Canada Border Services Agency

The Canada Border Services Agency (CBSA) is part of the Public Safety Canada portfolio. The Agency is responsible for providing border services in order to facilitate the free flow of persons and goods.

Overall, CBSA showed signs of improvement in 2013–2014 compared to the previous reporting period, despite an increased workload.

In 2013–2014, CBSA received 4,671 requests,Footnote 1 an increase of 48.4% compared to 2012–2013, where 3,147 requests were received. CBSA was also the second-ranked institution in terms of the number of requests received under the Access to Information Act, representing close to 7.8% of all requests received government-wide in 2013–2014. CBSA completed 77.6% of all requests in its inventory in 2013–2014 (compared to 70.7% in 2012–2013).

The vast majority (77.5%) of requests received by CBSA were from members of the public. Again this reporting period, an important amount of requests received (57.2%) by CBSA came from individuals seeking their Traveller History Report (THR).Footnote 2

Since requests for THRs are usually not complex to process, the volume of pages processed by CBSA in 2013–2014 was lower than in 2012–2013. The average number of pages processed per request went down from 112 to 101 pages. Additionally, only 1.85% of requests completed required processing 1,000 pages or more.

Table 1. Workload

Measures Reporting Period
2012–2013
Reporting Period
2013–2014
Difference
Number of requests received 3,147 4,671 48.43%
Number of consultations received (from other government institutions) 366 282 -22.95%
Average number of pages processed per request completed 112 101 -11
% of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed 2.27% 1.85% -0.42%
Note: The average number of pages processed per request completed and the percentage of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed are calculated from the total of requests completed for which the information was disclosed (in part or totally), exempted/excluded and for requests abandoned. It excludes requests completed for the following dispositions: no records exist, requests transferred and requests treated informally.

Timeliness

Approximately 77% of requests closed during the reporting period were completed within 30 days (of which, 12.7% within 15 days), which represents a significant improvement compared to results achieved in 2012–2013 (71%). The average time to complete a request was 44.5 days.Footnote 3

CBSA was also able to reduce the proportion of requests closed past their statutory or extended deadline by 2.76%, from 11.93% in 2012–2013 to 9.17%. This percentage represents a “B” grade.Footnote 4 Of the late requests, about 46% were 30 days or less overdue.

CBSA invoked workload (44.4% of the time) and the category “other”Footnote 5 (48.1% of the time) as the reasons for lateness.

Extensions

CBSA took a total of 467 extensions in 2013–2014, a ratio of 0.11 extensions per request completed (compared to 0.14 in 2012–2013). Most of the extensions taken in 2013–2014 were for less than 30 days (41.5%). This proportion is about 12% lower than the one reported in 2012–2013.

Figure 1. Length of extensions (2011–2012 to 2013–2014)

Figure 1. Length of extensions (2011–2012 to 2013–2014)

Text version

Figure 1 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the length of extensions taken by CBSA during each reporting period between 2011–2012 and 2013–2014. The results are as follows:

Reporting period 30 days or less 31-60 days 61-120 days 121-180 days 181-365 days More than 365 days
2011–2012 48.18% 33.07% 14.58% 2.86% 1.04% 0.26%
2012–2013 53.68% 25.98% 17.16% 2.45% 0.25% 0.49%
2013–2014 41.54% 32.55% 18.42% 6.21% 1.07% 0.21%
 

About 65% of them were taken for consultations pursuant to section 9(1)(b) of the Access to Information Act. The proportion of extensions taken under section 9(1)(a) (interference with operations) decreased by 6% from 2012–2013 to 2013–2014.

Disclosure

Of the 4,079 requests completed in 2013–2014, 54.6% were disclosed entirely, compared to 45% in 2012–2013. This is a significant improvement and is partly explained by the large number of requests for THRs.

Most of the pages processed were also disclosed in 2013–2014 (75.6%). This is similar to the last reporting period. However, only a few of the pages disclosed (11.2%) were disclosed entirely.

Exemptions/Exclusions

The number of exemptions and exclusions used by CBSA increased in 2013–2014 compared to the previous reporting period. On average, about 1.06 exemptions/exclusions were used per request completed. This proportion was 1.02 in 2012–2013.

The most cited exemptions for 2013–2014 were: subsection 19 (1,164), paragraph 16(1)(c) (823) and paragraph 16(2)(c) (400). These three exemptions represented about 56% of all exemptions used by CBSA.

