Canada Post Corporation

Overall performanceFootnote 1

While Canada Post Corporation (CPC) received a similar number requests in 2014-2015, its overall performance showed a decrease compared to the previous reporting period.

In 2014-2015, the total number of requests received by CPC represented 0.2% percent of the total requests received government-wide under the Access to Information Act (the Act). 27.8% of those requests to the CPC resulted in a complaint to the Office of the Information Commissioner. This gives CPC the second highest number of complaints per request received. This report provides comparative statistics for the last three periods (2012-2015).

Workload

CPC received 108 requests under the Act, compared to 109 the previous period. Requests received by CPC were from members of the public (37.0%), followed by the media (26.9%), organizations (18.5%), and the business sector (17.6%).

CPC completed 95 requests in 2014-2015. The completion rateNote de bas de page 2 was 76.6%, which is lower than the government-wide rate for 2014-2015 of 85.1%. In 2013-2014, the completion rate for CPC was 87.3%. CPC also received 14 informal requestsNote de bas de page 3 and 8 of them were released in 30 days or less. The number of consultations received by CPC from other federal government institutions decreased from 24 to 16, representing a decrease of 33.3% compared to 2013-2014.

CPC processed 7,813 pages this reporting period. Table 1 shows that the average number of pages processed per completed request decreased significantly, from 217 in 2013-2014 to 96 in 2014-2015. As in the previous period, all information released by CPC was in paper format.

Table 1. Workload

Measures 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Number of Requests received 105 109 108
Annual change (%) - 3.8% -0.9%
Completed requests 135 110 95
Annual change (%) - -18.5% -13.6%
Number of consultations received (from other government institutions) 44 24 16
Annual change (%) - -45.5% -33.3%
Average number of pages processed per request completed 161 217 96
% of requests  for which more than 1,000 pages were processed 5.6% 7.3% 1.2%

Request completion time

Timeliness

Figure 1 reveals that 53.7% of requests were completed within 30 days or less, which is 13.6% lower compared to 2013-2014. The requests completed between 61 and 120 days increased from 11.8% in 2013-2014 to 16.8% in 2014-2015. Also, the number of requests that required between 121 and 180 days completion time increased from 2.7% in 2013-2014 to 5.3% this reporting period. No requests were completed beyond 365 days.

Figure 1: Request Completion Time

Figure 1: Request Completion Time

Text version

Figure 1 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the completion time by CPC during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Completion time 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 days or less 39.26% 67.27% 53.68%
31-60 days 17.04% 18.18% 22.11%
61-120 days 15.56% 11.82% 16.84%
121-180 days 2.96% 2.73% 5.26%
181-365 days 1.48% 0.00% 2.11%
More than 365 days 23.7% 0.00% 0.00%
 

Extensions

CPC took a total of 30 extensions in 2014-2015 compared to 18 in 2013-2014. The most common reasons for taking an extension was for interference with operations (46.6%), consultations (30.0%) and third-party notice (23.3%).

Figure 2 shows that 30.0% of the extensions taken in 2014-2015 were for 30 days or less. The proportion of extensions taken between 31 and 60 days in 2014-2015 was 40.0% which is a decrease from 55.6% in 2013-2014. There was a 6.7% increase in the proportion of extensions for 61 and 120 days compared to the last period, and no extensions were taken for more than 181 days.

Figure 2: Length of Extensions

Figure 2: Length of Extensions

Text version

Figure 2 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the length of extensions taken by CPC during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Length of extensions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
 30 days or less 38.89% 16.67% 30.00%
31-60 days 35.19% 55.56% 40.00%
61-120 days 16.67% 16.67% 23.33%
121-180 days 5.56% 11.11% 6.67%
181-365 days 3.70% 0.00% 0.00%
More than 365 days 0.00% 0.00% 0.00%
 

Deemed refusals

In 2014-2015, three requests were closed past the statutory deadline,Note de bas de page 4 which is 3.2% of the completed requests. This rate represents an “A” grade.Note de bas de page 5  CPC’s justification for not meeting the statutory deadline in these cases was workload (100%). Two requests were late by 15 days or less, and 1 request was late by 181 to 365 days.

Disclosure

Percentage of requests for which information was disclosed

In 2014-2015, 11.6% of all completed requests were entirely disclosed, which is 9.3% lower than the previous period (see Figure 3). Requests that were partly disclosed represented 41.1% of all completed requests, which is a slight decrease from the previous year.

Figure 3: Level of Disclosure

Figure 3: Level of Disclosure

Text version

Figure 3 is a bar-chart with vertical bars, representing the entirely disclosed and disclosed in part requests as proportion of total requests completed by CPC during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Disclosure 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
All disclosed 18.52% 20.91% 11.58%
Disclosed in part 46.67% 43.64% 41.05%
 

Exemptions

On average, the number of exemptions used per completed request decreased from 1.49 in 2013-2014 to 1.42 in 2014-2015 (see Table 2). The most used exemptions for this reporting period were section 18 (Economic Interests of Canada) (37.0%), section 19 (Personal Information) (21.5%) and section 21 (Operations of Government) (17.8%).

