Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development

Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada (DFATD) is responsible for promoting and protecting Canada's interests and assets internationally. DFATD’s specific areas of responsibility include international peace and security, global trade and investment, international development and humanitarian assistance, providing consular assistance to Canadians visiting, living, studying and/or doing business overseas, as well as diplomatic and consular relations, the administration of the foreign service and Canada's missions abroad, and development of international law and its application to Canada.

On June 272013, the Department of Foreign Affairs and International Trade (DFAIT) merged with the Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA) to become the Department of Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development (DFATD). As a result of this merger, a comparison of DFATD’s statistics with those of DFAIT may not provide an accurate picture of the newly amalgamated institution’s performance.Footnote 1,Footnote 2

In 2013–2014, DFATD received 1,159 requests. DFATD was one of the institutions that received the most requests in 2013–2014, representing about 2% of all requests received government-wide. The merger of the two institutions did not significantly increase the total number of requests received in 2013–2014. In fact, the number of requests received was similar to what was received by DFAIT during the reporting period 2012–2013. DFATD also received fewer consultation requests during the period.Footnote 3 It processed slightly more pages per request completed (13 pages).

DFATD’s performance was in general below the government-wide results in 2013–2014.

DFATD completed about 72.15% of all its requests in inventory in 2013–2014. In comparison, about 83.96% of all requests government-wide were completed this reporting period.

More than half of the requests received (53.4%) in 2013–2014 came from the media. An additional 17.8% and 11.8% came from the public and the private sector, respectively.

Additionally, DFATD completed 1,042 informal requests for previously released ATI packages in 2013–2014.Footnote 4

Table 1. Workload

Measures Reporting Period
2012–2013*
Reporting Period
2013–2014*
Number of requests received 1,148 1,159
Number of consultations received (from other government institutions) 1,057 898
Average number of pages processed per request completed 149 162
% of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed 2.84% 3.65%
Note: The average number of pages processed per request completed and the percentage of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed are calculated from the total of requests completed for which the information was disclosed (in part or totally), exempted/excluded and for requests abandoned. It excludes requests completed for the following dispositions: no records exist, requests transferred and requests treated informally.
*Statistics for 2012–2013 are the ones reported by DFAIT and are provided for information only. Statistics for 2013–2014 include DFAIT and CIDA for April 1 to June 26, 2013 and for DFATD for June 27, 2013 to March 31, 2014.

DFATD processed an average of 162 pages per request completed in 2013–2014. The proportion of completed requests that required processing more than 1,000 pages was 3.7%.Footnote 5

Timeliness

In 2013–2014, 126 requests were completed within 30 days or less, representing about 33.8% of all requests completed by DFATD. The proportion of requests completed in more than 120 days in 2013–2014 (33.3%) was also significantly above the proportion achieved government-wide (10.6%) during the same period.

The proportion of requests completed passed the statutory or extended deadline significantly increased to 36.7% (474 requests) in 2013–2014. The principal reason invoked for completing requests late in 2013–2014 related to “workload pressures” (47.7% of the time). It is also reported in the annual report that the labour disruption of Foreign Service Officers resulted in an “inability of appropriately determine the length of time” necessary to process requests. This might have contributed to the increase in late requests.

About 27.4% of requests closed past the statutory or extended deadline in 2013–2014 took an additional 30 days or less, while 18.8% of them were more than 365 days overdue.

Extensions

The proportion of extensions invoked increased. In 2013–2014, a total of 843 extensions were used, representing 0.65 extensions per request completed. About half of the extensions (50.5%) were for 60 days or less.

About 59.9% of extensions in 2013–2014 were taken under section 9(1)(b) (consultations) and 30.5% of them for section 9(1)(a) (interference with operations).

Disclosure

From the completed requests, 9.8% were disclosed entirely. It is significantly below the government-wide disclosure rate of 26.9% achieved in 2013–2014.

More than half of the pages processed were disclosed in 2013–2014 (58.9%).

Exemptions/Exclusions

In 2013–2014, a total of 3,615 exemptions and 363 exclusions were applied, representing a ratio of 3.08 exemptions/exclusions per request completed. This ratio is the second highest of institutions surveyed.

Frequently applied exemptions in 2013–2014 included: government operations under subsection 21(1) (1,157 times), national defence and international affairs under section 15 (645 times) and personal information (548).

