Correctional Service Canada

Correctional Service Canada (CSC) was created with the merger of the Canadian Penitentiary Service and the National Parole Service in 1979. CSC has the mandate to contribute to public safety by actively encouraging and assisting offenders to become law-abiding citizens, while exercising reasonable, safe, secure and humane control.

CSC received 630 requests during 2013–2014, about 20% fewer than in the previous year. The number of consultations received also decreased by 12% during this same period. CSC was able to perform better than the government-wide statistics on the number of requests completed in 30 days (although its performance has decreased in terms of timeliness).

CSC also completed 13% fewer requests in 2013–2014. Amongst all of the active requests on hand (800), 618 requests were completed by the end of 2013–2014, a completion rate of 77.3% (compared to 80.7% in 2012–2013).

Again in 2013–2014, a large majority of the requests received came from the public (73.5%, an increase of 10.6% compared to 2012–2013). An additional 18.9% were from the media. According to its annual report, CSC continued to process complex files related to the following subjects: construction, amalgamation and closure of correctional institutions, the CSC’s legislative agenda and the mental health practices and policies.

CSC also processed 66 requests for already released ATI packages, which resulted in the release of 253 packages. An additional 11 informal requests were treated by CSC. In 2012–2013, CSC reported releasing 347 previously released ATI packages.

Table 1. Workload

Measures Reporting Period
2012–2013
Reporting Period
2013–2014
Difference
Number of requests received 785 630 -19.75%
Number of consultations received (from other government institutions) 135 119 -11.85%
Average number of pages processed per request completed 79 104 25
% of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed 1.19% 1.41% 0.22%
Note: The average number of pages processed per request completed and the percentage of requests for which more than 1,000 pages were processed are calculated from the total of requests completed for which the information was disclosed (in part or totally), exempted/excluded and for requests abandoned. It excludes requests completed for the following dispositions: no records exist, requests transferred and requests treated informally.

The volume of pages processed increased compared to 2012–2013. The average number of pages processed per request went up by 25 pages (104 pages/request in 2013–2014). However, most requests completed required processing 100 pages or fewer (78.7%), which is similar to 2012–2013 (80%).

Timeliness

CSC responded to 412 requests within 30 days or less, representing 67% of all completed requests (7% less than in 2012–2013). The proportion of requests completed in more than 120 days also went up from 6% in 2012–2013 to 8.9% in 2013–2014.Footnote 1 However, the average time to complete a request was lower (50.9 days compared to 54.4 in 2012–2013).

The number of requests closed past the statutory deadline went down for the second consecutive year. In fact, it decreased by 59% since 2011–2012 (from 127 to 52 requests). In terms of proportion, CSC closed 8.4% of its requests past the statutory or extended deadline in 2013–2014, representing a “B” grade.Footnote 2 The category “other”Footnote 3 was the principal reason invoked to explain lateness (32 out of 52, or 61.5% of the time).

Extensions

While the number of completed requests went down by 13% between 2012–2013 and 2013–2014, the number of extensions used for these requests increased by 23.6% during the same period. A total of 194 extensions were taken in 2013–2014, representing 0.31 extensions per request completed (compared to a rate of 0.22 in 2012–2013). According to CSC’s annual report, this increase is a result of more voluminous, complex requests which required more time to process, especially when statistics had to be compiled.

Extensions in 2013–2014 also tended to be for a longer period of time, as the proportion of them that were for 30 days or less went down from 53.3% in 2012–2013 to 32.99% in 2013–2014.

Figure 1. Length of extensions (2011–2012 to 2013–2014)

Figure 1. Length of extensions (2011–2012 to 2013–2014)

Text version

Figure 1 is a bar chart with vertical bars, representing the length of extensions taken by CSC during each reporting period between 2011–2012 and 2013–2014. The results are as follows:

Reporting period 30 days or less 31-60 days 61-120 days 121-180 days 181-365 days More than 365 days
2011–2012 44.64% 27.68% 20.54% 6.25% 0.89% 0.00%
2012–2013 52.23% 22.93% 19.11% 5.10% 0.64% 0.00%
2013–2014 32.99% 29.38% 32.47% 2.58% 2.06% 0.52%
 

More than half (66%) of the extensions were taken under paragraph 9(1)(a) (interference with operations). This is an increase of about 9% compared to the previous reporting period. An additional 23% of extensions were taken for consultations (9(1)(b)) in 2013–2014.

Disclosure

Of the completed requests, 138 (22.3%) were disclosed in full. This is about 3% less than in 2012–2013. Additionally, of the pages processed, CSC disclosed 15% less in 2013–2014.

