Department of Justice Canada

The Department of Justice Canada (JUS) is responsible for providing support to the Minister’s dual mandate as Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada. As such, it provides policy and program advice, litigates civil cases by or on behalf of the Federal Crown, and provides legal advice to federal law enforcement agencies and other government departments.

In 2013–2014, JUS received 548 requests, an increase of 60% compared to 343 requests in 2012–2013. JUS also received 917 consultations from other government institutions. While this represents a decrease compared to the previous year (1,339), JUS still received more consultations than any other federal institution subject to the Access to Information Act. Its performance improved compared to the previous reporting period, especially in terms of completion time.

Among all requests in its inventory, JUS completed about 82% of them (an increase of about 5% compared to 2012–2013).

The media was the most common source of requests received in 2013–2014 (44.7%), followed the public (34.5%) and the private sector (13.5%). This is similar to results observed in 2012–2013.

According to its annual report, JUS processed an additional 206 informal requests (62 more than in 2012–2013).

Table 1. Workload

Measures Reporting Period 2012–2013 Reporting Period 2013–2014 Difference
Number of requests received 343 548 59.77%
Number of consultations received (from other government institutions) 1,339 917 -31.52%
Average number of pages processed per request completed 472 498 26
% of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed 8.64% 7.89% -0.75%
Note: The average number of pages processed per request completed and the percentage of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed are calculated from the total of requests completed for which the information was disclosed (in part or totally), exempted/excluded and for requests abandoned. It excludes requests completed for the following dispositions: no records exist, requests transferred and requests treated informally.

The number of pages processed increased by 65% compared to 2012–2013, an increase that could be attributed to the increase in requests completed (63%). The number of pages processed by JUS increased by about 26 pages per request completed. The average number of pages processed per request completed (498) was one of the highest observed across the 27 institutions analyzed.

Timeliness

In 2013–2014, JUS responded to 380 requests within 30 days, which represents 72% of all requests completed. This is similar to the results achieved in 2012–2013. The average number of days to complete a request went down by 13 days, from 78 days in 2012–2013 to 65 in 2013–2014.Footnote 1

The proportion of requests closed past the statutory or extended deadline also decreased in 2013–2014, representing about 9.85% of the requests completed compared to 21.1% in 2012–2013. The proportion achieved in 2013–2014 represents a “B” grade.Footnote 2Footnote 3 Workload was identified as the principal reason for late requests 52% of the time.

Extensions

In 2013–2014, a total of 140 extensions were taken to complete requests, which is 59 extensions more than in 2012–2013.

A vast majority of the extensions were for more than 30 days (66.4% in 2013–2014). This is similar to 2012–2013.

Figure 1. Length of extensions (2011–2012 to 2013–2014)

Figure 1. Length of extensions (2011–2012 to 2013–2014)

Text version

Figure 1 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the length of extensions taken by JUS during each reporting period between 2011–2012 and 2013–2014. The results are as follows:

Reporting period 30 days or less 31-60 days 61-120 days 121-180 days 181-365 days More than 365 days
2011–2012 19.48% 31.17% 10.39% 35.06% 2.60% 1.30%
2012–2013 29.63% 17.28% 12.35% 29.63% 9.88% 1.23%
2013–2014 33.57% 17.86% 26.43% 16.43% 2.86% 2.86%
 

About half of the extensions in 2013–2014 were for consultations under paragraph 9(1)(b). An additional 42% were taken under paragraph 9(1)(a) (interference with operations). This proportion was 28% in 2012–2013.

Disclosure

Of the requests completed in 2013–2014, 14% were disclosed in full. While this proportion represents a 2% increase compared to 2012–2013, it is still below the government-wide results (27%). The proportion of pages processed that were disclosed also decreased by 5% during the same period. However, a higher proportion of pages were disclosed entirely (from 7% in 2012–2013 to 21.5% in 2013–2014).