Table 2. Performance

Measures Reporting Period
2012–2013
Reporting Period
2013–2014
Difference
Completion of Requests
Completion rate 83.05% 77.56% -5.49%
Completion Time
% of requests completed within 30 days 70.67% 76.86% 6.19%
Average number of days to complete a request 43.5 44.5 1
% of requests closed past statutory or extended deadline 11.93% 9.17% -2.76%
% of consultations from government institution completed within 30 days 68.47% 60.52% -7.95%
% of extensions of 30 days or less 53.68% 41.54% -12.14%
Level of Disclosure
% of pages processed that were disclosed 78.36% 75.60% -2.76%
% of requests completed for which the information was disclosed entirely 44.97% 54.60% 9.63%
% of pages disclosed entirely 8.36% 11.19% 2.83%
Exemptions/Exclusions
Number of exemptions/exclusions per request completed 1.02 1.06 0.04

Other activities – as reported in the Annual Report

CBSA’s ATIP Division developed a questionnaire aimed at obtaining feedback about internal processing of ATIP requests. Employees involved in the process of requests will be given an opportunity to provide comments and suggestions on the how to improve these processes.

The ATIP Division also organizes quarterly conference calls with the ATIP Liaison Officers in order to exchange information about best practices and issues/challenges encountered and build better relationship between them. These conference calls have proven to be useful in providing the ATIP Liaison Officers with the assistance required to perform their duties.

Performance of the ATIP Division and of the Offices of Primary Interest on the administration of the Access to Information Act is also monitored closely. The Agency’s Executive Committee is briefed on the overall performance on a quarterly basis and this information is also included in the Agency’s Performance Summary.

Complaints

In 2013–2014, a total of 106 new complaints were registered by the OICFootnote 6 against CBSA: 49 were related to administrative matters and 57 refusal complaints. This is an increase of 68.3% compared to 2012–2013 (63 new complaints).

As for the disposition of requests received in 2013–2014, 50 were well-founded, 21 settled, 13 not well-founded, 12 were discontinued and 10 were still pending.Footnote 7

Footnotes

Footnote 1

The Summaries of completed ATI requests available online shows that other requested information included: lists and information regarding seizures (drugs, alcoholic beverages, weapons, etc.) made at borders, specific data on specific activities at the border between the United States and Canada and briefing notes on various subjects.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

CBSA reports that it is working closely with Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) and Service Canada on a way to give them access to the CBSA database. This, it is expected, will reduce considerably the process of access to information requests for THRs.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Based on response to parliamentary written question Q-485.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The 2007–2008 OIC report card grading system was used to estimate the grade: A=0 to 5%, B=5 to 10%, C=10 to 15%, D=15% to 20%, F=more than 20%.

Return to first footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

The “other” reasons why an institution completed requests past their statutory deadline, according to the Treasury Board Secretariat’s Guide for the Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act, could be because of the unavailability of key officials, difficulties in obtaining relevant records, labour disputes, and lengthy power outages. The category “other” is defined as reasons other than workload and consultations.

Return to first footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

The numbers reported in this section are based on the OIC’s statistics. The information may not reflect the statistics reported by institutions due to the discrepancies in the methodology used.

Return to first footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

As of April 2015.

Return to first footnote 7 referrer

Agence des services frontaliers du Canada

L'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada (ASFC) fait partie du portefeuille de Sécurité publique Canada. L'organisme est chargé de fournir des services frontaliers afin de faciliter la libre circulation des personnes et des biens.

En 2013-2014, l'ASFC a montré dans l'ensemble des signes d'amélioration par rapport à la période de référence précédente, malgré une augmentation de sa charge de travail.

En 2013-2014, l'ASFC a reçu 4 671 demandesNote de bas de page 1, soit une hausse de 48,4 % par rapport à 2012-2013, année où l'Agence avait reçu 3 147 demandes. L'ASFC s'est également classée deuxième en termes de nombre de demandes reçues en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, celles-ci représentant près de 7,8 % du nombre total de demandes reçues à l'échelle pangouvernementale en 2013-2014. L'ASFC a traité 77,6 % de l'ensemble des demandes de son inventaire en 2013-2014 (comparativement à un taux de traitement de 70,7 % en 2012-2013).

La grande majorité (77,5 %) des demandes reçues par l'ASFC provenaient du public. Encore une fois, au cours de la présente période de référence, une proportion importante des demandes reçues (57,2 %) par l'ASFC provenaient de personnes qui désiraient obtenir un Rapport sur leurs antécédents de voyageNote de bas de page 2.

