Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Year

2008

Report Cards Presentation
ATIP Community Meeting
Josée Villeneuve, Director of Strategic Planning, Parliamentary Relations and Communications
Ottawa, Ontario
February 19, 2008

 

  • The Office of the Information Commissioner proactively reviews and grades the performance of government institutions in complying with the Access to Information Act. These assessments are called “report cards”.
  • Before engaging in this year’s report cards process, we assessed whether improvements could be made to the process.
  • Report Cards have had many benefits:
    • Initial dramatic reduction in the number of delay complaints.
    • Many access offices received additional funds, allowing them to be better resourced and staffed to deal with access requests within the statutory time-limits.
    • Report Cards also got the attention of the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics. This had the effect of getting senior-level commitment to monitor and improve performance.
  • The benefits initially derived from the introduction of the Report Cards are less marked as the percentage of delay complaints is on the rise again.
  • One reason may be that by focussing on deemed refusals, the previous report cards did not look at the reasons surrounding the performance. Also, the efforts put by institutions to improve their performance on a number of other elements of their access to information program were not acknowledged or disseminated.
  • This is a message we have heard many times from federal institutions, along with suggestions to expand the measures of performance to provide a more contextual analysis.
  • Our intention with this new process is to address issues that permeate the whole ATI regime and to disseminate recommendations and best practices in a way that can be implemented by a majority if not all federal institutions;
  • Is it also important for the results of the review to provide sufficient information about the challenges, weaknesses, strengths of the federal institutions under inquiry, and assess what progress has been achieved - in other words, by offering “contextual” information that will help in understanding the underlying reasons for the level of performance, good or bad.
  • We have identified five areas of improvement for the next cycle pf reviews.
    • Review period
      • The Report Cards will be based on information collected on a fiscal year basis and will be linked to the government planning cycle. This will allow those institutions subject to the performance management framework, which institutes a formal process for holding heads of institutions accountable for how they manage their institution, to be assessed within that framework.
    • Selection of institutions
      • At the present time, the choice of candidates is not based on an articulated list of criteria. The candidates have in the past been institutions with a track record of underperforming with regard to delays.
      • Since we are in a transition year, in choosing which institutions will be reviewed, we will be looking at
        • Results from last year;
        • Trends uncovered by our complaints;
        • Other issues of interest to the OIC.
      • We will also choose at least one institution with a good track record to identify good practices.
      • We will be doing 10 Report Cards this year.
    • The assessment
      • At present, Report Card grades depend on the percentage of access requests that are not answered on time. We will be looking at a wider set of benchmarks.
      • In order to close the loop with last year’s process, we will continue to measure performance against deemed refusals. However, we will also go beyond that benchmark by looking at delays caused by other issues that are more systemic in nature such as
        • The rising number of consultations with other institutions;
        • The inclusion of additional layers of approvals and their impact on delays;
      • We will also look at other areas of interest such as proactive, voluntary or informal disclosure of information.
    • Reporting
      • In following the proposed cycle, and our consultative approach, the Commissioner will not include the results of report cards in our annual report. We will table a special report as per s. 39 of the ATIA containing the Report Card analysis and recommendations.
    • Process
      • Selected institutions will be informed in March that they have been chosen for an assessment.
      • We will meet with the institutions to discuss what criteria that will be used to assess and what information will be required to conduct the review.
      • From April to May, we will be gathering information from the selected institutions. The information will cover fiscal year 07-08.
      • Over the summer months, a preliminary analysis will be provided to the institutions for discussion. This step allows for a discussion of our finding, provides an opportunity to clarify points that require clarification and to adjust the assessment as necessary.
      • There will also be time for every institution under review to prepare a response to the assessment.
      • A final Report will be tabled to Parliament at the end of October.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Discours

Année


Fiches de rendement - exposé de Josée Villeneuve, Directrice de la planification stratégique, des relations parlementaires et des communications, à l’occasion de la réunion de la collectivité de l’AIPRP

 