The proportion of requests completed for which no records existed went down in 2013–2014 (from 22.3% to 16.5%), but was still above the government-wide average of 10.5%.

Exemptions/Exclusions

During the 2013–2014 reporting period, a total of 655 exemptions and 82 exclusions were applied. The ratio of exemptions/exclusions per request completed remained the same (1.40) for both 2012–2013 and 2013–2014.

Frequently applied exemptions in 2013–2014 included: government operations (210 times), personal information (164 times) and solicitor-client privilege (153 times).

Table 2. Performance

Measures Reporting Period
2012–2013
Reporting Period
2013–2014
Difference
Completion of Requests
Completion rate 77.64% 82.37% 4.73%
Completion Time
% of requests completed within 30 days 72.14% 71.97% -0.17%
Average number of days to complete a request 47 53 -13
% of requests closed past statutory or extended deadline 21.05% 9.85% -11.20%
% of consultations from government institution completed within 30 days 44.76% 34.20% -10.56%
% of extensions of 30 days or less 29.63% 33.57% 3.94%
Level of Disclosure
% of pages processed that were disclosed 29.95% 24.68% -5.27%
% of requests completed for which the information was disclosed entirely 12.07% 14.20% 2.13%
% of pages disclosed entirely 7.00% 21.45% 14.45%
Exemptions/Exclusions
Number of exemptions/exclusions per request completed 1.40 1.40 0

Other activities

According to JUS’s annual report 2013–2014, the institution developed new guidelines that are aimed at guiding institutions that consult with JUS. They clarified the role played by Justice in these consultations. Since most consultations are related to the application of section 23 (solicitor-client privilege), JUS began offering training to the ATIP community on this matter.

Following a complaint to the Information Commissioner, JUS changed its approach to processing grants and contributions records for access purposes. JUS mentioned in its annual report, that it “amended its Grants and Contributions Application Form to include a caveat informing applicants that the information provided to the Department will be entirely disclosed, with the exception of personal information.”

Complaints

In 2013–2014, the number of complaints registered against JUSFootnote 4 more than doubled compared to 2012–2013 (24 to 51 complaints).

The vast majority of complaints received in 2013–2014 were for refusal (88.2%), with 21 of them being related to the use of exemptions/exclusions.

Of the completed complaints (19 were still pending as of April 2015), 9 were considered to be well-founded, 10 were not well-founded, while 8 more complaints were settled. Finally, 5 complaints were discontinued.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Based on response to parliamentary written question Q-485.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The 2007–2008 OIC report card grading system was used to estimate the grade: A=0 to 5%, B= 5 to 10%, C=10 to 15%, D=15% to 20%, F=more than 20%.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

This may reflect the fact that JUS ceased their practice of closing files prior to receiving a response from a consulted institution.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The numbers reported in this section are based on the OIC’s statistics. The information may not reflect the statistics reported by institutions due to the discrepancies in the methodology used.

Return to first footnote 4 referrer

Ministère de la Justice Canada

Le ministère de la Justice Canada (JUS) est chargé de seconder le ministre dans son double mandat de ministre de la Justice et de procureur général du Canada. À ce titre, il propose des conseils et orientations en matière de politiques et de programmes, il plaide dans les affaires au civil au nom de la Couronne fédérale et il fournit des avis juridiques aux organismes fédéraux chargés de l'application de la loi et aux autres ministères.

En 2013-2014, JUS a reçu 548 demandes, une hausse de 60 % par rapport aux 343 demandes reçues en 2012-2013. JUS a aussi reçu 917 consultations d'autres institutions fédérales. Bien qu'il s'agisse d'une baisse par comparaison avec l'année précédente (1 339 consultations), JUS a tout de même reçu plus de demandes de consultations que toute autre institution fédérale assujettie à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. JUS a amélioré son rendement par rapport à la période précédente, notamment pour ce qui est du délai de traitement.

Sur l'ensemble des demandes de son inventaire, JUS en a complété 82 % environ, une hausse de quelque 5 % par rapport à 2012-2013.

