Transport Canada

Overall performanceFootnote 1

Transport Canada (TC) improved its performance by 16.7% with respect to the percent of requests completed within 30 days. There was also a decrease of 14.1% in the number of requests received. This report provides comparative statistics for the last three periods (2012-2015).

Workload

TC received 937 requests under the Access to Information Act (the Act) representing a 14.1% decrease from the previous period. The majority of requests received were from the media (39.2%), followed by the business sector (30.6%) and the public (23.6%). Requests from the public increased by 11% this reporting period compared to 2013-2014. In contrast to the previous period, requests from the media and the business sector decreased by 22.2% and 6.8% respectively.

TC completed 1,167 requests this reporting period compared to 1,794 in 2013-2014. The completion rateFootnote 2 was 90.2%, which is higher than the government-wide rate of 85.1%. In 2013-2014, TC’s completion rate was 82.6%. TC also received 245 informal requests, of which 85.7% were completed within 30 days. The number of consultations received by TC from other federal government institutions decreased from 265 to 218, representing a decrease of 17.7% compared to 2013-2014.

The total number of pages processed by TC was 306,012 pages, in contrast to 202,969 the year before. There was also an increase in the average number of pages processed per completed request, which increased from 159 in 2013-2014 to 308 in 2014-2015 (see Table 1).

The information released by TC was mostly in paper format: 583 in paper format compared to 199 in electronic format. This is considerably different compared to the previous year (901 in paper format compared to 57 in electronic).

Table 1. Workload

Measures 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Number of requests received 2,197 1,091 937
Annual change (%) - -50.3% -14.1%
Completed requests 1,419 1,794 1,167
Annual change - 26.4% -34.9%
Number of consultations received (from other government institutions) 265 265 218
Annual change (%) - 0.0% -17.7%
Average number of pages processed per request completed 104 159 308
% of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed 2.2% 2.8% 7.9%

Request completion time

Timeliness

Figure 1 shows that 41.3% of requests were completed within 30 days or less, which is almost double the results observed in 2013-2014 (24.6%).

Figure 1: Request Completion Time

Figure 1: Request Completion Time

Text version

Figure 1 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the completion time by TC during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Completion time 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 days or less 34.39% 24.58% 41.30%
31-60 days 8.32% 5.07% 17.82%
61-120 days 34.39% 19.29% 15.25%
121-180 days 6.13% 9.20% 7.28%
181-365 days 5.50% 39.35% 11.57%
More than 365 days 11.28% 2.51% 6.77%
 

Extensions

TC took a total of 855 extensions in 2014-2015 compared to 2,322 the year before. The most common reason for taking an extension was interference with operations (53.3%), followed by third-party notice (27.7%). Interference with operations was also the institution’s most common reason for extensions in 2013-2014.

Figure 2 shows that 36.1% of extensions were taken for less than 30 days. This measure is significantly higher than the previous period’s results, where 3.4% of extensions were processed within 30 days or less. Figure 2 also shows that the number of requests extended between 31 and 60 days increased from 4.3% in 2013-2014 to 19.5% in 2014-2015.

Figure 2: Length of Extensions

Figure 2: Length of Extensions

Text version

Figure 2 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the length of extensions taken by TC during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Length of extensions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 days or less 7.32% 3.45% 36.14%
31-60 days 64.46% 4.26% 19.53%
61-120 days 17.31% 44.96% 24.44%
121-180 days 6.16% 38.76% 5.73%
181-365 days 4.65% 8.57% 12.16%
More than 365 days 0.12% 0.0% 1.99%
 

Deemed refusals

In 2014-2015, the number of requests closed past the statutory deadline was 146, which accounts for 12.5% of completed requests. This rate represents a “C” grade and a drop from an “A” (4.6%) in the previous period.Footnote 3 The main reason for overdue requests this reporting period was workload (67.8%). Figure 3 shows that 37.7% of overdue requests were late by 30 days or less.

Figure 3: Lateness of Overdue Requests

Figure 3: Lateness of Overdue Requests

Text version

Figure 3 is a pie chart, representing the delayed days for overdue requests taken by TC in 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Number of days 2014-2015
1 to 15 days 27.40%
16 to 30 days 10.27%
31 to 60 days 12.33%
61 to 120 days 17.81%
121 to 180 days 12.33%
181 to 365 days 15.07%
More than 365 days 4.79%
Total 100.0%
 

Disclosure

Percentage of requests for which information was disclosed

In 2014-2015, 10.5% of completed requests were entirely disclosed. This is only marginally lower than previous years (see Figure 4). Figure 4 also shows that the rate for partially disclosed requests was 56.6% in 2014-2015, which is an increase of 14.4% from the previous period.

Figure 4: Level of Disclosure

Figure 4: Level of Disclosure

Text version

Figure 4 is a bar-chart with vertical bars, representing the entirely disclosed and disclosed in part requests as proportion of total requests completed by TC during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Disclosure 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
All disclosed 10.99% 11.98 % 10.45%
Disclosed in part 27.13% 42.14% 56.56%
 

Exemptions

The average number of exemptions used per completed request increased from 1.61 in 2013-2014 to 2.11 in 2013-2014 (see Table 2). The most frequent exemptions applied in 2014-2015 were section 21 (Operations of Government) (26.8%), section 20 (Third-Party Information) (24.2%) and section 19 (Personal Information) (20.4%). The application of all three provisions nearly doubled in comparison to the previous period.

