Parliamentary Privilege and Access to Information - Jurisdictional Chart

Juridisction Parliament subject to FOIA Parliamentary Privilege - exempted from the FOIA
Australia No. Yes. Section 46 of the Freedom of Information Act 1982 46. A document is an exempt document if public disclosure of the document would, apart from this Act and any immunity of the Crown: (...) (c) infringe the privileges of the Parliament of the Commonwealth or of a State or a House of such a Parliament or (…)
United Kingdom Yes. Yes. Section 34 of the Freedom of Information Act 2000 34. (1) Information is exempt information if exemption is required for the purpose of avoiding an infringement of the privileges of either House of Parliament. (3) A certificate signed by the appropriate authority certifying that exemption is required for the purpose of…
Alberta No, but it does apply to the Legislative Assembly Office. Yes. Section 27(1) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act 27. (1) The head of a public body may refuse to disclose to an applicant:information that is subject to any type of legal privilege, including (…) parliamentary privilege. (3) Only the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly may determine whether information is subject to parliamentary privilege.
Ontario Yes, but only in respect of records of reviewable expenses and in respect of the personal information contained in those records. No specific mention.
Québec Yes. No specific mention, but s.34 of An Act Respecting Access to Documents Held by Public Bodies and the Protection of Personal Information 34. No person may have access to a document from the office of a member of the National Assembly or a document produced for that member by the services of the Assembly, unless the member deems it expedient. The same applies to a document from the office of the President of the Assembly or of a member of the Assembly contemplated in the first paragraph of section 124.1 of the Act respecting the National Assembly (chapter A-23.1) or a minister contemplated in section 11.5 of the Executive Power Act (chapter E-18)…
Prince Edward Island Yes for officers of the Legislative Assembly, but not for the Speaker’s office or the offices of Members of the Assembly. Yes. Section 25(1) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act 25. (1) The head of a public body may refuse to disclose to an applicant (a) (a) information that is subject to any type of legal privilege, including (…) parliamentary privilege (3) Only the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly may determine whether information is subject to parliamentary privilege.
Newfoundland and Labrador Yes. Yes. Section 30.1 of the Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act 30.1 The Speaker of the House of Assembly or the officer responsible for a statutory office shall refuse to disclose to an applicant information (a) where its non-disclosure is required for the purpose of avoiding an infringement of the privileges of the House of Assembly or a member of the House of Assembly;

Privilège parlementaire et accès à l'information - tableau juridictionnel

Juridiction Parlement assujetti à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information Privilège parlementaire – exempté de l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information
Australie Non. Oui. Article 46 de la Freedom of Information Act 1982. [TRADUCTION] 46. Est exempté de la communication tout document dont la communication, compte tenu de la présente loi et toute immunité de la Couronne : […] (c) contreviendrait aux privilèges du Parlement du Commonwealth ou de l’État ou de la Chambre du Parlement ou […]
Royaume Uni Oui. Oui. Article 34 de la Freedom of Information Act 2000. [TRADUCTION] 34. (1) Est exempté de la communication tout renseignement dont l’exemption est requise afin d’éviter un manquement aux privilèges des chambres du Parlement. (3) Un certificat signé par l’autorité compétente certifiant que l’exemption est requise afin de…
Alberta Non, mais elle s’applique au Bureau de l’Assemblée législative Oui. Paragraphe 27(1) de la Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act [TRADUCTION] 27. (1) Le responsable d’un organisme public peut refuser de communiquer à un demandeur : a) tout renseignement assujetti à un privilège découlant de la loi, y compris […] le privilège parlementaire. (3) Seul le président de l’Assemblée législative peut déterminer si un renseignement est assujetti au privilège parlementaire.
Ontario Oui, mais uniquement à l’égard des documents se rapportant aux dépenses sujettes à examen et à l’égard des renseignements personnels qu’ils contiennent. Aucune indication expresse à cet égard.
Québec Oui. Aucune indication expresse à cet égard, sauf à l’art. 34 de la Loi sur l’accès aux documents des organismes publics et sur la protection des renseignements personnels. 34. Un document du bureau d’un membre de l’Assemblée nationale ou un document produit pour le compte de ce membre par les services de l’Assemblée n’est pas accessible à moins que le membre ne le juge opportun. Il en est de même d’un document du cabinet du président de l’Assemblée, d’un membre de celle-ci visé dans le premier alinéa de l’article 124.1 de la Loi sur l’Assemblée nationale (chapitre A-23.1) ou d’un ministre visé dans l’article 11.5 de la Loi sur l’exécutif (chapitre E-18), ...
Île-du-Prince-Édouard Oui, dans le cas des officiers de l’Assemblée législative, mais non dans le cas du cabinet du président de l’Assemblée ou des cabinets des membres de l’Assemblée Oui. Paragraphe 25(1) de la Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act [TRADUCTION] 25. (1) Le responsable d’un organisme public peut refuser de communiquer à un demandeur : a) tout renseignement assujetti à un privilège découlant de la loi, y compris […] le privilège parlementaire. (3) Seul le président de l’Assemblée législative peut déterminer si un renseignement est assujetti au privilège parlementaire.
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador Oui. Oui. Article 30.1 de l’Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act [TRADUCTION] 30.1 Le président de l’Assemblée législative ou l’officier responsable d’un office créé par la loi est tenu de refuser la communication à un demandeur : a) lorsque la non-communication est requise pour éviter que les privilèges de l’Assemblée législative ou d’un membre de l’Assemblée soient enfreints;