Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada

Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC) is responsible for meeting the Government of Canada’s obligations and commitments to First Nations, Inuit and Métis, and for fulfilling the federal government’s constitutional responsibilities in the North.

AANDC received 14% fewer requests in 2013–2014 compared to the previous reporting period. The average number of pages processed per request also went down by 90 pages. Despite these decreases, AANDC‘s performance was somewhat lower compared to 2012–2013, even though the institution was able to respond to all completed requests within statutory or extended timelines.

Amongst all of the requests in its inventory (657), AANDC completed 586 requests in 2013–2014, which is a completion rate of 89.2% (compared to 85.2% in 2012–2013).

The media was the primary source of requests received in 2013–2014 (41.2%). The proportion of requests received from members of the public was down from 59.6% in 2012–2013 to 38% in 2013–2014. According to the AANDC’s annual report, journalists mostly requested records related to high-profile topics.Footnote 1

AANDC also processed 82 requests of previously released ATI packages.

Table 1. Workload

Measures Reporting Period
2012–2013
Reporting Period
2013–2014
Difference
Number of requests received 648 556 -14.20%
Number of consultations received (from other government institutions) 209 168 -19.62%
Average number of pages processed per request completed 801 711 -90
% of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed 11.07% 13.82% 2.75%
Note: The average number of pages processed per request completed and the percentage of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed are calculated from the total of requests completed for which the information was disclosed (in part or totally), exempted/excluded and for requests abandoned. It excludes requests completed for the following dispositions: no records exist, requests transferred and requests treated informally.

In terms of volume of pages processed, 13.8% of requests (63) required processing 1,000 pages or more, compared to 11.07% in 2012–2013. About half of the requests completed required processing 100 pages or fewer.

As for the complexity of requests, 189 of the requests completed required consultations and 15 required assessing fees. There was also a significant number of requests (252) that were included in the “other” category in terms of complexity.Footnote 2

Timeliness

Approximately 63% of the requests completed in 2013–2014 were completed within 30 days, which represents a small decrease compared to the proportion achieved in 2012–2013 (69%). Of these, 45% were for requests that yielded no records or were abandoned. The percentage of requests completed in more than 120 days doubled compared to the previous year, from 7.2% in 2012–2013 to 14.5% in 2013–2014.

These results are consistent with the response given to a parliamentary question, which shows that the average time to complete a request increased from 47 days in 2012–2013 to 53 days in 2013–2014.Footnote 3

However, AANDC was able to complete them all within their statutory or extended deadline. As such, for the second consecutive year, there were no requests completed past the statutory or extended deadline in 2013–2014 which earned AANDC an “A” grade.Footnote 4 AANDC reports that it has responded to all requests on time since the second quarter of 2011–2012.

Extensions

Despite completing fewer requests in 2013–2014 than in 2012–2013, AANDC took 12.7% more extensions. These extensions also tended to be for more than 30 days, as only 2.3% of extensions taken in 2013–2014 were for 30 days or less.

Figure 1. Length of extensions (2011–2012 to 2013–2014)

Figure 1. Length of extensions (2011–2012 to 2013–2014)

Text version

Figure 1 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the length of extensions taken by AANDC during each reporting period between 2011–2012 and 2013–2014. The results are as follows:

Reporting period 30 days or less 31-60 days 61-120 days 121-180 days 181-365 days More than 365 days
2011–2012 14.40% 23.35% 17.51% 38.91% 4.28% 1.56%
2012–2013 8.47% 39.15% 39.68% 3.17% 8.47% 1.06%
2013–2014 2.38% 21.43% 46.19% 9.05% 20.95% 0.00%
 

More than half of the extensions (141 extensions or 66.2%) taken in 2013–2014 were under section 9(1)(b) (consultation). This is similar to the proportion from the previous reporting period (53.4% in 2012–2013). Of these, 42.6% were to consult on Cabinet confidences. Based on a new table in this reporting period’s statistical report, it took more than 61 days to receive a response in all but two consultations.

Disclosure

Of the requests completed in 2013–2014, 19.8% were disclosed entirely, which represents a decrease compared to 2012–2013. This is also lower than the government-wide disclosure rate of 26.9%.

While AANDC disclosed a higher proportion of the pages it processed in 2013–2014 (38.8% compared to 31.5% in 2012–2013), this proportion is still below the government-wide average of 53.4%.