Table 2: Exemptions

Exemptions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Total number of exemptions 1,384 2,895 2,464
Total number of completed requests 1,419 1,794 1,167
Average number of exemptions per completed request 0.98 1.61 2.11

Complaints at the OIC

In 2014-2015, the OIC received 87 complaintsFootnote 4 against TC, which is a slight increase from the 83 complaints received the previous period. The majority of complaints were refusals. Compared to the previous year, the difference between administrative and refusal complaints marks a substantial increase (38 administrative and 45 refusal complaints in 2013-2014 compared to 16 administrative and 71 refusals in 2014-2015).

In this reporting period, 3 complaints were not well-founded, 16 were well-founded and resolved, 38 were discontinued and 29 were pending resolution.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Overall performance is based on two primary indicators: % of requests completed within 30 days, % of requests that were fully disclosed.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The completion rate was calculated using the number of received requests during the reporting period as well as outstanding requests from the previous period.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The 2007-2008 OIC report card grading system was used to estimate the grade A= 0 to 5%; B= 5 to 10%; C=10 to 15%, D= 15 to 20%, F=20% and more.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The numbers reported in this section are based on the OIC’s statistics. The information may not reflect the statistics reported by institutions due to the discrepancies in the methodology used.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Transports Canada

Rendement globalNote de bas de page 1

Transports Canada (TC) a amélioré son pourcentage de demandes complétées en 30 jours ou moins de 16,7 %. Il y a aussi eu une diminution de 14,1 % du nombre de demandes reçues. Le présent rapport contient des statistiques comparatives pour les trois dernières périodes (2012 à 2015).

Charge de travail

TC a reçu 937 demandes en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l‘information (la Loi), représentant une diminution de 14,1 % par rapport à la période précédente. La plupart des demandes provenaient des médias (39,2 %), suivies du secteur privé (23,6 %). Les demandes du public ont augmenté de 11 % pour la période de référence visée par les présentes, par rapport à 2013-2014. En comparaison avec la période précédente, les demandes des médias ont chuté de 22,2 %.

TC a complété 1 167 demandes pour cette période de référence par rapport à 1 794 en en 2013-2014. Le taux d’achèvementNote de bas de page 2 était de 90,2 %, soit un taux supérieur à celui établi pour l’ensemble du gouvernement qui lui, était de 85,1 %. En 2013-2014, ce taux était de 82,6 %. TC a aussi reçu 245 demandes informelles, dont 85,7 % ont été complétées en 30 jours ou moins. Le nombre de demandes de consultation reçues par TC en provenance d’autres institutions fédérales a diminué de 265 à 218, ce qui représente une baisse de 17,7 % par rapport à 2013-2014.

Le nombre total de pages traitées par TC était de 306 012 pages, en comparaison avec 202 969 pages l’année précédente. Il y a aussi eu une hausse du nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée, passant de 159 en 2013-2014 à 308 en 2014-2015 (voir tableau 1).

L’information diffusée par TC était majoritairement en format papier : 583 demandes en format papier par rapport à 199 demandes en format électronique. Ces résultats sont considérablement différent que ceux obtenus en 2013-2014 (901 demandes en format papier par rapport à 57 demandes en format électronique).

Tableau 1 : Charge de travail

Mesures 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Nombre de demandes reçues 2 197 1 091 937
Variation annuelle en % - -50,3 % -14,1 %
Demandes complétées 1 419 1 794 1 167
Variation annuelle en % - 26,4 % -34,9 %
Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues (d’autres institutions fédérales) 265 265 218
Variation annuelle en % - 0,0 % -17,7 %
Nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée 104 159 308
% des demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées 2,2 % 2,8 % 7,9 %

Délai de traitement des demandes

Rapidité

La figure 1 révèle que 41,3 % des demandes ont été complétées en 30 jours ou moins, un résultat près de deux fois supérieur à celui observé en 2013-2014 (24,6 %).

Figure 1 : Délai de traitement des demandes

Figure 1 : Délai de traitement des demandes

Version texte

La figure 1 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant les délais de traitement de TC pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Délai de traitement 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 jours ou moins 34,39 % 24,58 % 41,30 %
31 à 60 jours 8,32 % 5,07 % 17,82 %
61 à 120 jours 34,39 % 19,29 % 15,25 %
121 à 180 jours 6,13 % 9,20 % 7,28 %
181 à 365 jours 5,50 % 39,35 % 11,57 %
Plus de 365 jours 11,28 % 2,51 % 6,77 %
 

Prorogations

TC a eu recours à 855 prorogations en 2014-2015 par rapport à 2 322 l’année précédente. L’entrave au fonctionnement de l’institution (53,3 %) était la raison la plus fréquemment invoquée pour demander une prorogation, suivie des avis à des tiers (27,7 %). L’entrave au fonctionnement de l’institution était également le motif le plus fréquemment invoqué en 2013-2014 pour demander une prorogation.

