Fisheries and Oceans Canada

Overall performanceFootnote 1

Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) experienced an increase of 22.8% in the number of requests received and improved the percentage of requests completed within 30 days by 1.8%. This report provides comparative statistics for the last three periods (2012-2015).

Workload

DFO received 512 requests under the Access to Information Act (the Act), representing 0.8% of total requests received government-wide in 2014-2015. In 2013-2014, DFO received 417 requests, which accounts for 22.8% fewer requests than those received this reporting period. The majority of requests in 2014-2015 were from the business sector (33.6%) and the public (32.0%) followed by the media (21.7%). Requests from business, public and media increased by 44.5%, 5.8% and 35.4% respectively.

DFO completed 503 requests this reporting period. The completion rateFootnote 2 was 72.1%, which is below the government-wide rate of 85.1% for 2014-2015 and 4.0% less than the completion rate in the previous period. DFO also received 118 informal requests and 67.8% of these were completed within 30 days. The number of consultations received by DFO from other federal government institutions increased from 170 to 226, representing a increase of 32.9% compared to 2013-2014.

The total number of pages processed increased from 183,315 pages in 2013-2014 to 307,313 pages in 2014-2015 representing an increase of 67.6%. Table 1 shows that the average number of pages processed per completed request increased from 538 in 2013-2014 to 770 in 2014-2015.

The information released by DFO was mostly in paper format: 224 requests in paper format compared to 120 requests in electronic format.

Table 1. Workload

Measures 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Number of requests received 547 417 512
Annual change (%) - -23.8% 22.8%
Completed requests 453 397 503
Annual change (%) - -12.4% 26.7%
Number of consultations received (from other government institutions) 288 170 226
Annual change (%) - -41.0% 32.9%
Average number of pages processed per request completed 378 538 770
% of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed 8.2% 13.5% 15.0%

Request completion time

Timeliness

Figure 1 reveals that 44.5% of requests were completed within 30 days or less, which is slightly lower than the result observed in 2013-2014. There is also a slight increase of 1.6% in the completion of requests for more than 365 days.

Figure 1: Request Completion Time

Figure 1: Request Completion Time

Text version

Figure 1 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the completion time by DFO during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Completion time 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 days or less 59.16% 46.35% 44.53%
31-60 days 15.45% 12.09% 13.12%
61-120 days 14.79% 17.63% 18.29%
121-180 days 5.74% 6.55% 6.16%
181-365 days 3.53% 9.32% 8.15%
More than 365 days 1.32% 8.06% 9.74%
 

Extensions

DFO took 365 extensions in 2014-2015 compared to 273 in 2013-2014. The most common reason for taking an extension was consultations (44.1%), followed by interference with operations (32.6%) and third-party notice (23.2%).

We note that extensions taken for consultations with other departments increased to 139 in 2014-2015 compared to 94 in 2013-2014. Extensions for third party notice doubled this reporting period from 2013-2014.

Figure 2 shows that 29.0% of extensions taken in 2014-2015 were for 30 days or less. This measure is lower by 4.4% compared to 2013-2014. Figure 2 also shows that the number of requests extended between 31 and 60 days in 2014-2015 increased by 3.8% compared to the previous period.

Figure 2: Length of Extensions

Figure 2: Length of Extensions

Text version

Figure 2 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the length of extensions taken by DFO during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Length of extensions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 days or less 35.26% 34.15% 29.04%
31-60 days 30.06% 29.62% 33.42%
61-120 days 20.81% 15.33% 16.99%
121-180 days 9.25% 8.36% 13.97%
181-365 days 4.05% 12.20% 6.30%
More than 365 days 0.58% 0.35% 0.27%
 

Deemed refusals

In 2014-2015, the number of requests closed past the statutory deadline was 91, which accounts for 18.1% of completed requests, which is similar to results of the last period. This rate represents a “D” grade.Footnote 3 The most common reason for overdue requests was workload (79.1%), followed by external consultations (20.9%).

