Employment and Social Development Canada

Overall performanceFootnote 1

Employment and Social Development Canada’s (ESDC) percentage of requests completed within 30 days or less decreased by 5.6%. However, the institution saw a significant increase of 34.7% in the number of requests received. This report provides comparative statistics for the last three periods (2012-2015).

Workload

ESDC received 1,160 requests under the Access to Information Act (the Act), which is a 34.7% increase compared to the previous period. The majority of requests received by ESDC were from the business sector (37.6%), followed by the public (24.7%). While the number of requests from the business sector doubled during this reporting period, we noted an 8.3% decline in requests from the public.

ESDC completed 1,055 requests this reporting period. The completion rateFootnote 2 was 80.1%, which is lower than the government-wide rate of 85.1%. In 2013-2014, the completion rate for ESDC was 85.6%. ESDC also received 612 informal requests in 2014-2015 and 72.2% were completed within 30 days. The number of consultations received by ESDC from other federal government institutions decreased from 185 to 155, representing a decrease of 16.2% compared to 2013-2014.

ESDC processed 139,549 pages in 2014-2015, compared to 101,577 in 2013-2014. There was also an increase in the average number of pages processed per completed request increasing from 128 in 2013-2014 to 157 in 2014-2015 (see Table 1).

The information released by ESDC was mostly in paper format: 596 requests in paper compared to 140 requests in electronic format. The number of requests disclosed in paper format was similar to the results observed in the previous period (564 in paper and 152 in electronic format).

Table 1. Workload

Measures 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Number of requests received 746 861 1,160
Annual change (%) - 15.4% 34.7%
Completed requests 630 932 1,055
Annual change (%) - 47.9% 13.2%
Number of consultations received (from other government institutions) 194 185 155
Annual change (%) - -4.6% -16.2%
Average number of pages processed per request completed 205 128 157
% of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed 5.8% 3.0% 2.6%

Request completion time

Timeliness

Figure 1 reveals that 42.4% of requests were completed within 30 days or less, which is a decrease of 5.6% from the previous period. In general, the results observed in 2014-2015 were similar to those of 2013-2014, except for delays of more than 180 days.

Figure 1: Request Completion Time

Figure 1: Request Completion Time

Text version

Figure 1 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the completion time by ESDC during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Completion time 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 days or less 49.84% 47.96% 42.37%
31-60 days 30.95% 29.29% 29.57%
61-120 days 10.32% 14.81% 14.60%
121-180 days 4.29% 4.61% 5.21%
181-365 days 3.49% 2.47% 5.21%
More than 365 days 1.11% 0.86% 3.03%
 

Extensions

ESDC took a total of 356 extensions in 2014-2015 compared to 319 in 2013-2014. The most common reason for taking an extension was interference with operations (70.2%), followed by consultations (26.9%). Interference with operations was also the most common reason for extensions in 2013-2014.

Figure 2 shows that 41.0% of extensions were taken for less than 30 days, which represents a 5.0% increase from the previous reporting period. A significant change was observed in the number of extensions taken between 61 and 120 days, decreasing from 36.7% in 2013-2014 to 26.7% in 2014-2015.

Figure 2: Length of extensions

Figure 2: Length of Extensions

Text version

Figure 2 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the length of extensions taken by ESDC during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Length of extensions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 days or less 28.87% 36.05% 41.01%
31-60 days 13.38% 25.71% 27.81%
61-120 days 25.35% 36.68% 26.69%
121-180 days 29.58% 1.57% 2.25%
181-365 days 2.82% 0.0% 2.25%
More than 365 days 0.0% 0.0% 0.0%
 

Deemed refusals

In 2014-2015, the number of requests closed past the statutory deadline was 256, which accounts for 24.2% of completed requests. This rate represents an “F” grade.Footnote 3 Compared to the previous year, ESDC’s grade dropped from a “B”.

We observed an increase of overdue requests over the past three years (49 in 2012-2013, 87 in 2013-2014, and 256 in 2014-2015). In its annual report to Parliament, ESDC attributes this increase to workload (71.9%). Figure 3 shows that 45.3% of overdue requests were late by 30 days or less in 2014-2015.

