Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Appearances before Parliamentary Committees

Year


Appearance before the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics on the Modernization of the Access to Information Act

Ottawa

[2009-5-28]

[Check against Delivery]

Thank you, Mr. Chairman, for inviting me to address you once again on the issue of the Access to Information Act reform. With me today are Suzanne Legault, Assistant Commissioner, Policy, Communications and Operations, and Andrea Neill, Assistant Commissioner, Complaints Resolution and Compliance.

Since my appearance before you in March to discuss the modernization of the Act, you have heard the views of a number of witnesses – access to information users and experts, representatives of interest groups and civil society as well as my provincial counterparts and the Minister of Justice and his representatives. I found their testimony both interesting and useful. For your convenience, I have prepared and circulated a table with the views of the witnesses on my twelve (12) recommendations. This table has not been vetted by the witnesses and relies on our interpretation of their position.

I will not comment on the remarks made by individual witnesses but rather, I will address one point that requires clarification.

During his appearance before this Committee last month, the Honourable Minister of Justice stated in very strong words that the Act, in its current form, is a strong piece of legislation that equals any first-rate access to information legislation around the world.

Although I agree, Mr. Chairman, that Canada “blazed the trail in the early 80s” with the passage of the Access to Information Act, I do not agree, with all due respect, that Canada continues to be at the forefront today.

To use a figure of speech, the federal Access to Information Act is, if you wish, the grandmother of access to information laws. She created a steady system based on sound values and established a number of governing rules to assist in the release of information. However, she is also tenacious. Despite advice to keep up with the times, she has failed to adapt to an ever-changing environment and remains anchored in a static, paper-based world. She has weakened and slowed-down over time because she has not followed a rigorous exercise regimen.

The reality is that Canada’s regime has not aged well. It lags behind the next generation of laws. These laws include features such as:

  • universal access;
  • a wide coverage of public institutions;
  • tight timelines for processing requests; and
  • a strong oversight body with:
    • binding powers to order the release of information;
    • a public education mandate; and
    • access to cabinet records for review.

The next generation of laws also make use of modern technologies to proactively disseminate information.

These international standards are enshrined in the Right to Know Principles drafted by Article XIX (a human rights organization) and endorsed by the United Nations and the Organization of American States as well as the Atlanta Declaration for the Advancement of the Right of Access to Information spearheaded by the Carter Center in the United States.

My twelve (12) recommendations represent an important first step in improving the functioning of the access to information regime and in catching-up to more progressive regimes both nationally and internationally. The list is by no means complete. The recommendations only tackle the most pressing matters.

Mr. Chairman, before I conclude my presentation, I would like to follow-up on my last appearance regarding the 2009-2010 Main Estimates. I indicated at that time that the planned spending did not reflect additional funds requested and included in Supplementary Estimates (A), which were tabled the day following my appearance.

I will not go into more details about this issue today for two reasons. First, I would like to focus today’s discussion on the modernization of the Act. Second, I understand that this Committee has asked me to appear before it next week to address the specific issue of funding for my Office. I will therefore reserve my comments for that appearance.

Once again, thank you Mr. Chairman for inviting me to talk about the reform of the Access to Information Act. We would be pleased to answer any questions you may have.

Date modified:

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Comparutions devant les comités parlementaires

Année


Comparution du Commissaire à l'information du Canada devant le Comité permanent de l'accès à l'information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l'éthique de la Chambre des communes (Mai 2009): modernization de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information

[Seul le texte prononcé fait foi]

Je vous remercie, Monsieur le Président, de m’avoir de nouveau invité à me prononcer sur la réforme de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Je suis accompagné aujourd’hui de Suzanne Legault, commissaire adjointe, Politique, Communications et Opérations, et d’Andrea Neill, commissaire adjointe, Règlement des plaintes et respect de la loi.

