Innovation, Science and Economic Development CanadaFootnote 1

Overall performanceFootnote 2

Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) had fewer requests in 2014-2015 and also improved the percentage of requests completed within 30 days by 7.4% compared to 2013-2014. ISED also improved the percentage of requests fully disclosed by 32.3%. This report provides comparative statistics for the last three periods (2012-2015).

Workload

ISED received 749 requests under the Access to Information Act (the Act), representing 1.1% of total requests received government-wide in 2014-2015. This represents a decreased of 12.6% compared to the 857 requests received in the previous period. The majority of requests were from the media (51.3%) followed by the business sector (17.6%). The number of requests from media decreased by 28.0% compared to 2013-2014, while requests from other sectors increased.

ISED completed 705 requests this reporting period. The completion rateFootnotee 3 was 83.7%, which is slightly lower that the government-wide rate of 85.1%. In 2013-2014, the completion rate for ISED was 90.3%. ISED also received 197 informal requests, all of which were completed within 30 days. The number of consultations received by ISED from other federal government institutions decreased from 252 to 172, representing a decrease of 31.7% compared to 2013-2014.

The total number of pages processed in this reporting period was 1,354,646. The average number of pages processed per completed request decreased substantially from 9,649 in 2013-2014 to 2,265 in 2014-2015.

The information released by ISED was mostly in paper format: 289 requests in paper and 219 requests in electronic format. Compared to the previous period, there is a significant increase in the number of requests released in electronic format (264 in paper and 119 in electronic format in 2013-2014).

Table 1. Workload

Measures 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Number of requests received 741 857 749
Annual change (%) - 15.7% -12.6%
Completed requests 860 865 705
Annual change (%) - 0.6% -18.5%
Number of consultations received (from other government institutions) 770 252 172
Annual change (%) - -67.3% -31.7%
Average number of pages processed per request completed 5,050 9,649 2,265
% of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed 13.4% 4.6% 3.5%

Request completion time

Timeliness

Figure 1 reveals that 67.4% of requests were completed within 30 days or less, which is 7.4% higher than the results observed in 2013-2014. We note a small decline in all other periods.

Figure 1: Request Completion Time

Figure 1: Request Completion Time

Text version

Figure 1 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the completion time by ISED during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Completion time 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 days or less 64.91% 60.00% 67.38%
31-60 days 8.14% 10.98% 9.50%
61-120 days 9.88% 14.45% 10.78%
121-180 days 6.05% 9.83% 7.94%
181-365 days 2.56% 2.20% 2.13%
More than 365 days 9.19% 2.54% 2.27%
 

Extensions

ISED took a total of 313 extensions in 2014-2015 compared to 466 in 2013-2014. The most common reason for taking an extension was consultations (61.7%), followed by third-party notice (20.4%).

Figure 2 shows that 19.5% of extensions were taken for less than 30 days, which represents a decrease of 17.4% from 2013-2014. Figure 2 also indicates that the number of extensions taken between 31 and 60 days increased by 15.1% compared to the previous period and that the number of extensions taken between 121 and 180 days decreased by 3.5%.

Figure 2: Length of Extensions

Figure 2: Length of Extensions

Text version

Figure 2 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the length of extensions taken by ISED during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Length of extensions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 days or less 13.27% 36.91% 19.49%
31-60 days 29.59% 25.75% 40.89%
61-120 days 36.73% 29.83% 34.82%
121-180 days 15.31% 7.30% 3.83%
181-365 days 4.08% 0.21% 0.96%
More than 365 days 1.02% 0.00% 0.00%
 

Deemed refusals

In 2014-2015, the number of requests closed past the statutory deadline was 37, which accounts for 5.2% of completed requests. This rate represents a “B” grade.Footnote 4 The main reason for not meeting the statutory deadline was workload (81.1%), followed by other reasons (16.2%).

Figure 3 shows that 24.3% were late by 30 days or less and that 40.5% of overdue requests were late by more than 180 days. We note that 24.3% of overdue requests were late more than 365 days, despite the fact that no extensions were taken for more than that length of time.