Table 2: Exemptions

Exemptions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Total number of exemptions 273 164 135
Total number of completed requests 135 110 95
Average number of exemptions per completed request 2.02 1.49 1.42

Complaints at the OIC

In 2014-2015, the OIC received 30 complaintsNote de bas de page 6 against CPC of which 24 were refusals and 6 were administrative. 6 complaints were well-founded and resolved, 1 complaint was not well-founded, 5 complaints were discontinued and 18 were pending resolution. In the previous period, there were ten complaints, all of which were refusals.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Overall performance is based on two primary indicators: % of requests completed within 30 days, % of requests that were fully disclosed.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The completion rate was calculated using the number of received requests during the reporting period as well as outstanding requests from the previous period.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

In its report on the Access to Information Act, CPC wrote 19 informal requests. Its infosource statistical statistics mentions 14.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The indicator "Lateness of Overdue Requests" is not being measured for institutions with less than 15 late requests.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

The 2007-2008 OIC report card grading system was used to estimate the grade A= 0 to 5%; B= 5 to 10%; C=10 to 15%, D= 15 to 20%, F=20% and more.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

The numbers reported in this section are based on the OIC’s statistics. The information may not reflect the statistics reported by institutions due to the discrepancies in the methodology used.

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Société canadienne des postes

Rendement globalNote de bas de page 1

Bien que la Société canadienne des postes (SCP) a reçu un nombre similaire de demandes en 2014-2015, son rendement global a légèrement diminué comparativement à la période de référence précédente.

En 2014-2015, le nombre total de demandes reçues par la SCP représente 0,2 % du nombre total de demandes reçues à l’échelle du gouvernement en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l‘information (la Loi). 27,8 % de ces demandes reçues ont donné lieu à une plainte au Commissariat à l’information. Cela positionne l’institution au deuxième rang au niveau du nombre de plaintes par demande reçue.

Charge de travail

La SCP a reçu 108 demandes en vertu de la Loi, par rapport à 109 en 2013-2014. Les demandes reçues par la SCP provenaient du public (37,0 %), suivies des médias (26,9 %), des diverses organisations (18,5 %) et du secteur privé (17,6 %).

La SCP a traité 95 demandes en 2014-2015. Le taux d’achèvementNote de bas de page 2 était de 76,6 %, soit inférieur à celui rapporté pour l’ensemble du gouvernement en 2014-2015 qui lui, était de 85,1 %. En 2013-2014, le taux d’achèvement pour la SCP était de 87,3 %. La SCP a aussi reçu 14 demandes informellesNote de bas de page 3 et 8 d’entre elles ont été complétées en 30 jours ou moins. Le nombre de demandes de consultation reçues par SCP en provenance d’autres institutions fédérales a diminué de 24 à 16, ce qui représente une baisse de 33,3 %.

La SCP a traité 7 813 pages pour la période de référence actuelle. Le tableau 1 montre que le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée a diminué de façon considérable passant de 217 en 2013-2014 à 96 en 2014-2015. Comme pour la période précédente, toute l’information communiquée par la SCP était en format papier.

Tableau 1 : Charge de travail

Mesures 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Nombre de demandes reçues 105 109 108
Variation annuelle en % - 3,8 % -0,9 %
Demandes complétées 135 110 95
Variation annuelle en % - -18,5 % -13,6 %
Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues (d’autres institutions fédérales) 44 24 16
Variation annuelle en % - -45,5 % -33,3 %
Nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée 161 217 96
% des demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées 5,6 % 7,3 % 1,2 %

Délai de traitement des demandes

Rapidité

La figure 1 révèle que 53,7 % des demandes ont été complétées en 30 jours ou moins, soit un résultat inférieur de 13,6 % par rapport à 2013-2014. La proportion de demandes complétées dans un délai de 61 à 120 jours a augmenté, passant de 11,8 % en 2013-2014 à 16,8 % en 2014-2015. Également, le nombre de demandes dont le traitement a nécessité entre 121 et 180 jours a augmenté pour passer de 2,7 % en 2013-2014 à 5,3 % en 2014-2015. Aucune demande n’a été complétée en plus de 365 jours.

Figure 1 : Délai de traitement des demandes

Figure 1 : Délai de traitement des demandes

Version texte

La figure 1 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant les délais de traitement de la SCP pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Délai de traitement 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 jours ou moins 39,26 % 67,27 % 53,68 %
31 à 60 jours 17,04 % 18,18 % 22,11 %
61 à 120 jours 15,56 % 11,82 % 16,84 %
121 à 180 jours 2,96 % 2,73 % 5,26 %
181 à 365 jours 1,48 % 0,00 % 2,11 %
Plus de 365 jours 23,70 % 0,00 % 0,00 %
 

Prorogations

La SCP a eu recours à 30 prorogations en 2014-2015 par rapport à 18 en 2013-2014. L’entrave au fonctionnement de l’institution (46,6 %) était la raison la plus fréquemment invoquée pour demander une prorogation, suivie des demandes de consultation (30,0 %) et des avis à des tiers (23,3 %).