Figure 3 shows 13.2% were late by 30 days or less. The percentage of requests overdue for more than 365 days increased from 12% in 2013-2014 to 38.5% in this reporting period. DFO’s annual report on the administration of the Act attributes delay to the substantial increase in the volume of requests received (see workload section).

Figure 3: Lateness of Overdue Requests

Figure 3: Lateness of Overdue Requests

Text version

Figure 3 is a pie chart, representing the delayed days for overdue requests taken by DFO in 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Number of days 2014-2015
1 to 15 days 12.09%
16 to 30 days 1.10%
31 to 60 days 6.59%
61 to 120 days 10.99%
121 to 180 days 14.29%
181 to 365 days 16.48%
More than 365 days 38.46%
Total 100.0%
 

Disclosure

Percentage of requests for which information was disclosed

In 2014-2015, 12.9% of completed requests were entirely disclosed, which is the lowest disclosure rate since 2012 (see Figure 4). Figure 4 also shows that the rate for partially disclosed requests was 55.5% in 2014-2015, which is an increase of 4.9% from the previous period.

Figure 4: Level of Disclosure

Figure 4: Level of Disclosure

Text version

Figure 4 is a bar-chart with vertical bars, representing the entirely disclosed and disclosed in part requests as proportion of total requests completed by DFO during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Disclosure 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
All disclosed 18.10% 16.62% 12.92%
Disclosed in part 43.71% 50.63% 55.47%
 

Exemptions

DFO applied 967 exemptions in 2014-2015 compared to 747 in the previous period. There is almost no change in the average number of exemptions used per completed request (1.92 in 2014-2015 and 1.88 in 2013-2014) (see Table 2). The most common exemptions in 2014-2015 were section 21 (Government Operations) (32.8%), followed by section 19 (Personal Information) (24.9%) and section 20 (Third-Party Information) (16.5%).

Table 2: Exemptions

Exemptions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Total number of exemptions 643 747 967
Total number of completed requests 453 397 503
Average number of exemptions per completed request 1.42 1.88 1.92

Complaints at the OIC

The number of complaints received by the OIC against DFO decreased from 21 in 2013-2014 to 18 in 2014-2015.Footnote 4 The number of administrative complaints increased compared to the previous period (13 administrative and 8 refusal complaints in 2013-2014 to 17 administrative and 1 refusal complaints in 2014-2015).

Of the ones received in 2014-2015, 13 were well founded and resolved. Discontinued and pending complaints accounted for 3 and 2 complaints, respectively.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Overall performance is based on two primary indicators: % of requests completed within 30 days, % of requests that were fully disclosed.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The completion rate was calculated using the number of received requests during the reporting period as well as outstanding requests from the previous period.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The 2007-2008 OIC report card grading system was used to estimate the grade A= 0 to 5%; B= 5 to 10%; C=10 to 15%, D= 15 to 20%, F=20% and more.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The numbers reported in this section are based on the OIC’s statistics. The information may not reflect the statistics reported by institutions due to the discrepancies in the methodology used.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Pêches et Océans Canada

Rendement globalNote de bas de page 1

Pêches et Océans Canada (POC) a connu une augmentation de 22,8 % du nombre de ses demandes reçues et à légèrement amélioré son pourcentage de 1,8 % au niveau des demandes complétées en 30 jours ou moins. Le présent rapport contient des statistiques comparatives pour les trois dernières périodes (2012 à 2015).

Charge de travail

POC a reçu 512 demandes en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l‘information (la Loi), ce qui représente 0,8 % du nombre total de demandes reçues à l’échelle du gouvernement en 2014-2015. En 2013-2014, POC a reçu 417 demandes, soit 22,8 % de moins que lors de la période de référence actuelle. La plupart des demandes en 2014-2015 provenaient du secteur privé (33,6 %) et du public (32,0 %), suivies des demandes des médias (21,7 %). Les demandes du secteur privé, du public et des médias ont augmenté de 44,5 %, 5,8 % et 35,4 %, respectivement.

