Access to Information Requests and Parliamentary Privilege

Remarks by the Information Commissioner of Canada

Standing Committee on Procedure and House Affairs

Thursday, November 22, 2012

CHECK AGAINST DELIVERY

Thank you for asking me to appear before you today. I have been following the Committee’s work on this matter as I was notified of the application to the Federal Court that triggered the study before your committee. I welcome this opportunity to provide information to the Committee about the Access to Information Act, which I hope, may assist the Committee in its deliberations.

Mr. Chair, how access to information rights intersect with parliamentary privilege is a complex matter and I do not purport to be an expert in the field of constitutional law or parliamentary privilege. My representations are drawn from my perspective as the independent oversight on disclosure decisions of government institutions under the Access to Information Act.

As Information Commissioner, I have a statutory duty to investigate any complaint made in relation to requesting or obtaining access to records under the Access to Information Act. 
The Act contains a number of exemptions and exclusions upon which disclosure may, or in some instances, must be refused.  These include, exemptions for personal information, for information that could reasonably be expected to threaten the safety of individuals, information that is an account of consultations or deliberations involving government employees, and information protected by solicitor-client privilege. However there is not currently an exemption or exclusion in the Act addressing explicitly parliamentary privilege. 

The Act also provides that a request must be responded to within 30 days. This period may be extended for a “reasonable period of time” to consult other government institutions or third parties in two circumstances:

First, an institution may consult a third party if “consultations are necessary to comply with the request”; the validity of such extensions (including the reasonableness of the length and the necessity of the consultation) is considered on a case-by-case basis by my office.   Where such consultations are conducted, there is no recourse set out in the Act should the institution disagree with the recommendations made by the consulted third party (or government institution)

Second, a government institution may extend the 30-day response period to consult a third party when the record at issue may contain third party information that is confidential commercial technical or financial information or where the disclosure of the information could result in injury to contractual negotiations or the competitive position of a third party.  The third-party consultation process set out in the Act has strict statutory timelines and provides a specific judicial recourse should the institution not agree with the response of the third party to the consultation.  As an aside, it is not readily apparent that the type of information that may be protected by parliamentary privilege would qualify as the type of primarily commercial information that is protected under section 20.   

Given that the Act is silent with respect to parliamentary privilege, its intersection with access to information rights raise a number of pragmatic issues:

  1. In the absence of a specific statutory provision for parliamentary privilege under the Act, there is currently no obligation for government institutions to consult Parliament prior to making a disclosure decision. This means that there is no way for Parliament to know whether information that could be protected under parliamentary privilege is being identified as such or released.
  2. There is no process for government institutions to determine who has the authority to invoke or waive parliamentary privilege. 
  3. In the face of an assertion of parliamentary privilege, government institutions are faced with a dilemma because there are no specific exemptions or exclusions dealing with parliamentary privilege under the Act.
  4. If the assertion of parliamentary privilege is the basis for not releasing information to a requester, is the decision to refuse disclosure by a government institution a valid one under the Act?
  5. If the assertion of parliamentary privilege is the basis for not releasing information to a requester but the government institution uses other exemptions or exclusions to withhold the information, what is the impact on the requesters’ rights?  Would this information have been provided to the requester in the absence of the assertion? How does this impact on transparency and the ability of my office to effectively review government decisions to withhold information?

These are only a few questions that come to mind.

In my view, to best way to protect requesters' rights and to ensure transparency, accountability and effective oversight, would be to amend the Act to cover the administrative records under the control of Parliament while adding a specific exemption to deal with parliamentary privilege. This amendment should also clarify who has the authority to assert the privilege for the purposes of the Act. Both the Standing Committee on Justice in 1986 and the Access to Information Review Task Force (2002) made this recommendation.

Internationally, the UK Freedom of Information legislation applies to Parliament and exempts records if their disclosure would infringe the privileges of Parliament.  In Australia, the Freedom of Information Act specifically addresses the question of parliamentary privilege.  Within Canada, Alberta, Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland and Labrador have an exemption for parliamentary privilege. 

