Privy Council Office

Overall performanceFootnote 1

The Privy Council Office (PCO) observed a 28.8% decrease in the number of requests received in 2014-2015. The percentage of requests completed within 30 days decreased by 11.4%. This report provides comparative statistics for the last three periods (2012-2015).

Workload

PCO received 646 requests under the Access to Information Act (the Act), representing slightly less than 1.0% of total requests received across government in 2014-2015. In 2013-2014, PCO received 907 requests which represents a decrease of 28.8% in the number of requests received compared to this reporting period. The majority of requests received in 2014-2015 were from the media (71.2%), followed by the public (17.3%).

PCO completed 677 requests in 2014-2015, which corresponds to a completion rateFootnote 2 of 73.0%, the same as in the previous period. However, PCO’s completion rate is below the government-wide rate of 85.1% for 2014-2015. PCO also received 427 informal requests in 2014-2015 and 33.3% of these were completed within 30 days. The number of consultations received by PCO from other federal government institutions decreased from 431 to 381, representing a decrease of 12.1% compared to 2013-2014.

In 2014-2015, 76,372 pages were processed compared to 58,409 in 2013-2014. The average number of pages processed per completed request also increased from 101 in 2013-2014 to 141 this reporting period.

The information released by PCO was mostly in paper format: 420 in paper format and 1 in electronic format.

Table 1. Workload

Measures 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Number of requests received 780 907 646
Annual change (%) - 16.3% -28.8%
Completed requests 725 772 677
Annual change - 6.5% -12.3%
Number of consultations received (from other government institutions) 511 422 371
Annual change (%) - -17.4% -12.1%
Average number of pages processed per request completed 78 101 141
% of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed 1.1% 1.6% 2.0%

Request completion time

Timeliness

Figure 1 reveals that 39.1% of requests were completed within 30 days or less, which is a decrease of 11.4% compared to 2013-2014. There was also a percentage increase for requests completed in all other categories.

Figure 1: Request Completion Time

Figure 1: Request Completion Time

Text version

Figure 1 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the completion time by PCO during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Completion time 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 days or less 58.07% 50.52% 39.14%
31-60 days 11.45% 10.88% 11.52%
61-120 days 19.86% 23.88% 29.25%
121-180 days 6.90% 6.99% 10.78%
181-365 days 2.48% 6.35% 6.50%
More than 365 days 1.24% 1.42% 2.81%
 

Extensions

PCO took a total of 459 extensions in 2014-2015 compared to 432 in 2013-2014. The most common reason for taking an extension was interference with operations (66.9%), followed by consultations (26.4%).

Figure 2 shows that 18.3% of extensions were taken for less than 30 days, which is a slight increase of 3.7% compared to the previous period. The figure also reveals that the number of extensions taken between 31 and 60 days decreased by 11.2% from 2013-2014. Further, 52.7% of extensions were taken between 61 and 120 days, representing a 13.1% increase compared to the previous period.

Figure 2: Length of Extensions

Figure 2: Length of Extensions

Text version

Figure 2 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the length of extensions taken by PCO during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Length of extensions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
 30 days or less 24.46% 14.58% 18.30%
31-60 days 25.99% 31.25% 20.04%
61-120 days 40.67% 39.58% 52.72%
121-180 days 5.81% 11.57% 4.14%
181-365 days 0.92% 2.55% 1.96%
More than 365 days 2.14% 0.46% 2.83%
 

Deemed refusals

In 2014-2015, the number of requests closed past the statutory deadline was 32, which accounts for 4.7% of completed requests. This rate represents an “A” grade.Footnotee 3 However, the number of overdue requests doubled compared to the previous period. The most common reason for overdue requests in 2014-2015 was internal consultations (46.9%) and workload (43.8%).

Figure 3 shows that 25.0% of overdue requests were late for 30 days or less corresponding to 8 requests (the same as in the last period). However, most of the overdue requests in 2014-2015 were late between 61 and 120 days (12 requests).

Figure 3: Lateness of Overdue Requests

Figure 3: Lateness of Overdue Requests

Text version

Figure 3 is a pie chart, representing the delayed days for overdue requests taken by PCO during in 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Number of days 2014-2015
1 to 15 days 25.00%
16 to 30 days 0.00%
31 to 60 days 6.25%
61 to 120 days 37.50%
121 to 180 days 6.25%
181 to 365 days 12.50%
More than 365 days 12.50%
Total 100.0%
 

Disclosure

Percentage of requests for which information was disclosed

In 2014-2015, 4.6% of completed requests were entirely disclosed which is almost twice the amount as the previous period (see Figure 4). Figure 4 also shows that the rate for partially disclosed requests in 2014-2015 was 58.5%, which represents an increase of 5.1% from 2013-2014.

Figure 4: Level of Disclosure

Figure 4: Level of Disclosure

Text version

Figure 4 is a bar-chart with vertical bars, representing the entirely disclosed and disclosed in part requests as proportion of total requests completed by PCO during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Disclosure 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
All disclosed 4.83% 2.07% 4.58%
Disclosed in part 42.34% 53.37% 58.49%
 

Exemptions

In total, PCO applied 1,502 exemptions in 2014-2015 compared to 1,226 the previous year. The number of exemptions used per completed request increased from the previous period, increasing from 1.59 in 2013-2014 to 2.22 in 2014-2015 (see Table 2).