Figure 3: Lateness of Overdue Requests

Figure 3: Lateness of Overdue Requests

Text version

Figure 3 is a pie chart, representing the delayed days for overdue requests taken by ISED in 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Number of days 2014-2015
1 to 15 days 13.51%
16 to 30 days 11.00%
31 to 60 days 13.51%
61 to 120 days 16.22%
121 to 180 days 5.41%
181 to 365 days 16.22%
More than 365 days 24.32%
Total 100.0%
 

Disclosure

Percentage of requests for which information was disclosed

In 2014-2015, 39.6% of completed requests were entirely disclosed which is significantly higher compared to 7.3% in 2013-2014. The proportion of partially disclosed requests decreased by 4.8% compared to 2013-2014 (37.0% in 2013-2014 and 32.2% in 2014-2015).

Figure 4: Level of Disclosure

Figure 4: Level of Disclosure

Text version

Figure 4 is a bar-chart with vertical bars, representing the entirely disclosed and disclosed in part requests as proportion of total requests completed by ISED during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Disclosure 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
All disclosed 10.35% 7.28% 39.57%
Disclosed in part 36.05% 36.99% 32.20%
 

Exemptions

ISED applied 769 exemptions in 2014-2015 compared to 1,011 the previous year. We observed a decrease in the average number of exemptions used per completed request compared to the previous period (1.17 in 2013-2014 to 1.09 in 2014-2015) (see Table 2).

The most common exemptions used in 2014-2015 were section 21 (Operations of Government) (41.9%), followed by section 20 (Third-Party Information) (19.5%) and section 19 (Personal Information) (14.6%). We observed that exemptions applied according to the aforementioned provisions decreased from the previous period.

Table 2: Exemptions

Exemptions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Total number of exemptions 1,367 1,011 769
Total number of completed requests 860 865 705
Average number of exemptions per completed request 1.59 1.17 1.09

Complaints at the OIC

The OIC received 11 complaintsFootnote 5 against ISED in 2014-2015, which is a substantial decrease compared to the 42 complaints received in the previous reporting period. Similar to the last period, most of the complaints were refusals.

In this reporting period, the OIC received 8 refusal and 3 administrative complaints, compared to 36 refusal and 6 administrative complaints in 2013-2014. Out of those 11 complaints, 2 were well-founded, 2 were not well-founded, 6 were discontinued and 1 was pending resolution.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Industry Canada was changed to Innovation, Science and Economic Development.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

Overall performance is based on two primary indicators: % of requests completed within 30 days, % of requests that were fully disclosed.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The completion rate was calculated using the number of received requests during the reporting period as well as outstanding requests from the previous period.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The 2007-2008 OIC report card grading system was used to estimate the grade A= 0 to 5%; B= 5 to 10%; C=10 to 15%, D= 15 to 20%, F=20% and more.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

The numbers reported in this section are based on the OIC’s statistics. The information may not reflect the statistics reported by institutions due to the discrepancies in the methodology used.

Return to footnote 5 referrer

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique CanadaNote de bas de page 1

Rendement globalNote de bas de page 2

Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE) a reçu moins de demandes en 2014‑2015 que lors de la période précédente et a amélioré considérablement son nombre de demandes complétées en 30 jours ou moins de 7,4 % comparativement à 2013-2014. ISDE a aussi amélioré son taux de divulgation complète par 32,3 %. Le présent rapport contient des statistiques comparatives pour les trois dernières périodes (2012 à 2015).

Charge de travail

ISDE a reçu 749 demandes en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l‘information (la Loi), représentant 1,1 % du nombre total de demandes reçues à l’échelle du gouvernement en 2014-2015. Cela représente une diminué de 12,6 % par rapport aux 857 demandes reçues précédemment. La plupart des demandes provenaient des médias (51,3 %), suivies du secteur privé (17,6 %). Le nombre de demandes des médias a chuté de 28,0 % par rapport à 2013-2014, alors que les demandes venant d’autres secteurs ont augmenté.