La figure 2 montre que 30,0 % des prorogations en 2014-2015 étaient de 30 jours ou moins. La part des prorogations de 31 à 60 jours était de 40,0 % en 2014-2015, une diminution de 15,6 % par rapport à 2013-2014. On a observé une augmentation de 6,7 % du nombre de prorogations entre 61 et 120 jours par rapport à la période précédente, et aucune prorogation de plus de 181 jours n’a été demandée.

Figure 2 : Durée des prorogations

Figure 2 : Durée des prorogations

Version texte

La figure 2 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant la durée des prorogations auxquelles a eu recours la SCP pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Durée des prorogations en % 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 jours ou moins 38,89 % 16,67 % 30,00 %
31 à 60 jours 35,19 % 55,56 % 40,00 %
61 à 120 jours 16,67 % 16,67 % 23,33 %
121 à 180 jours 5,56 % 11,11 % 6,67 %
181 à 365 jours 3,70 % 0,00 % 0,00 %
Plus de 365 jours 0,00 % 0,00 % 0,00 %
 

Présomptions de refus

En 2014-2015, trois demandes ont été fermées après l’échéancier réglementaireNote de bas de page 4, ce qui représente 3,2 % des demandes complétées. Ce résultat procure à la SCP la note de « A »Note de bas de page 5. La charge de travail (100 %) était la seule raison invoquée par la SCP pour ne pas respecter l’échéancier réglementaire. Deux demandes étaient en retard de 15 jours ou moins, et une demande était en retard de 181 à 365 jours.

Divulgation

Pourcentage de demandes pour lesquelles l’information a été divulguée

En 2014-2015, 11,6 % de toutes les demandes complétées ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète, ce qui représente une diminution de 9,3 % par rapport à la période précédente (voir figure 3). Les demandes qui ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation partielle correspondent à 41,1 % de toutes les demandes complétées, ce qui représente une légère diminution par rapport à 2013-2014.

Figure 3 : Niveau de divulgation

Figure 3 : Niveau de divulgation

Version texte

La figure 3 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant les demandes ayant fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète et partielle en tant que proportion du nombre total de demandes complétées par la SCP pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Divulgation 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Divulgation complète 18,52 % 20,91 % 11,58 %
Divulgation partielle 46,67 % 43,64 % 41,05 %
 

Exceptions

Le nombre moyen d’exceptions par demande complétée a diminué de 1,49 en 2013-2014 à 1,42 en 2014-2015 (voir tableau 2). Les exceptions les plus fréquemment invoquées pour cette période étaient l’article 18 (les intérêts économiques du Canada) (37,0 %), l’article 19 (les renseignements personnels) (21,5 %), suivies de l’article 21 (les activités du gouvernement) (17,8 %).

Tableau 2 : Exceptions

Exceptions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Nombre total d’exceptions 273 164 135
Nombre total de demandes complétées 135 110 95
Nombre moyen d’exceptions par demande complétée 2,02 1,49 1,42

Plaintes au Commissariat à l’information

En 2014-2015, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a reçu 30 plaintesNote de bas de page 6 concernant la SCP dont 24 qui étaient attribuables à des refus et 6 qui étaient de nature administrative. 6 plaintes étaient fondées et ont été réglées, 1 plainte n’était pas fondée, 5 plaintes ont été abandonnées et 18 étaient encore en suspens. En 2013-2014, SCP avait reçues 10 plaintes qui étaient toutes attribuables à des refus.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Le rendement global repose sur deux principaux indicateurs : % de demandes complétées en 30 jours ou moins et % de demandes qui ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Le taux d’achèvement a été calculé en utilisant le nombre de demandes reçues durant cette période et le nombre de demandes transférées de la période précédente.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Dans son rapport sur la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, la SCP a indiqué avoir répondu à 19 demandes informelles. Les données statistiques fournies dans Info Source indiquent plutôt 14 demandes.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Note de bas de page 4

L’indicateur « Retards des demandes échues » ne s’applique pas aux institutions qui ont 15 demandes échues et moins.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Note de bas de page 5

Le système de cotation de la fiche de rendement du Commissariat pour 2007-2008 a été employé pour accorder les différentes notes : A= 0 à 5 %; B= 5 à 10 %; C=10 à 15 %, D= 15 à 20 %, F=20 % et plus.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Note de bas de page 6

Les chiffres rapportés dans cette section sont basés sur les statistiques du Commissariat. Des différences peuvent être notées avec l’information rapportée par les institutions, puisque la méthodologie employée diffère.

Return to first footnote 6 referrer