In closing, let me thank you, again, for inviting me to appear before you this morning. I am ready to take your questions.

Handout: Parliamentary Privilege and Access to Information - Jurisdictional Chart
Juridisction Parliament subject to FOIA Parliamentary Privilege - exempted from the FOIA
Australia No. Yes. Section 46 of the Freedom of Information Act 1982 46. A document is an exempt document if public disclosure of the document would, apart from this Act and any immunity of the Crown: (...) (c) infringe the privileges of the Parliament of the Commonwealth or of a State or a House of such a Parliament or (…)
United Kingdom Yes. Yes. Section 34 of the Freedom of Information Act 2000 34. (1) Information is exempt information if exemption is required for the purpose of avoiding an infringement of the privileges of either House of Parliament. (3) A certificate signed by the appropriate authority certifying that exemption is required for the purpose of…
Alberta No, but it does apply to the Legislative Assembly Office. Yes. Section 27(1) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act 27. (1) The head of a public body may refuse to disclose to an applicant:information that is subject to any type of legal privilege, including (…) parliamentary privilege. (3) Only the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly may determine whether information is subject to parliamentary privilege.
Ontario Yes, but only in respect of records of reviewable expenses and in respect of the personal information contained in those records. No specific mention.
Québec Yes. No specific mention, but s.34 of An Act Respecting Access to Documents Held by Public Bodies and the Protection of Personal Information 34. No person may have access to a document from the office of a member of the National Assembly or a document produced for that member by the services of the Assembly, unless the member deems it expedient. The same applies to a document from the office of the President of the Assembly or of a member of the Assembly contemplated in the first paragraph of section 124.1 of the Act respecting the National Assembly (chapter A-23.1) or a minister contemplated in section 11.5 of the Executive Power Act (chapter E-18)…
Prince Edward Island Yes for officers of the Legislative Assembly, but not for the Speaker’s office or the offices of Members of the Assembly. Yes. Section 25(1) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act 25. (1) The head of a public body may refuse to disclose to an applicant (a) (a) information that is subject to any type of legal privilege, including (…) parliamentary privilege (3) Only the Speaker of the Legislative Assembly may determine whether information is subject to parliamentary privilege.
Newfoundland and Labrador Yes. Yes. Section 30.1 of the Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act 30.1 The Speaker of the House of Assembly or the officer responsible for a statutory office shall refuse to disclose to an applicant information (a) where its non-disclosure is required for the purpose of avoiding an infringement of the privileges of the House of Assembly or a member of the House of Assembly;

LES DEMANDES D'ACCÈS À L'INFORMATION ET LE PRIVILÈGE PARLEMENTAIRE

ALLOCUTION DE LA COMMISSAIRE À L’INFORMATION DU CANADA

COMITÉ PERMANENT DE LA PROCÉDURE ET DES AFFAIRES DE LA CHAMBRE

LE JEUDI 22 NOVEMBRE 2012

L'ALLOCUTION PRONONCÉE FAIT FOI

Je vous remercie de m’avoir demandé de témoigner devant vous aujourd’hui. Je suis les délibérations du Comité sur la question, car on m’a signifiée de la demande présentée à la Cour fédérale qui a déclenché l’étude entreprise par votre Comité. Je suis ravie de cette occasion de fournir au Comité, au sujet de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, des renseignements qui, je  l’espère, pourront l’aider dans ses délibérations.

Monsieur le président, la convergence entre l’accès à l’information et le privilège parlementaire constitue une question complexe et je ne prétends pas être experte du droit constitutionnel ou du privilège parlementaire. Mes propos s’inspirent de mon point de vue de commissaire chargée de la surveillance indépendante des décisions relatives à la divulgation prises par les institutions gouvernementales en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

En tant que commissaire à l’information, la Loi m’oblige à enquêter sur toute plainte déposée relative à la demande ou à l’obtention de documents en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. La Loi contient de nombreuses exceptions et exclusions sur lesquelles il est possible, ou même requis, de refuser la divulgation. Il y a notamment des exceptions portant sur les renseignements personnels, les renseignements dont on pourrait raisonnablement s’attendre à ce qu’ils mettent en danger la sécurité de personnes, les renseignements qui constituent un compte rendu de consultations ou de délibérations mettant en cause des employés de l’État et les renseignements protégés par le secret professionnel de l’avocat. La Loi ne contient toutefois pas d’exception ou d’exclusion portant clairement sur le privilège parlementaire.