Comme le traitement de ce type de demandes n'est habituellement pas complexe, le volume de pages traitées par l'ASFC en 2013-2014 a été inférieur à celui traité en 2012-2013. Le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande a ainsi diminué de 112 à 101 pages. De plus, seulement 1,85 % des demandes complétées ont nécessité le traitement de 1 000 pages ou plus.

Tableau 1. Charge de travail

Mesures Période de référence
2012-2013
Période de référence
2013-2014
Écart
Nombre de demandes reçues 3 147 4 671 48,43 %
Nombre de consultations reçues (en provenance d'autres institutions gouvernementales) 366 282 -22,95 %
Nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée 112 101 -11
% de demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées 2,27 % 1,85 % -0,42 %
Note : Le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée et la proportion de demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées sont calculées à partir du total des demandes traitées pour lesquelles l'information a été communiquée (en entier ou en partie), des demandes exceptées ou exclues en entier et des demandes abandonnées. Cela exclut les demandes terminées pour les motifs suivants : absence de documents, demandes transférées ou traitement informel.

Délai de traitement

Environ 77 % des demandes complétées durant la période de référence l'ont été dans un délai de 30 jours ou moins (dont 12,7 % dans un délai inférieur à 15 jours), ce qui représente une amélioration notable par rapport aux résultats obtenus en 2012-2013 (71 %). Le délai moyen de traitement des demandes a été de 44,5 joursNote de bas de page 3.

L'ASFC a également été en mesure de réduire de 2,76 % la proportion des demandes dont le traitement a nécessité un délai supérieur au délai prévu par la Loi ou au délai prorogé, cette proportion étant passée de 11,93 % en 2012-2013 à 9,17 %. Ce pourcentage correspond à la note « B »Note de bas de page 4. Parmi les demandes en retard, environ 46 % accusaient un retard de 30 jours ou moins.

L'ASFC a invoqué la charge de travail (44,4 % des cas) et la catégorie « autres »Note de bas de page 5 (48,1 % des cas) comme motifs de retard.

Prorogations

En 2013-2014, l'ASFC a demandé 467 prorogations de délai, ce qui représente un ratio de 0,11 prorogation par demande complétée (comparativement à un ratio de 0,14 en 2012-2013). La plupart des prorogations prises en 2013-2014 visaient une période inférieure à 30 jours (41,5 %). Il s'agit là d'une baisse d'environ 12 % par rapport à 2012-2013.

Figure 1. Durée des prorogations (de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014)

Figure 1. Durée des prorogations (de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014)

Version texte

La figure 1 est un graphique à bandes verticales, représentant le délai des prorogations prises par l’ASFC durant chacune des périodes de référence de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Période de référence 30 jours ou moins 31-60 jours 61-120 jours 121-180 jours 181-365 jours Plus de 365 jours
2011-2012 48,18 % 33,07 % 14,58 % 2,86 % 1,04 % 0,26 %
2012-2013 53,68 % 25,98 % 17,16 % 2,45 % 0,25 % 0,49 %
2013-2014 41,54 % 32,55 % 18,42 % 6,21 % 1,07 % 0,21 %
 

Environ 65 % des prorogations concernaient la tenue de consultations en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)b) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. La proportion des prorogations prises en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)a) (entrave au fonctionnement de l'institution) a, quant à elle, diminué de 6 % entre 2012-2013 et 2013-2014.

Divulgation

Parmi les 4 079 demandes complétées en 2013-2014, 54,6 % ont donné lieu à la communication totale des documents, comparativement à un taux de 45 % en 2012-2013. Il s'agit d'une amélioration considérable qui s'explique en partie par le grand nombre de demandes concernant les rapports sur les antécédents de voyage.

La plupart des pages traitées (75,6 %) en 2013-2014 ont été communiquées, ce qui représente un pourcentage comparable à celui de l'exercice précédent. En revanche, seule une faible proportion des pages communiquées (11,2 %) l'ont été en entier.

Exceptions/exclusions

En 2013-2014, il y a eu environ 1,06 exceptions ou exclusions par demande complétée. En 2012-2013, la proportion avait été de 1,02.

Les exceptions les plus fréquentes durant l'exercice 2013-2014 ont été celles prises en vertu de l'article 19 (1 164), de l'alinéa 16(1)c) (823) et de l'alinéa 16(2)c) (400). Ces trois exceptions ont représenté environ 56 % de toutes les exceptions invoquées par l'ASFC.