Depuis ma comparution devant vous en mars au sujet de la modernisation de la Loi, vous avez eu l’occasion d’entendre de nombreux témoignages, notamment d’utilisateurs et d’experts dans le domaine de l’accès à l’information, de représentants de groupes d’intérêt et de la société civile, de mes homologues provinciaux, du ministre de la Justice ainsi que de ses représentants. Personnellement, j’ai trouvé leur apport à la fois intéressant et pertinent. Pour plus de commodité, j’ai préparé et distribué un tableau présentant les points de vue des témoins sur chacune de mes 12 recommandations. Ce tableau n’a pas été soumis aux témoins. Il traduit notre interprétation de leur point de vue.

Je ne m’attarderai pas particulièrement aux remarques faites par ces témoins. Je vais plutôt aborder un aspect qui mérite des éclaircissements.

Au cours de sa présentation devant ce comité le mois dernier, le ministre de la Justice a déclaré avec grande conviction que la Loi, sous sa forme actuelle, est une disposition législative rigoureuse et tout aussi efficace que n’importe quelle autre loi sur l’accès à l’information de premier ordre en vigueur dans le monde.

Certes, Monsieur le Président, je conviens qu’en adoptant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, au début des années 1980, le Canada a ouvert la voie. Cependant, permettez-moi de différer sur un point. Je ne crois pas que le Canada occupe toujours une position privilégiée aujourd’hui.

Disons, par métaphore, que la Loi sur l’accès à l’information du Canada est la grand-mère des lois en la matière. Celle-ci a permis l’établissement d’un système stable fondé sur des valeurs saines. Elle a donné naissance à de nombreux principes directeurs visant à encadrer la communication d’information. Toutefois, c’est une grand-mère obstinée. Même si on lui a dit de suivre le rythme, elle ne s’est pas adaptée à un environnement en évolution. Elle est figée dans le passé, à une époque où le papier était roi. Au fil du temps, elle a faibli et a ralenti parce qu’elle n’a pas suivi un programme d’exercice rigoureux.

En fait, le régime canadien a mal vieilli. Il a du retard sur les lois de la génération suivante qui abordent notamment :

  • l’accès universel;
  • la couverture élargie des institutions publiques;
  • les échéanciers serrés relatifs au traitement des demandes;
  • la création d’un organisme de surveillance fort qui a :
    • le pouvoir d’ordonner la communication de renseignements;
    • le mandat d’informer les citoyens; et
    • l’accès aux dossiers du Cabinet pour leur examen.

Les lois de la génération suivante tirent également parti des technologies modernes pour communiquer l’information de manière proactive.

Ces normes internationales sont inscrites dans les « principes sur le droit de savoir » rédigés par Article XIX (un organisme de défense des droits de la personne). Elles ont été sanctionnées par les Nations Unies et par l’Organisation des États américains, et reprises dans la Déclaration d’Atlanta pour l’avancement du droit d’accès à l’information publique, qui a été orchestrée par le Carter Center, aux États-Unis.

Mes douze (12) recommandations forment une première étape importante d’un processus visant à améliorer le régime d’accès à l’information et à combler le retard sur les régimes nationaux et étrangers plus progressifs. La liste est loin d’être complète. Ces recommandations ne portent que sur les problèmes les plus pressants.

Monsieur le Président, avant de conclure mon allocution, j’aimerais revenir sur ma dernière comparution sur le Budget principal des dépenses de 2009-2010. J’ai alors mentionné que les dépenses prévues ne tenaient pas compte des fonds supplémentaires demandés et indiqués dans le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A), qui a été déposé le lendemain de ma comparution.

Je ne donnerai pas davantage de détails sur cette question aujourd’hui pour deux raisons. D’abord, j’aimerais que la discussion d’aujourd’hui porte essentiellement sur la modernisation de la Loi. Ensuite, je sais que le Comité me demande de revenir la semaine prochaine pour aborder les questions liées au financement du Commissariat. Je ferai mes commentaires à ce sujet lors de cette comparution.

Encore une fois, je vous remercie, Monsieur le Président, de m’avoir invité à me prononcer sur la réforme de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. C’est avec plaisir que nous répondrons maintenant à vos questions.