La Loi prévoit aussi qu’il faut répondre à une demande dans les 30 jours. Ce délai peut être prorogé « d’une période que justifient les circonstances » de façon à permettre de consulter d’autres institutions gouvernementales ou des tierces parties dans deux cas :

Tout d’abord, une institution peut consulter une tierce partie si « les consultations sont nécessaires pour donner suite à la demande ». Mon bureau étudie dans chaque cas la validité de ces prorogations (y compris le caractère raisonnable de la période et la nécessité de la consultation). Lorsque de telles consultations ont lieu, la Loi ne prévoit aucun recours si les institutions ne s’entendent pas sur les recommandations formulées par la tierce partie consultée (ou l’institution gouvernementale).

Deuxièmement, une institution gouvernementale peut proroger le délai de réponse de 30 jours pour consulter une tierce partie lorsque le dossier en cause peut contenir des renseignements sur des tiers qui sont de nature commerciale, technique ou financière confidentielle, ou lorsque la divulgation des renseignements pourrait nuire à des négociations contractuelles ou à la position concurrentielle d’une tierce partie. Ce processus de consultation de tiers prévu dans la Loi comporte des délais rigoureux et un recours judiciaire précis si l’institution n’accepte pas la réponse de la tierce partie à la consultation. Entre parenthèses, il n’est pas très évident que le type de renseignements que le privilège parlementaire veut protéger est admissible comme type de renseignements principalement commerciaux protégés en vertu de l’article 20.

Vu que la Loi est muette au sujet du privilège parlementaire, la convergence avec les droits à l’accès à l’information soulève de nombreuses questions pratiques :

  1. Comme la Loi ne contient pas de disposition précise sur le privilège parlementaire, rien n’oblige actuellement les institutions gouvernementales à consulter le Parlement avant de prendre une décision sur la divulgation. Cela signifie que le Parlement n’a aucun moyen de savoir si des renseignements qui pourraient être protégés par le privilège parlementaire sont identifiés comme tels ou dévoilés.
  2. Il n’y aucun processus qui permet aux institutions gouvernementales de déterminer qui a le pouvoir d’invoquer le privilège parlementaire ou d’y renoncer.
  3. Face à une revendication du privilège parlementaire, les institutions gouvernementales se retrouvent dans un dilemme, car la Loi ne prévoit aucune exception ou exclusion précise qui porte sur le privilège parlementaire.
  4. Si la revendication du privilège parlementaire constitue la raison invoquée pour ne pas divulguer des renseignements à un demandeur, la décision de refuser de divulguer des renseignements prise par une institution gouvernementale est-elle valide en vertu de la Loi?
  5. Si la revendication du privilège parlementaire constitue la raison invoquée pour ne pas divulguer des renseignements à un demandeur, mais si l’institution gouvernementale se prévaut d’autres exceptions ou exclusions pour retenir des renseignements, quel est l’effet de cette décision sur les droits du demandeur? S’il n’y avait pas eu revendication du privilège, les renseignements auraient-ils été communiqués au demandeur? Quel en est l’effet sur la transparence et la capacité de mon bureau de revoir efficacement les décisions gouvernementales de retenir des renseignements?

Ce sont là quelques-unes seulement des questions qui se posent.

Selon moi, la meilleure façon de protéger les demandeurs et d’assurer la transparence, la responsabilité et la surveillance efficace consisterait à modifier la Loi pour couvrir les dossiers administratifs contrôlés par le Parlement, tout en y ajoutant une exception précise portant sur le privilège parlementaire. Cet amendement préciserait aussi qui a le pouvoir d’affirmer le privilège aux fins de la Loi. Le Comité permanent de la justice en 1986 et le Groupe d’étude de l’accès à l’information en 2002 ont tous deux formulé cette recommandation.