ISDE a complété 705 demandes pour cette période de référence. Le taux d’achèvementNote de bas de page 3 était de 83,7 %, soit légèrement inférieur à celui rapporté pour l’ensemble du gouvernement qui lui, était de 85,1 %. En 2013‑2014, le taux d’achèvement pour ISDE était de 90,3 %. ISDE a aussi reçu 197 demandes informelles, qui ont toutes été complétées en 30 jours ou moins. Le nombre de demandes de consultation reçues par ISDE en provenance d’autres institutions fédérales a diminué de 252 à 172, ce qui représente une baisse de 31,7 % par rapport à 2013-2014.

ISDE a traité 1 354 646 pages pour la période de référence actuelle. Le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande réglée a diminué considérablement, de 9 649 en 2013-2014 à 2 265 en 2014-2015.

L’information diffusée par ISDE était davantage en format papier : 289 demandes en format papier par rapport à 219 demandes en format électronique. Par rapport à la période précédente, on constate une forte augmentation du nombre de demandes traitées en format électronique (264 demandes en format papier et 119 demandes en format électronique en 2013-2014).

Tableau 1 : Charge de travail

Mesures 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Nombre de demandes reçues 741 857 749
Variation annuelle en % - 15,7 % -12,6 %
Demandes complétées 860 865 705
Variation annuelle en % - 0,6 % -18,5 %
Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues (d’autres institutions fédérales) 770 252 172
Variation annuelle en % - -67,3 % -31,7 %
Nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée 5 050 9 649 2 265
% des demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées 13,4 % 4,6 % 3,5 %

Délai de traitement des demandes

Rapidité

La figure 1 révèle que 67,4 % des demandes ont été complétées en 30 jours ou moins, un résultat 7,4 % supérieur à celui observé en 2013-2014. Nous observons une légère diminution pour les autres périodes.

Figure 1 : Délai de traitement des demandes

Figure 1 : Délai de traitement des demandes

Version texte

La figure 1 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant les délais de traitement d’ISDE pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Délai de traitement 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 jours ou moins 64,91 % 60,00 % 67,38 %
31 à 60 jours 8,14 % 10.98 % 9,50 %
61 à 120 jours 9,88 % 14,45 % 10,78 %
121 à 180 jours 6,05 % 9,83 % 7,94 %
181 à 365 jours 2,56 % 2,20 % 2,13 %
Plus de 365 jours 9,19 % 2,54 % 2,27 %
 

Prorogations

ISDE a eu recours à 313 prorogations en 2014-2015 par rapport à 466 en 2013-2014. Les demandes de consultation (61,7 %) étaient la raison la plus fréquemment invoquée pour demander une prorogation, suivies des avis à des tiers (20,4 %).

La figure 2 démontre que 19,5 % des prorogations étaient de 30 jours ou moins, un résultat inférieur de 17,4 % par rapport à 2013-2014. La figure 2 montre également que le nombre de prorogations de 31 à 60 jours a augmenté de 15,1 % par rapport à l’année précédente et que la part des prorogations de 121 à 180 jours a diminué de 3,5 %.

Figure 2 : Durée des prorogations

Figure 2 : Durée des prorogations

Version texte

La figure 2 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant la durée des prorogations auxquelles a eu recours ISDE pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Durée des prorogations 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 jours ou moins 13,27 % 36,91 % 19,49 %
31 à 60 jours 29,59 % 25,75 % 40,89 %
61 à 120 jours 36,73 % 29,83 % 34,82 %
121 à 180 jours 15,31 % 7,30 % 3,83 %
181 à 365 jours 4,08 % 0,21 % 0,96 %
Plus de 365 jours 1,02 % 0,00 % 0,00 %
 

Présomptions de refus

En 2014‑2015, 37 demandes ont été fermées après l’échéancier réglementaire, ce qui représente 5,2 % des demandes complétées. Ce résultat procure à ISDE la note de « B »Note de bas de page 4. La charge de travail (81,1 %) était la principale raison invoquée pour ne pas respecter l’échéancier réglementaire, suivie d’autres motifs (16,2 %).

