Observations on the health of the access system 2012-13

Enhanced statistical report

In her 2009 special report to Parliament, the Commissioner noted that the annual statistics the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS) was collecting on access activities provided neither a detailed nor an accurate picture of institutional performance. The Commissioner made the case in her report (and reiterated it the following year) that TBS should gather more and better data to assess individual institution and system-wide performance. In response, TBS began collecting enhanced annual figures in 2011-12 and issued its first expanded statistical report in December 2012.

The Information Commissioner regularly analyzes the information contained in these reports to gain a more complete picture of the state of the access system. This analysis assists the Commissioner in the review of complaints and the formulation of recommendations.

To complete her review, the Commissioner also analyzes complaints data and extension notices institutions are required to submit to the Commissioner each time they take a time extension for more than 30 days, and any other relevant information that is publicly available (such as responses to parliamentary written questions).

In light of the level of efforts made in analyzing this information and the general interest for such assessments, the Commissioner has decided to proactively make this information public on her website. What follows is an assessment of publicly available information.

Observations sur la santé du système d'accès 2012-2013

Rapport statistique amélioré

Dans son rapport spécial au Parlement de 2009, la commissaire a indiqué que les statistiques annuelles que le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada (SCT) recueillait sur les activités d'accès ne dressaient un tableau ni détaillé ni précis du rendement institutionnel. La commissaire a avancé dans son rapport (et l'a de nouveau fait l'année suivante) que le SCT devrait recueillir des données qui sont plus précises pour évaluer le rendement à l'échelle de chaque institution et du système. En réponse à cette recommandation, le SCT a commencé à recueillir des chiffres annuels améliorés en 2011-2012 et a publié son premier rapport statistique amélioré en décembre 2012.

La commissaire à l’information analyse régulièrement les renseignements figurant dans ces rapports afin d’avoir une idée plus précise de l'état du système d'accès. Cette analyse aide la commissaire à examiner les plaintes et à formuler des recommandations.

Dans le cadre de son examen, la commissaire analyse également les données sur les plaintes et les avis de prorogations de délai que les institutions doivent soumettre à la commissaire chaque fois qu'elles utilisent une prorogation de délai au-delà de 30 jours, ainsi que tout autre renseignement pertinent accessible au public (par exemple, les réponses aux questions parlementaires écrites).

À la lumière des efforts déployés pour analyser ces renseignements et de l'intérêt général relatif à ces évaluations, la commissaire a décidé de rendre ces renseignements publics en ligne de façon proactive sur son site Web. Ce qui suit est une évaluation des renseignements accessibles au public.