General Questions

All submissions will be made available on the website, unless you ask that the information remains unpublished. However, please take note that the Office of the Information Commissioner is subject to the Access to Information Act. All information submitted to the OIC during the open dialogue can be subject of an access request.

It may take up to 48 hours for your comments and/or documents to appear on the website.

Right of Access

Right of Access The Access to Information Act provides the right to request and receive information held by federal institutions only to Canadian citizens, permanent residents, and individuals and incorporated entities present in Canada. The legislation does not grant universal access. Some argue that if foreign companies and individuals want to obtain access to federally held information, they can do so by engaging Canadian agents or information brokers. On the other hand, some observers are of the view that the concept of limited access cannot be sustained in the 21st century.

In an environment of increasing globalization, should any person be able to obtain government held records, notwithstanding their physical presence or citizenship?

Join

Coverage of the Act

Coverage of the ActAt present, the Access to Information Act does not apply to all federal agencies. Many organizations that spend taxpayers' money or perform public functions are not covered by the Act. For example, such organizations as the Canada Health Infoway, the House of Commons, the Senate, the Governor General and the courts are not subject to the Act. Among other things, these organizations argue that having to comply with the terms of the Act may compromise their competitive ability or operational effectiveness.  However, others argue that a piecemeal approach to deciding which organization becomes subject to the Act is incompatible with the spirit of the Act.

Should all federal entities be subject to the Act as a matter of principle, or should some be exempt from the Act’s requirements? What criteria or principles should determine which entity is covered by the Act?

Join

Limitations on the Right of Access

Limitations on the Right of AccessAll access to information legislation includes some limitations to the information that governments are required to make public. Information such as: Cabinet documents, information that could harm Canada’s security or economy, federal-provincial relations, personal information or international affairs. Some jurisdictions make more information available to the public than others. Some commentators argue that limitations to disclosure are necessary to limit the release of information that may cause prejudice or compromise the public or the national interest if disclosed. In fact, some records, by nature, are sensitive and should be protected. Other note that a presumption in favour of disclosure should prevail. They note that exemptions should only apply, on a case-by-case basis, in narrow and limited circumstances.

In what circumstances should a universal right of access be limited? Should federal institutions have the discretion to limit disclosure? If so, should they be required to demonstrate that a defined injury, harm or prejudice will probably result from disclosure? Should the public interest be considered in the decision to withhold records?

Join

Cabinet Confidences

Cabinet confidencesThe status of Cabinet confidences has been under constant debate since the inception of the legislation. Traditionally, the Westminster system of parliamentary democracy dictates that Cabinet is able to deliberate on policy issues in secrecy.  Therefore, at the time of the adoption of the Act, most records prepared for and created by Cabinet were excluded from its application. Some argue that making such information subject to the Act would inhibit Ministers to express their views freely during the discussions leading up to Cabinet decisions and erode the collective responsibility for Ministers. Others argue that public access to the information that informs Cabinet decisions should be public knowledge and point to the experience of other parliamentary democracies that have less restrictive rules regarding cabinet secrecy.

Should the Access to Information Act exclude records that directly inform Cabinet decisions? If the exclusion is permitted, on what should it be based? Should the Information Commissioner be able to review Cabinet confidences?

Join

Awareness and Education

Awareness and EducationObtaining access to information in government records is critical to the effective participation of citizens in the democratic process. Studies consistently re-affirm that Canadians generally lack awareness and understanding of the rights afforded to them by the legislation. Many Canadian and international access to information laws have incorporated an education and research component that explicitly empowers Commissioners to promote a public understanding of access rights and to conduct research into issues affecting the public’s right to know.

What role can or should the Office of the Information Commissioner play in helping Canadians to become more aware of their rights under the Access to Information Act?

Join

Questions générales

Tous les commentaires envoyés seront affichés sur le site Web, sauf si vous demandez que l'information ne soit pas publiée. Nous vous prions toutefois de noter que le Commissariat à l'information du Canada est assujetti à la Loi sur l'accès à l'information. Toute l'information soumise au Commissariat à l'information du Canada pendant la période de dialogue ouvert peut faire l'objet d'une demande d'accès.

La publication de vos commentaires, vos documents ou les deux, sur le site Web peut prendre jusqu’à 48 heures.


        

Le droit à l'accès à l'information

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information n'accorde qu'aux citoyens canadiens, aux résidents permanents et aux personnes et entités constituées présentes au Canada le droit de demander et de recevoir l'information détenue par les institutions du gouvernement fédéral. La loi n'accorde pas l'accès universel. Selon certains, si les particuliers et sociétés étrangers souhaitent obtenir l'accès à l'information détenue par le gouvernement fédéral, ils peuvent le faire en faisant appel à des agents canadiens ou des courtiers en information. Par contre, selon certains observateurs, au XXIe siècle, la notion d'accès limité ne peut être maintenue.