The proportion of requests completed for which no records existed increased to 18.1% in 2013–2014. In comparison, this proportion government-wide was 10.5%. Additionally, the proportion of abandoned requests was also twice as high as the government-wide proportion (15.5% compared to 7.7%).

Exemptions/Exclusions

In 2013–2014, a total of 704 exemptions and 48 exclusions were applied to withhold information, representing about 1.22 exemptions/exclusions per request completed. This proportion is similar to the one observed in 2012–2013.

Most frequently applied exemptions included: personal information (205 times), government operations (155 times) and law enforcement and investigations (153 times).

Table 2. Performance

Measures Reporting Period
2012–2013
Reporting Period
2013–2014
Difference
Completion of Requests
Completion rate 80.73% 77.25% -3.48%
Completion Time
% of requests completed within 30 days 73.31% 66.67% -6.64%
Average number of days to complete a request 54.4 50.9 -3.5
% of requests closed past statutory or extended deadline 11.66% 8.41% -3.25%
% of consultations from government institution completed within 30 days 78.74% 81.54% 2.80%
% of extensions of 30 days or less 52.23% 32.99% -19.54%
Level of Disclosure
% of pages processed that were disclosed 56.92% 41.97% -14.95%
% of requests completed for which the information was disclosed entirely 25.28% 22.33% -2.95%
% of pages disclosed entirely 19.68% 15.36% -4.32%
Exemptions/Exclusions
Number of exemptions/exclusions per request completed 1.23 1.22 -0.01

Other activities

During 2013–2014, a number of practices aimed at improving the ATIP process were adopted by CSC:

  1. CSC implemented a triage process, which takes into account a number of factors before assigning requests (such as workload, complexity of files and subject matter expertise);
  2. CSC recommends that individuals seeking information first consult the summaries of completed ATI requests before making a request, in order to avoid having to make a formal request and pay the associated fees.
  3. The institution also created a generic email address to allow individuals to request information electronically, in preparation for CSC’s inclusion in the ATIP Request and Pay Online Project.
  4. CSC changed its ATIP case management system in order to capture other general inquiries for advice.

Complaints

In 2013–2014, the OIC received 56 complaints against CSC.Footnote 4 This is similar to 2012–2013 (57 complaints).

The proportion of administrative complaints decreased by 13%, from 70.2% in 2012–2013 to 57.1% in 2013–2014.

As of April 2015, 9 of the complaints received in 2013–2014 were still pending. Of the completed ones, 20 were considered well-founded, 13 not well-founded while 13 were discontinued and 1 was settled.

Footnotes

Footnote 1

According to CSC, requests that required consultations took more time to process.

Return to footnote 1 referrer

Footnote 2

The 2007–2008 OIC report card grading system was used to estimate the grade: A=0 to 5%, B= 5 to 10%, C=10 to 15%, D=15% to 20%, F=more than 20%.

Return to first footnote 2 referrer

Footnote 3

The “other” reasons why an institution completed requests past their statutory deadline, according to the Treasury Board Secretariat’s Guide for the Statistical Report on the Access to Information Act, could be because of the unavailability of key officials, difficulties in obtaining relevant records, labour disputes, and lengthy power outages. The category “other” is defined as reasons other than workload and consultations.

Return to footnote 3 referrer

Footnote 4

The numbers reported in this section are based on the OIC’s statistics. The information may not reflect the statistics reported by institutions due to the discrepancies in the methodology used.

Return to footnote 4 referrer

Service correctionnel du Canada

Le Service correctionnel du Canada (SCC) a été créé par la fusion du Service canadien des pénitenciers et du Service national de libération conditionnelle en 1979. Le SCC a pour mandat de contribuer à la sécurité publique en incitant activement et en aidant les délinquants à devenir des citoyens respectueux des lois, tout en exerçant sur eux un contrôle raisonnable, sûr, sécuritaire et humain.

Le SCC a reçu 630 demandes en 2013-2014, soit 20 % de moins que durant la période de référence précédente. Le nombre de consultations reçues a également diminué de 12 % en 2013-2014. Le SCC a connu un rendement supérieur aux statistiques pangouvernementales pour ce qui est du nombre de demandes complétées en moins de 30 jours (bien que son rendement ait diminué en termes de délais de traitement).

De plus, le SCC a complété 13 % moins de demandes en 2013-2014. Parmi toutes les demandes courantes en inventaire (800), 618 ont été complétées en 2013-2014, ce qui donne un taux de traitement de 77,3 % (par rapport à 80,7 % en 2012-2013).

En 2013-2014, comme pour la période précédente, une grande partie des demandes reçues provenaient du grand public (73,5 %, une hausse de 10,6 % par rapport à 2012-2013). Une autre tranche de 18,9 % des demandes provenaient des médias. Dans son rapport annuel, le SCC explique qu'il a continué de traiter des dossiers complexes portant sur les sujets suivants : construction, fusion et dissolution d'institutions correctionnelles; programme législatif; pratiques et politiques en matière de santé mentale.

