Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Speaking notes for Suzanne Legault Information Commissioner of Canada BILL C-19, AN ACT TO AMEND THE CRIMINAL CODE AND THE FIREARMS ACT Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security (SECU) November 22, 2011

CHECK AGAINST DELIVERY

Good Morning, Mr. Chair,

I would like to thank you for giving me the opportunity to appear before you and the members of your Committee in regard to Bill C-19, An Act to amend the Criminal Code and the Firearms Act.

I will keep my opening remarks brief and simply provide an overview of my mandate and discuss specific provisions of this bill that, in my opinion, would set an unfortunate precedent in terms of the management of government records.

As this is my first time appearing before your Committee, I feel it important to briefly outline the nature of my role at the federal level. The Information Commissioner is an agent of Parliament appointed under the Access to Information Act. I began my seven-year term on June 30, 2010, after serving as Acting Commissioner for a year. My role is largely to review the complaints of individuals and organizations who believe that federal institutions have not respected their rights under the Act.

I am supported in my work by the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada, an independent public body set up in 1983 under the Access to Information Act to help resolve complaints from the public about access to government information.

In the course of our investigations, we use mediation and persuasion to help resolve disputes. We bring cases to the Federal Court when they involve important principles of law or legal interpretation. As an ombudsperson, I also work to promote access to information in Canada and abroad.

We actively promote greater freedom of information in Canada, in the name of transparency and accountability, through targeted initiatives such as Right to Know Week and ongoing dialogue with Canadians, Parliament and federal institutions.

Now, in regard to Bill C-19, which your committee is reviewing, I feel that although it has no direct or immediate impact on my day-to-day responsibilities, it does raise major concerns in terms of transparency and accountability in general.

As Information Commissioner, I have serious concerns about the impact this bill will have on government information management and, specifically, about section 29 of the transitional provisions, which dispenses with the Archivist’s role in management of the federal records in question and with Canadians’ right to access those records.

In a nutshell, this transitional provision allows the Commissioner of Firearms (RCMP Commissioner) and each chief firearms officer in the provinces and territories to destroy, as soon as feasible, all records related to the registration of firearms.

Even more worrisome, subsection 29(3) overrides sections 12 and 13 of the Library and Archives of Canada Act—whereby the Archivist’s consent is required before destroying government records—as well as subsections 6(1) and 6(3) of the Privacy Act. I will leave it to the Privacy Commissioner to share with you her own concerns as they relate to the Privacy Act.

Mr. Chair, destroying records on this scale without first obtaining the consent of the Archivist as required by section 12 of the Library and Archives of Canada Act not only modifies the existing records management system, which seeks to ensure transparency and accountability in the disposal of such records, but, in my view, also seems contrary to the Federal Court’s decision in Bronskill.[1]

In that case, Justice Noël stated that the Access to Information Act and the Library and Archives of Canada Act are inextricably linked, such that “Parliament considers access to information in Canada and document retention as essential components of citizens’ right to government information.” I should mention that this decision is currently under appeal before the Federal Court of Appeal, and I am considering filing a motion for leave to intervene in light of the important principle it establishes.

In light of the quasi-constitutional status given to the system for accessing government records and the key role of the Archivist in preserving such records, it therefore follows, in my view, that this bill ignores both the spirit and the purpose of the Access to Information Act and the Library and Archives of Canada Act.

Moreover, I fully agree with the content of the Association of Canadian Archivists’ November 8 letter to Minister Toews, posted on the Association’s Web site at http://archivists.ca/. In it, the Association essentially describes the proposed legislation as overriding a records management system that works and ensures that there is adequate transparency when the government seeks to destroy a selection of its records.

In closing, I would like to thank you, Mr. Chair, for the privilege of appearing before you today to share my concerns about Bill C-19.

I will be pleased to respond to your questions.


[1] Bronskill v. Minister of Canadian Heritage, 2011 FC 983

Handout: Bronskill v Minister of Canadian Heritage, 2011 FC 983 paragraphs 16 to 25RTF Document (36.9 KB)

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Notes pour une allocution de Suzanne Legault Commissaire à l'information du Canada Comité permanent de la sécurité publique et nationale (SECU)Remarques introductives sur le projet de loi C-19 Le 22 novembre, 2011

LA VERSION PRONONCÉE FAIT FOI

Bon matin Monsieur le Président,

Je tiens à vous remercier de l’opportunité qui m’est offerte de comparaître devant vous et les membres de votre comité en relation avec le projet de loi C-19, Loi modifiant le Code criminel et la Loi sur les armes à feu.

Mes remarques d’ouverture seront brèves et se limiteront à vous exposer sommairement mon mandat ainsi qu’à discuter de certaines dispositions de ce projet de loi, qui selon moi, viendraient créer un dangereux précédent en matière de gestion des documents gouvernementaux.