In 19.5% of requests, AANDC responded that no records existed (an increase of 3% compared to 2012–2013). In comparison, 10.5% of requests completed government-wide resulted in no records in 2013–2014.

Exemptions/Exclusions

AANDC mentioned that the government operations exemption under subsection 21(1) of the Act was used to withhold information 205 times in 2013–2014.

Section 19 (protection of personal information) and subsection 20(1) (protection of certain third party information) were also used 191 and 147 times, respectively.

In general, more exemptions were applied in 2013–2014 (775) than in 2012–2013 (631) for fewer requests.

Table 2. Performance

Measures Reporting Period
2012–2013
Reporting Period
2013–2014
Difference
Completion of Requests
Completion rate 85.23% 89.19% 3.96%
Completion Time
% of requests completed within 30 days 69.18% 62.97% 16.09%
Average number of days to complete a request 47 53 6
% of requests closed past statutory or extended deadline 0 0 N/A
% of consultations from government institution completed within 30 days 94.95% 96.95% 2%
% of extensions of 30 days or less 8.47% 2.35% -6.12%
Level of Disclosure
% of pages processed that were disclosed 31.54% 38.75% 7.21%
% of requests completed for which the information was disclosed entirely 26.48% 19.80% -6.68%
% of pages disclosed entirely 13.87% 10.07% -3.80%
Exemptions/Exclusions
Number of exemptions/exclusions per request completed 1.14 1.50 0.36

Other activities

Since finding trained and qualified employees has proven to be a challenge for ATIP offices, AANDC took the lead and launched three staffing processes opened to the general public in order to create pools that could be used by all ATIP offices across the government. One of the processes was also jointly chaired by Industry Canada.

Complaints

In 2013–2014, 60 complaints were registered against AANDC.Footnote 5 As of April 2015, 26 of them were still pending, 19 were well-founded, 6 not well-founded, 8 were discontinued and 1 was settled. Most of them were refusal complaints (48 complaints; 80%).

In comparison, the OIC received 45 complaints against AANDC in 2012–2013.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

While AANDC did not specify the subjects of the requests made, a review of the summaries of completed ATI requests online via the www.open.canada.ca website revealed that themes of requested information included: Indian residential schools, the new Qalipu Band in Newfoundland, funding for First Nations Child and Family Services, Nutrition North Canada program, Idle No More movement, the Giant Mine and the First Nation Education Act.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

According to Treasury Board Secretariat’s Guide for the Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act, the category “other” could include the following: requests for the contents of a database, requests to process audio or video recordings, high profile subject matter, cases where records are in a region or other country, and cases where the records are in a language other than English or French.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Based on response to parliamentary written question Q-485.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The 2007–2008 OIC report card grading system was used to estimate the grade: A=0 to 5%, B= 5 to 10%, C=10 to 15%, D=15% to 20%, F=more than 20%.

Return to first footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

The numbers reported in this section are based on the OIC’s statistics. The information may not reflect the statistics reported by institutions due to the discrepancies in the methodology used.

Return to first footnote 5 referrer

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada (AADNC) est responsable du respect des obligations et engagements du gouvernement du Canada envers les Premières Nations, les Inuits et les Métis, ainsi que de l'exercice des responsabilités constitutionnelles du gouvernement dans le Nord.

En 2013-2014, AADNC a reçu 14 % moins de demandes qu'au cours de la période de référence précédente. De même, le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande a diminué de 90 pages. Malgré ces baisses, le rendement d'AADNC a quelque peu diminué par rapport à 2012-2013, bien que le Ministère ait été en mesure de répondre à la totalité des demandes complétées dans les délais prévus par la Loi ou les délais prorogés autorisés.

Parmi toutes les demandes de son inventaire (657), AADNC en a complété 586 en 2013-2014, soit un taux de traitement de 89,2 % (comparativement à 85,2 % en 2012-2013).

En 2013-2014, les demandes sont venues principalement des médias (41,2 %). La proportion de demandes reçues du public a diminué, passant de 59,6 % en 2012-2013 à 38 % en 2013-2014. Selon le rapport annuel d'AADNC, les demandes des journalistes ont porté pour la plupart sur des documents liés à des questions hautement médiatiséesNote de bas de page 1.

AADNC a également traité 82 demandes concernant des trousses d'accès à l'information déjà publiées.