Le SCC a de plus reçu 66 demandes pour l'obtention des trousses d'accès à l'information publiées précédemment, qui ont donné lieu à la publication de 253 trousses. En outre, le SCC a traité 11 demandes informelles. Dans son rapport de 2012-2013, le SCC indique qu'il a publié 347 trousses d'accès à l'information déjà publiées.

Tableau 1. Charge de travail

Mesures Période de référence
2012-2013
Période de référence
2013-2014
Écart
Nombre de demandes reçues 785 630 -19,75 %
Nombre de consultations reçues (en provenance d'autres institutions fédérales) 135 119 -11,85 %
Nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée 79 104 25
% de demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées 1,19 % 1,41 % 0,22 %
Note : Le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée et la proportion de demandes pour lesquelles plus de 1 000 pages ont été traitées sont calculées à partir du total des demandes complétées pour lesquelles l'information a été communiquée (en entier ou en partie), des demandes exceptées ou exclues en entier et des demandes abandonnées. Cela exclut les demandes complétées pour les motifs suivants : absence de documents, demandes transférées ou traitement informel.

Le volume de pages traitées a augmenté par rapport à 2012-2013. Le nombre moyen de pages traitées par demande complétée a augmenté de 25 pages (104 pages par demande en 2013-2014). Toutefois, la plupart des demandes ont nécessité le traitement de moins de 100 pages (78,7 %), une proportion proche de celle qui a été constatée en 2012-2013, soit 80 %.

Délai de traitement

Le SCC a répondu à 412 demandes dans un délai de 30 jours ou moins, ce qui représente 67 % du total des demandes complétées (7 % de moins qu'en 2012-2013). La proportion de demandes complétées en plus de 120 jours a aussi augmenté, passant de 6 % en 2012-2013 à 8,9 % en 2013-2014Note de bas de page 1. En revanche, le délai de traitement moyen est inférieur (50,9 jours, contre 54,4 en 2012-2013).

Pour la deuxième année consécutive, les demandes complétées après le délai prescrit ont diminué. En fait, la diminution est de l'ordre de 59 % depuis 2011-2012 (de 127 à 52 demandes). Le nombre de demandes complétées après le délai prescrit ou prorogé représente une proportion de 8,4 % en 2013-2014, un rendement qui donne une note de « B » au SCCNote de bas de page 2. Le motif « autres »Note de bas de page 3 a été invoqué le plus souvent pour expliquer ces retards (32 des 52 demandes, ou 61,5 %).

Prorogations

Tandis que le nombre de demandes complétées a diminué de 13 % en 2013-2014 par rapport à 2012-2013, le nombre de prorogations pour ces demandes a augmenté de 23,6 % au cours de la même période. Au total, il y a eu 194 prorogations en 2013-2014, c'est-à-dire 0,31 par demande complétée (contre 0,22 en 2012-2013). Dans son rapport annuel, le SCC attribue cette hausse à la complexité et au volume accrus des demandes, qui sont par conséquent plus longues à traiter, surtout lorsqu’elles comprenaient la compilation de statistiques.

Par ailleurs, les prorogations de délai ont souvent été plus longues en 2013-2014, la proportion de celles qui avaient moins de 30 jours étant passée de 53,3 % en 2012-2013 à 32,99 % en 2013-2014.

Figure 1. Durée des prorogations (de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014)

Figure 1. Durée des prorogations (de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014)

 Version texte

La figure 1 est un graphique à bandes verticales, représentant le délai des prorogations prises par le SCC durant chacune des périodes de référence de 2011-2012 à 2013-2014. Les résultats sont les suivants :

Période de référence 30 jours ou moins 31-60 jours 61-120 jours 121-180 jours 181-365 jours Plus de 365 jours
2011-2012 44,64 % 27,68 % 20,54 % 6,25 % 0,89 % 0,00 %
2012-2013 52,23 % 22,93 % 19,11 % 5,10 % 0,64 % 0,00 %
2013-2014 32,99 % 29,38 % 32,47 % 2,58 % 2,06 % 0,52 %
 

Plus de la moitié des prorogations (66 %) ont été prises en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)a) de la Loi (entrave au fonctionnement). Il s'agit d'une augmentation de quelque 9 % par rapport à la période de référence précédente. Parmi les autres prorogations prises en 2013-2014, 23 % l'ont été pour mener des consultations en vertu de l'alinéa 9(1)b).