Dans un contexte de mondialisation croissante, toute personne, sans égard à sa présence physique ou à sa citoyenneté, devrait-elle pouvoir obtenir des documents détenus par le gouvernement?

Joindre

Loi sur l'accès à l'information

Actuellement, la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ne s'applique pas à tous les organismes du gouvernement fédéral. Bon nombre d'organismes qui dépensent l'argent des contribuables ou qui exercent des fonctions publiques ne sont pas visés par la loi. Par exemple, des organismes comme Inforoute Santé du Canada, la Chambre des communes, le Sénat, le gouverneur général et les tribunaux ne sont pas assujettis à la loi. Ces organismes font notamment valoir que la conformité aux termes de la loi peut mettre en péril leur capacité concurrentielle ou leur efficacité opérationnelle. Selon d'autres toutefois, une approche à la pièce quant au choix des organismes devant être assujettis à la loi est incompatible avec l'esprit de la loi.

Les entités fédérales devraient-elles toutes être, pour une question de principe, assujetties à la loi, ou certaines d'entre elles devraient-elles être exemptées des obligations de la loi? Quels critères ou principes devraient régir le choix des entités devant être assujetties à la loi?

Joindre

Limitation sur la Loi sur l'accès à l'information

Toute loi sur l'accès à l'information prévoit certaines limitations à l'information que les gouvernements doivent rendre publique, notamment les documents du Cabinet, l'information pouvant mettre en danger la sécurité ou l'économie du Canada, les relations fédérales-provinciales, les renseignements personnels ou les affaires internationales. Certains législateurs prévoient plus d'accès que d'autres à l'information au public. Il importe, selon certains commentateurs, d'établir des limitations à la divulgation afin de restreindre la diffusion d'information pouvant causer préjudice ou porter atteinte à l'intérêt public ou national si elle était divulguée. En fait, certains documents sont, par nature, sensibles et doivent être protégés. D'autres intervenants font remarquer que c'est la présomption en faveur de la divulgation qui doit prévaloir. Ils soulignent que les exceptions ne devraient s'appliquer qu'au cas par cas dans des circonstances restreintes et limitées.

Dans quelles circonstances le droit d'accès universel doit-il être limité? Les institutions du gouvernement fédéral devraient-elles disposer du pouvoir discrétionnaire de limiter la divulgation de l'information? Dans l'affirmative, devraient-elles démontrer que la divulgation entraînerait probablement un dommage, un tort ou un préjudice défini? L'intérêt public devrait-il être pris en compte dans la décision de retenir certains documents?

Joindre

Confidentialité du Cabinet

Depuis l'entrée en vigueur de la loi, le statut des documents confidentiels du Cabinet fait l'objet d'un débat constant. Traditionnellement, le modèle de Westminster de la démocratie parlementaire dicte que le Cabinet peut délibérer en secret sur les enjeux politiques. Au moment de l'adoption de la loi, la plupart des documents préparés pour le Cabinet et créés par celui-ci étaient donc exclus de son application. Selon certains, si une telle information était soumise à la loi, les ministres ne pourraient exprimer librement leur point de vue au cours des discussions menant aux décisions du Cabinet et verraient leur responsabilité collective atténuée. D'autres sont d'avis que l'accès public à l'information qui sous-tend les décisions du Cabinet devrait être connu du public et s'inspirer de l'expérience d'autres démocraties parlementaires qui prévoient des règles moins restrictives concernant le secret du Cabinet.

La Loi sur l'accès à l'information devrait-elle exclure les documents qui sous-tendent directement les décisions du Cabinet? Si l'exclusion est accordée, sur quels critères devrait-elle se fonder? Le commissaire à l'information devrait-il pouvoir examiner les documents confidentiels du Cabinet?

Joindre

Sensibilisation et éducation

Il est essentiel d'obtenir l'accès à l'information des documents du gouvernement afin d'assurer la participation efficace des citoyens au processus démocratique. Les études révèlent de manière constante que la connaissance et la compréhension des Canadiens laissent à désirer en général quant aux droits que leur accorde la loi. Bon nombre de lois, canadiennes et internationales, sur l'accès à l'information ont intégré un élément de sensibilisation et de recherche qui donne explicitement aux commissaires le pouvoir de promouvoir la compréhension par le public de leurs droits d'accès à l'information et de mener des recherches sur les questions touchant leur droit de savoir.

Quel rôle le Commissariat à l'information peut-il ou doit-il jouer pour aider les Canadiens à connaître davantage leurs droits en vertu de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information?

Joindre