Tableau 1. Charge de travail

Mesures Période de référence
2012-2013
Période de référence
2013-2014
Écart
Nombre de demandes reçues 648 556 -14,20 %
Nombre de consultations reçues (en provenance d'autres institutions gouvernementales) 209 168 -19,62 %
Nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée 801 711 -90
% de demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées 11,07 % 13,82 % 2,75 %
Note : Le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée et la proportion de demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées sont calculées à partir du total des demandes traitées pour lesquelles l'information a été communiquée (en entier ou en partie), des demandes exceptées ou exclues en entier et des demandes abandonnées. Cela exclut les demandes terminées pour les motifs suivants : absence de documents, demandes transférées ou traitement informel.

En matière de volume de pages traitées, 13,8 % des demandes (63) ont nécessité le traitement de 1 000 pages ou plus, par comparaison à un taux de 11,07 % en 2012-2013. Environ la moitié des demandes ont nécessité le traitement de 100 pages ou moins.

Quant à la complexité des demandes, 189 demandes traitées ont nécessité des consultations et 15, une évaluation des coûts. À cela s'ajoute un nombre considérable de demandes (252) qui ont été incluses dans la catégorie « autres » pour ce qui est de leur complexitéNote de bas de page 2.

Délai de traitement

Environ 63 % des demandes complétées en 2013-2014 l'ont été dans un délai de 30 jours, ce qui représente un léger recul par rapport à 2012-2013 (69 %). De ce nombre, 45 % des demandes n'ont produit aucun document ou ont été abandonnées. Le pourcentage de demandes complétées dans un délai supérieur à 120 jours a doublé par rapport à l'exercice précédent, passant de 7,2 % en 2012-2013 à 14,5 % en 2013-2014.

Ces résultats sont compatibles avec la réponse donnée à la question parlementaire, selon laquelle le délai moyen de traitement des demandes a augmenté, passant de 47 jours en 2012-2013 à 53 jours en 2013-2014Note de bas de page 3.

AADNC a toutefois été en mesure de terminer le traitement de toutes ses demandes dans le délai prévu par la Loi ou le délai prorogé. Par conséquent, pour une deuxième année consécutive, aucune demande n'a été traitée dans un délai dépassant le délai prévu par la Loi ou le délai prorogé, ce qui a permis à AADNC d'obtenir la note « A » pour l'exercice 2013-2014Note de bas de page 4. AADNC affirme avoir répondu à toutes les demandes dans les délais prévus depuis le deuxième trimestre de 2011-2012.

Prorogations

En plus de régler moins de demandes en 2013-2014 qu'en 2012-2013, AADNC a utilisé 12,7 % plus de prorogations de délai. Ces prorogations ont eu tendance à porter sur des périodes de plus de 30 jours, seulement 2,3 % des prorogations en 2013-2014 ayant porté sur des périodes de 30 jours ou moins.

Figure 1. Durée des prorogations (de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014)

Figure 1. Durée des prorogations (de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014)

 Version texte

La figure 1 est un graphique à bandes verticales, représentant le délai des prorogations prises par AADNC durant chacune des périodes de référence de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Période de référence 30 jours ou moins 31-60 jours 61-120 jours 121-180 jours 181-365 jours Plus de 365 jours
2011-2012 14,40 % 23,35 % 17,51 % 38,91 % 4,28 % 1,56 %
2012-2013 8,47 % 39,15 % 39,68 % 3,17 % 8,47 % 1,06 %
2013-2014 2,38 % 21,43 % 46,19 % 9,05 % 20,95 % 0,00 %
 

En 2013-2014, plus de la moitié des prorogations (141 prorogations ou 66,2 %) ont été prises en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)b) (consultation). Il s'agit d'un pourcentage comparable à celui observé durant la période de référence précédente (53,4 % en 2012-2013). De ce nombre, 42,6 % concernaient des consultations au sujet de documents confidentiels du Cabinet. D'après un nouveau tableau extrait du rapport statistique pour cette période de référence, il a fallu plus de 61 jours pour obtenir une réponse dans tous les cas de consultation, sauf deux.

Divulgation

Parmi les demandes traitées en 2013-2014, il y a eu communication totale des documents dans 19,8 % des cas, ce qui représente une diminution par rapport à 2012-2013. Ce pourcentage est également inférieur au taux de communication pangouvernemental (26,9 %).

Bien qu'AADNC ait communiqué un pourcentage plus élevé des pages traitées en 2013-2014 (38,8 %, comparativement à 31,5 % en 2012-2013), cette proportion demeure inférieure à la moyenne à l'échelle du gouvernement (53,4 %).