En 2013-2014, les demandes provenaient principalement des médias (44,7 %), du grand public (34,5 %) et du secteur privé (13,5 %). Ces résultats sont semblables à ceux qui ont été observés en 2012-2013.

Selon son rapport annuel, JUS a traité 206 autres demandes informelles (62 de plus qu'en 2012-2013).

Tableau 1. Charge de travail

Mesures Période de référence
2012-2013
Période de référence
2013-2014
Écart
Nombre de demandes reçues 343 548 59,77 %
Nombre de consultations reçues (en provenance d'autres institutions fédérales) 1 339 917 -31,52 %
Nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée 472 498 26
% de demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées 8,64 % 7,89 % -0,75 %
Note : Le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée et la proportion de demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées sont calculées à partir du total des demandes complétées pour lesquelles l'information a été communiquée (en entier ou en partie), des demandes exceptées ou exclues en entier et des demandes abandonnées. Cela exclut les demandes complétées pour les motifs suivants : absence de documents, demandes transférées ou traitement informel.

Le nombre de pages traitées a augmenté de 65 % comparativement à 2012-2013, une hausse attribuée au plus grand taux de demandes traitées (63 %). Le nombre de pages traitées par JUS a augmenté de 26 pages par demande complétée. Le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande (498) est l'un des plus élevés parmi les 27 institutions visées par l'analyse.

Délai de traitement

En 2013-2014, JUS a répondu à 380 demandes dans un délai de moins de 30 jours, ce qui représente environ 72 % du nombre total de demandes complétées. Ces résultats sont semblables à ceux de 2012-2013. Le délai de traitement moyen des demandes a reculé de 13 jours, passant de 78 jours en 2012-2013 à 65 en 2013-2014Note de bas de page 1.

La proportion de demandes complétées après le délai prescrit ou prorogé a aussi diminué en 2013-2014, atteignant 9,85 % environ des demandes complétées, contre 21,1 % en 2012-2013. La proportion des demandes complétées en 2013-2014 donne une note de « B » à JUSNote de bas de page 2Note de bas de page 3. Il a été déterminé que la charge de travail était la principale raison de ces retards (52 % des cas).

Prorogations

En 2013-2014, 140 prorogations ont été prises pour le traitement des demandes, soit 59 de plus qu'en 2012-2013.

La grande majorité de ces prorogations avaient une durée supérieure à 30 jours (66,4 %). Ces chiffres sont comparables à ceux de 2012-2013.

Figure 1. Durée des prorogations (de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014)

Figure 1. Durée des prorogations (de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014)

 Version texte

La figure 1 est un graphique à bandes verticales, représentant le délai des prorogations prises par JUS durant chacune des périodes de référence de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Période de référence 30 jours ou moins 31-60 jours 61-120 jours 121-180 jours 181-365 jours Plus de 365 jours
2011-2012 19,48 % 31,17 % 10,39 % 35,06 % 2,60 % 1,30 %
2012-2013 29,63 % 17,28 % 12,35 % 29,63 % 9,88 % 1,23 %
2013-2014 33,57 % 17,86 % 26,43 % 16,43 % 2,86 % 2,86 %
 

En 2013-2014, la moitié environ des prorogations ont été prises pour mener des consultations en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)b). Un autre 42 % des prorogations ont été prises en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)a) (entrave au fonctionnement de l'institution). En 2012-2013, cette proportion atteignait 28 %.

Divulgation

Les documents ont été entièrement communiqués pour 14 % des demandes complétées en 2013-2014. Bien que cette proportion constitue une hausse de 2 % comparativement à 2012-2013, c'est en deçà de la moyenne pangouvernementale (27 %). La proportion des pages traitées et communiquées a aussi diminué de 5 % au cours de cette période. Toutefois, une plus grande proportion de pages ont été entièrement communiquées (de 7 % en 2012-2013 à 21,5 % en 2013-2014).

