Canada Revenue Agency

Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) administers tax laws for the Government of Canada and for most of the provinces and territories. It also administers various social and economic benefit and incentive programs delivered through the tax system.

In 2013–2014, CRA received 2,751 new requests during the reporting period, a decrease of 12% compared to 2012–2013 (3,137 requests). CRA was also the third ranked institution in terms of requests received in 2013–2014, representing 4.6% of all requests received government-wide.

CRA is one of the institutions that processed the most pages in 2013–2014 – 1.6 million pages (an increase of 36% as compared to 2012–2013). This represents an average of 638 pages per request completed.Footnote 1

CRA’s performance in 2013–2014 was similar to that of the previous year, but remained below government-wide results.

CRA completed 82.5% of all requests in its inventory in 2013–2014, which is similar to the completion rate achieved in the previous year (82.9%).

The majority of requests received came from the public (55.3%). CRA also noted a decrease in requests received from a frequent requester this reporting period. It is reported that the development of strategies and best practices by CRA, with the help of the OIC, has proven to be efficient in managing the high volume of requests received from this same requester.

CRA processed 297 requests for previously released ATI packages.

Table 1. Workload

Measures Reporting Period
2012–2013
Reporting Period
2013–2014
Difference
Number of requests received 3,137 2,751 -12.30%
Number of consultations received (from other government institutions) 83 103 24.1%
Average number of pages processed per request completed 433 638 205
% of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed 6.91% 10.29% 3.38%
Note: The average number of pages processed per request completed and the percentage of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed are calculated from the total of requests completed for which the information was disclosed (in part or totally), exempted/excluded and for requests abandoned. It excludes requests completed for the following dispositions: no records exist, requests transferred and requests treated informally.

Timeliness

CRA responded to 1,343 requests within 30 days or less, which represents about 48% of all requests completed (of which, 18.4% yielded no records or were abandoned). This proportion is similar to the one achieved in 2012–2013. However, CRA closed fewer requests in more than 120 days (from 369 in 2012–2013 to 255 in 2013–2014).

Additionally, CRA improved the proportion of requests closed past their statutory or extended deadline this reporting period, from 14.5% in 2012–2013 to 11.8% in 2013–2014. This proportion represents a “C” grade.Footnote 2 However, 235 late requests (or 71.4%) had already been extended. Furthermore, 21 of these late requests took an additional year to be answered. CRA noted in its annual report that it continues to strive toward its goal of closing all requests by its statutory or extended deadline. The high volume of pages to process had a direct impact on CRA’s ability to achieve this goal.

Extensions

CRA took a total of 1,229 extensions to complete 2,795 requests in 2013–2014. The proportion of extensions that were for less than 30 days went down compared to the previous reporting period (from 60% to 40%).

Figure 1. Length of extensions (2011–2012 to 2013–2014)

Figure 1. Length of extensions (2011–2012 to 2013–2014)

Text version

Figure 1 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the length of extensions taken by CRA during each reporting period between 2011–2012 and 2013–2014. The results are as follows:

Reporting period 30 days or less 31-60 days 61-120 days 121-180 days 181-365 days More than 365 days
2011–2012 49.57% 24.52% 17.84% 4.74% 3.14% 0.20%
2012–2013 59.48% 21.56% 14.85% 2.88% 1.15% 0.07%
2013–2014 39.87% 34.66% 20.42% 3.66% 1.22% 0.16%
 

Almost all extensions (98%) were taken under section 9(1)(a) (interference with operations). This is similar to 2012–2013 results.

Disclosure

Of the 2,795 requests completed, 17% were disclosed entirely in 2013–2014. While still low, this proportion is above the one achieved in 2012–2013.

While a large percentage of the pages processed were disclosed (79.4%), only a few of the disclosed pages were disclosed entirely (2.7%). In comparison, 86.3% of pages processed were disclosed and 4.3% of them were disclosed entirely in 2012–2013.

Exemptions/Exclusions

In 2013–2014, a total of 3,921 exemptions and 230 exclusions were applied, a proportion of 1.49 exemptions/exclusions per request completed. This proportion was of 1.53 in 2012–2013.