  • Le Commissariat à l’information examine et évalue de façon proactive le rendement des institutions fédérales en ce qui concerne le respect des dispositions de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Il appelle ces évaluations les « fiches de rendement ».
  • Avant d’entreprendre le processus d’établissement des fiches de rendement de cette année, nous avons voulu voir s’il était possible d’apporter des améliorations à celui-ci.
  • Les fiches de rendement ont eu les effets suivants :
    • Diminution initiale considérable du nombre de plaintes de retard.
    • Un bon nombre de bureaux d’accès à l’information ont reçu des ressources supplémentaires, ce qui leur a permis d’être mieux équipés et dotés en personnel pour traiter les demandes d’accès dans les délais prévus dans la Loi.
    • Les fiches de rendement ont également attiré l’attention du Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique, ce qui a permis d’obtenir l’engagement de cadres supérieurs à suivre et à améliorer le rendement.
  • Les effets bénéfiques initiaux des fiches de rendement se sont atténués, comme l’atteste la hausse du pourcentage de plaintes de retard déposées.
  • Cela pourrait s’expliquer par le fait que, en ciblant les présomptions de refus, les les motifs des problèmes de rendement n’étaient pas considérés. De plus, les efforts déployés par les institutions afin d’améliorer leur rendement à l’égard d’autres aspects du programme d’accès à l’information n’étaient pas pris en compte ni relatés.
  • Voilà le message que nous ont transmis à bien des occasions les institutions fédérales, avec des suggestions concernant l’élargissement des mesures du rendement de manière à offrir une analyse tenant davantage compte du contexte.
  • Nous avons l’intention, avec le nouveau processus, d’aborder les questions qui concernent tout le régime d’accès à l’information et de diffuser des recommandations et des pratiques exemplaires susceptibles d’être appliquées par la majorité, sinon la totalité, des institutions fédérales.
  • Il importe aussi que les résultats de l’examen offrent suffisamment d’information concernant les défis, les points faibles et les points forts des institutions fédérales visées par l’examen et évaluent si des progrès ont été enregistrés – autrement dit, offrent de l’information « liée au contexte » qui aide à comprendre les raisons du rendement, bon ou mauvais.
  • Nous avons relevé cinq secteurs d’amélioration pour le prochain cycle d’examens.
    1. Période visée par l’examen
    • Les fiches de rendement reposeront sur l’information recueillie pendant chaque exercice et seront liées au cycle de planification fédéral. Ainsi, les institutions qui sont assujetties au cadre de gestion du rendement, qui établit un processus structuré de reddition de comptes pour les responsables d’institutions en ce qui concerne leur gestion de l’institution, seront évaluées dans ce contexte.
  • Choix des institutions
    • À l’heure actuelle, le choix des institutions ne repose pas sur une liste de critères définis. Les institutions évaluées par le passé étaient celles qui avaient des antécédents de rendement insatisfaisant au chapitre du respect des délais.
    • Comme il s’agit d’une année de transition, dans le choix des institutions évaluées, nous tiendrons compte des éléments suivants :
      • Résultats de l’exercice précédent;
      • Tendances relevées au niveau des plaintes;
      • Autres questions intéressant le CIC.
    • Nous choisirons aussi au moins une institution aux antécédents de rendement satisfaisants pour relever des pratiques exemplaires.
    • Nous produirons 10 fiches de rendement cette année.
  • L’évaluation
    • À l’heure actuelle, les notes accordées dans les fiches de rendement dépendent du pourcentage de demandes de communication qui ne sont pas traitées dans les délais. Nous envisagerons l’adoption d’un plus grand nombre de repères.
    • Afin de clore le processus de l’an dernier, nous continuerons d’évaluer le rendement en fonction des présomptions de refus. Cependant, nous regarderons au-delà de ce repère pour déterminer les retards qui sont causés par d’autres éléments de nature plus systémique, comme :
      • Le nombre croissant de consultations avec d’autres institutions;
      • L’inclusion de niveaux supplémentaires d’approbation et l’incidence de ceux-ci sur les retards.
    • Nous examinerons aussi d’autres secteurs d’intérêt, comme la diffusion proactive, volontaire ou systématique d’information.
  • Rapports
    • Conformément au cycle proposé, et à notre approche consultative, le commissaire n’inclura pas les résultats des fiches de rendement dans son rapport annuel. Nous déposerons un rapport spécial en vertu de l’article 39 de la Loi contenant l’analyse des fiches de rendement et des recommandations.
  • Processus
    • Les institutions sujettes à une évaluation seront avisées en mars.
    • Nous rencontrerons les institutions afin de leur faire savoir les critères en vertu desquels elles seront évaluées et les renseignements dont nous aurons besoin pour mener l’examen.
    • D’avril à mai, nous réunirons de l’information à partir de l’institution choisie. L’information couvrira l’exercice 2007-2008.
    • Au cours de l’été, une analyse préliminaire sera transmise aux institutions pour fins de discussion. Cela permettra une discussion sur nos constatations et offrira l’occasion d’obtenir des précisions et de modifier l’évaluation, si nécessaire.
    • L’institution évaluée aura aussi le temps de préparer une réponse à l’évaluation.
    • Un rapport final sera déposé au Parlement à la fin d’octobre.