Funding issues timeline

 
Text version

Timeline Description

The image represents a timeline arrow pointing from left to right, for the years 2010 to 2014. The timeline is split between the period covering the existence of the “Advisory Panel on the Funding and Oversight of Officers of Parliament” and the post-Panel period (the Panel ended in June 2011). Boxes both above and below the timeline at specific dates outline the funding issues of the Office of the Information Commissioner for the period specified.

The events are as follows:

Federal Budget 2010: Operating Cost Freeze.

Nov. 2010 – Parliamentary Advisory Panel on the Funding and Oversight of Officers of Parliament recommends emergency funding for litigation and complex cases in the amount of $400,000 to Treasury Board.

June 9, 2011 – RPP 2011-12: The OIC’s limited budgetary flexibility will be further compounded by government-wide cost containment measures over the next three years. The situation renders the Office very vulnerable to new pressures.

Nov. 17, 2011 – DPR 2010-11: OIC identifies risk related to ongoing fiscal restraint. Year-end lapse of funds was only 1.2% of authorities in 2010-11. A special purpose allotment of $400,000 is secured.

Dec. 22, 2011 – Letter to Honourable Rob Nicholson in response to Strategic Operating Review (SOR) and Deficit-Reduction Action Plan (DRAP): “The overall conclusions of the review indicate that any reductions to my Office’s existing funding envelope will potentially have significant adverse impacts on program results” and “any reductions to our current funding envelope could not be absorbed without jeopardizing the quality and level of service offered to Canadians and Parliamentarians.”

Mar. 29, 2012 – Budget 2012: 6% cut to OIC’s budget.

Nov. 8, 2012 – DPR 2011-12: As a result of cost containment measures and funding reductions, the OIC’s “overall staff complement will have to be reduced by 11% by the end of 2013.”

Mar. 28, 2013 – RPP 2013-14: OIC is in the process of absorbing successive and significant budget cuts—in our case, equalling roughly 8% of our budget since 2010-11. This puts us at the limit of our financial and organizational flexibility.

Oct. 11, 2013 – 2014 Budget Ask for the OIC sent by the Minister of Justice to the Minister of Finance.

Nov. 5, 2013 – DPR 2012-13: OIC is being adversely affected by cuts, amounting to nearly 11% of our budget by 2014-15. This puts the integrity of the federal access to information system and our program at serious risk.

Jan. 2014 – Forced relocation financed via TBS loan, repayable over a 15 year period. The first scheduled payment in 2014-2015 is for 200,000.

Mar. 6, 2014 – RPP 2014-15: Ongoing fiscal restraint measures have placed the OIC at the limit of our financial and organizational flexibility, such that our ability to deliver our program will be jeopardized. Over the past four fiscal years, our year-end lapse of funds has been 3%, on average.

Nov. 7, 2014 – DPR 2013-14: The time of having financial flexibility has come to an end; OIC lapsed just $37,000 (or 0.2%) of its overall budget. Without additional funding, the Commissioner will no longer be able to carry out her mandate responsibly and ensure full respect of Canadians’ right of access to information.

Nov. 10, 2014 – 2015 Budget Ask for the OIC sent to the Minister of Finance.

If 2015 Budget Ask approved, TB submission will be prepared.

Dates importantes en matière de financement

 
Version texte

Description de la chronologie

L’image représente une ligne du temps allant de gauche à droite pour les années 2010 à 2014. La ligne est séparée en deux grandes périodes, soit la période pendant laquelle le Groupe consultatif sur le financement et la surveillance des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement était en existence et la période postérieure à l’existence du groupe consultatif (le groupe a été terminé en juin 2011). Des boîtes de texte placées à des dates précises  sur la ligne du temps décrivent les évènements importants concernant le financement du Commissariat à l’information pour la période spécifiée.

Ces évènements sont :

Budget fédéral de 2010 : Gel des frais de fonctionnement.

Nov. 2010 – Le Groupe consultatif sur le financement et la surveillance des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement recommande qu’un financement d’urgence de 400 000 $ soit accordé au Conseil du Trésor pour le règlement de cas litigieux et complexes.

9 juin 2011 – RPP de 2011-2012 : La souplesse budgétaire limitée du Commissariat sera restreinte davantage au cours des trois prochaines années par les mesures fédérales de limitation des coûts. Cette situation rend le Commissariat très vulnérable à toutes nouvelles pressions.

17 nov. 2011 – RMR de 2010-2011 : Le Commissariat identifie les risques en cours liés aux compressions financières. Les fonds inutilisés à la fin de l’année équivalaient à peine à 1,2 % des autorisations de 2010-2011. Un montant de 400 000 $ est réservé à des fins particulières.

22 déc. 2011 – Lettre à l’honorable Rob Nicholson en réaction à l’Examen stratégique et fonctionnel (ESF) et au plan d’action pour la réduction du déficit (PARD) : [traduction] « Les conclusions générales de l’Examen indiquent que toute diminution de l’enveloppe budgétaire actuelle du Commissariat risque de nuire considérablement aux résultats du programme » et « toute diminution de l’enveloppe budgétaire actuelle ne pourra être absorbée sans que cela mette en péril la qualité et le niveau de service offerts aux Canadiens et aux parlementaires ».

29 mars 2012 – Budget de 2012 : réduction du budget du Commissariat de 6 %.

8 nov. 2012 – RMR de 2011-2012 : Les mesures de limitation des coûts et les réductions du financement « se traduiront notamment par la réduction des effectifs du Commissariat de 11 % d'ici la fin de 2013 ».

28 mars 2013 – RPP de 2013-2014 : le Commissariat fait l’objet de réductions budgétaires successives et importantes; dans notre cas, cette situation représente environ 8 % de notre budget depuis 2010-2011. Nous en sommes donc à la limite de notre flexibilité financière et organisationnelle.

11 oct. 2013 – Le ministre de la Justice envoie au ministre des Finances la proposition budgétaire du Commissariat pour 2014.

5 nov. 2013 – RMR de 2012-2013 : Les réductions de près de 11 % du budget du Commissariat en 2014-2015, portent préjudice au Commissariat. Ces éléments menacent gravement le programme du Commissariat, ainsi que l’intégrité du système fédéral d’accès à l’information.

Janvier 2014 – Déménagement forcé financé au moyen d’un prêt consenti par le SCT, remboursable sur 15 ans. Le premier versement prévu en 2014-2015 s’élève à 200 000 $.

6 mars 2014 – RPP de 2014-2015 : Les mesures permanentes de réduction budgétaire nous ont amenés à la limite de notre flexibilité financière et organisationnelle, de sorte que notre capacité d’exécution de notre programme sera compromise. Au cours des quatre derniers exercices, la balance des fonds inutilisés en fin d’année ont été en moyenne de 3 %.

7 nov. 2014 – RMR de 2013-2014 : La période de flexibilité financière du Commissariat est bel et bien terminée; seulement 37 000 $ (0,2 %) du budget n’ont pas été utilisés. Sans financement supplémentaire, je ne serai plus en mesure d’accomplir mon mandat de façon responsable et d’assurer le respect total des droits d’accès à l’information des Canadiens.

10 nov. 2014 – La proposition budgétaire du Commissariat pour 2015 est envoyée au ministre des Finances.

Si la proposition budgétaire pour 2015 est approuvée, une soumission au CT sera préparée.