Figure 3: Lateness of overdue requests

Figure 3: Lateness of Overdue Requests

Text version

Figure 3 is a pie chart, representing the delayed days for overdue requests taken by ESDC in 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Number of days 2014-2015
1 to 15 days 32.42%
16 to 30 days 12.89%
31 to 60 days 14.06%
61 to 120 days 16.02%
121 to 180 days 5.47%
181 to 365 days 10.94%
More than 365 days 8.20%
Total 100.0%
 

Disclosure

Percentage of requests for which information was disclosed

In 2014-2015, 27.0% of requests completed were entirely disclosed, which is similar to the previous period’s results (see Figure 4). Figure 4 also shows that the rate for partially disclosed requests was 43.1% in 2014-2015, which shows a decrease of 7.6% from the previous period.

Figure 4: Level of disclosure

Figure 4: Level of Disclosure

Text version

Figure 4 is a bar-chart with vertical bars, representing the entirely disclosed and disclosed in part requests as proportion of total requests completed by ESDC during each reporting period between 2012-2013 and 2014-2015. The results are as follows:

Disclosure 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
All disclosed 36.83% 26.07% 27.01%
Disclosed in part 42.06% 50.75% 43.13%
 

Exemptions

The average number of exemptions used per completed request decreased slightly from 1.29 in 2013-2014 to 1.07 in 2014-2015 (see Table 2). The most frequent exemptions in 2014-2015 were section 19 (Personal Information) (30.7%), section 21 (Operations of Government) (17.9%), and section 16 (Law Enforcement and Investigations) (19.0%). In all three provisions, the number of exemptions increased respectively from 30.6%, 18.7% and 12.9% in 2013-2014.

Table 2: Exemptions

Exemptions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Total number of exemptions 684 1,202 1,129
Total number of completed requests 630 932 1,055
Average number of exemptions per completed request 1.09 1.29 1.07

Complaints at the OIC

The number of complaints receivedFootnote 4 against the ESDC decreased from 37 in 2013-2014 to 33 in this reporting period. The proportion of administrative complaints decreased from 67% to 45% compared to the previous reporting period. The number of well-founded complaints decreased from 20 to 15 compared to 2013-2014. Those discontinued and still pending resolution were 6 and 10, respectively.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Overall performance is based on the 2 primary indicators: Overall performance is based on two primary indicators: % of requests completed within 30 days, % of requests that were fully disclosed.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The completion rate was calculated using the number of received requests during the reporting period as well as outstanding requests from the previous period.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The 2007-2008 OIC report card grading system was used to estimate the grade A= 0 to 5%; B= 5 to 10%; C=10 to 15%, D= 15 to 20%, F=20% and more.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The numbers reported in this section are based on the OIC’s statistics. The information may not reflect the statistics reported by institutions due to the discrepancies in the methodology used.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Emploi et Développement social Canada

Rendement globalNote de bas de page 1

Emploi et Développement social Canada (EDSC) a rapporté une baisse de 5,6 % au niveau du pourcentage de demandes traitées en 30 jours ou moins. Cependant, le Ministère a connu une augmentation marquée de 34,7 % au niveau du nombre de demandes reçues. Le présent rapport contient des statistiques comparatives pour les trois dernières périodes (2012 à 2015).

Charge de travail

EDSC a reçu 1 160 demandes en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l‘information (la Loi), représentant une augmentation de 34,7 % par rapport à la période précédente. La plupart des demandes reçues par EDSC provenaient du secteur privé (37,6 %), suivies des demandes du public (24,7 %). Même si le nombre de demandes reçues du secteur privé a doublé au cours de cette année, nous avons constaté un déclin de 8,3 % des demandes reçues du public.

