National Defence

The Department of National Defence (DND) complements the role of the Canadian Forces and is responsible for policy, resources, interdepartmental coordination and international defence relations. The Canadian Forces command, control and administer all military strategies, plans and requirements.

In 2013–2014, DND received 2,231 requests, an increase of 9.2% compared to 2012–2013 (2,044 requests). DND was also the fourth institution in terms of requests received in 2013–2014, representing close to 4% of all requests received. In general, DND’s performance in 2013–2014 was below government-wide results, especially in terms of timeliness.

DND completed 79.8% of all requests in its inventory in 2013–2014, which is similar to the completion rate achieved in 2012–2013 (79.98%). National Defence started the reporting period 2013–2014 with a larger carryover of requests (550 requests). Despite completing about 21% more requests in 2013–2014 (and receiving 19.4% less consultation requests), 562 requests were carried over to 2014–2015.

The average time to complete a request was 79.9 days in 2013–2014, an increase of nearly 17 days compared to the average achieved in 2012–2013.Footnote 1

Just over half of the requests received in 2013–2014 came from the media (1,105 or 49.5%), followed by the public (594 or 26.6%). Similar proportions were observed in 2012–2013.

Table 1. Workload

Measures Reporting Period 2012–2013 Reporting Period 2013–2014 Difference
Number of requests received 2,044 2,231 9.15%
Number of consultations received (from other government institutions) 489 394 -19.43%
Average number of pages processed per request completed 104 123 19
% of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed 1.58% 2.52% 0.94%
Note: The average number of pages processed per request completed and the percentage of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed are calculated from the total of requests completed for which the information was disclosed (in part or totally), exempted/excluded and for requests abandoned. It excludes requests completed for the following dispositions: no records exist, requests transferred and requests treated informally.

The volume of pages processed increased from 156,813 pages in 2012–2013 to 234,134 in 2013–2014, representing a 49% increase. In general, requests closed in 2013–2014 required processing a higher volume of pages. The average number of pages processed per request went up by 19 pages, from 104 pages per request in 2012–2013 to 123 in 2013–2014.

Timeliness

DND responded to 922 requests within 30 days or less, which represents 41.6% of all requests completed in 2013–2014. This is low compared to the government-wide proportion (61%). The proportion of requests completed after more than 120 days was also higher in 2013–2014 (21.6%) when compared to the previous reporting period (13.3%).

The proportion of requests closed past the statutory or extended deadline also increased in 2013–2014 as compared to 2012–2013, from 5.8% to 9.4% (94.3% of late requests were extended requests). This rate represents a “B” grade.Footnote 2

Workload was invoked as the principal reason for not meeting statutory deadlines (38.3% of the time).

Additionally, a higher proportion of requests closed past statutory deadlines were late by more than 120 days in 2013–2014 (30.6%) compared to 2012–2013 (28%).

Extensions

DND took 1,462 extensions to complete 2,219 requests in 2013–2014. This represents a ratio of 0.66 extension per request. This ratio is similar to that of the previous year but is well above the government-wide ratio.

About half of the extensions (56.5%) in 2013–2014 were taken under section 9(1)(a) (interference with operations). This proportion was similar in 2012–2013. Although DND indicates that the use of 9(1)(a) result from an increase in workload combined with available resources, the Act provides that institutions may extend the 30-day time limit under this section to respond to a request if it is for a large number of records or necessitates a search through a large number of records and meeting the original time limit would unreasonably interfere with the operations of the institution. Based on the statistical report, only 48 requests required the processing of more than 1,000 pages.Footnote 3

Extensions of 30 days or less accounted for about 39.9% of all extensions taken (an increase of 5% compared to 2012–2013). Extensions taken for consultations under paragraph 9(1)(b) were for longer periods, with 75.79% of them being for more than 60 days (similar finding observed in 2012–2013).

Figure 1. Length of extensions (2011–2012 to 2013–2014)

Figure 1. Length of extensions (2011–2012 to 2013–2014)

Text version

Figure 1 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the length of extensions taken by DND during each reporting period between 2011–2012 and 2013–2014. The results are as follows:

Reporting period 30 days or less 31-60 days 61-120 days 121-180 days 181-365 days More than 365 days
2011–2012 30.37% 15.93% 25.45% 16.78% 11.16% 0.31%
2012–2013 32.97% 21.21% 19.30% 18.56% 7.95% 0.00%
2013–2014 39.95% 22.71% 16.28% 18.95% 2.05% 0.07%
 

Disclosure

Of the 2,219 requests completed, 24.3% resulted in full disclosure of the information requested (an improvement from 19.25% in 2012–2013). While the proportion of pages processed that were disclosed went down in 2013–2014 (from 86.8% to 79.2%), it was still significantly above the government-wide proportion (40.2%).

