Royal Canadian Mounted Police

Overall performanceFootnote 1

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP) showed improvement in 2014-2015. Despite a substantial increase of 93.2% in the number of requests received in the previous year, the RCMP increased the proportion of requests completed within 30 days by 30.7%. This report provides comparative statistics for the last three periods (2012-2015).

Workload

The RCMP received 3,343 requests under the Access to Information Act (the Act), representing 4.9% of total requests received across government in 2014-2015. In general, we observe a substantial increase in the number of requests since 2012 (see Table 1). The majority of requests received by the RCMP were from the public (70.4%), followed by the media (14.4%). The request inventory in these two categories increased by 92.6% and 51.1% respectively from 2013-2014.

The RCMP completed 3,356 requests this reporting period. The completion rateFootnote 2 was 84.6%, which is approximately the same as the government-wide rate of 85.1%. In 2013-2014, the disclosure rate was 73.2%. The RCMP also received 197 informal requests in 2014-2015 and 95.4% were completed within 30 days. The number of consultations received by the RCMP from other federal government institutions decreased from 538 in 2013-2014 to 459 in 2014-2015, representing a decrease of 14.7%.

The total number of pages processed by the RCMP this reporting period was 646,785, which is higher than the 505,610 pages processed in 2013-2014. However, the average number of pages processed per completed request decreased from 360 in 2013-2014 to 229 in 2014-2015.

The information released by the RCMP was mostly in electronic format: 1,395 requests in electronic format compared to 531 in paper format. We observed that the share of requests disclosed in an electronic format increased significantly compared to the previous year (615 in paper and only 354 in electronic format).

Table 1. Workload

Measures 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Number of requests received 1,218 1,730 3,343
Annual change (%) - 42.0% 93.2%
Completed requests 981 1,706 3,356
Annual change (%) - 73.9% 96.7%
Number of consultations received (from other government institutions) 652 538 459
Annual change (%) - -17.5% -14.7%
Average number of pages processed per request completed 1,522 360 229
% of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed 5.7% 4.1% 5.4%

Request completion time

Timeliness

Figure 1 reveals that 60.0% of requests were completed within 30 days or less. This is significantly higher than the results observed in 2013-2014 (29.3%).

Figure 1: Request Completion Time

Figure 1: Request Completion Time

Text version

Figure 1 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the completion time by RCMP during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Completion time 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 days or less 35.47% 29.31% 59.95%
31-60 days 19.67% 13.19% 14.15%
61-120 days 20.49% 12.84% 10.55%
121-180 days 9.28% 11.09% 3.16%
181-365 days 11.72% 25.44% 7.30%
More than 365 days 3.36% 8.16% 4.89%
 

Extensions

The RCMP took a total of 523 extensions in 2014-2015 compared to 123 in 2013-2014. The most common reason for taking an extension was interference with operations (85.4%) followed by consultations (11.4%), and lastly, third-party notice (3.1%).

Figure 2 shows that 32.3% of extensions were taken for less than 30 days, which represents an 8.7% increase from to the previous reporting period.

Figure 2: Length of Extensions

Figure 2: Length of Extensions

Text version

Figure 2 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the length of extensions taken by RCMP during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Length of extensions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 days or less 36.47% 23.58% 32.31%
31-60 days 14.12% 31.71% 34.42%
61-120 days 30.59% 23.58% 15.49%
121-180 days 12.94% 17.89% 14.53%
181-365 days 3.53% 3.25% 2.87%
More than 365 days 2.35% 0.0% 0.38%
 

Deemed refusals

In 2014-2015, the number of requests closed past the statutory deadline was 950, which accounts for 28.3% of completed requests. This rate represents an “F” grade.Footnote 3 The main reason for deemed refusal was workload (78.2%) and internal consultations (13.4%). Figure 3 shows that 30.5% of overdue requests were late by 30 days or less compared to 21.0% in 2013-2014.