Table 2. Performance

Measures Reporting Period
2012–2013*
Reporting Period
2013–2014*
Completion of Requests
Completion rate 68.63% 72.15%
Completion Time
% of requests completed within 30 days 42.69% 33.80%
Average number of days to complete a request 188 132
% of requests closed past statutory or extended deadline 23.43% 36.74%
% of consultations from government institution completed within 30 days 31.00% 43.95%
% of extensions of 30 days or less 20.67% 22.54%
Level of Disclosure
% of pages processed that were disclosed 57.03% 58.94%
% of requests completed for which the information was disclosed entirely 9.49% 9.77%
% of pages disclosed entirely 3.19% 3.66%
Exemptions/Exclusions
Number of exemptions/exclusions per request completed 2.33 3.08
*Statistics for 2012–2013 are the ones reported by DFAIT and are provided for information only. Statistics for 2013–2014 include DFAIT and CIDA for April 1 to June 26, 2013 and for DFATD for June 27, 2013 to March 31, 2014.

Other activities

DFATD conducted training sessions with ATIP offices across the government on the exercise of discretion in the application of section 15 to limit the need to consult with their institution.

Complaints

A total of 124 complaints were received against DFATD in 2013–2014.Footnote 6,Footnote 7 In comparison, the OIC received 83 complaints against DFAIT and 18 against CIDA in 2012–2013.

Most of the complaints received in 2013–2014 were refusal complaints (83.1%).

As of April 2015, 15 of the complaints received in 2013–2014 were still pending. Of the complaints completed, 23 were well founded, 2 were not well-founded, 61 were settled and 23 were discontinued.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

DFATD presented three statistical reports in their 2013–2014 Annual Report: a report for DFAIT for the period of April 1 to June 26, 2013; a report for CIDA for the period of April 1 to June 26, 2013 and a report for DFATD for the period of June 27, 2013 to March 31, 2014. For the purpose of this analysis, the data for all three reports were amalgamated to cover the entire period of 2013–2014. Given the volume of requests received by CIDA in the first 87 days of the fiscal year (41 requests), we found that, in most instances, including the statistics for CIDA had minimal or no impact on the overall performance of DFATD.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

This merger was challenging for the ATIP office, as they encountered multiple challenges such as the relocation of former CIDA’s ATIP office and the harmonization of different reporting systems.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Over the last 3 years, DFAIT and now DFATD has seen a reduction in consultation requests. From June 27, 2013 to March 31, 2014, DFATD received only 589 consultation requests, compared to 1,136 in 2011–2012. This reduction could be due mainly to two specific reasons: a) the change in TBSDirective on the Administration of the Access to Information Act, which removes the requirement to consult DFATD on the application of section 15; and b) the fact that some consultation requests from DFAIT to CIDA, or vice versa, became unnecessary following the merger of the two institutions.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

This information was provided by DFATD’s ATIP office.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

DFATD ATIP office indicated that 11 requests from CIDA that are still outstanding will require the processing of a large volume of pages (about 41,300 pages). DFATD is currently working toward completing these requests. A consultant was hired for this purpose.

Return to first footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

This includes 4 complaints against CIDA and 120 against DFAIT/DFATD.

Return to footnote 6 referrer

Footnote 7

The numbers reported in this section are based on the OIC’s statistics. The information may not reflect the statistics reported by institutions due to the discrepancies in the methodology used.

Return to footnote 7 referrer

Ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement

Le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (MAECD) est chargé de promouvoir et protéger les intérêts et atouts du Canada sur la scène internationale. Les domaines de responsabilité qui relèvent particulièrement du MAECD sont la paix et la sécurité internationales, le commerce mondial et les investissements, le développement international et l'aide humanitaire, l’assistance consulaire aux Canadiens qui visitent, vivent, étudient et / ou font des affaires à l'étranger, ainsi que les relations diplomatiques et consulaires, l'administration du service extérieur et des missions du Canada à l'étranger, et le développement du droit international et de son application au Canada.

Le 27 juin 2013, le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commerce international (MAECI) a fusionné avec l'Agence canadienne de développement international (ACDI) pour devenir le ministère des Affaires étrangères, du Commerce et du Développement (MAECD). En conséquence de cette fusion, une comparaison des statistiques du MAECD avec celles du MAECI risque de ne pas donner un portrait fidèle du rendement de l'institution nouvellement amalgaméeNote de bas de page 1,Note de bas de page 2.

En 2013-2014, le MAECD a reçu 1 159 demandes. Le MAECD est l'une des institutions qui ont reçu le plus de demandes en 2013-2014 : environ 2 % de toutes les demandes comptabilisées à l'échelle pangouvernementale au cours de cette période. La fusion des deux institutions n'a pas augmenté de façon importante le nombre total de demandes reçues en 2013-2014. En fait, le nombre de demandes reçues était identique au nombre reçu par le MAECI pour la période de référence 2012-2013. Le MAECD a par ailleurs reçu moins de demandes de consultation pendant cette périodeNote de bas de page 3. Il a traité un peu plus de pages par demande (13 pages).