POC a complété 503 demandes pour cette période de référence. Le taux d’achèvementNote de bas de page 2 est de 72,1 %, soit un taux inférieur à celui pour l’ensemble du gouvernement qui lui, était de 85,1%. Cela représente aussi une diminution de 4,0 % du taux d’achèvement par rapport à l’année 2013-2014. POC a aussi reçu 118 demandes informelles, dont 67,8 % qui ont été complétées en 30 jours ou moins Le nombre de demandes de consultation reçues par POC en provenance d’autres institutions fédérales a augmenté de 170 à 226, ce qui représente une hausse de 32,9 % par rapport à 2013-2014.

Le nombre total de pages traitées est passé de 183 315 en 2013-2014 à 307 313 en 2014-2015 représentant une hausse de 67,6 %. Le tableau 1 montre que le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée a augmenté, passant de 538 en 2013-2014 à 770 en 2014-2015.

L’information diffusée par POC était majoritairement en format papier : 224 demandes en format papier par rapport à 120 en format électronique.

Tableau 1 : Charge de travail

Mesures 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Nombre de demandes reçues 547 417 512
Variation annuelle en % - -23,8 % 22,8 %
Demandes complétées 453 397 503
Variation annuelle en % - -12,4 % 26,7 %
Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues (d’autres institutions fédérales) 288 170 226
Variation annuelle en % - -41,0 % 32,9 %
Nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande réglée 378 538 770
% des demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées 8,2 % 13,5 % 15,0 %

Délai de traitement des demandes

Rapidité

La figure 1 révèle que 44,5 % des demandes ont été complétées en 30 jours ou moins, soit un peu moins que le résultat obtenu en 2013-2014. On observe également une faible augmentation de 1,6 % du nombre de demandes dont le traitement a pris plus de 365 jours.

Figure 1 : Délai de traitement des demandes

Version texte

La figure 1 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant les délais de traitement de POC pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Délai de traitement 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 jours ou moins 59,16 % 46,35 % 44,53 %
31 à 60 jours 15,45 % 12,09 % 13,12 %
61 à 120 jours 14,79 % 17,63 % 18,29 %
121 à 180 jours 5,74 % 6,55 % 6,16 %
181 à 365 jours 3,53 % 9,32 % 8,15 %
Plus de 365 jours 1,32 % 8,06 % 9,74 %
 

Prorogations

POC a eu recours à 365 prorogations en 2014-2015 par rapport à 273 en 2013-2014. Les demandes de consultation (44,1 %) étaient la raison la plus fréquemment invoquée pour demander une prorogation, suivies de l’entrave au fonctionnement de l’institution (32,6 %) et des avis à des tiers (23,2 %).

Nous constatons qu’il y a eu 139 prorogations demandées pour consulter d’autres ministères en 2014-2015 par rapport à 94 en 2013-2014. Les prorogations pour des avis à des tiers ont doublé pour la période de référence actuelle par rapport à 2013-2014.

La figure 2 montre que 29,0 % des prorogations en 2014-2015 étaient de 30 jours ou moins. Cette mesure est inférieure de 4,4% par rapport à 2013-2014. La figure 2 montre également que le nombre de prorogations de 31 à 60 jours en 2014-2015 a augmenté de 3,8 % par rapport à la période précédente.

Figure 2 : Durée des prorogations

Figure 2 : Durée des prorogations

Version texte

La figure 2 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant la durée des prorogations auxquelles a eu recours POC pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Durée des prorogations 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 jours ou moins 35,26 % 34,15 % 29,04 %
31 à 60 jours 30,06 % 29,62 % 33,42 %
61 à 120 jours 20,81 % 15,33 % 16,99 %
121 à 180 jours 9,25 % 8,36 % 13,97 %
181 à 365 jours 4,05 % 12,20 % 6,30 %
Plus de 365 jours 0,58 % 0,35 % 0,27 %
 

Présomptions de refus

En 2014-2015, 91 demandes ont été fermées après l’échéancier réglementaire, ce qui représente 18,1 % des demandes complétées, un résultat similaire à celui de la dernière période. Ce résultat procure à POC la note de « D »Note de bas de page 3. La charge de travail (79,1 %) était la raison la plus fréquemment invoquée, suivie des consultations externes (20,9 %).