The most common exemptions in 2014-2015 were section 21 (Operations of Government) (35.9%) and section 19 (Personal Information) (22.8%), followed by section 15 (International Affairs and Defence) (9.7%).

Table 2: Exemptions

Exemptions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Total number of exemptions 835 1,226 1,502
Total number of completed requests 725 772 677
Average number of exemptions per completed request 1.15 1.59 2.22

Complaints at the OIC

The number of complaints received against PCO was 35Footnote 4 which is similar to the previous period where they received 33. The proportion of administrative complaints was 35.1% in this reporting period, which is a slight increase compared to the previous period of 31.2%.

Around 31% of complaints were well-founded and resolved which is slightly lower than the 39.5% observed in 2013-2014. In addition, 29.6% of complaints were discontinued and 37% were pending.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Overall performance is based on two primary indicators: % of requests completed within 30 days and % of requests that were fully disclosed.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The completion rate was calculated using the number of received requests during the reporting period as well as outstanding requests from the previous period.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The 2007-2008 OIC report card grading system was used to estimate the grade A= 0 to 5%; B= 5 to 10%; C=10 to 15%, D= 15 to 20%, F=20% and more.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The numbers reported in this section are based on the OIC’s statistics. The information may not reflect the statistics reported by institutions due to the discrepancies in the methodology used.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Bureau du Conseil privé

Rendement globalNote de bas de page 1

Le Bureau du Conseil privé (BCP) a observé une diminution de 28,8 % dans le nombre de demandes reçues en 2014-2015. Le pourcentage de demandes complétées en 30 jours ou moins a diminué de 11,4 %. Le présent rapport contient des statistiques comparatives pour les trois dernières périodes (2012 à 2015).

Charge de travail

Le BCP a reçu 646 demandes en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l‘information (la Loi), représentant un peu moins de 1,0 % du nombre total de demandes reçues à l’échelle du gouvernement en 2014-2015. En 2013-2014, le BCP a reçu 907 demandes, ce qui représente une diminution de 28,8 % par rapport à cette année. La majorité des demandes reçues en 2014-2015 provenaient des médias (71,2 %), suivies de celles du public (17,3 %).

Le BCP a complété 677 demandes en 2014-2015, ce qui correspond à un taux d’achèvementNote de bas de page 2 de 73,0 %, soit le même que pour la période précédente. Toutefois, le taux d’achèvement du BCP était inférieur à celui rapporté pour l’ensemble du gouvernement qui lui, était de 85,1 %. Le BCP a aussi reçu 427 demandes informelles en 2014-2015, dont 33,3 % qui ont été complétées en 30 jours ou moins. Le nombre de demandes de consultation reçues par BCP en provenance d’autres institutions fédérales a diminué de 422 à 371 représentant une baisse de 12,1 % par rapport à 2013-2014.

En 2014-2015, 76 372 pages ont été traitées par rapport à 58 409 pages en 2013-2014. Le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée a également augmenté passant de 101 à 141 au cours de la période de référence actuelle.

L’information diffusée par le BCP était majoritairement en format papier : 420 demandes en format papier et 1 demande en format électronique.

Tableau 1 : Charge de travail

Mesures 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Nombre de demandes reçues 780 907 646
Variation annuelle en % - 16,3 % -28,8 %
Demandes complétées 725 772 677
Variation annuelle en % - 6,5 % -12,3 %
Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues (d’autres institutions fédérales) 511 422 371
Variation annuelle en % - -17,4 % -12,1 %
Nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée 78 101 141
% des demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées 1,1 % 1,6 % 2,0 %

Délai de traitement des demandes

Rapidité

La figure 1 révèle que 39,1 % des demandes ont été complétées en 30 jours ou moins, soit une diminution du 11,4 % par rapport à 2013-2014. Nous notons également une hausse des pourcentages de demandes complétées dans tous les autres catégories.

Figure 1 : Délai de traitement des demandes

Figure 1 : Délai de traitement des demandes

Version texte

La figure 1 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant les délais de traitement du BCP pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Délai de traitement 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 jours ou moins 58,07 % 50,52 % 39,14 %
31 à 60 jours 11,45 % 10,88 % 11,52 %
61 à 120 jours 19,86 % 23,88 % 29,25 %
121 à 180 jours 6,90 % 6,99 % 10,78 %
181 à 365 jours 2,48 % 6,35 % 6,50 %
Plus de 365 jours 1,24 % 1,42 % 2,81 %
 

Prorogations

Le BCP a eu recours à 459 prorogations en 2014-2015 par rapport à 432 en 2013-2014. L’entrave au fonctionnement de l’institution (66,9 %) était la raison la plus fréquemment invoquée pour demander une prorogation, suivie des demandes de consultation (26,4 %).