Exemptions/Exclusions

In 2013–2014, a total of 2,864 exemptions and 445 exclusions were applied to complete 2,219 requests, a proportion of 1.49 exemptions/exclusions per request completed. In 2012–2013, this proportion was of 1.27.

The top exemptions in 2013–2014 were: international affairs/defence (728 requests), operations of government (617 requests) and personal information (539 requests). This is similar to 2012–2013.

Table 2. Performance

Measures Reporting Period
2012–2013
Reporting Period
2013–2014
Difference
Completion of Requests
Completion rate 76.98% 79.79% 2.81%
Completion Time
% of requests completed within 30 days 48.29% 41.55% -6.74%
Average number of days to complete a request 63.1 79.9 16.8
% of requests closed past statutory or extended deadline 5.82% 9.42% 3.6%
% of consultations from government institution completed within 30 days 49.79% 49.88% 0.09%
% of extensions of 30 days or less 32.97% 39.95% 6.98%
Level of Disclosure
% of pages processed that were disclosed 86.76% 79.16% -7.60%
% of requests completed for which the information was disclosed entirely 19.25% 24.29% 5.04%
% of pages disclosed entirely 23.26% 17.81% -5.45%
Exemptions/Exclusions
Number of exemptions/exclusions per request completed 1.27 1.49 0.22

Other activities

In 2013–2014, DND’s ATIP office conducted Business Process reviews in order to streamline ATIP processes, identify and eliminate duplicates and locate areas of improvement. Final results of changes made following this process should become apparent in 2014–2015.

DND also worked on a new Defence Administrative Order and Directive which, once approved and implemented, will provide direction on the administration of the Act.

The ATIP office also monitors ATI-related activities on a monthly basis. The ATIP coordinator receives updates on various indicators, such as the number of requests completed and the number of complaints received during the specific month. It then provides information to the Corporate Secretary every quarter.

Complaints

The number of complaints against DNDFootnote 4 increased by 65.3% in 2013–2014 (119 complaints) compared to the previous reporting period (72 complaints).

Most of them (78) were refusal complaints (65.5%). This is proportionally similar to 2012–2013 (72 or 63.9%).

A total of 37 complaints received in 2013–2014 were resolved as well founded, 26 were settled and 14 were not well-founded. An additional 23 complaints were discontinued, while 19 were still pending as of April 2015.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Based on response to parliamentary written question Q-485.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The 2007–2008 OIC report card system was used to estimate a grade: A= 0 to 5%; B= 5 to 10%; C= 10 to 15%; D=15 to 20%, F= more than 20%.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The OIC’s Advisory Notice on Time Extensions Pursuant to Paragraph 9(1)(a)of the Access to Information Act indicates that the OIC normally considers 1,000 pages of records or more as a benchmark for what constitutes a large number. The data on the volume of pages searched per request is not available.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The numbers reported in this section are based on the OIC’s statistics. The information may not reflect the statistics reported by institutions due to the discrepancies in the methodology used.

Return to first footnote 4 referrer

Défense nationale

Le ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN), qui complète le rôle des Forces canadiennes, est responsable des politiques, des ressources, de la coordination interministérielle et des relations internationales en matière de défense. Les Forces canadiennes assument la responsabilité du commandement, du contrôle et de l'administration de la stratégie, des plans et des exigences militaires.

En 2013-2014, le MDN a reçu 2 231 demandes, ce qui représente une hausse de 9,2 % par rapport à 2012-2013 (2 044 demandes). Le MDN était aussi l'institution classée au quatrième rang en matière de demandes reçues en 2013-2014, représentant près de 4 % de l'ensemble des demandes reçues. De façon générale, le rendement du MDN en 2013-2014 était inférieur aux résultats pangouvernementaux, particulièrement en matière de délai de traitement des demandes.

Le MDN a complété 79,8 % de l'ensemble des demandes de son inventaire en 2013-2014, ce qui est similaire au taux de traitement atteint en 2012-2013 (79,98 %). La Défense nationale a commencé la période de référence 2013-2014 avec un arriéré important (550 demandes). Bien que le ministère ait complété environ 21 %  plus de demandes en 2013-2014 et qu'il ait connu une baisse de 19,4 % du nombre de demandes de consultation, 562 demandes ont été reportées à la période de référence 2014-2015.

