Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Appearances before Parliamentary Committees

Year


Appearance before the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics on Priorities for 2009-2010: Strengthening the Access to Information Act to Meet Today’s Imperatives

Ottawa

[2009-3-4]

(Check Against Delivery)

Opening Remarks

Thank you, Mr. Chairman. I’m delighted to be back among you today to tell you what my Office has been working on and outline our priorities for what I believe is going to be a very busy and eventful year for all of us.

With me today are Suzanne Legault, Assistant Commissioner, Policy, Communications and Operations, and Andrea Neill, Assistant Commissioner, Complaints Resolution and Compliance.

These are exciting times for access to information. There is a bill in the House of Commons and there is a recommendation from this Committee for the government to introduce a bill to modernize and strengthen the Access to Information Act by May 31 of this year. These recent developments tell me that we have reached a pivotal moment in the access to information regime.

I believe the Committee wanted to discuss the issue of resources as well as the measures I have put in place to significantly reduce our complaint backlog. I will discuss these issues in more details. I will also outline other issues that I believe require the Committee’s attention in the coming months.

I have distributed two documents, one that provides some background information about my Office, and another one that provides recommendations on modernizing the Act.

Improved Service Delivery

Last year, one of our priorities was to begin a renewal process to improve the effectiveness of our service delivery. This year, this work continued in full force and will remain a major priority for the Office this year.

In 07-08, we saw the number of complaints we receive increase by 81%. As a result, our backlog has continued to grow. Needless to say, the situation has become critical.

In order to reduce this historical backlog and conduct more timely investigations, we have introduced some new initiatives to strengthen and streamline the complaint-handling process, and better manage our workload. These include the creation of an Intake and Early Resolution Unit as a pilot project and a new separate team that is focused on tackling all of our older cases. Our goal continues to be to eliminate or significantly reduce the current backlog by the end of next year. We also want to prevent the recurrence of a backlog.

I’m happy to report that, already, we are seeing promising improvements in our complaint-handling process and response time. But I will be in a better position to attest to this at the end of the fiscal year as some measures have been put in place only recently.

We will continue to test our new workload management model and make the necessary adjustments to keep us on track.

Report Cards

Mr. Chairman, the last time I was here, I indicated that one of our priorities was to review our approach to Report Cards to ensure that contextual elements that may affect the performance of selected institutions are taken into account.

This year, we have come up with a new process that allowed us to examine the performance of institutions and provide a broader picture of institutional compliance with the Act.

As I’m sure you’re aware, a few days ago, I have tabled my special report on the performance of federal institutions to Parliament. The results provide a grim picture of the federal government’s access to information regime.

The most significant finding indicates that requesters are right to be frustrated with the system. The 30-day period has indeed become the exception rather than the norm and this is just not acceptable.

The prevalence of extensions and consultation requests has significantly slowed down the treatment of requests, to the point that some institutions take an average of 120 days to respond to requesters.

As I have publicly stated, these are systemic problems. It's not just a departmental performance issue. I firmly believe that central agencies such as Treasury Board Secretariat have to exercise leadership and provide federal government departments with the resources they need to fulfil their obligations under the Act.

I fundamentally believe that Canada needs a better compliance model for access to information with adequate performance incentives. As this Committee has stated on numerous occasions, the need to modernize the legislative framework is urgent.

Legislative Reform

The roundtable discussions held under the auspices of my OIC on the reform of the Access to Information Act last June demonstrated that the modernization of the ATIA is a priority for all.

Mr. Chairman, the document I am providing to this Committee contains a series of recommendations on this matter. It is the result of my reflection of the past year. For instance, I recommend a review of the legislation by Parliament every five years, universal access, a greater coverage of the Act, measures to improve timeliness and strength of the compliance model, and improve public education. Though I support the Open Government Act that was developed by my predecessor, the recommendations outlined in this document should be implemented without further delay.

Mr. Chairman, should this Committee decide to pursue legislative reform, rest assured that I will make it my first priority to assist you in your deliberations.

Funding

Another issue I would like to briefly touch on is the inherent weaknesses that are significantly limiting my ability to carry out my mandate and my new responsibilities stemming from the Federal Accountability Act.

I will be going before the Advisory Panel on the Funding and Oversight of Officers of Parliament on March 12 to discuss our financial requirements.