EDSC a complété 1 055 demandes pour cette période de référence. Le taux d’achèvementNote de bas de page 2 était de 80,1 %, soit inférieur à celui rapporté pour l’ensemble du gouvernement qui lui, était de 85,1 %. En 2013-2014, le taux d’achèvement pour EDSC était de 85,6 %. EDSC a aussi reçu 612 demandes informelles en 2014-2015, dont 72,2 % qui ont été complétées en 30 jours ou moins. Le nombre de demandes de consultation reçues par EDSC en provenance d’autres institutions fédérales a diminué de 185 à 155, ce qui représente une baisse de 16,2 % par rapport à 2013-2014.

En tout, EDSC a traité 139 549 pages en 2014-2015, par rapport aux 101 577 pages traitées en 2013-2014. Il y a aussi eu une augmentation du nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée, passant de 128 en 2013-2014 à 157 en 2014-2015 (voir tableau 1).

L’information diffusée par EDSC était majoritairement en format papier : 596 demandes en format papier par rapport à 140 demandes en format électronique. Le nombre de demandes traitées en format papier est similaire aux résultats rapportés pour la période précédente (564 en format papier par rapport à 152 en format électronique).

Tableau 1 : Charge de travail

Mesures 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Nombre de demandes reçues 746 861 1 160
Variation annuelle en % - -15,4 % 34,7 %
Demandes complétées 630 932 1 055
Variation annuelle en % - 47,9 % 13,2 %
Nombre de demandes de consultation reçues (d’autres institutions fédérales) 194 185 155
Variation annuelle en % - -4,6 % -16,2 %
Nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée 205 128 157
% des demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées 5,8 % 3,0 % 2,6 %

Délai de traitement des demandes

Rapidité

La figure 1 révèle que 42,4 % des demandes ont été complétées en 30 jours ou moins, une diminution de 5,6 % par rapport à la période précédente. En général, les résultats observés cette année sont similaires à ceux rapportés en 2013-2014 sauf en ce qui concerne les délais supérieurs à 180 jours.

Figure 1 : Délai de traitement des demandes

Figure 1 : Délai de traitement des demandes

Version texte

La figure 1 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant les délais de traitement d’EDSC pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Délai de traitement 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 jours ou moins 49,84 % 47,96 % 42,37 %
31 à 60 jours 30,95 % 29,29 % 29,57 %
61 à 120 jours 10,32 % 14,81 % 14,60 %
121 à 180 jours 4,29 % 4,61 % 5,21 %
181 à 365 jours 3,49 % 2,47 % 5,21 %
Plus de 365 jours 1,11 % 0,86 % 3,03 %
 

Prorogations

EDSC a eu recours à 356 prorogations en 2014-2015 par rapport à 319 en 2013-2014. L’entrave au fonctionnement de l’institution (70,2 %) était la raison la plus fréquemment invoquée pour demander une prorogation, suivie des demandes de consultation (26,9 %). La perturbation des opérations était également le motif le plus fréquemment invoqué pour demander une prorogation en 2013-2014.

La figure 2 montre que 41,0 % des prorogations étaient de 30 jours ou moins, ce qui représente une augmentation de 5,0 % par rapport à la période précédente. Une diminution importante a été observée quant au nombre de prorogations de 61 à 120 jours passant de 36,7 % en 2013-2014 à 26,7 % en 2014-2015.

Figure 2 : Durée des prorogations

Figure 2 : Durée des prorogations

Version texte

La figure 2 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant la durée des prorogations auxquelles a eu recours EDSC pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Durée des prorogations 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
30 jours ou moins 28,87 % 36,05 % 41,01 %
31 à 60 jours 13,38 % 25,71 % 27,81 %
61 à 120 jours 25,35 % 36,68 % 26,69 %
121 à 180 jours 29,58 % 1,57 % 2,25 %
181 à 365 jours 2,82 % 0,0 % 2,25 %
Plus de 365 jours 0,0 % 0,0 % 0,0 %
 

Présomptions de refus

En 2014-2015, 256 demandes ont été fermées après l’échéancier réglementaire, ce qui représente 24,2 % des demandes traitées. Ce résultat représente une note de « F »Note de bas de page 3 pour EDSC. À noter qu’EDSC avait obtenu une note de « B » lors de l’année précédente.

