Fisheries and Oceans Canada

The Department of Fisheries and Oceans (DFO) develops and implements policies and programs in support of Canada's scientific, ecological, social and economic interests in oceans and fresh waters, and works towards ensuring these resources benefit current and future generations.

DFO received 417 requests in 2013–2014,Footnote 1 a decrease of 24% compared to 2012–2013 (547).Footnote 2 However, the volume of pages processed increased considerably. DFO’s performance in 2013–2014 declined significantly compared to 2012–2013 results, especially in terms of completion time. Results were also below the government-wide levels.

Of a total of 583 requests in hand, DFO completed 68% of them. This completion rate represents a significant decrease compared to 2012–2013, when 81% of requests were completed. A larger backlog of requests was carried over to the next reporting period might affect DFO’s performance in 2014–2015.

Requests received in 2013–2014 came mostly from members of the public (37.17%), followed by the private sector (28.54%) and the media (19.66%).

DFO reported receiving an additional 128 requests for previously released ATI packages (an increase compared to 91 requests in 2012–2013).

Table 1. Workload

Measures Reporting Period 2012–2013 Reporting Period 2013–2014 Difference
Number of requests received 547 417 -23.77%
Number of consultations received (from other government institutions) 288 170 -40.97%
Average number of pages processed per request completed 378 538 160
% of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed 8.19% 13.49% 5.30%
Note: The average number of pages processed per request completed and the percentage of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed are calculated from the total of requests completed for which the information was disclosed (in part or totally), exempted/excluded and for requests abandoned. It excludes requests completed for the following dispositions: no records exist, requests transferred and requests treated informally.

In 2013–2014, the workload of pages increased considerably, with an average of 538 pages per request completed, compared to 378 in 2012-13. A larger proportion of requests also required processing more than 1,000 pages (from 8.2% to 13.5% in 2013-14).

Timeliness

A total of 184 requests were completed within 30 days or less in 2013–2014, representing about 46.3%. This is 13% lower than in 2012–2013 (59.2%). The proportion of requests that required more than 120 days more than doubled in 2013–2014 (23.9%) compared to the previous reporting period (10.6%). Among those, 8% took more than a year to complete in 2013–2014.

On average, DFO took 104 days to complete a request. This is twice the average time in 2012–2013 (52 days).Footnote 3

The proportion of requests completed past the statutory deadline also increased significantly, from 5.5% in 2012–2013 to 17.3% in 2013–2014; 87% of the requests past deadline had received an extension. According to the OIC ranking, DFO went from a “B” to a “D” grade.Footnote 4

Workload was invoked as the principal reason why requests were closed late (54 requests or 78.3%).

Extensions

In 2013-14, despite completing fewer requests, DFO used 114 more extensions, an increase of 66% compared to 2012–2013. Most extensions in 2013-14 were for consultations (43%) and for interference with operations (40%).

The proportion of extensions that were for 30 days or less in 2013–2014 was similar to the previous reporting period (34% and 35%, respectively). However, the proportion of extensions taken for more than 120 days increased, from 14% in 2012–2013 to 21% in 2013–2014.

Figure 1. Length of extensions (2011–2012 to 2013–2014)

Figure 1. Length of extensions (2011–2012 to 2013–2014)

Text version

Figure 1 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the length of extensions taken by DFO during each reporting period between 2011–2012 and 2013–2014. The results are as follows:

Reporting period 30 days or less 31-60 days 61-120 days 121-180 days 181-365 days More than 365 days
2011–2012 29.30% 30.57% 15.92% 21.02% 1.27% 1.91%
2012–2013 35.26% 30.06% 20.81% 9.25% 4.05% 0.58%
2013–2014 34.15% 29.62% 15.33% 8.36% 12.20% 0.35%
 

Disclosure

Information was disclosed entirely for 66 requests in 2013–2014, representing 16.6% of all requests completed. This is below the government-wide full disclosure rate of 26.85% and represents a decrease of 1.5% compared to the previous reporting period.

Exemptions/Exclusions

A total of 747 exemptions and 98 exclusions were applied in 2013–2014, a proportion of 2.13 exemptions/exclusions per request completed. This represents a considerable increase compared to 2012–2013 (1.48 exemptions/exclusions per request completed).

