Canada Revenue Agency

Overall performanceFootnote 1

Despite an increase of 9.3% in requests received, the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) showed improvement in terms of the two main indicators: the percentage of requests completed within 30 days increased by 4.8% and the percentage of requests for which all information was disclosed increased by 3.7%. This report provides comparative statistics for the last three periods (2012-2015).

Workload

The CRA received 3,006 requests under the Access to Information Act (the Act), representing 4.4% of total requests received across government in 2014-2015. This represents an increase of 9.3% in the total number of requests received by CRA in this reporting period (see Table 1).

The majority of requests received by the CRA were from the public (60.2%), followed by the business sector (29.5%). The number of requests from the public increased by 18.9% compared to 2013-2014. While compared to the previous period, the number of requests from the business sector decreased by 19.9%.

The CRA completed 2,668 requests this reporting period. The completion rateFootnote 2 was 74.2%, which is lower than the government-wide rate which is 85.1%. In 2013-2014, the completion rate for the CRA was 82.5%. The CRA also received 329 informal requests in 2014-2015 and 58.7% of these were completed within 30 days. The number of consultations received by CRA from other federal government institutions increased from 103 to 122, representing an increase of 18.4% compared to 2013-2014.

In 2014-2015, the CRA processed 1,306,661 pages to respond to access to information requests. The average number of pages processed per completed request decreased from 638 in 2013-2014 to 526 in 2014-2015.

The information released by CRA was mostly in electronic format: 1,628 requests in electronic format compared to 294 in paper format. The format of information released was similar to the results observed in the previous period (1,550 in electronic format compared to 381 in paper format).

Table 1. Workload

Measures 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Number of requests received 3,137 2,751 3,006
Annual change (%) - -12.3% 9.3%
Completed requests 3,083 2,795 2,668
Annual change (%) - -9.3% -4.5%
Number of consultations received (from other government institutions) 83 103 122
Annual change (%) - 24.1% 18.4%
Average number of pages processed per request completed 433 638 526
% of requests for which more than 1000 pages were processed 6.9% 10.3% 11.0%

Request completion time

Timeliness

Figure 1 reveals that 52.8% of requests were completed within 30 days or less, which is higher than the results observed in 2013-2014 (48.1%). This increase corresponds with a decrease in the completion of requests between 31 and 60 days and 61 and 120 days.

Figure 1: Request Completion Time

Figure 1: Request Completion Time

Text version

Figure 1 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the completion time by CRA during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Completion time 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 days or less 48.52% 48.05% 52.81%
31-60 days 26.01% 22.25% 20.73%
61-120 days 13.49% 20.57% 15.67%
121-180 days 3.92% 4.40% 5.96%
181-365 days 3.67% 2.86% 3.49%
More than 365 days 4.38% 1.86% 1.35%
 

Extensions

The CRA took a total of 1,104 extensions in 2014-2015 compared to 1,229 in 2013-2014. The most common reason for taking an extension was interference with operations (96.5%), followed by consultations (3.1%), and the remainder was for third-party notice.

Figure 2 shows that 50.1% of extensions were taken for less than 30 days, which is an increase of 10.3% compared to the previous period. Figure 2 also shows that the number of extensions taken between 31 and 60 days decreased from 34.7% in 2013-2014 to 26.9% in 2014-2015.

Figure 2: Length of Extensions

Figure 2: Length of Extensions

Text version

Figure 2 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the length of extensions taken by CRA during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Length of extensions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 days or less 59.48% 39.87% 50.14%
31-60 days 21.56% 34.66% 26.93%
61-120 days 14.85% 20.42% 17.68%
121-180 days 2.88% 3.66% 3.54%
181-365 days 1.15% 1.15% 1.72%
More than 365 days 0.07% 0.16% 0.09%
 

Deemed refusals

In 2014-2015, the number of requests closed past the statutory deadline was 348, which accounts for 13.0% of completed requests, which is a 1.0% increase compared to 2013-2014. This rate represents a “C” grade.Footnote 3 In its annual report on the administration of the Act, the CRA attributed the high rate of deemed refusals to a large number of requests that were considered complex. The main reason for not meeting the statutory deadline was workload (62.6%). Figure 3 shows that 44.0% of overdue requests were late by 30 days or less, which is an improvement compared to 40.0% in 2013-2014.