La figure 2 montre que 18,3 % des prorogations étaient de 30 jours ou moins, ce qui représente une légère augmentation de 3,7 % par rapport à la période précédente. La figure 2 montre également que le nombre de prorogations de 31 à 60 jours a diminué de 11,2 % par rapport à 2013-2014. De plus, 52,7 % des prorogations étaient de 61 à 120 jours, représentant une augmentation de 13,1 % par rapport à la période précédente.

Figure 2 : Durée des prorogations

Figure 2 : Durée des prorogations

Version texte

La figure 2 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant la durée des prorogations auxquelles a eu recours le BCP pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Durée des prorogations 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 jours ou moins 24,46 % 14,58 % 18,30 %
31 à 60 jours 25,99 % 31,25 % 20,04 %
61 à 120 jours 40,67 % 39,58 % 52,72 %
121 à 180 jours 5,81 % 11,57 % 4,14 %
181 à 365 jours 0,92 % 2,55 % 1,96 %
Plus de 365 jours 2,14 % 0,46 % 2,83 %
 

Présomptions de refus

En 2014-2015, 32 demandes ont été fermées après l’échéancier réglementaire, ce qui représente 4,7 % des demandes complétées. Ce résultat procure au BCP la note de « A »Note de bas de page 3. Le nombre de demandes échues a toutefois doublé par rapport à la période précédente. Les consultations internes (46,9 %) étaient la raison la plus fréquemment invoquée pour expliquer ces retards en 2014-2015, suivies de la charge de travail (43,8 %).

La figure 3 montre que 25,0 % des demandes échues étaient en retard de 30 jours ou moins, ce qui correspond à 8 demandes (le même nombre que lors de la période précédente). Cependant, la plupart des demandes échues étaient en retard de 61 à 120 jours (12 demandes).

Figure 3 : Retard des demandes échues

Figure 3 : Retard des demandes échues

Version texte

La figure 3 est un diagramme circulaire représentant les jours de retard des demandes échues au BCP pour la période de référence 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Nombre de jours 2014-2015
1 à 15 jours 25,00 %
16 à 30 jours 0,00 %
31 à 60 jours 6,25 %
61 à 120 jours 37,50 %
121 à 180 jours 6,25 %
181 à 365 jours 12,50 %
Plus de 365 jours 12,50 %
Total des demandes 100,0 %
 

Divulgation

Pourcentage de demandes pour lesquelles l’information a été divulguée

En 2014-2015, 4,6 % de toutes les demandes complétées ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète, soit près de deux fois plus que lors de la période précédente (voir figure 4). La figure 4 montre également que le taux de demandes faisant l’objet d’une divulgation partielle était de 58,5 % en 2014-2015, ce qui représente une augmentation de 5,1 % par rapport à 2013-2014.

Figure 4 : Niveau de divulgation

Figure 4 : Niveau de divulgation

Version texte

La figure 4 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant les demandes ayant fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète et partielle en tant que proportion du nombre total de demandes complétées par le BCP pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Divulgation 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Divulgation complète 4,83 % 2,07 % 4,58 %
Divulgation partielle 42,34 % 53,37 % 58,49 %
 

Exceptions

Le BCP a appliqué 1 502 exceptions en 2014-2015 par rapport à 1 226 l’année précédente. Le nombre d’exceptions par demande complétée a augmenté par rapport à la période précédente passant de 1,59 en 2013-2014 à 2,2 en 2014-2015 (voir tableau 2).

Les exceptions les plus fréquemment invoquées en 2014-2015 étaient l’article 21 (les activités du gouvernement) (35,9 %), l’article 19 (les renseignements personnels) (22,8 %) et l’article 15 (les affaires internationales et la défense) (9,7 %).

Tableau 2 : Exceptions

Exceptions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Nombre total d’exceptions 835 1 226 1 502
Nombre total de demandes complétées 725 772 677
Nombre moyen d’exceptions par demande complétée 1,15 1,59 2,22

Plaintes au Commissariat à l’information

Le nombre de plaintes reçues concernant le BCP était de 35Note de bas de page 4, soit un résultat similaire aux 33 reçues en 2013-2014. La part des plaintes de nature administrative était de 35,1 % au cours de la période de référence actuelle, soit une légère augmentation comparé au 31,2 % de la période précédente.

Environ 31 % des plaintes étaient fondées et ont été réglées, soit moins que ce qui a été observé en 2013-2014 (39,5 %). De plus, 29,6 % des plaintes ont été abandonnées et 37 % étaient encore en suspens.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Le rendement global repose sur deux principaux indicateurs : % de demandes complétées en 30 jours ou moins et % de demandes qui ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Le taux d’achèvement a été calculé en utilisant le nombre de demandes reçues durant cette période et le nombre de demandes transférées de la période précédente.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Le système de cotation de la fiche de rendement du Commissariat pour 2007-2008 a été employé pour accorder les différentes notes : A= 0 à 5 %; B= 5 à 10 %; C=10 à 15 %, D= 15 à 20 %, F=20 % et plus.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Note de bas de page 4

Les chiffres rapportés dans cette section sont basés sur les statistiques du Commissariat. Des différences peuvent être notées avec l’information rapportée par les institutions, puisque la méthodologie employée diffère.

Return to footnote 4 referrer