Most applied exemptions in 2013-14 included: government operations (220 times), personal information (182 times) and third party information (128 times). This is similar to the previous reporting period.

Table 2. Performance

Measures Reporting Period
2012–2013
Reporting Period
2013–2014
Difference
Completion of Requests
Completion rate 73.18% 68.10% -5.08%
Completion Time
% of requests completed within 30 days 59.16% 46.35% -12.81%
Average number of days to complete a request 52 104 52
% of requests closed past statutory or extended deadline 5.52% 17.32% 11.80%
% of consultations from government institution completed within 30 days 77.82% 83.24% 5.42%
% of extensions of 30 days or less 35.26% 34.15% -1.11%
Level of Disclosure
% of pages processed that were disclosed 50.02% 62.23% 12.21%
% of requests completed for which the information was disclosed entirely 18.10% 16.62% -1.48%
% of pages disclosed entirely 27.48% 12.40% -15.08%
Exemptions/Exclusions
Number of exemptions/exclusions per request completed 1.48 2.13 0.65

Other activities

DFO recognizes the importance of sound information management practices for ATIP performance. As such, the institution reported having put in place an official IM Strategy as well as a three-year action plan (2011–2014). The next action plan (2014–2017) will focus, among other things, on implementing the Directive on Open Government.

DFO’s ATIP office also developed a new ATIP training program for all employees. This new program is mandatory for Directors and Directors General. This training was scheduled to start in the summer of 2014.

Complaints

The number of complaints received against DFOFootnote 5 went up slightly from 18 complaints in 2012–2013 to 21 in 2013–2014.

The proportion of administrative complaints increased by about 12% in 2013–2014, representing 61.9% of complaints received that year.

Ten of the 21 complaints received in 2013–2014 were considered well-founded. Discontinued and still pendingFootnote 6 complaints accounted for 2 and 4 complaints, respectively. Finally, 4 complaints were not well-founded and one was settled.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

Requests concerned various subjects and were not issue-driven. Examples of information requested included: information regarding the experimental lake areas, specific vessels/ships incidents, assessment of fishing areas and the oil sands/pipelines.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

This increase follows however a 50% increase in 2012–2013 compared to the previous year.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

Based on response to parliamentary written question Q-485.

Return to first footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The 2007–2008 OIC report card grading system was used to estimate the grade: A=0 to 5%, B= 5 to 10%, C=10 to 15%, D=15% to 20%, F=more than 20%.

Return to first footnote 4 referrer

Footnote 5

The numbers reported in this section are based on the OIC’s statistics. The information may not reflect the statistics reported by institutions due to the discrepancies in the methodology used.

Return to first footnote 5 referrer

Footnote 6

As of April 2015.

Return to first footnote 6 referrer

Pêches et Océans Canada

Le ministère des Pêches et des Océans (MPO) élabore et met en œuvre des politiques et des programmes soutenant les intérêts scientifiques, écologiques, sociaux et économiques du Canada liés aux océans et aux eaux intérieures, et il voit à ce que les ressources marines et d'eau douce du Canada profitent aux générations actuelles et futures.

Le MPO a reçu 417 demandes en 2013-2014Note de bas de page 1, ce qui représente une diminution de 24 % par rapport à 2012-2013 (547)Note de bas de page 2. Le volume de pages traitées a pour sa part augmenté significativement. En 2013-2014, le rendement du MPO a considérablement baissé par rapport aux résultats de 2012-2013, notamment en termes de délai de traitement des demandes. Ses résultats étaient également inférieurs aux niveaux pangouvernementaux.

Le MPO a complété 68 % des 583 demandes qu'il avait en main. Ce taux de traitement est nettement inférieur à celui de 2012-2013, période au cours de laquelle 81 % des demandes avaient été complétées. Cette diminution a entraîné un plus grand arriéré de demandes, qui ont été reportées à la période de référence suivante et pourraient nuire au rendement du MPO en 2014-2015.

Les demandes reçues en 2013-2014 provenaient principalement du grand public (37,17 %), puis du secteur privé (28,54 %) et des médias (19,66 %).

