Letter to the President of the Treasury Board on the open government consultations

September 9, 2013

The Honourable Tony Clement, P.C., M.P.
President of the Treasury Board and
Minister for the Federal Economic
Development Initiative for Northern Ontario
140 O’Connor Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0R5


Dear Minister:

I am writing to you to share my views as part of the consultation currently underway regarding Canada’s Action Plan on Open Government. Let me begin by saying that I am pleased to see the advancement of open government at the federal level. I believe that overall, the government is doing well in its progress towards meeting the commitments set out in the Open Government Action Plan.

However, a key element that must be included in the government’s initiative is the modernization of the Access to Information Act (ATIA). You may recall that on January 19, 2012, the Information and Privacy Commissioners of Canada wrote to you to provide our views and recommendations for the government’s action plan for the International Open Government Partnership (OGP) initiative. In our letter, we recommended that the Government of Canada commit to modernizing the federal ATIA . This commitment was not included in the Action Plan, and it is, in my view, an important weakness that must be remedied.

The ATIA is in its 30th year. The OGP initiative offers an excellent opportunity for the Government of Canada to confirm its commitment to open government by moving forward with a comprehensive review of the legislation with the goal of modernizing it and re-establishing Canada’s position as an access to information leader. The time is ideal for the government to amend the ATIA and align it with current government processes and progressive national and international norms.

As you know, I will be presenting recommendations to Parliament later this fall on how to strengthen the ATIA. I seek your support in ensuring that the modernization of the ATIA becomes a key component of the government’s open government agenda in Canada. An open government agenda without a commitment to modernize the ATIA will not address the democratic and accountability deficits at the federal level.

Yours sincerely,


Signed on September 9, 2013 by
Suzanne Legault
Information Commissioner of Canada

c.c.:

The Honourable Peter Gordon MacKay, P.C., M.P., Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada

Mr. Pierre-Luc Dusseault, M.P., Chair, Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics

Ms. Yaprak Baltacioglu Secretary of the Treasury Board of Canada

Lettre au président du Conseil du Trésor sur les consultations sur le gouvernement ouvert

9 septembre 2013

L’honorable Tony Clement, C.P., député
Président du Conseil du Trésor
Ministre de l’Initiative fédérale du
développement économique dans le Nord de l’Ontario
140, rue O’Connor
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0T6


Monsieur le Ministre,

Je vous écris pour vous faire part de mon point de vue dans le cadre de la consultation qui se tient actuellement sur le Plan d’action du Canada pour un gouvernement ouvert. Permettez-moi d’abord de vous dire que je suis enchantée de constater les progrès du gouvernement fédéral en ce qui a trait à l’initiative du gouvernement ouvert. Je suis d’avis que, dans l’ensemble, le gouvernement est en bonne voie de réaliser les engagements qu’il a pris dans le cadre du Plan d’action du Canada pour un gouvernement ouvert.

Toutefois, l’initiative du gouvernement doit comporter un élément essentiel, à savoir la modernisation de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (LAI). Vous vous souvenez peut-être que, le 19 janvier 2012, les commissaires à l’information et à la protection de la vie privée du Canada vous ont écrit afin de vous présenter notre point de vue et nos recommandations en ce qui concerne le plan d’action du gouvernement dans le cadre de l’initiative du Partenariat pour un gouvernement transparent (PGT). Dans notre lettre, nous recommandions que le gouvernement du Canada s’engage à moderniser la LAI. Or, cet engagement ne fait pas partie du plan d’action. Selon moi, il s’agit d’une lacune importante qui doit être comblée.

La LAI en est à sa 30e année d’existence. L’initiative du PGT offre au gouvernement du Canada une excellente occasion de confirmer son engagement à l’égard de la transparence gouvernementale en allant de l’avant avec un examen exhaustif de la Loi dans le but de la moderniser et de rétablir la position du Canada comme chef de file en matière d’accès à l’information. Le moment est idéal pour que le gouvernement modifie la LAI et l’harmonise avec les processus gouvernementaux actuels et les normes nationales et internationales progressives.

Comme vous le savez, je présenterai des recommandations au Parlement plus tard cet automne sur la façon de renforcer la LAI. Je sollicite votre appui pour faire en sorte que la modernisation de la LAI devienne un élément essentiel du programme de transparence du gouvernement du Canada. Un programme sur le gouvernement ouvert sans un engagement à moderniser la Loi ne parviendra pas à réduire le déficit démocratique et le déficit de la reddition de compte aux citoyens.

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, l’expression de mes sentiments les meilleurs.



Signée le 9 septembre 2013 par
La commissaire à l’information du Canada,
Suzanne Legault

c.c. :

L’honorable Peter Gordon MacKay, C.P., député, ministre de la Justice et procureur général du Canada

M. Pierre-Luc Dusseault, député, président du Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique

Mme Yaprak Baltacioglu Secrétaire du Conseil du Trésor du Canada