Bien qu'elle ait diminué en 2013-2014 (passant de 22,3 à 16,5 %), la proportion des demandes complétées pour lesquelles il n'existait aucun document est restée supérieure à la moyenne pangouvernementale de 10,5 %.

Exceptions et exclusions

Au cours de la période de référence 2013-2014, 655 exceptions et 82 exclusions ont été invoquées. Le ratio des exceptions et des exclusions par demande complétée est resté le même (1,40) en 2012-2013 et en 2013-2014.

Les exceptions les plus fréquemment invoquées en 2013-2014 touchaient les activités gouvernementales (210), les renseignements personnels (164) et le secret professionnel des avocats (153).

Tableau 2. Rendement

Mesures Période de référence 2012-2013 Période de référence 2013-2014 Écart
Traitement des demandes
Taux de traitement 77,64 % 82,37 % 4,73 %
Délai de traitement
% des demandes complétées dans un délai de 30 jours 72,14 % 71,97 % -0,17 %
Nombre moyen de jours pour le traitement des demandes 78 65 -13
% des demandes complétées après le délai prescrit ou prorogé 21,05 % 9,85 % -11,20 %
% des consultations provenant d'une institution fédérale complétées dans un délai de 30 jours 44,76 % 34,20 % -10,56 %
% des prorogations de 30 jours ou moins 29,63 % 33,57 % 3,94 %
Niveau de divulgation
% des pages traitées qui ont été communiquées 29,95 % 24,68 % -5,27 %
% des demandes complétées dont les documents ont été communiqués en entier 12,07 % 14,20 % 2,13 %
% des pages communiquées en entier 7,00 % 21,45 % 14,45 %
Exceptions/exclusions
Nombre d'exceptions ou d'exclusions par demande complétée 1,40 1,40 0

Autres activités

En 2013-2014, comme en fait foi son rapport annuel, JUS a élaboré de nouvelles directives pour orienter les institutions qui lui font des demandes de consultation. Notamment, les directives précisent le rôle imparti au Ministère dans le cadre de telles consultations. Comme la plupart de ces consultations ont trait à l'application de l'article 23 (secret professionnel des avocats), JUS a entrepris de donner de la formation à ce sujet à la communauté de l'AIPRP.

À la suite d'une plainte à la commissaire à l'information, JUS a changé sa manière de traiter les dossiers de subventions et de contributions faisant l'objet d'une demande d'accès à l'information. Dans son rapport annuel, JUS mentionne que le Ministère « a modifié son formulaire de demande de subvention et contribution pour inclure un avertissement informant les candidats que l’information fournie au Ministère sera entièrement divulguée, à l’exception des renseignements personnels ».

Plaintes

En 2013-2014, le nombre de plaintes inscrites contre JUSNote de bas de page 4 a plus que doublé par rapport à 2012-2013 (passant de 24 à 51).

Les plaintes reçues en 2013-2014 concernent pour une grande majorité des refus (88,2 %); 21 autres sont liées à des exceptions et exclusions invoquées.

Parmi les plaintes traitées (dont 19 restaient en suspens en avril 2015), 9 ont été considérées comme étant fondées, 10 comme étant non fondées, et 8 autres ont été réglées. Enfin, 5 plaintes ont été discontinuées.

Note de bas de pages

Note de bas de page 1

D'après la réponse à la question parlementaire écrite Q-485.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Le système de notes de la fiche de rendement du Commissariat à l'information du Canada 2007-2008 a été utilisé pour déterminer les notes : A = de 0 à 5 %; B = de 5 à 10 %; C = de 10 à 15 %, D = de 15 à 20 %, F = plus de 20 %.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Cette situation peut découler de la décision de JUS de cesser de fermer les dossiers avant d'avoir reçu une réponse d'une institution consultée.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Les chiffres rapportés dans cette section sont basés sur les statistiques du Commissariat. Des différences peuvent être notées avec l’information rapportée par les institutions, puisque la méthodologie employée diffère.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4