Figure 3: Lateness of Overdue Requests

Figure 3: Lateness of Overdue Requests

Text version

Figure 3 is a pie chart, representing the delayed days for overdue requests taken by the RCMP in 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Number of days 2014-2015
1 to 15 days 19.58%
16 to 30 days 10.95%
31 to 60 days 14.53%
61 to 120 days 12.63%
121 to 180 days 7.26%
181 to 365 days 22.00%
More than 365 days 13.05%
Total 100.0%
 

Disclosure

Percentage of requests for which information was disclosed

In 2014-2015, 9.0% of completed requests were entirely disclosed, accounting for the RCMP’s lowest disclosure rate since 2012 (see Figure 4). Figure 4 also shows that the rate for partially disclosed requests was 48.7% in 2014-2015, representing an increase of 3.9% from the previous period.

Figure 4: Level of Disclosure

Figure 4: Level of Disclosure

Text version

Figure 4 is a bar-chart with vertical bars, representing the entirely disclosed and disclosed in part requests as proportion of total requests completed by RCMP during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Disclosure 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
All disclosed 13.35% 12.02% 9.03%
Disclosed in part 39.76% 44.78% 48.69%
 

Exemptions

The total number of exemptions applied in 2014-2015 was 4,956. This is a significant increase from the 2,255 used in the previous period. On average, the number of exemptions used per completed request increased to 1.48 in 2014-2015 compared to 1.32 in 2013-2014 (see Table 2). The most used exemptions in 2014-2015 were section 16 (Law Enforcement and Investigations) (45.2%) and section 19 (Personal Information) (29.3%). This is similar to the previous period (39.2% and 32.5% respectively).

Table 2: Exemptions

Exemptions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Total number of exemptions 1,329 2,255 4,956
Total number of completed requests 981 1,706 3,356
Average number of exemptions per completed request 1.35 1.32 1.48

Complaints at the OIC

The number of complaints receivedFootnote 4 against the RCMP decreased from 185 in 2013-2014 to 178 in 2014-2015. The proportion of refusal to administrative complaints increased substantially, with refusals accounting for 81.4% of complaints, while in 2013-2014 refusal complaints accounted for 44.5%. The number of well-founded complaints decreased this period from 90 to 42. Similarly, we observed a reduction of not well-founded complaints from 35 in 2013-2014 to 20 in 2014-2015. Approximately 25.0% of all complaints were discontinued and 31.4% were still pending.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Overall performance is based on two primary indicators: % of requests completed within 30 days, % of requests that were fully disclosed.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The completion rate was calculated using the number of received requests during the reporting period as well as outstanding requests from the previous period.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The 2007-2008 OIC report card grading system was used to estimate the grade A= 0 to 5%; B= 5 to 10%; C=10 to 15%, D= 15 to 20%, F=20% and more.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The numbers reported in this section are based on the OIC’s statistics. The information may not reflect the statistics reported by institutions due to the discrepancies in the methodology used.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Gendarmerie royale du Canada

Rendement globalNote de bas de page 1

La Gendarmerie royale du Canada (GRC) a amélioré son rendement en 2014-2015. Malgré une augmentation importante de 93,2 % du nombre de demandes reçues par rapport à l’année dernière, la GRC a réussi à accroître la proportion de demandes complétées en 30 jours ou moins de 30,7 %. Le présent rapport contient des statistiques comparatives pour les trois dernières périodes (2012 à 2015).

Charge de travail

La GRC a reçu 3 343 demandes en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l‘information (la Loi), représentant 4,9 % du nombre total de demandes reçues à l’échelle du gouvernement en 2014-2015. En général, on observe une augmentation considérable du nombre de demandes depuis 2012 (voir tableau 1). La majorité des demandes reçues par la GRC venaient du public (70,4 %), suivies des médias (14,4 %). L’inventaire des demandes dans ces deux catégories a augmenté de 92,6 % et de 51,1 %, respectivement, par rapport à 2013-2014.