Le MPO a déclaré avoir reçu 128 autres demandes pour des trousses d'accès à l'information publiées précédemment (ce qui représente une augmentation par rapport aux 91 demandes reçues en 2012-2013).

Tableau 1. Charge de travail

Mesures Période de référence
2012-2013
Période de référence
2013-2014
Écart
Nombre de demandes reçues 547 417 -23,77 %
Nombre de consultations reçues (en provenance d'autres institutions fédérales) 288 170 -40,97 %
Nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée 378 538 160
% de demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées 8,19 % 13,49 % 5,30 %
Note : Le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée et la proportion de demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées sont calculées à partir du total des demandes complétées pour lesquelles l'information a été communiquée (en entier ou en partie), des demandes exceptées ou exclues en entier et des demandes abandonnées. Cela exclut les demandes complétées pour les motifs suivants : absence de documents, demandes transférées ou traitement informel.

En 2013-2014, la charge de travail liée au volume de pages a considérablement augmenté, puisque la moyenne était de 538 pages par demande complétée, contre 378 en 2012-2013. Le pourcentage des demandes ayant nécessité le traitement de plus de 1 000 pages a lui aussi augmenté (passant de 8,2 % à 13,5 % en 2013-2014).

Délai de traitement

Au total, 184 demandes ont été complétées dans un délai de 30 jours ou moins en 2013-2014, ce qui représente environ 46,3 % des demandes complétées – soit 13 % de moins qu'en 2012-2013 (59,2 %). Le pourcentage des demandes ayant nécessité plus de 120 jours de traitement a plus que doublé en 2013-2014 (23,9 %) par rapport à la période de référence précédente (10,6 %). Parmi ces dernières, 8 % ont nécessité plus d'un an de traitement en 2013-2014.

Le délai moyen de traitement d'une demande par le MPO était de 104 jours, ce qui représente le double du délai moyen de traitement en 2012-2013 (52 jours)Note de bas de page 3.

La proportion de demandes complétées après le délai prescrit a également considérablement augmenté, passant de 5,5 % en 2012-2013 à 17,3 % en 2013-2014; 87 % de ces demandes avaient été prorogées avant d'être en retard. Selon le classement du Commissariat à l'information du Canada, le MPO est passé d'une note « B » à une note « D »Note de bas de page 4.

Il a été déterminé que la charge de travail était la principale raison pour laquelle les demandes étaient complétées en retard (54 demandes, 78,3 %).

Prorogations

En 2013-2014, bien qu'il ait complété moins de demandes, le MPO a utilisé 114 prorogations, une hausse de 66 % par rapport à 2012-2013. En 2013-2014, la plupart des prorogations ont été demandées pour motif de consultations (43 %) et d'entrave au fonctionnement de l'institution (40 %).

En 2013-2014, le pourcentage de prorogations demandées pour 30 jours ou moins était comparable à celui de la période de référence précédente (34 % et 35 %, respectivement). Cependant, le pourcentage de prorogations d'une durée supérieure à 120 jours a augmenté, passant de 14 % en 2012-2013 à 21 % en 2013-2014.

Figure 1. Durée des prorogations (de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014)

Figure 1. Durée des prorogations (de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014)

 Version texte

La figure 1 est un graphique à bandes verticales, représentant le délai des prorogations prises par MPO durant chacune des périodes de référence de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Période de référence 30 jours ou moins 31-60 jours 61-120 jours 121-180 jours 181-365 jours Plus de 365 jours
2011-2012 29,30 % 30,57 % 15,92 % 21,02 % 1,27 % 1,91 %
2012-2013 35,26 % 30,06 % 20,81 % 9,25 % 4,05 % 0,58 %
2013-2014 34,15 % 29,62 % 15,33 % 8,36 % 12,20 % 0,35 %
 

Divulgation

En 2013-2014, les renseignements ont été entièrement communiqués pour 66 demandes, soit 16,6 % de l'ensemble des demandes complétées. Ce pourcentage est inférieur au taux de divulgation totale à l'échelle pangouvernementale (26,85 %), et représente une baisse de 1,5 % par rapport à la période de référence précédente.