Nous avons observé une augmentation du nombre de demandes échues lors des 3 dernières années (49 en 2012-2013, 87 en 2013-2014 et 256 en 2014-2015). Dans son rapport annuel au Parlement, EDSC attribue cette augmentation à la charge de travail (71,9 %). La figure 3 démontre qu’en 2014-2015, 45,3 % des demandes échues étaient en retard de 30 jours ou moins.

Figure 3 : Retard des demandes échues

Figure 3 : Retard des demandes échues

Version texte

La figure 3 est un diagramme circulaire représentant les jours de retard des demandes échues à EDSC pour la période de référence 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Nombre de jours 2014-2015
1 à 15 jours 32,42 %
16 à 30 jours 12,89 %
31 à 60 jours 14,06 %
61 à 120 jours 16,02 %
121 à 180 jours 5,47 %
181 à 365 jours 10,94 %
Plus de 365 jours 8,20 %
Total des demandes 100,0 %
 

Divulgation

Pourcentage de demandes pour lesquelles l’information a été divulguée

En 2014-2015, 27,0 % de toutes les demandes complétées ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète, ce qui représente un résultat similaire à celui de la période précédente (voir figure 4). La figure 4 montre également que le taux des demandes faisant l’objet d’une divulgation partielle était de 43,1 % en 2014-2015, ce qui représente une diminution 7,6 % par rapport à la période précédente.

Figure 4 : Niveau de divulgation

Figure 4 : Niveau de divulgation

Version texte

La figure 4 est un diagramme à barres verticales représentant les demandes ayant fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète et partielle en tant que proportion du nombre total de demandes complétées par EDSC pour chaque période de référence entre 2012-2013 et 2014-2015. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Divulgation 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Divulgation complète 36,83 % 26,07 % 27,01 %
Divulgation partielle 42,06 % 50,75 % 43,13 %
 

Exceptions

Le nombre moyen d’exceptions par demande complétée a légèrement diminué de 1,29 en 2013-2014 à 1,07 en 2014-2015 (voir tableau 2). Les exemptions les plus fréquemment invoquées en 2014-2015 étaient l’article 19 (les renseignements personnels) (30,7 %), l’article 21 (les opérations du gouvernement) (17,9 %) et l’article 16 (l’application de la loi et les enquêtes) (19,0 %). Le nombre d’exceptions invoquées en vertu de toutes ces dispositions a augmenté par rapport aux résultats rapportés en 2013-2014 (30,6 %, 18,7 % et 12,9 %, respectivement).

Tableau 2 : Exceptions

Exceptions 2012-2013 2013-2014 2014-2015
Nombre total d’exceptions 684 1 202 1 129
Nombre total de demandes complétées 630 932 1 055
Nombre moyen d’exceptions par demande complétée 1,09 1,29 1,07

Plaintes au Commissariat à l’information

Le nombre de plaintes reçuesNote de bas de page 4 concernant EDSC a diminué de 37 en 2013-2014 à 33 en 2014-2015. La part des plaintes de nature administrative a diminué de 67 % à 46 % par rapport à la période précédente. Le nombre de plaintes fondées est passé de 20 à 15 par rapport à 2013-2014. On a rapporté 6 plaintes abandonnées et 10 étaient encore en suspens.

Notes de bas de page

Note de bas de page 1

Le rendement global repose sur deux principaux indicateurs: % de demandes complétées en 30 jours ou moins et % de demandes qui ont fait l’objet d’une divulgation complète.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Note de bas de page 2

Le taux d’achèvement a été calculé en utilisant le nombre de demandes reçues durant cette période et le nombre de demandes transférées de la période précédente.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Note de bas de page 3

Le système de cotation de la fiche de rendement du Commissariat pour 2007-2008 a été employé pour accorder les différentes notes : A= 0 à 5 %; B= 5 à 10 %; C=10 à 15 %, D= 15 à 20 %, F=20 % et plus.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Note de bas de page 4

Les chiffres rapportés dans cette section sont basés sur les statistiques du Commissariat. Des différences peuvent être notées avec l’information rapportée par les institutions, puisque la méthodologie employée diffère.

Return to footnote 4 referrer