Most applied exemptions included section 24 — Statutory prohibitions (1,240 requests), section 19 — Personal information (915 requests) and section 16 — Law enforcement and investigation (900 requests).

Table 2. Performance

Measures Reporting Period
2012–2013
Reporting Period
2013–2014
Difference
Completion of Requests
Completion rate 82.90% 82.52% -0.38%
Completion Time
% of requests completed within 30 days 48.52% 48.05% -0.47%
Average number of days to complete a request 64 N/A N/A
% of requests closed past statutory or extended deadline 14.53% 11.77% -2.76
% of consultations from government institution completed within 30 days 41.43% 56.9% 15.47%
% of extensions of 30 days or less 59.48% 39.87% -19.61%
Level of Disclosure
% of pages processed that were disclosed 86.26% 79.39% -6.87%
% of requests completed for which the information was disclosed entirely 14.04% 17.07% 3.03%
% of pages disclosed entirely 4.27% 2.67% -1.60%
Exemptions/Exclusions
Number of exemptions/exclusions per request completed 1.53 1.49 -0.04

Other activities

During Right to Know Week, CRA organized an online forum for CRA’s employees. They were invited to suggest ways in which CRA could increase and improve the proactive disclosure of its information to the public.

Since a significant amount of access requests are related to CRA’s procedure manuals, CRA’s ATIP office has prepared a virtual library project which, if approved, could be implemented in 2014–2015. The release of these manuals on CRA’s website could help reduce the number of formal access requests to be processed by CRA. This would also support CRA’s objective to release more information informally and follows the Information Commissioner’s recommendation.

A dashboard report that provides information about the current state of all ATIP requests is produced by CRA’s ATIP office on a monthly basis. This report is use to monitor, among other things, the timeliness of each process (intake, search, etc.) and to measure the ATIP office’s performance. The Assistant Commissioner (Public Affairs Branch) is also regularly informed about it.

Complaints

The OIC received a total of 283 complaints against CRAFootnote 3 in 2013–2014, compared to 336 complaints in 2012–2013 (decrease of 18.7%).

Of the 283 complaints registered in 2013–2014, 187 of them were for refusal and 96 were related to administrative matters. This is proportionally similar to 2012–2013.

As for the disposition of complaints registered in 2013–2014, 76 were well founded, 27 were not well-founded and 2 were settled. An additional 78 complaints were discontinued and 100 were still pending, as of April 2015.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

While 54.7% of the requests closed required processing less than 100 pages, almost 10.3% of them required processing more than 1,000 pages.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The 2007–2008 OIC report card grading system was used to estimate the grade: A=0 to 5%, B= 5 to 10%, C=10 to 15%, D=15% to 20%, F=more than 20%.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The numbers reported in this section are based on the OIC’s statistics. The information may not reflect the statistics reported by institutions due to the discrepancies in the methodology used.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Agence du revenu du Canada

L'Agence du revenu du Canada (ARC) voit à l'application des lois fiscales pour le gouvernement du Canada et pour la plupart des provinces et territoires. Elle administre également divers programmes incitatifs et d’avantages sociaux et économiques offerts au moyen du régime fiscal.

En 2013-2014, l'ARC a reçu 2 751 nouvelles demandes durant la période de référence, ce qui représente une baisse de 12 % par rapport à 2012-2013 (3 137 demandes). L'ARC s'est aussi classée au troisième rang pour ce qui est du nombre de demandes reçues en 2013-2014, alors qu’elles représentaient 4,6 % de l'ensemble des demandes reçues à l'échelle gouvernementale.

L'ARC est l'une des institutions qui ont traité le plus de pages en 2013-2014 – soit 1,6 million de pages (une hausse de 36 % par rapport à 2012-2013). Cela représente en moyenne 638 pages par demande complétéeNote de bas de page 1.

En 2013-2014, le rendement de l'ARC a été comparable à celui de l'exercice précédent, mais est demeuré inférieur aux résultats à l’échelle gouvernementale.

L'ARC a complété 82,5 % de l'ensemble des demandes de son inventaire en 2013-2014, ce qui est comparable au taux de traitement atteint durant l'exercice précédent (82,9 %).