Tableau 2. Rendement

Mesures Période de référence
2012-2013
Période de référence
2013-2014
Écart
Traitement des demandes
Taux de traitement 83,05 % 77,56 % -5,49 %
Délai de traitement
% des demandes complétées dans un délai de 30 jours 70,67 % 76,86 % 6,19 %
Nombre moyen de jours pour le traitement des demandes 43,5 44,5 1
% des demandes complétées après le délai prévu par la Loi ou le délai prorogé 11,93 % 9,17 % -2,76
% des consultations provenant d'une institution gouvernementale complétées dans un délai de 30 jours 68,47 % 60,52 % -7,95 %
% des prorogations de 30 jours ou moins 53,68 % 41,54 % -12,14 %
Niveau de divulgation
% des pages traitées qui ont été communiquées 78,36 % 75,60 % -2,76 %
% des demandes complétées dont les documents ont été communiqués en entier 44,97 % 54,60 % 9,63 %
% des pages communiquées en entier 8,36 % 11,19 % 2,83 %
Exceptions/exclusions
Nombre d'exceptions ou d'exclusions par demande complétée 1,02 1,06 0,04

Autres activités - selon l'information contenue dans le Rapport annuel

La Division de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) de l'ASFC a élaboré un questionnaire ayant pour but de recueillir des renseignements sur le traitement interne des demandes d'accès à l'information. Les employés qui participent au traitement des demandes auront l'occasion de formuler des commentaires et des suggestions sur les moyens d'améliorer ces processus.

La Division organise également des conférences téléphoniques trimestrielles avec les agents de liaison de l'AIPRP pour échanger de l'information sur les pratiques exemplaires, les enjeux et les défis et pour améliorer les relations entre eux. Ces conférences téléphoniques se sont révélées utiles pour aider les agents de liaison de l'AIPRP dans l'exécution de leurs fonctions.

Le rendement de la Division de l'AIPRP et des bureaux de première responsabilité relativement à l'administration de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information est aussi suivi de près. Le comité exécutif de l'ASFC est informé du rendement global sur une base trimestrielle, et cette information est également incluse dans le Sommaire du rendement de l'Agence.

Plaintes

En 2013-2014, 106 nouvelles plaintes ont été déposées au CommissariatNote de bas de page 6 contre l'ASFC : 49 portaient sur des questions administratives et 57 consistaient en des plaintes de refus. Il s'agit d'une augmentation de 68,3 % par rapport à 2012-2013 (63 nouvelles plaintes).

Pour ce qui est du règlement des plaintes reçues en 2013-2014, 50 étaient fondées, 21 ont été réglées, 13 n'étaient pas fondées, 12 ont été discontinuées et 10 sont toujours en cours de traitementNote de bas de page 7.

Note de bas de pages

Note de bas de page 1

Selon les résumés des demandes d'accès à l'information traitées, disponibles en ligne, les autres demandes d'information ont notamment porté sur les sujets suivants : listes et renseignements concernant les saisies (drogues, boissons alcoolisées, armes, etc.) réalisées aux postes frontaliers, données précises sur certaines activités menées à la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis et notes d'information sur différents sujets.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

L'ASFC dit travailler en étroite collaboration avec Citoyenneté et Immigration Canada et Service Canada afin de trouver un moyen de leur donner accès à sa base de données. Cela devrait permettre de réduire sensiblement le traitement de demandes d'accès à l'information concernant les rapports sur les antécédents de voyage.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

D'après la réponse à la question parlementaire écrite Q-485.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Le système de notation de la fiche de rendement du Commissariat à l'information du Canada 2007-2008 a été utilisé pour déterminer les notes : A = de 0 à 5 %, B = de 5 à 10 %, C = de 10 à 15 %, D = de 15 à 20 %, F = plus de 20 %.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

D'après le Rapport statistique sur la Loi sur l'accès à l'information du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, les « autres » motifs expliquant que l'institution a traité les demandes après le délai prévu par la Loi peuvent être l’absence de fonctionnaires clés, les difficultés entourant l’obtention des documents pertinents, les conflits de travail et les pannes d’électricité prolongées. La catégorie « autres » contient des motifs autres que la charge de travail et les consultations.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Les chiffres rapportés dans cette section sont basés sur les statistiques du Commissariat. Des différences peuvent être notées avec l’information rapportée par les institutions, puisque la méthodologie employée diffère.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

En date d'avril 2015.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7