Exceptions et exclusions

Au total, 747 exceptions et 98 exclusions ont été invoquées en 2013-2014, soit un taux de 2,13 par demande complétée. Cela représente une augmentation considérable par rapport au taux de 2012-2013 (1,48 exception/exclusion par demande complétée).

La plupart des exceptions invoquées en 2013-2014 touchaient les activités du gouvernement (220 fois), les renseignements personnels (182 fois) et les renseignements de tiers (128 fois). Il en était de même au cours de la période de référence précédente.

Tableau 2. Rendement

Mesures Période de référence 2012-2013 Période de référence 2013-2014 Écart
Traitement des demandes
Taux de traitement 73,18 % 68,10 % -5,08 %
Délai de traitement
% des demandes complétées dans un délai de 30 jours 59,16 % 46,35 % -12,81 %
Nombre moyen de jours pour le traitement des demandes 52 104 52
% des demandes complétées après le délai prescrit ou prorogé 5,52 % 17,32 % 11,80 %
% des consultations provenant d'une institution fédérale complétées dans un délai de 30 jours 77,82 % 83,24 % 5,42 %
% des prorogations de 30 jours ou moins 35,26 % 34,15 % -1,11 %
Niveau de divulgation
% des pages traitées qui ont été communiquées 50,02 % 62,23 % 12,21 %
% des demandes complétées dont les documents ont été communiqués en entier 18,10 % 16,62 % -1,48 %
% des pages communiquées en entier 27,48 % 12,40 % -15,08 %
Exceptions/exclusions
Nombre d'exceptions ou d'exclusions par demande complétée 1,48 2,13 0,65

Autres activités

Le MPO reconnaît l'importance des pratiques de gestion de l'information saines relativement au rendement en matière d'accès à l'information et protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP). À cet égard, l'institution a indiqué avoir mis en place une stratégie officielle de gestion de l'information, ainsi qu'un plan d'action triennal (2011-2014). Le prochain plan d'action (2014-2017) mettra notamment l'accent sur la mise en œuvre de la Directive sur le gouvernement ouvert.

Le bureau de l'AIPRP du MPO a également élaboré un nouveau programme de formation sur l'AIPRP à l'intention de tous les nouveaux employés. Ce nouveau programme est obligatoire pour les directeurs et les directeurs généraux. Cette formation devait commencer à l'été 2014.

Plaintes

Le nombre de plaintes reçues contre le MPONote de bas de page 5 a légèrement augmenté, passant de 18 en 2012-2013 à 21 en 2013-2014.

Le pourcentage de plaintes administratives a augmenté d'environ 12 % en 2013-2014, et représente 61,9 % des plaintes reçues au cours de l'année.

Sur les 21 plaintes reçues en 2013-2014, 10 ont été jugées bien fondées. De plus, deux plaintes avaient été discontinuées et quatre autres étaient toujours en cours de traitementNote de bas de page 6. Enfin, quatre plaintes étaient non fondées et une a été réglée sans conclusion.

Note de bas de pages

Note de bas de page 1

Les demandes portaient sur divers sujets et n'étaient pas motivées par un enjeu particulier. Voici des exemples de renseignements demandés : information sur les régions des lacs expérimentaux, les incidents de navires, l'évaluation des zones de pêche et les sables bitumineux et oléoducs.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Cette diminution fait toutefois suite à une augmentation de 50 % en 2012-2013 comparativement à la période de référence précédente.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

D'après la réponse à la question parlementaire écrite Q-485.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Le système de notes de la fiche de rendement du Commissariat à l'information du Canada 2007-2008 a été utilisé pour déterminer les notes : A = de 0 à 5 %, B = de 5 à 10 %, C = de 10 à 15 %, D = de 15 à 20 %, F = plus de 20 %.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4

Note de bas de page 5

Les chiffres rapportés dans cette section sont basés sur les statistiques du Commissariat. Des différences peuvent être notées avec l’information rapportée par les institutions, puisque la méthodologie employée diffère.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 5

Note de bas de page 6

En date d'avril 2015.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 6