Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Speeches

Year

Canada: The Perfect Case Study

Abstract of a presentation by

Suzanne Legault, Interim Information Commissioner of Canada

Panel 2—Specialized Institute, Ombudsman or Court: What Model to Follow?

“Transparency in the Americas”

October 27, 2009

During the past thirty plus years, Canada has gained extensive experience with various types of oversight models and a great deal of knowledge about what works and what does not work. This experience and knowledge is invaluable in support of a case study to create a new model in response to radical changes brought about principally by information and communications technologies.

Canada comprises fourteen jurisdictions, each subject to their own freedom of information legislation. Nova Scotia was the first province to enact a law in 1977 and the federal act was proclaimed in 1983. The remaining provinces and territories followed suit. Consequently, access to information is served by fourteen Commissioners or Ombudspersons. These regimes exemplify the traditional models of oversight and the many variations of them.

Over time, the merits and deficiencies of these models have been studied in the context of prevailing international principles to determine which one would best foster the principles of openness, transparency and accountability in our governments. However, during this period, the environment has changed dramatically. Advances in information and communications technologies have far outpaced our legislative frameworks. This poses significant challenges to how the legislation is administered, but also offers significant opportunities to disseminate information more effectively to citizens.

The Canadian experience clearly demonstrates that, regardless of which conventional oversight model is adopted, many of the basic principles inherent in providing access to information are not being realized. Reviews of the legislation and investigations consistently identify problems of chronic delays, deficiencies in information management, an insufficient supply of qualified personnel, and often a lack of leadership at senior political and bureaucratic levels.

The time has come to consider new oversight models that reflect the realities of 2009. It is time to develop new approaches to assessing compliance of the public bodies with the principles of freedom of information. It is also time to determine new means of measuring the performance of the oversight bodies themselves.

The new models must be based on the progressive concepts of proactive disclosure, the free flow of information and citizen engagement. They must be designed to affirm the role of Information Commissioners as champions of access and information sharing in support of greater innovation and socioeconomic development.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Discours

Année

Le Canada : une parfaite étude de cas

[2009-10-28]

Le Canada : une parfaite étude de cas

Résumé de la présentation de

Suzanne Legault, commissaire à l’information du Canada par intérim

Panel 2 – Institut spécialisé, ombudsman ou tribunal : quel est le modèle à suivre?

Conférence sur la transparence dans les Amériques

Le 27 octobre 2009

Au cours des quelque trente dernières années, le Canada s’est familiarisé avec différents modèles de surveillance et acquis de vastes connaissances concernant ce qui fonctionne ou ne fonctionne pas. Cette expérience et ces connaissances constituent un apport inestimable à une étude de cas visant l’élaboration d’un nouveau modèle en réponse aux changements majeurs entraînés principalement par les technologies de l’information et des communications.

Le Canada compte quatorze administrations, chacune assujettie à sa propre législation en matière d’accès à l’information. En 1977, la Nouvelle-Écosse fut la première province à adopter une loi à cet égard; la loi fédérale a été proclamée en 1983. Les autres provinces et territoires ont suivi. En conséquence, l’accès à l’information est régi par quatorze commissaires ou ombudsmans. Ces régimes illustrent les modèles de surveillance traditionnels ainsi que leurs diverses variantes.

Au fil du temps, les avantages et les lacunes de ces modèles ont été étudiés en regard des principes internationaux dominants en vue de déterminer lequel favoriserait le mieux l’ouverture, la transparence et la responsabilité au sein de nos administrations. Durant cette période, cependant, l’environnement a énormément changé. Les avancées des technologies de l’information et des communications ont largement devancé nos cadres législatifs, ce qui soulève des défis considérables pour l’application des lois, tout en offrant des moyens plus efficaces de diffuser l’information aux citoyens.

Peu importe le modèle de surveillance traditionnel qui est utilisé, l’expérience canadienne démontre clairement que plusieurs des principes fondamentaux de l’accès à l’information ne sont pas respectés. Les examens des lois et les enquêtes mettent constamment en lumière des retards chroniques, une gestion de l’information défaillante, une insuffisance de personnel qualifié et, souvent, un manque de leadership aux échelons supérieurs du gouvernement et de la fonction publique.