La figure 3 montre que 13,2 % des demandes étaient en retard de 30 jours ou moins. Le pourcentage du nombre de demandes échues de plus de 365 jours a augmenté de 12 % en 2013-2014 à 38,5 % en 2014-2015. Le rapport annuel de POC sur l’application de la Loi attribue ces retards à l’augmentation marquée du volume de demandes reçues (voir section sur la charge de travail).

Figure 3 : Retard des demandes échues

Figure 3 : Retard des demandes échues

Version texte

La figure 3 est un diagramme circulaire représentant les jours de retard des demandes échues à POC pour la période de référence 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Nombre de jours 2014-2015
1 à 15 jours 12,09 %
16 à 30 jours 1,10 %
31 à 60 jours 6,59 %
61 à 120 jours 10,99 %
121 à 180 jours 14,29 %
181 à 365 jours 16,48 %
Plus de 365 jours 38,46 %
Total des demandes 100,0 %
 

Divulgation

Pourcentage de demandes pour lesquelles l’information a été divulguée

En 2014-2015, 12,9 % des demandes complétées ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète, ce qui représente le taux de divulgation le plus faible depuis 2012 (voir figure 4). La figure 4 montre également que le taux de demandes faisant l’objet d’une divulgation partielle était de 55,5 % en 2014-2015, ce qui représente une augmentation de 4,9 % par rapport à la période précédente.

Figure 4 : Niveau de divulgation

Figure 4 : Niveau de divulgation

Version texte

La figure 4 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant les demandes ayant fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète et partielle en tant que proportion du nombre total de demandes complétées par POC pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Divulgation 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Divulgation complète 18,10 % 16,62 % 12,92 %
Divulgation partielle 43,71 % 50,63 % 55,47 %
 

Exceptions

En 2014-2015, POC a eu recours à 967 exceptions par rapport à 747 lors de la période précédente. Le nombre moyen d’exceptions par demande complétée est similaire (1,92 en 2014-2015 et 1,88 en 2013-2014) (voir tableau 2). Les exceptions les plus fréquemment invoquées en 2014-2015 étaient l’article 21 (les activités du gouvernement) (32,8 %), l’article 19 (les renseignements personnels) (24,9 %) et l’article 20 (les renseignements de tiers) (16,5 %).

Tableau 2 : Exceptions

Exceptions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Nombre total d’exceptions 643 747 967
Nombre total de demandes complétées 453 397 503
Nombre moyen d’exceptions par demande complétée 1,42 1,88 1,92

Plaintes au Commissariat à l’information

Le nombre de plaintes reçues par le Commissariat à l’information du Canada concernant POC est passé de 21 en 2013-2014 à 18 en 2014-2015Note de bas de page 4. La proportion de plaintes de nature administrative a augmenté par rapport à la période précédente passant de 13 plaintes administratives et 8 plaintes pour refus en 2013-2014 à 17 plaintes administratives et 1 plainte pour refus en 2014-2015.

La plupart des plaintes reçues en 2014-2015 étaient fondées et ont été réglées(13). Trois autres plaintes ont été abandonnées et 2 étaient encore en suspens.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Le rendement global repose sur deux principaux indicateurs : % de demandes complétées en 30 jours ou moins et % de demandes qui ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Le taux d’achèvement a été calculé en utilisant le nombre de demandes reçues durant cette période et le nombre de demandes transférées de la période précédente.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Le système de cotation de la fiche de rendement du Commissariat pour 2007-2008 a été employé pour accorder les différentes notes : A= 0 à 5 %; B= 5 à 10 %; C=10 à 15 %, D= 15 à 20 %, F=20 % et plus.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Note de bas de page 4

Les chiffres rapportés dans cette section sont basés sur les statistiques du Commissariat. Des différences peuvent être notées avec l’information rapportée par les institutions, puisque la méthodologie employée diffère.

Return to footnote 4 referrer