La figure 2 montre que 36,1 % des prorogations étaient de 30 jours ou moins. Cela est une augmentation considérable par rapport à l’année précédent ou 3,4 % des prorogations avait été de 30 jours ou moins. La figure 2 montre également que le nombre de prorogations de 31 à 60 jours est passé de 4,3 % en 2013-2014 à 19,5 % en 2014-2015.

Figure 2 : Durée des prorogations

Figure 2 : Durée des prorogations

Version texte

La figure 2 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant la durée des prorogations auxquelles a eu recours TC pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Durée des prorogations 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 jours ou moins 7,32 % 3,45 % 36,14 %
31 à 60 jours 64,46 % 4,26 % 19,53 %
61 à 120 jours 17,31 % 44,96 % 24,44 %
121 à 180 jours 6,16 % 38,76 % 5,73 %
181 à 365 jours 4,65 % 8,57 % 12,16 %
Plus de 365 jours 0,12 % 0,0 % 1,99 %
 

Présomptions de refus

En 2014-2015, 146 demandes ont été fermées après l’échéancier réglementaire, ce qui représente 12,5 % des demandes complétées. Ce résultat représente une note de « C » Note de bas de page 3 pour TC alors que TC avait une note de « A » lors de l’année précédente. La charge de travail (67,8 %) est le principal motif invoqué pour justifier ces retards au cours de cette période. La figure 3 montre que 37,7 % des demandes échues étaient en retard de 30 jours ou moins.

Figure 3 : Retard des demandes échues

Figure 3 : Retard des demandes échues

Version texte

La figure 3 est un diagramme circulaire représentant les jours de retard des demandes échues à TC pour la période de référence 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Nombre de jours 2014-2015
1 à 15 jours 27,40 %
16 à 30 jours 10,27 %
31 à 60 jours 12,33 %
61 à 120 jours 17,81 %
121 à 180 jours 12,33 %
181 à 365 jours 15,07 %
Plus de 365 jours 4,79 %
Total des demandes 100,0 %
 

Divulgation

Pourcentage de demandes pour lesquelles l’information a été divulguée

En 2014-2015, 10,5 % de toutes les demandes complétées ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète, ce qui se compare aux années précédentes (voir figure 4). La figure 4 montre également que le taux des demandes faisant l’objet d’une divulgation partielle était de 56,6 % en 2014-2015, ce qui représente une augmentation de 14,4 % par rapport à la période précédente.

Figure 4 : Niveau de divulgation

Figure 4 : Niveau de divulgation

Version texte

La figure 4 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant les demandes ayant fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète et partielle en tant que proportion du nombre total de demandes complétées par TC pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Divulgation 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Divulgation complète 10,99 % 11,98 % 10,45 %
Divulgation partielle 27,13 % 42,14 % 56,56 %
 

Exceptions

Le nombre moyen d’exceptions par demande complétée a augmenté de 1,61 en 2013-2014 à 2,11 en 2014-2015 (voir tableau 2). Les exceptions les plus fréquemment invoquées en 2014-2015 étaient l’article 21 (opérations du gouvernement) (26,8%), l’article 20 (les renseignements de tiers) (24,2 %) et l’article 19 (des renseignements personnels) (20,4 %). Le recours à ces trois dispositions a presque doublé par rapport à la période précédente.

Tableau 2 : Exceptions

Exceptions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Nombre total d’exceptions 1 384 2 895 2 464
Nombre total de demandes complétées 1 419 1 794 1 167
Nombre moyen d’exceptions par demande complétée 0,98 1,61 2,11

Plaintes au Commissariat à l’information

En 2014-2015, le Commissariat a reçu 87 plaintesNote de bas de page 4 concernant TC, soit une légère augmentation par rapport aux 83 plaintes reçues pour la période précédente. La majeure partie des plaintes étaient attribuables à des refus. La différence entre les plaintes de nature administrative et les plaintes pour refus démontre une augmentation marquée par rapport à l’année précédente (38 plaintes de nature administrative et 45 plaintes pour refus en 2013-2014 par rapport à 16 plaintes de nature administrative et 71 plaintes pour refus en 2014-2015).

Au cours de cette période de référence, 3 plaintes n’étaient pas fondées, 16 étaient fondées et ont été réglées, 38 plaintes ont été abandonnées et 29 étaient encore en suspens.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Le rendement global repose sur deux principaux indicateurs: % de demandes complété en 30 jours ou moins, % de demandes qui ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Le taux d’achèvement a été calculé en utilisant le nombre de demandes reçues durant cette période et le nombre de demandes transférées de la période précédente.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Le système de cotation de la fiche de rendement du Commissariat pour 2007-2008 a été employé pour accorder les différentes notes : A= 0 à 5 %; B= 5 à 10 %; C=10 à 15 %, D= 15 à 20 %, F=20 % et plus.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Note de bas de page 4

Les chiffres rapportés dans cette section sont basés sur les statistiques du Commissariat. Des différences peuvent être notées avec l’information rapportée par les institutions, puisque la méthodologie employée diffère.

Return to footnote 4 referrer