Advisory Notice
Missing Records plus Exemption Complaints – How the Office of the Information Commissioner (OIC) will Investigate

Refusal complaints can be about exemptions applied to responsive records, i.e. redacted information or about concerns that not all records have been provided in response to a request.

Where both of these issues are raised in one letter of complaint, the OIC has, in the past, registered only one refusal complaint. Accordingly, the investigation reviewed both the exemptions applied by the institution and the missing record aspect of the complaint.  

The determination of whether a complaint was well-founded was made based on whether there was merit to either aspect of the complaint. Thus, if additional records were found the complaint was well-founded even if the exemptions were found to have been justified.  If we determined that exemptions had not been properly applied, the complaint would be concluded as well-founded even if no additional records were found.

This manner of proceeding led to a lack of clarity amongst complainants and institutions about the finding and the scope of our investigations which has, at times, resulted in delay. It has also made it difficult for us to measure the number of missing record complaints and the outcome of those complaints.   

To streamline our investigative process, to simplify our findings and to better track the number and outcome of missing records complaints as of July 1, 2013, we will, pursuant to section 34 of the Act, implement the following process:

When the OIC receives one letter of complaint that seeks a review of exemptions and an investigation into whether additional records exist, we will register two separate complaints: a missing records complaint and an exemption complaint. The complaints will be linked in our tracking system.

The exemption complaint will be investigated in accordance with the usual process, that is, the assigned investigator will be responsible for determining whether the exemptions have been properly applied.

Missing records complaints will be completed when the investigator determines that additional records exist or that the initial response by the institution was complete.

In both instances, the investigator will ensure that the representations of both the institution and the complainant are sought and considered.

When additional records are located and/or provided to the complainant as a result of our investigation of a missing records complaint, the investigator will advise the complainant that the investigation will be closed as well-founded.  The investigator will also inform the complainant that they have a right to complain to our office, within 60-days of receiving the response, if after reviewing the new response he/she is not satisfied with it.  The investigator will also recommend that if a new complaint is made, the complainant reference the original missing records complaint number in subsequent correspondence.

Should you have any questions about this Advisory Notice you may contact the Director of the Intake and Early Resolution Unit, Ms. Sandra George at: or at (613) 995-2627.

Note d’information
Les plaintes relatives à des documents manquants et à des exceptions – Processus d’enquête du Commissariat à l’information

Les plaintes de refus peuvent porter sur deux aspects : les exceptions qui s’appliquent aux documents se rapportant à une demande, c’est-à-dire les renseignements caviardés, ou sur les préoccupations concernant le fait que certains documents n’ont pas été fournis en réponse à une demande.

Par le passé, lorsque les deux aspects étaient soulevés dans une seule plainte, le Commissariat à l’information ne consignait qu’une plainte de refus. En conséquence, dans le cadre de l’enquête, on examinait les deux exceptions appliquées par l’institution et l’aspect du document manquant de la plainte.

Pour qu’une plainte fût considérée comme fondée, il fallait établir le fondement de l’un des aspects de la plainte. Par conséquent, si nous trouvions des documents additionnels, la plainte était fondée, même si nous avions conclu que les exceptions étaient justifiées. Si nous déterminions que les exceptions n’avaient pas été appliquées correctement, nous jugions la plainte comme fondée, même si aucun document additionnel n’avait été trouvé.

Cette façon de faire faisait en sorte que les plaignants et les institutions comprenaient mal la conclusion et la portée de nos enquêtes, ce qui a occasionné des retards, à l’occasion. De plus, il nous était difficile de mesurer le nombre de plaintes relatives à des documents manquants et les résultats de ces plaintes.

Pour rationaliser notre processus d’enquête, simplifier nos résultats et pour assurer un meilleur suivi du nombre de plaintes relatives à des documents manquants et de leurs résultats, à partir du 1er juillet 2013, nous suivrons le processus suivant, conformément à l’article 34 de la Loi :


Lorsque le Commissariat à l’information reçoit une plainte qui demande un examen des exceptions et une enquête pour déterminer si des documents additionnels existent, nous consignerons deux plaintes distinctes : une plainte relative à des documents manquants et l’autre, à des exceptions. Les plaintes seront liées entre elles dans notre système de suivi.

L’enquête sur la plainte relative à des exceptions suivra le processus normal d’enquête, c’est-à-dire que l’enquêteur sera chargé de déterminer si les exceptions ont été utilisées à bon escient.

Les plaintes relatives à des documents manquants seront traitées lorsque l’enquêteur aura déterminé que des documents additionnels existent ou que la réponse initiale de l’institution était complète.

Dans les deux cas, l’enquêteur veillera à ce que les observations de l’institution et du plaignant soient obtenues et examinées.

Lorsque des documents additionnels sont trouvés ou fournis au plaignant à la suite de notre enquête liée à une plainte relative à des documents manquants, l’enquêteur informera le plaignant que l’enquête est fermée et fondée. L’enquêteur informera aussi le plaignant de son droit de porter plainte auprès de notre Commissariat, dans les 60 jours suivant la réception de la réponse, s’il n’est pas satisfait de la nouvelle réponse. Si le plaignant dépose une nouvelle plainte, l’enquêteur lui recommandera également d’indiquer, à titre de référence, le numéro de la plainte initiale relative à des documents manquants dans les échanges ultérieurs.

Pour toute question sur la présente note d’information, communiquez avec la directrice de l’Unité de réception et de règlement rapide, Sandra George, à sandra.george@oic‑ci.gc.ca, ou au 613-995-2627.