Dans un premier temps, puisqu’il s’agit de ma première comparution devant votre comité, je considère important de vous décrire brièvement la nature du rôle que j’occupe sur la scène fédérale.  Le poste de Commissaire à l'information en est un de haut fonctionnaire du Parlement nommé en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.  J'ai amorcé mon mandat de sept ans le 30 juin 2010, après avoir été commissaire intérimaire pendant un an.  Une large partie de mon mandat est d’enquêter sur les plaintes déposées par les particuliers et les organisations qui estiment que les institutions fédérales n'ont pas respecté les droits qui leur sont conférés par la Loi.  

Je suis secondée dans mes fonctions par le Commissariat à l'information du Canada, un organisme gouvernemental indépendant créé en 1983 en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information pour favoriser le règlement des plaintes du public concernant l'accès à l'information gouvernemental.

Dans le cadre de nos enquêtes, nous avons recours à la médiation et à la persuasion pour faciliter le règlement des différends. Nous renvoyons à la Cour fédérale du Canada et intervenons dans les affaires qui soulèvent d'importants principes de droit ou d'interprétation juridique. En tant que protectrice du citoyen, je fais également la promotion de l'accès à l'information au Canada et à l’étranger.

Nous favorisons activement un plus grand accès à l'information au Canada au nom de la transparence et de la reddition de comptes grâce à des initiatives ciblées comme la Semaine du droit à l'information ainsi qu’en assurant un dialogue constant avec les Canadiens, le Parlement et les institutions fédérales.

Dans un deuxième temps, en ce qui a trait au projet de loi C-19 qui est à l’étude devant votre comité, bien que je considère que ce projet de loi n’ait pas d’impact direct et immédiat sur mon mandat quotidien, je suis d’avis qu’il soulève néanmoins d’importantes préoccupations au niveau de la transparence et de l’imputabilité en général.

En effet, en tant que Commissaire à l’information, j’éprouve de vives inquiétudes quant aux répercussions de ce projet de loi sur la gestion de l’information gouvernementale et plus spécifiquement sur l’évacuation que l’on fait du rôle de l’Archiviste dans la gestion des documents fédéraux, prévue à l’article 29 des dispositions transitoires de ce projet de loi, et du droit des citoyens d’avoir accès à de tels documents.

En somme, cette disposition transitoire permet au commissaire des armes à feu (Commissaire de la GRC) et à chaque contrôleur des provinces et territoires de détruire, dès que possible, les registres et fichiers relatifs à l’enregistrement des armes à feu.

De façon encore plus préoccupante, le paragraphe 29(3) écarte l’application des articles 12 et 13 de la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada qui prévoient l’autorisation de l’Archiviste pour l’élimination des documents gouvernementaux ainsi que les paragraphes 6(1) et (3) de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.  Je laisserai la Commissaire à la vie privée le soin de vous entretenir de ses préoccupations relatives à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. 

Monsieur le Président, procéder à la destruction d’un registre d’une telle envergure sans obtenir au préalable l’autorisation de l’Archiviste comme requis à l’article 12 de la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada, vient non seulement modifier le système en place de gestion des documents qui mise sur la transparence et l’imputabilité en matière d’élimination de tels documents, mais cela m’apparaît également contraire à l’enseignement de la Cour fédérale dans l’affaire Bronskill[1]

Dans cette affaire, le juge Noël énonçait que la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada sont inextricablement liées de telle sorte que « le législateur considère l’accès à l’information et la conservation des documents comme des composantes essentielles du droit des citoyens d’avoir accès aux renseignements gouvernementaux. ».  Je tiens à vous mentionner que cette décision fait présentement l’objet d’un appel à la Cour d’appel fédérale dans laquelle je suis à considérer le dépôt d’une requête en intervention compte tenu du principe important qu’elle énonce.

Il en découle donc, qu’en raison du  statut quasi-constitutionnel donné au régime d’accès aux documents gouvernementaux et du rôle fondamental joué par l’Archiviste dans la préservation de tels documents que ce projet de loi vient, selon moi, ignorer autant l’esprit que l’objet, tant de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information que de la Loi sur la Bibliothèque et les Archives du Canada.

D’ailleurs, je suis entièrement d’accord avec les propos de l’Association des Archivistes du Canada contenus dans leur lettre au Ministre Toews en date du 8 novembre dernier et publiée sur leur site web au : http://archivists.ca.  Essentiellement, l’Association y décrit l’intervention du gouvernement dans un système de gestion des documents qui fonctionne et qui assure un niveau de transparence adéquat lorsque le gouvernement souhaite procéder à l’élimination de certains de ses documents.

En conclusion, je tiens à vous remercier, Monsieur le Président, du privilège qu’il m’est donné de comparaître devant vous aujourd’hui afin de vous y exposer mes préoccupations face au projet de loi C-19. 


[1] Bronskill c. Canada, 2011 CF 983.  


        

Document distributé: Bronskill c Ministre du Patrimoine 2011 CF 983 aux paragraphes 16 à 25 Document en RTF (45.3 KB)