Le délai moyen de traitement des demandes a été de 79,9 jours en 2013-2014, une hausse de près de 17 jours par rapport à la moyenne atteinte en 2012-2013Note de bas de page 1.

Un peu plus de la moitié des demandes reçues en 2013-2014 provenait des médias (1 105 ou 49,5 %), suivies des demandes du public (594 ou 31,9 %). On a observé des proportions similaires en 2012-2013.

Tableau 1. Charge de travail

Mesures Période de référence
2012-2013
Période de référence
2013-2014
Écart
Nombre de demandes reçues 2 044 2 231 9,15 %
Nombre de consultations reçues (en provenance d'autres institutions fédérales) 489 394 -19,43 %
Nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée 104 123 19
% de demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées 1,58 % 2,52 % 0,94 %
Note : Le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée et la proportion de demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées sont calculées à partir du total des demandes complétées pour lesquelles l'information a été communiquée (en entier ou en partie), des demandes exceptées ou exclues en entier et des demandes abandonnées. Cela exclut les demandes complétées pour les motifs suivants : absence de documents, demandes transférées ou traitement informel.

Le volume de pages traitées a augmenté, passant de 156 813 pages en 2012-2013 à 234 134 en 2013-2014, soit une hausse de 49 %. En général, les demandes complétées en 2013-2014 ont nécessité le traitement d'un volume de pages plus élevé. Le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande a augmenté de 19 pages, passant de 104 pages par demande en  2012-2013 à 123 en 2013-2014.

Délai de traitement

Le MDN a répondu à 922 demandes dans un délai de 30 jours ou moins, ce qui représente 41,6 % du nombre total de demandes complétées en 2012-2013. Ce chiffre est faible par rapport à la proportion pangouvernementale (61 %). Le nombre de demandes complétées après plus de 120 jours était aussi supérieur en 2013-2014 (21,6 %) par rapport à la période de référence précédente (13,3 %).

La proportion des demandes complétées après l'échéance prévue ou le délai prorogé a aussi augmenté en 2013-2014 par rapport à 2012-2013, passant de 5,8 % à 9,4 % (94,3 % des demandes en retard étaient des demandes prorogées). Cette proportion donne une note de « B »Note de bas de page 2.

La charge de travail a été indiquée comme raison principale justifiant le non-respect des échéances prescrites ou prorogées (dans 38,3 % des cas).

De plus, une proportion plus élevée de demandes complétées après les échéances avait un retard de plus de 120 jours en 2013-2014 (30,6 %) par rapport à 2012-2013 (28 %).

Prorogations

Il a fallu au MDN 1 462 prorogations de délai pour compléter 2 219 demandes en 2013-2014. Cela représente une proportion de 0,66 prorogation de délai par demande. Cette proportion est comparable à celle de l'exercice précédent, mais elle est largement supérieure à la moyenne pangouvernementale.

Près de la moitié des prorogations de délai (56,5 %) en 2013-2014 ont été requises en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)a) (interférence avec les activités). Cette proportion était semblable en 2012-2013. Même si le MDN souligne que le recours à l'alinéa 9(1)a) est attribuable à une augmentation de la charge de travail combinée à la disponibilité des ressources, la Loi stipule que les institutions peuvent proroger la limite des 30 jours en vertu de cet alinéa pour répondre à une demande qui concerne un grand nombre de documents ou qui nécessite une recherche à travers un grand nombre de documents et que l’observation du délai imparti entraverait de façon sérieuse le fonctionnement de l’institution. Selon le rapport statistique, seulement 48 demandes ont nécessité le traitement de plus de 1 000 pagesNote de bas de page 3.

Les prorogations de délai de 30 jours ou moins représentaient quelque 39,9 % de toutes les prorogations de délai qui ont été requises (une hausse de 5 % par rapport à 2012-2013). Les prorogations de délai requises pour des consultations en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)b) étaient pour de plus longues périodes : 75,79 % d'entre elles dépassaient 60 jours (un résultat similaire a été observé en 2012-2013).

Figure 1. Durée des prorogations (de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014)

Figure 1. Durée des prorogations (de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014)

 Version texte

La figure 1 est un graphique à bandes verticales, représentant le délai des prorogations prises par MDN durant chacune des périodes de référence de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Période de référence 30 jours ou moins 31-60 jours 61-120 jours 121-180 jours 181-365 jours Plus de 365 jours
2011-2012 30,37 % 15,93 % 25,45 % 16,78 % 11,16 % 0,31 %
2012-2013 32,97 % 21,21 % 19,30 % 18,56 % 7,95 % 0,00 %
2013-2014 39,95 % 22,71 % 16,28 % 18,95 % 2,05 % 0,07 %
 

Divulgation

Des 2 219 demandes traitées, 24,3 % ont entraîné la communication entière des renseignements demandés (une amélioration par rapport au taux de 19,25 % en 2012-2013). Bien que la proportion de pages traitées qui ont été communiquées ait diminué en 2013-2014 (de 86,8 % à 79,2 %), c'est beaucoup plus que la moyenne pangouvernementale (40,2 %).