La figure 3 démontre que 24,3 % des demandes échues étaient en retard de 30 jours ou moins et que 40,5 % des demandes étaient en retard de plus de 180 jours. On constate aussi que 24,3 % des demandes échues étaient en retard de plus de 365 jours, malgré le fait qu’aucune prorogation n’ait été demandée au-delà des 365 jours.

Figure 3 : Retard des demandes échues

Figure 3 : Retard des demandes échues

Version texte

La figure 3 est un diagramme circulaire représentant les jours de retard des demandes échues à ISDE pour la période de référence 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Nombre de jours 2014-2015
1 à 15 jours 13,51 %
16 à 30 jours 11,00 %
31 à 60 jours 13,51 %
61 à 120 jours 16,22 %
121 à 180 jours 5,41 %
181 à 365 jours 16,22 %
Plus de 365 jours 24,32 %
Total des demandes 100,0 %
 

Divulgation

Pourcentage de demandes pour lesquelles l’information a été divulguée

En 2014-2015, 39,6 % de toutes les demandes complétées ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète, ce qui représente un taux supérieur aux 7,3 % rapportés en 2013-2014. Le nombre de demandes qui ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation partielle a diminué de 4,8 % par rapport à 2013-2014 (37,0 % en 2013-2014 et 32,2 % en 2014-2015).

Figure 4 : Niveau de divulgation

Figure 4 : Niveau de divulgation

Version texte

La figure 4 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant les demandes ayant fait l’objet d’une divulgation partielle ou complète en tant que proportion du nombre total de demandes complétées par ISDE pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Divulgation 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Divulgation complète 10,35 % 7,28 % 39,57 %
Divulgation partielle 36,05 % 36,99 % 32,20 %
 

Exceptions

ISDE a appliqué 769 exceptions en 2014-2015 par rapport à 1 011 l’année précédente. Nous constatons une diminution quant au nombre moyen d’exceptions par demande complétée par rapport à la période précédente (1,17 en 2013-2014 à 1,09 en 2014-2015) (voir tableau 2).

Les exceptions les plus fréquemment invoquées en 2014-2015 étaient l’article 21 (activités du gouvernement) (41,9 %), suivies de l’article 20 (renseignements de tiers) (19,5 %) et l’article 19 (renseignements personnels) (14,6 %). On a constaté que les exceptions appliquées en vertu des dispositions ci‑dessus ont diminué par rapport à la période précédente.

Tableau 2 : Exceptions

Exceptions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Nombre total d’exceptions 1 367 1 011 769
Nombre total de demandes complétées 860 865 705
Nombre moyen d’exceptions par demande complétée 1,59 1,17 1,09

Plaintes au Commissariat à l’information

Le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a reçu 11 plaintesNote de bas de page 5 concernant ISDE en 2014-2015, soit une diminution marquée par rapport aux 42 plaintes reçues lors de la période précédente. À l’image de la période précédente, la plupart des plaintes étaient attribuables à des refus.

Pour la période de référence actuelle, le Commissariat a reçu 8 plaintes pour refus et 3 plaintes de nature administrative, par rapport à 36 plaintes pour refus et 6 plaintes de nature administrative en 2013-2014. Sur ces 11 plaintes, 2 étaient fondées, 2 étaient non fondées, 6 étaient abandonnées et 1 était encore en suspens.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Industrie Canada porte désormais le nom d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Le rendement global repose sur deux principaux indicateurs: % de demandes complétées en 30 jours ou moins et % de demandes qui ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Le taux d’achèvement a été calculé en utilisant le nombre de demandes reçues durant cette période et le nombre de demandes transférées de la période précédente.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Note de bas de page 4

Le système de cotation de la fiche de rendement du Commissariat pour 2007-2008 a été employé pour accorder les différentes notes : A= 0 à 5 %; B= 5 à 10 %; C=10 à 15 %, D= 15 à 20 %, F=20 % et plus.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Note de bas de page 5

Les chiffres rapportés dans cette section sont basés sur les statistiques du Commissariat. Des différences peuvent être notées avec l’information rapportée par les institutions, puisque la méthodologie employée diffère.

Return to footnote 5 referrer