La majorité des demandes reçues venaient du public (55,3 %). Au cours de la période de référence, l'ARC a également constaté une diminution du nombre de demandes reçues d'un auteur de demandes fréquentes. Il semble que l'élaboration, par l'ARC, de stratégies et de pratiques exemplaires en collaboration avec le Commissariat à l'information du Canada ait aidé à gérer le volume élevé de demandes provenant de ce même demandeur.

L'ARC a traité 297 demandes pour des trousses d'accès à l'information publiées précédemment.

Tableau 1. Charge de travail

Mesures Période de référence
2012-2013
Période de référence
2013-2014
Écart
Nombre de demandes reçues 3 137 2 751 -12,30 %
Nombre de consultations reçues (en provenance d'autres institutions gouvernementales) 83 103 24,1 %
Nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée 433 638 205
% de demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées 6,91 % 10,29 % 3,38 %
Note : Le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée et la proportion de demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées sont calculées à partir du total des demandes traitées pour lesquelles l'information a été communiquée (en entier ou en partie), des demandes exceptées ou exclues en entier et des demandes abandonnées. Cela exclut les demandes terminées pour les motifs suivants : absence de documents, demandes transférées ou traitement informel.

Délai de traitement

L'ARC a répondu à 1 343 demandes dans un délai de 30 jours ou moins, ce qui représente environ 48 % de toutes les demandes complétées (de ce nombre, 18,4 % n'ont produit aucun document ou ont été abandonnées). Cette proportion est semblable à celle observée en 2012-2013. L'ARC a également complété moins de demandes dans un délai de plus de 120 jours (ce nombre passant de 369 en 2012-2013 à 255 en 2013-2014).

De plus, l'ARC a réduit le pourcentage de demandes complétées dans un délai supérieur au délai prévu par la loi ou au délai prorogé, ce pourcentage passant de 14,5 % en 2012-2013 à 11,8 % en 2013-2014. Cette proportion correspond à la note « C »Note de bas de page 2. Cependant, 235 demandes en retard (soit 71,4 %) avaient déjà fait l'objet d'une prorogation de délai. De plus, le traitement de 21 de ces demandes en retard a nécessité un an de plus. Dans son rapport annuel, l'ARC a déclaré poursuivre ses efforts afin d'atteindre son objectif de traiter toutes les demandes dans le délai prévu par la loi ou le délai prorogé. Cependant, le volume élevé de pages à traiter a une incidence directe sur la capacité de l'ARC d'atteindre cet objectif.

Prorogations

En 2013-2014, l'ARC a obtenu 1 229 prorogations de délai pour le traitement de 2 795 demandes. La proportion des prorogations de délai d'une durée de moins de 30 jours a diminué par comparaison à celle observée durant la période de référence précédente (passant de 60 % à 40 %).

Figure 1. Durée des prorogations (de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014)

Figure 1. Durée des prorogations (de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014)

Version texte

La figure 1 est un graphique à bandes verticales, représentant le délai des prorogations prises par l’ARC durant chacune des périodes de référence de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Période de référence 30 jours ou moins 31-60 jours 61-120 jours 121-180 jours 181-365 jours Plus de 365 jours
2011-2012 49,57 % 24,52 % 17,84 % 4,74 % 3,14 % 0,20 %
2012-2013 59,48 % 21,56 % 14,85 % 2,88 % 1,15 % 0,07 %
2013-2014 39,87 % 34,66 % 20,42 % 3,66 % 1,22 % 0,16 %
 

Presque toutes les prorogations (98 %) ont été prises en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi (entrave au fonctionnement de l'institution). Il s'agit d'un résultat comparable à celui de 2012-2013.

Divulgation

Des 2 795 demandes traitées en 2013-2014, 17 % ont donné lieu à la communication totale des documents. Bien que ce pourcentage demeure faible, il est néanmoins supérieur à celui atteint en 2012-2013.

Bien qu'un fort pourcentage des pages traitées ait été communiqué (79,4 %), un faible pourcentage seulement (2,7 %) des pages communiquées l'ont été en entier. Par comparaison, 86,3 % des pages traitées avaient été communiquées en 2012-2013, dont 4,3 % l'avaient été en entier.