Figure 3: Lateness of Overdue Requests

Figure 3: Lateness of Overdue Requests

Text version

Figure 3 is a pie chart, representing the delayed days for overdue requests taken by CRA in 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Number of days 2014-2015
1 to 15 days 27.30%
16 to 30 days 16.67%
31 to 60 days 12.64%
61 to 120 days 18.39%
121 to 180 days 11.21%
181 to 365 days 8.05%
More than 365 days 5.75%
Total 100.0%
 

Disclosure

Percentage of requests for which information was disclosed

In 2014-2015, 20.8% (2,668) of completed requests were entirely disclosed, which is the highest disclosure rate since 2012 (see Figure 4). Figure 4 also shows that the rate for partially disclosed requests was 51.2% in 2014-2015.

Figure 4: Level of Disclosure

Figure 4: Level of Disclosure

Text version

Figure 4 is a bar-chart with vertical bars, representing the entirely disclosed and disclosed in part requests as proportion of total requests completed by CRA during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Disclosure 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
All disclosed 14.01% 17.07% 20.80%
Disclosed in part 53.49% 52.16% 51.24%
 

Exemptions

The average number of exemptions used per completed request was similar to the previous year (see Table 2). The most used exemptions in 2014-2015 were section 24 (Statutory Prohibitions) (32.0%), section 19 (Personal Information (24.2%) and section 16 (Law Enforcement and Investigations) (24.9%).

Table 2: Exemptions

Exemptions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Total number of exemptions 4,595 3,921 3,599
Total number of completed requests 3,083 2,795 2,668
Average number of exemptions per completed request 1.49 1.40 1.35

Complaints at the OIC

The number of complaints receivedFootnote 4 against the CRA was 221 compared to 283 in the previous period. Most of the complaints were refusals (152 deemed refusals and 69 administrative complaints) compared to the previous period (187 deemed refusals and 96 administrative complaints in 2013-2014). 31.2% of complaints were well-founded and resolved, 8.1% complaints were not well-founded, 9.5% were discontinued and 50.2% were still pending.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Overall performance is based on two primary indicators: % of requests completed within 30 days, % of requests that were fully disclosed.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The completion rate was calculated using the number of received requests during the reporting period as well as outstanding requests from the previous period.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The 2007-2008 OIC report card grading system was used to estimate the grade A= 0 to 5%; B= 5 to 10%; C= 10 to 15%, D= 15 to 20%, F= 20% and more.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The numbers reported in this section are based on the OIC’s statistics. The information may not reflect the statistics reported by institutions due to the discrepancies in the methodology used.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Agence du revenu du Canada

Rendement globalNote de bas de page 1

Malgré une augmentation de 9,3 % de demandes reçues, l’Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) a démontré des améliorations au niveau des deux principaux indicateurs; son pourcentage de demandes complétées en 30 jours ou moins a augmenté de 4,8 % et son pourcentage de demandes pour lesquelles toute l’information a été divulguée a augmenté de 3,7 %. Le présent rapport contient des statistiques comparatives pour les trois dernières périodes (2012 à 2015).

Charge de travail

L’ARC a reçu 3 006 demandes en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l‘information (la Loi), représentant 4,4 % du nombre total de demandes reçues à l’échelle du gouvernement en 2014-2015. Cela représente une augmentation de 9,3 % du nombre total de demandes reçues par l’ARC au courant de cette période (voir tableau 1).

La plupart des demandes reçues par l’ARC provenaient du public (60,2 %), suivies des demandes du secteur privé (29,5 %). Le nombre de demandes du public a augmenté de 18,9 % par rapport à l’année 2013-2014. Si l’on compare avec la période précédente, le nombre de demandes du secteur privé a diminué de 19,9 %.