La GRC a complété 3 356 demandes pour cette période de référence. Le taux d’achèvementNote de bas de page 2 était de 84,6 %, soit à peu près le même que celui établi pour l’ensemble du gouvernement qui lui, était de 85,1 %. En 2013-2014, le taux de divulgation était de 73,2 %. La GRC a aussi reçu 197 demandes informelles en 2014-2015, dont 95,4 % qui ont été complétées en 30 jours ou moins. Le nombre de demandes de consultation reçues par la GRC en provenance d’autres institutions fédérales a diminué de 538 en 2013-2014 à 459 en 2014-2015, soit une diminution de 14,7 %.

Le nombre total de pages traitées par la GRC pour la période de référence visée était de 646 785 ce qui est plus élevé que les 505 610 pages traitées en 2013-2014. Cependant, le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée a diminué de 360 en 2013-2014 à 229 en 2014-2015.

L’information diffusée par la GRC était majoritairement en format électronique : 1 395 demandes en format électronique et 531 demandes en format papier. On a observé que le nombre des demandes divulguées en format électronique a considérablement augmenté par rapport à l’année précédente (615 en format papier et seulement 354 en format électronique).

Tableau 1 : Charge de travail

Mesures 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Nombre de demandes reçues 1 218 1 730 3 343
Variation annuelle en % - 42,0 % 93,2 %
Demandes complétées 981 1 706 3 356
Variation annuelle en % - 73,9 % 96,7 %
Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues (d’autres institutions fédérales) 652 538 459
Variation annuelle en % - -17,5 % -14,7 %
Nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée 1 522 360 229
% des demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées 5,7 % 4,1 % 5,4 %

Délai de traitement des demandes

Rapidité

La figure 1 révèle que 60,0 % des demandes ont été complétées en 30 jours ou moins, soit une augmentation importante par rapport aux résultats rapportés en 2013-2014 (29,3 %).

Figure 1 : Délai de traitement des demandes

Figure 1 : Délai de traitement des demandes

Version texte

La figure 1 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant les délais de traitement de la GRC pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Délai de traitement 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 jours ou moins 35,47 % 29,31 % 59,95 %
31 à 60 jours 19,67 % 13,19 % 14,15 %
61 à 120 jours 20,49 % 12,84 % 10,55 %
121 à 180 jours 9,28 % 11,09 % 3,16 %
181 à 365 jours 11,72 % 25,44 % 7,30 %
Plus de 365 jours 3,36 % 8,16 % 4,89 %
 

Prorogations

La GRC a eu recours à 523 prorogations en 2014-2015 par rapport à 123 en 2013-2014. L’entrave au fonctionnement de l’institution (85,4 %) était la raison la plus fréquemment invoquée pour demander une prorogation, suivie des demandes de consultation (11,4 %) et finalement, les avis à des tiers (3,1 %).

La figure 2 montre que 32,3 % des prorogations étaient de 30 jours ou moins, ce qui représente une augmentation de 8,7 % par rapport à la période de référence précédente.

Figure 2 : Durée des prorogations

Figure 2 : Durée des prorogations

Version texte

La figure 2 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant la durée des prorogations auxquelles a eu recours la GRC pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Durée des prorogations 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 jours ou moins 36,47 % 23,58 % 32,31 %
31 à 60 jours 14,12 % 31,71 % 34,42 %
61 à 120 jours 30,59 % 23,58 % 15,49 %
121 à 180 jours 12,94 % 17,89 % 14,53 %
181 à 365 jours 3,53 % 3,25 % 2,87 %
Plus de 365 jours 2,35 % 0,0 % 0,38 %
 

Présomptions de refus

En 2014-2015, 950 demandes ont été fermées après l’échéancier réglementaire, ce qui représente 28,3 % des demandes complétées. Ce résultat représente une note de « F »Note de bas de page 3 pour la GRC. La charge de travail (78,2 %) et les consultations internes (13,4 %) sont les deux principales raisons invoquées. La figure 3 montre que 30,5 % des demandes échues étaient en retard de 30 jours ou moins, par rapport à 21 % en 2013-2014.

