approche stratégique et proactive sous-entend également l’utilisation optimale des nouvelles technologies afin de fournir de meilleures directives et de servir de modèle en matière d’accès à l’information.

Grâce à notre site Web renouvelé, nous espérons augmenter considérablement la divulgation publique de nos renseignements. Notre salle de lecture virtuelle permettent de consulter rapidement toutes les décisions du CIC et les documents ministériels principaux, en plus de comprendre la liste des demandes d’accès à l’information que nous avons reçues et traitées. De plus, nous élaborerons davantage d’instructions de procédure concernant notre interprétation de la Loi et notre processus d’enquête.

Monsieur le Président, comme je l’ai déclaré devant ce comité en novembre dernier, ma démarche à titre de commissaire par intérim est simple. J’entends travailler assidûment à exercer mes fonctions pour compléter la mise en œuvre de notre modèle d’affaires et maximiser l’efficacité de notre processus d’enquête. Pour ce faire, j’utiliserai tous les outils à ma disposition dans le cadre législatif actuel. Ce faisant, je demeure engagée à travailler étroitement avec les parlementaires, les institutions et les plaignants.

En conclusion, j’aimerais souligner devant ce comité ma reconnaissance envers l’appui et le dévouement inconditionnels des employés du Commissariat en cette période de transition.

Merci.

Madame Neill et moi répondrons à vos questions avec plaisir.