L’ARC a complété 2 668 demandes pour cette période de référence. Le taux d’achèvementNote de bas de page 2 était de 74,2 %, soit inférieur à celui rapporté pour l’ensemble du gouvernement qui lui était de 85,1 %. En 2013-2014, le taux d’achèvement pour l’ARC était de 82,5 %. L’ARC a aussi reçu 329 demandes informelles en 2014-2015, dont 58,7 % qui ont été complétées en 30 jours ou moins. Le nombre de demandes de consultation reçues par l’ARC en provenance d’autres institutions fédérales a augmenté de 103 à 122, ce qui représente une hausse de 18,4 % par rapport à 2013-2014.

En 2014-2015, l’ARC a traité 1 306 661 pages afin de répondre à des demandes d’accès à l’information. Le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée a diminué de 638 en 2013-2014 à 526 en 2014-2015.

L’information diffusée par l’ARC était majoritairement en format électronique : 1 628 demandes en format électronique par rapport à 294 demandes en format papier. Ces résultats sont similaires à ceux observés en 2013-2014 (1 550 demandes en format électronique par rapport à 381 demandes en format papier).

Tableau 1 : Charge de travail

Mesures 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Nombre de demandes reçues 3 137 2 751 3 006
Variation annuelle en % - -12,3 % 9,3 %
Demandes complétées 3 083 2 795 2 668
Variation annuelle en % - -9,3 % -4,5 %
Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues (d’autres institutions fédérales) 83 103 122
Variation annuelle en % - 24,1 % 18,4 %
Nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée 433 638 526
% des demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées 6,9 % 10,3 % 11,0 %

Délai de traitement des demandes

Rapidité

La figure 1 révèle que 52,8 % des demandes ont été complétées en 30 jours ou moins, un résultat supérieur à celui observé en 2013-2014 (48,1 %). Cette augmentation correspond à une diminution du nombre de demandes complétées entre 31 et 60 jours et entre 61 et 120 jours.

Figure 1 : Délai de traitement des demandes

Figure 1 : Délai de traitement des demandes

Version texte

La figure 1 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant les délais de traitement de l’ARC pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Délai de traitement 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 jours ou moins 48,52 % 48,05 % 52,81 %
31 à 60 jours 26,01 % 22,25 % 20,73 %
61 à 120 jours 13,49 % 20,57 % 15,67 %
121 à 180 jours 3,92 % 4,40 % 5,96 %
181 à 365 jours 3,67 % 2,86 % 3,49 %
Plus de 365 jours 4,38 % 1,86 % 1,35 %
 

Prorogations

L’ARC a eu recours à 1 104 prorogations en 2014-2015 par rapport à 1 229 en 2013-2014. L’entrave au fonctionnement de l’institution (96,5 %) était la raison la plus fréquemment invoquée pour demander une prorogation, suivie des demandes de consultation (3,1 %) et le reste étaient attribuables à un avis à des tiers.

La figure 2 montre que 50,1 % des prorogations étaient de 30 jours ou moins, un résultat supérieur de 10,3 % par rapport à celui de la période précédente. La figure 2 montre également que la part des prorogations de 31 à 60 jours a diminué de 34,7 % en 2013-2014 à 26,9 % en 2014-2015.

Figure 2 : Durée des prorogations

Figure 2 : Durée des prorogations

Version texte

La figure 2 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant la durée des prorogations auxquelles a eu recours l’ARC pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Durée des prorogations 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 jours ou moins 59,48 % 39,87 % 50,14 %
31 à 60 jours 21,56 % 34,66 % 26,93 %
61 à 120 jours 14,85 % 20,42 % 17,68 %
121 à 180 jours 2,88 % 3,66 % 3,54 %
181 à 365 jours 1,15 % 1,15 % 1,72 %
Plus de 365 jours 0,07 % 0,16 % 0,09 %
 

Présomptions de refus

En 2014-2015, 348 demandes ont été fermées après l’échéancier réglementaire, ce qui représente 13,0 % des demandes complétées, soit une augmentation de 1,0 % par rapport à 2013-2014. Ce résultat procure à l’ARC la note de « C »Note de bas de page 3. Dans son rapport annuel sur l’application de la Loi, l’ARC attribue ce nombre élevé de présomptions de refus à un grand nombre de demandes jugées complexes. La charge de travail (62,6 %) était la principale raison invoquée pour ne pas respecter l’échéancier réglementaire.