Le rendement du MAECD était de façon générale inférieur aux résultats pangouvernementaux en 2013-2014.

Le MAECD a complété environ 72,15 % de l'ensemble des demandes de son inventaire en 2013-2014. À titre de comparaison, environ 83,96 % de l'ensemble des demandes à l'échelle pangouvernementale ont été complétées au cours de cette période de référence.

Plus de la moitié des demandes reçues (53,4 %) en 2013-2014 provenaient des médias. Par ailleurs, 17,8 % et 11,8 % des demandes provenaient respectivement du grand public et du secteur privé.

En outre, le MAECD a traité 1 042 demandes informelles concernant des trousses d'accès à l'information publiées précédemment en 2013-2014Note de bas de page 4.

Tableau 1. Charge de travail

Mesures Période de référence
2012-2013*
Période de référence
2013-2014*
Nombre de demandes reçues 1 148 1 159
Nombre de consultations reçues (en provenance d'autres institutions fédérales) 1 057 898
Nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée 149 162
% de demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées 2,84 % 3,65 %
Note : Le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée et la proportion de demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées sont calculées à partir du total des demandes complétées pour lesquelles l'information a été communiquée (en entier ou en partie), des demandes exceptées ou exclues en entier et des demandes abandonnées. Cela exclut les demandes complétées pour les motifs suivants : absence de documents, demandes transférées ou traitement informel.
*Les statistiques pour 2012-2013 sont celles fournies par le MAECI, et ce, uniquement à titre d'information. Les statistiques pour 2013-2014 concernent le MAECI et l'ACDI pour la période du 1er avril au 26 juin 2013 et le MAECD pour la période du 27 juin 2013 au 31 mars 2014.

Le MAECD a traité en moyenne 162 pages par demande complétée en 2013-2014. Le pourcentage de demandes ayant nécessité le traitement de plus de 1 000 pages était de 3,7 %Note de bas de page 5.

Délai de traitement

En 2013-2014, 126 demandes, soit 33,8 % des demandes complétées par le MAECD, ont été complétées dans un délai de 30 jours ou moins. Le pourcentage de demandes dont le traitement a pris plus de 120 jours en 2013-2014 (33,3 %) était également nettement supérieur au pourcentage atteint à l'échelle pangouvernementale (10,6 %) au cours de la même période.

Le pourcentage de demandes complétées après le délai prescrit ou prorogé a considérablement augmenté, atteignant 36,7 % (474 demandes) en 2013-2014. La « charge de travail » a été la principale raison invoquée pour justifier le traitement tardif des demandes en 2013-2014 (47,7 % des cas). Il est également indiqué dans le rapport annuel que l'interruption de travail de la part des agents du service extérieur s'est traduite par « une incapacité à déterminer de manière adéquate le temps requis » pour traiter les demandes. Il se pourrait que cette situation ait contribué à accroître le nombre de demandes complétées tardivement.

En 2013-2014, environ 27,4 % des demandes complétées après le délai prescrit ou prorogé ont nécessité un délai de traitement supplémentaire de 30 jours ou moins, tandis que 18,8 % de ces demandes accusaient un retard de plus de 365 jours.

Prorogations de délai

Le pourcentage de prorogations invoquées s'est accru. En 2013-2014, 843 prorogations ont été utilisées, soit 0,65 prorogation par demande complétée. Environ la moitié des prorogations (50,5 %) étaient de 60 jours ou moins.

En 2013-2014, environ 59,9 % des prorogations ont été prises en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)b) (consultations) et 30,5 % ont été prises en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)a) (entrave au fonctionnement de l'institution).

Divulgation

Du nombre de demandes complétées, 9,8 % ont été entièrement communiquées. Ce taux demeure nettement inférieur au taux de divulgation de 26,9 % atteint en 2013-2014 à l'échelle pangouvernementale.

En 2013-2014, plus de la moitié des pages traitées (58,9 %) ont été communiquées.

Exceptions et exclusions

Au total, en 2013-2014, 3 615 exceptions et 363 exclusions ont été invoquées, soit un ratio de 3,08 exceptions/exclusions par demande complétée. Ce ratio est le deuxième plus élevé, pour ce qui est des institutions évaluées.

En 2013-2014, les exceptions fréquemment invoquées touchaient les activités du gouvernement aux termes du paragraphe 21(1) (1 157 fois), la défense nationale et les affaires internationales aux termes de l'article 15 (645 fois) et les renseignements personnels (548 fois).