Figure 3 : Retard des demandes échues

Figure 3 : Retard des demandes échues

Version texte

La figure 3 est un diagramme circulaire représentant les jours de retard des demandes échues à la GRC pour la période de référence 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Nombre de jours 2014-2015
1 à 15 jours 19,58 %
16 à 30 jours 10,95 %
31 à 60 jours 14,53 %
61 à 120 jours 12,63 %
121 à 180 jours 7,26 %
181 à 365 jours 22,00 %
Plus de 365 jours 13,05 %
Total des demandes 100,0 %
 

Divulgation

Pourcentage de demandes pour lesquelles l’information a été divulguée

En 2014-2015, 9,0 % des demandes complétées ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète, ce qui représente le taux de divulgation le plus faible pour la GRC depuis 2012 (voir figure 4). La figure 4 montre également que le taux des demandes faisant l’objet d’une divulgation partielle était de 48,7 % en 2014-2015, ce qui représente une augmentation de 3,9 % par rapport à la période précédente.

Figure 4 : Niveau de divulgation

Figure 4 : Niveau de divulgation

Version texte

La figure 4 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant les demandes ayant fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète et partielle en tant que proportion du nombre total de demandes complétées par la GRC pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Divulgation 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Divulgation complète 13,35 % 12,02 % 9,03 %
Divulgation partielle 39,76 % 44,78 % 48,69 %
 

Exceptions

Le nombre total d’exceptions invoquées en 2014-2015 était de 4 956. Il s’agit d’une augmentation importante par rapport aux 2 255 exceptions invoquées lors de la période précédente. En moyenne, le nombre d’exceptions par demande complétée a augmenté de 1,48 en 2014-2015 par rapport à  1,32 en 2013-2014 (voir tableau 2). Les exceptions les plus fréquemment invoquées en 2014-2015 étaient l’article 16 (l’application de la loi et les enquêtes) (45,2 %) et l’article 19 (les renseignements personnels) (29,3 %). Ces résultats sont similaires à ceux observés lors de la dernière période (39,2 % et 32,5 % respectivement).

Tableau 2 : Exceptions

Exceptions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Nombre total d’exceptions 1 329 2 255 4 956
Nombre total de demandes complétées 981 1 706 3 356
Nombre moyen d’exceptions par demande complétée 1,35 1,32 1,48

Plaintes au Commissariat à l’information

Le nombre de plaintes reçuesNote de bas de page 4 concernant la GRC a diminué de 185 en 2013-2014 à 178 en 2014-2015. La proportion de plaintes pour refus par rapport aux plaintes de nature administrative a augmenté de façon marquée, puisque 81,4 % des plaintes étaient attribuables à un refus tandis qu’en 2013-2014, les plaintes pour refus ne représentaient que 44,5 %. Le nombre de plaintes fondées a diminué au cours de cette période, passant de 90 à 42. Également, on a observé une diminution du nombre de plaintes non fondées, passant de 35 en 2013-2014 à 20 en 2014-2015. Environ 25 % de toutes les plaintes ont été abandonnées et 31,4 % étaient encore en suspens.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Le rendement global repose sur deux principaux indicateurs: % de demandes complétées en 30 jours ou moins et % de demandes qui ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Le taux d’achèvement a été calculé en utilisant le nombre de demandes reçues durant cette période et le nombre de demandes transférées de la période précédente.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Le système de cotation de la fiche de rendement du Commissariat pour 2007-2008 a été employé pour accorder les différentes notes : A= 0 à 5 %; B= 5 à 10 %; C=10 à 15 %, D= 15 à 20 %, F=20 % et plus.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Note de bas de page 4

Les chiffres rapportés dans cette section sont basés sur les statistiques du Commissariat. Des différences peuvent être notées avec l’information rapportée par les institutions, puisque la méthodologie employée diffère.

Return to footnote 4 referrer