AADNC a indiqué qu'aucun document n'existait pour 19,5 % des demandes reçues (une hausse de 3 % par rapport à 2012-2013). En comparaison, 10,5 % des demandes traitées à l'échelle pangouvernementale n'ont produit aucun document en 2013-2014.

Exceptions/exclusions

AADNC a déclaré que l'exception touchant les activités du gouvernement, prévue au paragraphe 21(1) de la Loi, a été invoquée pour justifier le refus de communiquer l'information à 205 reprises en 2013-2014.

L'article 19 (protection de renseignements personnels) et le paragraphe 20(1) (protection de renseignements de tiers) ont également été invoqués, respectivement 191 et 147 fois.

Dans l'ensemble, plus d'exceptions ont été appliquées en 2013-2014 (775) qu'en 2012-2013 (631), malgré le nombre moins élevé de demandes.

Tableau 2. Rendement

Mesures Période de référence 2012-2013 Période de référence 2013-2014 Écart
Traitement des demandes
Taux de traitement 85,23 % 89,19 % 3,96 %
Délai de traitement
% des demandes complétées dans un délai de 30 jours 69,18 % 62,97 % 16,09 %
Nombre moyen de jours pour le traitement des demandes 47 53 6
% des demandes complétées après le délai prévu par la Loi ou le délai prorogé 0 0 S.O.
% des consultations provenant d'une institution gouvernementale complétées dans un délai de 30 jours 94,95 % 96,95 % 2 %
% des prorogations de 30 jours ou moins 8,47 % 2,35 % -6,12 %
Niveau de divulgation
% des pages traitées qui ont été communiquées 31,54 % 38,75 % 7,21 %
% des demandes complétées dont les documents ont été communiqués en entier 26,48 % 19,80 % -6,68 %
% des pages communiquées en entier 13,87 % 10,07 % -3,80 %
Exceptions/exclusions
Nombre d'exceptions ou d'exclusions par demande complétée 1,14 1,50 0,36

Autres activités

Comme il était difficile pour les bureaux de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) de trouver du personnel formé et qualifié, AADNC a pris les devants et lancé trois processus de dotation ouverts au public, afin de constituer des bassins d'employés qui pourraient être affectés aux bureaux de l’AIPRP de l'ensemble de l'administration fédérale. L'un de ces processus a été mise en place conjointement avec Industrie Canada.

Plaintes

En 2013-2014, 60 plaintes ont été déposées contre AADNCNote de bas de page 5. En date d'avril 2015, 26 de ces plaintes étaient toujours en suspens; 19 étaient fondées et six n'étaient pas fondées; 8 plaintes ont été discontinuées et une a été réglée. Il s'agissait, dans la plupart des cas, de plaintes de refus (48 plaintes, soit 80 %).

En 2012-2013, le Commissariat à l'information du Canada avait reçu 45 plaintes contre AADNC.

Note de bas de pages

Note de bas de page 1

Bien qu'AADNC n'ait pas précisé l'objet des demandes reçues, un examen des résumés des demandes d'accès à l'information traitées, disponibles en ligne sur le site Web www.ouvert.canada.ca/fr, indique que les demandes ont notamment porté sur les thèmes suivants : pensionnats indiens, reconnaissance de la nouvelle bande Qalipu de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, financement du Programme des services à l'enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations, programme Nutrition Nord Canada, mouvement Idle No More, mine Giant et Loi sur le contrôle par les premières nations de leurs systèmes d'éducation.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Selon le Rapport statistique sur la Loi sur l’accès à l'information du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, la catégorie « autres » pourrait comprendre ce qui suit : demandes concernant le contenu d'une base de données, des enregistrements audio ou vidéo, des sujets à haute visibilité, des documents conservés dans une région ou un autre pays ou des documents dans une autre langue que le français ou l'anglais.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

D'après la réponse à la question parlementaire écrite Q-485.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Le système de notation de la fiche de rendement du Commissariat à l'information du Canada 2007-2008 a été utilisé pour déterminer les notes : A = de 0 à 5 %, B = de 5 à 10 %, C = de 10 à 15 %, D = de 15 à 20 %, F = plus de 20 %.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Les chiffres rapportés dans cette section sont basés sur les statistiques du Commissariat. Des différences peuvent être notées avec l’information rapportée par les institutions, puisque la méthodologie employée diffère.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5