Tableau 2. Rendement

Mesures Période de référence 2012-2013* Période de référence 2013-2014*
Traitement des demandes
Taux de traitement 68,63 % 72,15 %
Délai de traitement
% des demandes complétées dans un délai de 30 jours 42,69 % 33,80 %
Nombre moyen de jours pour le traitement des demandes 188 132
% des demandes complétées après le délai prescrit ou prorogé 23,43 % 36,74 %
% des consultations provenant d'une institution fédérale complétées dans un délai de 30 jours 31 % 43,95 %
% des prorogations de 30 jours ou moins 20,67 % 22,54 %
Niveau de divulgation
% des pages traitées qui ont été communiquées 57,03 % 58,94 %
% des demandes complétées dont les documents ont été communiqués en entier 9,49 % 9,77 %
% des pages communiquées en entier 3,19 % 3,66 %
Exceptions/exclusions
Nombre d'exceptions ou d'exclusions par demande complétée 2,33 3,08
*Les statistiques pour 2012-2013 sont celles fournies par le MAECI, et ce, uniquement à titre d'information. Les statistiques pour 2013-2014 concernent le MAECI et l'ACDI pour la période du 1er avril au 26 juin 2013 et le MAECD pour la période du 27 juin 2013 au 31 mars 2014.

Autres activités

Le MAECD a tenu des séances de formation avec les bureaux de l'AIPRP à l'échelle du gouvernement qui ont porté sur l'exercice du pouvoir discrétionnaire dans l'application de l'article 15, afin de limiter la nécessité de consulter leur institution à cet égard.

Plaintes

Un total de 124 plaintes ont été reçues contre le MAECDNote de bas de page 6 en 2013-2014Note de bas de page 7. À titre de comparaison, le Commissariat à l'information du Canada a reçu 83 plaintes contre le MAECI et 18 contre l'ACDI en 2012-2013.

La plupart des plaintes reçues en 2013-2014 étaient des plaintes à la suite d'un refus (83,1 %).

En date d'avril 2015, 15 des plaintes reçues en 2013-2014 étaient toujours en suspens. Parmi les plaintes traitées, 23 étaient fondées, 2 étaient non fondées, 61 ont été réglées, et 23 ont été discontinuées.

Note de bas de pages

Note de bas de page 1

Le MAECD a présenté trois rapports statistiques dans son Rapport annuel 2013-2014 : un rapport pour le MAECI pour la période du 1er avril au 26 juin 2013; un rapport pour l'ACDI pour la période du 1er avril au 26 juin 2013; un rapport pour le MAECD pour la période du 27 juin 2013 au 31 mars 2014. Aux fins de la présente analyse, les données concernant les trois rapports ont été regroupées pour couvrir toute la période 2013-2014. Étant donné le volume de demandes reçues par l'ACDI au cours des 87 premiers jours de l'exercice (41 demandes), nous avons remarqué que dans la plupart des cas, le fait d'inclure les statistiques concernant l'ACDI avait peu ou pas d'incidence sur le rendement global du MAECD.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

La fusion n'a pas été facile pour le bureau de l'AIPRP, car plusieurs défis se sont posés comme la réinstallation de l'ancien bureau de l'AIPRP de l'ACDI et l'harmonisation des différents systèmes de production de rapports.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

Au cours des trois dernières années, le MAECI, maintenant le MAECD, a observé une baisse du nombre de demandes de consultation. Entre le 27 juin 2013 et le 31 mars 2014, le MAECD a reçu seulement 589 demandes de consultation, comparativement à 1 136 en 2011-2012. Cette baisse pourrait être largement attribuable à deux raisons précises : a) le changement apporté à la Directive concernant l'administration de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (SCT), qui consiste en l'élimination de l'obligation de consulter le MAECD au sujet de l'application de l'article 15 et b) le fait que certaines demandes de consultation du MAECI à l'ACDI, ou vice-versa, n'étaient plus nécessaires après la fusion des deux institutions.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Ces renseignements ont été fournis par le bureau de l'AIPRP du MAECD.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Le bureau de l'AIPRP du MAECD a indiqué que 11 demandes de l'ACDI qui sont toujours en suspens exigeront le traitement d'un grand nombre de pages (environ 41 300 pages). Le MAECD travaille actuellement au traitement de ces demandes. Un consultant a été embauché à cette fin.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

Les chiffres rapportés dans cette section sont basés sur les statistiques du Commissariat. Des différences peuvent être notées avec l’information rapportée par les institutions, puisque la méthodologie employée diffère.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6

Note de bas de page 7

Sont incluses quatre plaintes contre l'ACDI et 120 plaintes contre le MAECI/MAECD.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 7