In order to address the resource issue, my Office undertook an A-Base Review to identify what our needs are and how to make efficiency improvements to our operations. The Review revealed a lack of capacity of my Office to support the role of ombudsman and Officer of Parliament.

Basically, we need to obtain additional funding in order for my Office to establish realistic resource levels and service standards based on the size and complexity of its program.

We need these resources so we can put a greater focus on accountability, effective governance, and oversight, and improve service delivery.

Otherwise, my ability to deliver on my legislative mandate, as well as the integrity of my Office’s program could be put in jeopardy.

Conclusion

A stronger regime requires more than modernizing the legislative framework and administrative processes. It requires the leadership necessary to effect the cultural change required to lift the fog over access to information and create a real climate of openness.

Your leadership is also required to see that legislative reform becomes a reality. You have a unique opportunity to help bring about measures to modernize the access to information regime and bring it into the 21st century.

As I said earlier, I think this is going to be an exciting year for access to information. As you can see, a lot of work has been done and there is a lot yet to be accomplished. But with the appropriate resources and leadership, I’m confident that we can meet these challenges.

Thank you.

Strengthening the Access to Information Act To Meet Today's Imperatives

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Comparutions devant les comités parlementaires

Année


Renforcer la Loi sur l'accès à l'information pour faire face aux impératifs actuels - Priorités pour 2009-2010 Notes d'allocution

(L’allocution fait foi)

Remarques liminaires

Merci, monsieur le Président. Je suis heureux d’être de nouveau parmi vous aujourd’hui pour vous parler des activités du Commissariat et de nos priorités en prévision de ce qui sera, à mon avis, une année très chargée et mouvementée pour nous tous.

Je suis accompagné par Suzanne Legault, commissaire adjointe, Politique, communications et opérations, et Andrea Neill, commissaire adjointe, Règlement des plaintes et respect de la loi.

Nous vivons des moments très exaltants en matière d’accès à l’information. Deux projets de loi ont déjà été déposés à la Chambre des communes, et une recommandation de ce comité veut que le gouvernement présente, d’ici le 31 mai prochain, un projet de loi visant à moderniser et à renforcer la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Ces développements me portent à croire que nous sommes peut-être enfin arrivés à un tournant décisif pour le régime de l’accès à l’information.

Je crois que le Comité voulait aborder la question des ressources ainsi que les mesures que j’ai prises pour réduire considérablement notre arriéré de plaintes en attente de traitement. J’en discuterai plus en détail. J’aborderai aussi d’autres dossiers qui, à mon avis, nécessiteront l’attention du Comité au cours des prochains mois.

J’ai distribué deux documents : le premier fournit des renseignements de base sur le Commissariat, et le second présente des recommandations sur la modernisation de la Loi.

Meilleure prestation de services

L’an dernier, l’une de nos priorités visait à entreprendre un processus de renouvellement pour améliorer l’efficacité de notre prestation de services. Ces efforts se sont poursuivis cette année et demeurent une priorité pour le Commissariat.

En 2007-2008, le nombre de plaintes que nous avons reçues a augmenté de 81 %. Par conséquent, l’arriéré de plaintes non traitées a continué d’augmenter. Il va sans dire que la situation est maintenant critique.

Afin de réduire cet arriéré sans précédent et mener plus rapidement nos enquêtes, nous avons pris des mesures pour renforcer et simplifier le traitement des plaintes et mieux gérer notre charge de travail. Nous avons ainsi mis sur pied l’Unité de réception et de règlement rapide, à titre de projet pilote, ainsi qu’une nouvelle équipe chargée de traiter toutes les plaintes reçues antérieurement. Nous avons toujours pour objectif d’éliminer ou de réduire considérablement l’arriéré d’ici la fin de l’an prochain. Nous voulons également prévenir la création d’un nouvel arriéré.

Je suis heureux de rapporter que nous voyons déjà des améliorations prometteuses dans notre processus de traitement des plaintes et nos délais de réponse. Je serai cependant mieux en mesure de rendre compte de ces améliorations à la fin de l’exercice étant donné que certaines mesures n’ont été mises en œuvre que récemment.

Nous continuerons d’appliquer notre nouveau modèle de gestion de la charge de travail et nous apporterons les modifications nécessaires pour rester dans la bonne voie.

Fiches de rendement

Monsieur le président, la dernière fois que je comparaissais devant ce comité, j’avais indiqué que nous avions comme priorité la révision de notre approche à l’égard des fiches de rendement. Nous voulions faire en sorte que les éléments contextuels susceptibles d’influer sur le rendement des institutions puissent être pris en compte.