Divulgation

Parmi les demandes complétées, 138 (22,3 %) ont donné lieu à la communication entière des documents demandés. Ce chiffre représente une diminution approximative de 3 % par rapport à 2012-2013. En outre, la divulgation des pages traitées par le SCC a diminué de 15 % en 2013-2014.

La proportion des demandes complétées pour lesquelles il n'existait pas de documents a augmenté de 18,1 % en 2013-2014. En comparaison, cette proportion s'établissait à 1,6 % à l'échelle du gouvernement. La proportion de demandes abandonnées a également atteint le double de celle qui a été constatée dans l'ensemble du gouvernement (15,5 % par rapport à 7,7 %)

Exceptions et exclusions

En 2013-2014, 704 exceptions et 48 exclusions ont été invoquées pour ne pas communiquer de l'information, ce qui représente 1,22 exceptions ou exclusions par demande complétée. Cette proportion est semblable à celle qui a été observée en 2012-2013.

Les exceptions invoquées touchaient principalement des renseignements personnels (205); les activités du gouvernement (155); l'application de la loi et les enquêtes (153).

Tableau 2. Rendement

Mesures Période de référence 2012-2013 Période de référence 2013-2014 Écart
Traitement des demandes
Taux de traitement 80,73 % 77,25 % -3,48 %
Délai de traitement
% des demandes complétées dans un délai de 30 jours 73,31 % 66,67 % -6,64 %
Nombre moyen de jours pour le traitement des demandes 54,4 50,9 -3,5
% des demandes complétées après le délai prescrit ou prorogé 11,66 % 8,41 % -3,25 %
% des consultations provenant d'une institution fédérale complétées dans un délai de 30 jours 78,74 % 81,54 % 2,80 %
% des prorogations de 30 jours ou moins 52,23 % 32,99 % -19,54 %
Niveau de divulgation
% des pages traitées qui ont été communiquées 56,92 % 41,97 % -14,95 %
% des demandes complétées dont les documents ont été communiqués en entier 25,28 % 22,33 % -2,95 %
% des pages communiquées en entier 19,68 % 15,36 % -4,32 %
Exceptions/exclusions
Nombre d'exceptions ou d'exclusions par demande complétée 1,23 1,22 -0,01

Autres activités

En 2013-2014, le SCC a adopté diverses pratiques axées sur l'amélioration du processus d'accès à l'information et de protection des renseignements personnels :

  1. Le SCC a instauré un processus de tri qui lui permet d'attribuer les demandes en fonction de plusieurs paramètres (la charge de travail, la complexité des documents ou l'expertise dans un domaine donné).
  2. Il recommande aux demandeurs de commencer par la consultation des résumés des demandes d'accès à l'information traitées avant de présenter une demande officielle et de régler les droits exigés.
  3. Le SCC a en outre créé une adresse de courriel générique pour faciliter les demandes d'information par voie électronique, une étape préalable à sa participation au projet Payer en ligne.
  4. Le SCC a modifié son système de gestion des dossiers d'AIPRP afin d'être en mesure de répondre à d'autres demandes de conseils plus générales.

Plaintes

En 2013-2014, le Commissariat à l'information du Canada a reçu 56 plaintes contre le SCCNote de bas de page 4. Ce chiffre est comparable à celui de 2012-2013 (57 plaintes).

La proportion des plaintes administratives a diminué de 13 %, passant de 70,2 % en 2012-2013 à 57,1 % en 2013-2014.

En avril 2015, sur les plaintes reçues en 2013-2014, neuf restaient en suspens. Parmi les plaintes traitées, 20 ont été considérées comme étant fondées, 13 comme étant non fondées, 13 plaintes ont été discontinuées et 1 a été réglée.

Note de bas de pages

Note de bas de page 1

Le SCC indique qu'il a fallu plus de temps pour traiter les demandes ayant nécessité des consultations.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 1

Note de bas de page 2

Le système de notes de la fiche de rendement du Commissariat à l'information du Canada 2007-2008 a été utilisé pour déterminer les notes : A = de 0 à 5 %; B = de 5 à 10 %; C = de 10 à 15 %, D = de 15 à 20 %, F = plus de 20 %.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 2

Note de bas de page 3

D'après le Rapport statistique sur la Loi sur l'accès à l'information du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada, les « autres » motifs expliquant que l'institution a traité les demandes après le délai prescrit peuvent englober l’absence de fonctionnaires clés, les difficultés entourant l’obtention des documents pertinents, les conflits de travail et les pannes d’électricité prolongées. La catégorie « autres » contient des motifs autres que la charge de travail et les consultations.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 3

Note de bas de page 4

Les chiffres rapportés dans cette section sont basés sur les statistiques du Commissariat. Des différences peuvent être notées avec l’information rapportée par les institutions, puisque la méthodologie employée diffère.

Retour à la référence de la note de bas de page 4