La figure 3 montre que 44,0 % des demandes échues étaient en retard de 30 jours ou moins, ce qui représente une amélioration par rapport aux 40,0 % de demandes échues en 2013-2014.

Figure 3 : Retard des demandes échues

Figure 3 : Retard des demandes échues

Version texte

La figure 3 est un diagramme circulaire représentant les jours de retard des demandes échues à l’ARC pour la période de référence 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Nombre de jours 2014-2015
1 à 15 jours 27,30 %
16 à 30 jours 16,67 %
31 à 60 jours 12,64 %
61 à 120 jours 18,39 %
121 à 180 jours 11,21 %
181 à 365 jours 8,05 %
181 à 365 jours 5,75 %
Total des demandes 100,0 %
 

Divulgation

Pourcentage de demandes pour lesquelles l’information a été divulguée

En 2014-2015, 20,8 % (2 668) des demandes complétées ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète, ce qui représente le taux de divulgation le plus élevé depuis 2012 (voir figure 4). La figure 4 montre que le taux de demandes faisant l’objet d’une divulgation partielle était de 51,2 % en 2014-2015.

Figure 4 : Niveau de divulgation

Figure 4 : Niveau de divulgation

Version texte

La figure 4 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant les demandes ayant fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète et partielle en tant que proportion du nombre total de demandes complétées par l’ARC pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Divulgation 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Divulgation complète 14,01 % 17,07 % 20,80 %
Divulgation partielle 53,49 % 52,16 % 51,24 %
 

Exceptions

Le nombre moyen d’exceptions par demande complétée a était similaire à celui de l’année précédente (voir tableau 2). Les exceptions les plus fréquemment invoquées en 2014-2015 étaient l’article 24 (les interdictions fondées sur d’autres lois) (32,0 %), l’article 19 (les renseignements personnels) (24,2 %) et l’article 16 (l’application de la loi et les enquêtes) (24,9 %).

Tableau 2 : Exceptions

Exceptions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Nombre total d’exceptions 4 595 3 921 3 599
Nombre total de demandes complétées 3 083 2 795 2 668
Nombre moyen d’exceptions par demande complétée 1,49 1,40 1,35

Plaintes au Commissariat à l’information

Le nombre de plaintes reçuesNote de bas de page 4 contre l’ARC était de 221 par rapport à 283 lors de la période précédente. La majeure partie des plaintes reçues étaient attribuables à des refus soit, 152 plaintes pour refus et 69 plaintes de nature administrative, comparé à 187 plaintes pour refus et 96 plaintes de nature administrative en 2013-2014. 31,2 % des plaintes étaient fondées et ont été réglées, 8,1 % des plaintes n’étaient pas fondées, 9,5 % des plaintes ont été abandonnées et 50,2 % étaient encore en suspens.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Le rendement global repose sur deux principaux indicateurs : % de demandes complétées en 30 jours ou moins et % de demandes qui ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Le taux d’achèvement a été calculé en utilisant le nombre de demandes reçues durant cette période et le nombre de demandes transférées de la période précédente.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Le système de cotation de la fiche de rendement du Commissariat pour 2007-2008 a été employé pour accorder les différentes notes : A= 0 à 5 %; B= 5 à 10 %; C=10 à 15 %, D= 15 à 20 %, F=20 % et plus.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Note de bas de page 4

Les chiffres rapportés dans cette section sont basés sur les statistiques du Commissariat. Des différences peuvent être notées avec l’information rapportée par les institutions, puisque la méthodologie employée diffère.

Return to footnote 4 referrer