Exceptions/exclusions

En 2013-2014, 3 921 exceptions et 230 exclusions ont été appliquées, ce qui représente un taux de 1,49 par demande complétée. En 2012-2013, cette proportion avait été de 1,53.

La plupart des exceptions concernaient l'article 24 – Interdictions fondées sur d'autres lois (1 240 fois), l'article 19 – Renseignements personnels (915 fois) et l'article 16 – Enquêtes (900 fois).

Tableau 2. Rendement

Mesures Période de référence 2012-2013 Période de référence 2013-2014 Écart
Traitement des demandes
Taux de traitement 82,90 % 82,52 % -0,38 %
Délai de traitement
% des demandes complétées dans un délai de 30 jours 48,52 % 48,05 % -0,47 %
Nombre moyen de jours pour le traitement des demandes 64 S.O. S.O.
% des demandes complétées après le délai prévu par la loi ou le délai prorogé 14,53 % 11,77 % -2,76 %
% des consultations provenant d'une institution gouvernementale complétées dans un délai de 30 jours 41,43 % 56,9 % 15,47 %
% des prorogations de 30 jours ou moins 59,48 % 39,87 % -19,61 %
Niveau de divulgation
% des pages traitées qui ont été communiquées 86,26 % 79,39 % -6,87 %
% des demandes complétées dont les documents ont été communiqués en entier 14,04 % 17,07 % 3,03 %
% des pages communiquées en entier 4,27 % 2,67 % -1,60 %
Exceptions/exclusions
Nombre d'exceptions ou d'exclusions par demande complétée 1,53 1,49 -0,04

Autres activités

Durant la Semaine du droit à l'information, l'ARC a organisé un forum en ligne à l'intention de ses employés. Ces derniers ont été invités à suggérer des moyens pour l'ARC d'améliorer et d'accroître la divulgation proactive de ses renseignements au public.

Comme un grand nombre de demandes d'accès sont liées aux manuels des procédures de l'ARC, le bureau de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels de l'ARC a élaboré un projet de bibliothèque virtuelle qui, s'il est approuvé, pourrait être mis en œuvre en 2014-2015. La publication de ces manuels sur le site Web de l'ARC pourrait aider à réduire le nombre de demandes officielles d'accès à l'information devant être traitées par l'ARC. Ce projet serait également compatible avec l'objectif de l'ARC de communiquer plus d'information de façon non officielle, ainsi qu'avec la recommandation de la commissaire à l'information.

Le bureau de l'AIPRP de l'ARC produit chaque mois un tableau de bord faisant état de l'état actuel de toutes les demandes d'AIPRP. Ce rapport permet notamment de surveiller le délai de traitement à chaque étape du traitement (réception, recherche, etc.), ainsi que de mesurer le rendement du bureau de l'AIPRP. En outre, la commissaire adjointe (Affaires publiques) est tenue régulièrement informée des progrès réalisés.

Plaintes

Le Commissariat à l'information du Canada a reçu au total 283 plaintes contre l'ARCNote de bas de page 3 en 2013-2014, alors qu'il en avait reçu 336 en 2012-2013 (baisse de 18,7 %).

Des 283 plaintes enregistrées en 2013-2014, 187 étaient des plaintes de refus et 96 étaient liées à des questions administratives. Ces chiffres sont comparables à ceux de 2012-2013.

Parmi les plaintes reçues en 2013-2014, 76 étaient fondées, 27 n'étaient pas fondées et 2 ont été réglées. Soixante-dix-huit autres plaintes ont été discontinuées et 100 sont toujours en suspens (en date d'avril 2015).

Note de bas de pages

Note de bas de page 1

Bien que 54,7 % des demandes complétées aient nécessité l'examen de moins de 100 pages, 10,3 % d'entre elles ont nécessité le traitement de plus de 1 000 pages.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Le système de notation de la fiche de rendement du Commissariat à l'information du Canada 2007-2008 a été utilisé pour déterminer les notes : A = de 0 à 5 %, B = de 5 à 10 %, C = de 10 à 15 %, D = de 15 à 20 %, F = plus de 20 %.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Les chiffres rapportés dans cette section sont basés sur les statistiques du Commissariat. Des différences peuvent être notées avec l’information rapportée par les institutions, puisque la méthodologie employée diffère.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3