Exceptions et exclusions

En 2013-2014, un total de 2 864 exceptions et de 445 exclusions ont été appliquées pour compléter 2 219 demandes, ce qui représente un taux de 1,49 exceptions/exclusions par demande complétée. En 2012-2013, ce taux était de 1,27.

Les exceptions importantes en 2013-2014 ont été : les affaires internationales ou la défense (728 fois), les activités du gouvernement (617 fois) et les renseignements personnels (539 fois). Ces chiffres sont similaires à ceux de 2012-2013.

Tableau 2. Rendement

Mesures Période de référence 2012-2013 Période de référence 2013-2014 Écart
Traitement des demandes
Taux de traitement 76,98 % 79,79 % 2,81 %
Délai de traitement
% des demandes complétées dans un délai de 30 jours 48,29 % 41,55 % -6,74 %
Nombre moyen de jours pour le traitement des demandes 63,1 79,9 16,8
% des demandes complétées après le délai prescrit ou prorogé 5,82 % 9,42 % 3,6 %
% des consultations provenant d'une institution fédérale complétées dans un délai de 30 jours 49,79 % 49,88 % 0,09 %
% des prorogations de 30 jours ou moins 32,97 % 39,95 % 6,98 %
Niveau de divulgation
% des pages traitées qui ont été communiquées 86,76 % 79,16 % -7,60 %
% des demandes complétées dont les documents ont été communiqués en entier 19,25 % 24,29 % 5,04 %
% des pages communiquées en entier 23,26 % 17,81 % -5,45 %
Exceptions/exclusions
Nombre d'exceptions ou d'exclusions par demande complétée 1,27 1,49 0,22 %

Autres activités

En 2013-2014, le bureau de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) du MDN a effectué un examen de ses processus administratifs dans le but de simplifier les processus de l'AIPRP, d'identifier et d'éliminer les exceptions redondantes et de trouver des points à améliorer. Les résultats des changements apportés à la suite de cet examen devraient être observables dès 2014-2015.

Le MDN a aussi travaillé à l'élaboration d'une nouvelle Directive et ordonnance administrative de la Défense qui, une fois approuvée et mise en œuvre, fournira une orientation sur l'administration de la Loi.

Le bureau de l'AIPRP fait également un suivi mensuel des activités liées à l'accès à l'information. Le coordonnateur de l'AIPRP reçoit des mises à jour sur divers indicateurs, comme le nombre de demandes traitées et le nombre de plaintes reçues au cours du mois. Il fournit ensuite des renseignements au Secrétariat ministériel tous les trimestres.

Plaintes

Le nombre de plaintes déposées au CommissariatNote de bas de page 4 contre le MDN a augmenté de 65,3 % en 2013-2014 (119 plaintes) par rapport à la période de référence précédente (72 plaintes).

Il s'agissait pour la plupart (78) de plaintes de refus (65,5 %). Ce chiffre est comparable à la proportion de plaintes de refus reçues en 2012-2013 (72; 63,9 %).

Un total de 37 plaintes reçues en 2013-2014 ont été jugées comme étant fondées, 26 ont été résolues sans conclusion et 14 étaient non fondées. Vingt-trois autres plaintes ont été discontinuées tandis que 19  étaient toujours en suspens au mois d'avril 2015.

Note de bas de pages

Note de bas de page 1

D'après la réponse à la question parlementaire écrite Q-485.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Le système de notes utilisé dans la fiche de rendement du Commissariat à l'information du Canada 2007-2008 a servi pour déterminer les notes : A = de 0 à 5 %, B = de 5 à 10 %, C = de 10 à 15 %, D = de 15 à 20 %, F = plus de 20 %.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

L'avis d'information sur les prorogations de délai en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)c) de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information signale que le Commissariat à l'information du Canada estime habituellement que 1 000 pages de documents ou plus constituent un grand nombre de documents. Les données sur le volume de pages ayant fait objet d'une recherche ne sont pas disponibles.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Les chiffres rapportés dans cette section sont basés sur les statistiques du Commissariat. Des différences peuvent être notées avec l’information rapportée par les institutions, puisque la méthodologie employée diffère.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4