Cette année, nous avons instauré un nouveau processus qui nous a permis d’examiner le rendement des institutions et de donner une meilleure idée de leur conformité aux dispositions de la Loi.

Comme vous le savez sûrement, j’ai déposé il y a quelques jours mon rapport spécial au Parlement sur le rendement des institutions fédérales. Le rapport fournit une piètre image du régime d’accès à l’information fédéral.

La constatation la plus importante confirme que les demandeurs ont raison d’être mécontents du régime. Le délai de 30 jours est devenu l’exception plutôt que la règle, et cela est inacceptable.

Le nombre élevé de prorogations et de consultations ralentit considérablement le traitement des demandes d’accès, au point où certaines institutions prennent en moyenne 120 jours pour répondre.

Comme je l’ai déclaré, il s’agit là de problèmes systémiques, et non pas d’une simple question de rendement institutionnel. Je suis convaincu que les organismes centraux, comme le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, doivent faire preuve de leadership et fournir aux ministères fédéraux les ressources nécessaires pour que ceux-ci puissent remplir leurs obligations en vertu de la Loi.

Je crois profondément que le Canada a besoin d’un meilleur modèle de conformité en matière d’accès à l’information, comprenant des incitatifs au rendement adéquats. Comme le Comité l’a indiqué à des nombreuses occasions, le cadre législatif doit être modernisé de toute urgence.

Réforme législative

Les tables rondes tenues sous l’égide du Commissariat en juin dernier ont montré que la modernisation de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information constitue une priorité pour tous les intervenants.

Monsieur le président, le document que je fournis au Comité contient une série de recommandations sur la réforme. Il est le fruit de mes réflexions au cours de l’année écoulée. Par exemple, je recommande un examen parlementaire de la Loi tous les cinq ans, un accès universel à l’information, un champ d’application plus large, des mesures pour accélérer le traitement, pour renforcer le modèle de conformité et pour mieux éduquer le public. Bien que je souscrive à la Loi sur la transparence gouvernementale élaborée par mon prédécesseur, j’estime que les recommandations présentées dans le document doivent être mises en œuvre sans plus tarder.

Monsieur le président, si le Comité décidait d’entreprendre une réforme législative, je peux vous assurer de mon entière collaboration.

Financement

J’aimerais aborder brièvement une autre préoccupation, soit les lacunes qui limitent considérablement ma capacité à remplir mon mandat et à exercer mes nouvelles responsabilités en vertu de la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité.

Je comparaîtrai devant le Groupe consultatif sur le financement des hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement le 12 mars, pour faire état de nos besoins financiers.

Le Commissariat a déjà mené une révision des services votés afin d’établir en quoi consistent nos besoins et la façon d’améliorer l’efficacité de nos opérations. La révision a révélé que le Commissariat n’avait pas tous les moyens nécessaires pour soutenir les fonctions d’ombudsman et de haut fonctionnaire du Parlement.

Essentiellement, le Commissariat a besoin de fonds supplémentaires pour pouvoir se doter de ressources et de normes de service réalistes en fonction de la portée et de la complexité de son programme.

Il nous faut ces ressources si nous voulons privilégier la responsabilité, une gouvernance efficace et la surveillance, tout en améliorant la prestation de nos services.

Sinon, ma capacité à remplir mon mandat en vertu de la Loi, ainsi que l’intégrité du programme du Commissariat pourraient être compromises.

Conclusion

Pour renforcer le régime d’accès à l’information, il faudra davantage que la modernisation du cadre législatif et des processus administratifs. Il faut le leadership nécessaire pour guider un changement de culture organisationnelle propre à éliminer les entraves à l’accès et à créer un véritable climat d’ouverture.

Votre propre leadership nous est nécessaire pour entamer le processus de réforme législative. Vous avez là une chance unique de mettre en place les mesures qui permettront de moderniser le régime d’accès à l’information et de l’adapter aux réalités du XXIe siècle.

Comme je l’ai dit plus tôt, je suis convaincu qu’il s’agira d’une année marquante pour l’accès à l’information. Beaucoup de travail a déjà été accompli, mais il nous reste du chemin à faire. Avec le leadership et les ressources appropriés, je suis confiant que nous relèverons le défi.

Merci.