À l’étranger, la loi du Royaume-Uni sur l’accès à l’information s’applique au Parlement et exempte les dossiers si leur divulgation empiéterait sur le privilège du Parlement. En Australie, la loi sur l’accès à l’information traite spécifiquement de la question du privilège parlementaire. Au Canada, l’Alberta, l’Îledu-Prince-Édouard et Terre-Neuve et-Labrador prévoient des exceptions liées au privilège parlementaire.

En terminant, permettez-moi de vous remercier de nouveau de m’avoir invitée à témoigner devant vous ce matin. Je suis prête à répondre à vos questions.

Documents distribués: Privilège parlementaire et accès à l'information - tableau juridictionnel
Juridiction Parlement assujetti à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information Privilège parlementaire – exempté de l’application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information
Australie Non. Oui. Article 46 de la Freedom of Information Act 1982. [TRADUCTION] 46. Est exempté de la communication tout document dont la communication, compte tenu de la présente loi et toute immunité de la Couronne : […] (c) contreviendrait aux privilèges du Parlement du Commonwealth ou de l’État ou de la Chambre du Parlement ou […]
Royaume Uni Oui. Oui. Article 34 de la Freedom of Information Act 2000. [TRADUCTION] 34. (1) Est exempté de la communication tout renseignement dont l’exemption est requise afin d’éviter un manquement aux privilèges des chambres du Parlement. (3) Un certificat signé par l’autorité compétente certifiant que l’exemption est requise afin de…
Alberta Non, mais elle s’applique au Bureau de l’Assemblée législative Oui. Paragraphe 27(1) de la Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act [TRADUCTION] 27. (1) Le responsable d’un organisme public peut refuser de communiquer à un demandeur : a) tout renseignement assujetti à un privilège découlant de la loi, y compris […] le privilège parlementaire. (3) Seul le président de l’Assemblée législative peut déterminer si un renseignement est assujetti au privilège parlementaire.
Ontario Oui, mais uniquement à l’égard des documents se rapportant aux dépenses sujettes à examen et à l’égard des renseignements personnels qu’ils contiennent. Aucune indication expresse à cet égard.
Québec Oui. Aucune indication expresse à cet égard, sauf à l’art. 34 de la Loi sur l’accès aux documents des organismes publics et sur la protection des renseignements personnels. 34. Un document du bureau d’un membre de l’Assemblée nationale ou un document produit pour le compte de ce membre par les services de l’Assemblée n’est pas accessible à moins que le membre ne le juge opportun. Il en est de même d’un document du cabinet du président de l’Assemblée, d’un membre de celle-ci visé dans le premier alinéa de l’article 124.1 de la Loi sur l’Assemblée nationale (chapitre A-23.1) ou d’un ministre visé dans l’article 11.5 de la Loi sur l’exécutif (chapitre E-18), ...
Île-du-Prince-Édouard Oui, dans le cas des officiers de l’Assemblée législative, mais non dans le cas du cabinet du président de l’Assemblée ou des cabinets des membres de l’Assemblée Oui. Paragraphe 25(1) de la Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act [TRADUCTION] 25. (1) Le responsable d’un organisme public peut refuser de communiquer à un demandeur : a) tout renseignement assujetti à un privilège découlant de la loi, y compris […] le privilège parlementaire. (3) Seul le président de l’Assemblée législative peut déterminer si un renseignement est assujetti au privilège parlementaire.
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador Oui. Oui. Article 30.1 de l’Access to Information and Protection of Privacy Act [TRADUCTION] 30.1 Le président de l’Assemblée législative ou l’officier responsable d’un office créé par la loi est tenu de refuser la communication à un demandeur : a) lorsque la non-communication est requise pour éviter que les privilèges de l’Assemblée législative ou d’un membre de l’Assemblée soient enfreints;