Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Speeches

Year

2007

Strengthening the Public"s Right to Know: "The Future of Freedom of Information"
BC Information Summit
Andrea Neill, Assistant Information Commissioner
Vancouver, British Columbia
October 5, 2007

Introduction

I was delighted to be invited to the BC Information Summit to speak to you as the second Canadian "Right to Know Week" winds down. It’s so wonderful to see the range of activities that have unfolded this week in BC and all across the country to celebrate RTK - conferences, luncheons, speeches, panel discussions, essay contests. My office held a one-day event in Ottawa on Wednesday. Recognizing the importance of what is a national event, the Information Commissioner of Canada volunteered his two Assistant Commissioners to participate in provincial/territorial activities. We were so pleased by the enthusiastic response we received from our provincial counterparts. Suzanne Legault headed east to three Atlantic provinces and I came to BC.

I was asked to give some closing remarks on the future of freedom of information. It is daunting to speak about the future with any kind of authority or degree of comfort. It is particularly daunting for me, still a little wet behind the ears at the Office of the Information Commissioner, to speak of the future of freedom of information. I was reminded recently of one of the predictions made as the Access to Information Act was taking shape a quarter century ago. In a study he prepared for the Gomery Commission, Professor Alasdair Roberts recalls that before the Access to Information Act was adopted, it was anticipated that federal institutions might receive about 100,000 requests for information under the Act every year. In fact, the total number of requests over the first twenty years of the legislation’s existence was only just over 25,000, based on data contained in annual reports filed by federal institutions under section 72 of the Access to Information Act.

I think it might be much more appropriate for me to focus on the position of the Office of the Information Commissioner, with its recently appointed Information Commissioner, Robert Marleau, and its even more recently minted Assistant Commissioners, Suzanne Legault and me. Understanding the approach of the Commissioner and the Office will provide a far better guide to the future of open government, I suggest, than will my attempt in my early days as an Assistant Commissioner to peer through the ether to a more distant future.

Let me give you some idea about the direction of the Office of the Information Commissioner in the near future. At the end of my talk, I will raise some issues that may be more germane to the longer term, but for now I’m going to stay fairly close to home.

The Role of the Information Commissioner of Canada

The Information Commissioner has made it quite clear since the outset of his term that our Office is committed to protecting this fundamental right of citizens to obtain access to information under the control of federal government institutions. This goal will remain front and center in every activity we undertake.

In our latest Annual Report, Mr. Marleau pledged to assist governments to do better, and requesters to fare better, when administering and using the Act. He has also pledged to assist Parliament in playing its vital role of holding ministers and officials to account for the good administration of the Act.

Compliance should strike a fine balance between ensuring access, transparency and accountability of government, while recognizing that some information produced by government needs to be protected. Access rights are not absolute. They are subject to specific and limited exemptions, balancing freedom of information against individual privacy, commercial confidentiality, national security, law enforcement and the frank communications needed for effective policy-making.

Our view is that we will achieve optimal compliance with the Act, and fulfill our mandate, with an investigative approach that is based on what we will call the "three Cs": Collaboration, Cooperation and Consultation. What this "three Cs" approach means is that we will favour alternative means of dispute resolution, such as mediation and persuasion, and we will rely less on formal methods of compliance and review during our investigations.

Some long-time observers of the access to information process in Canada might perceive this as a less aggressive approach than in the past. However, it doesn’t mean that government institutions can avoid complying fully with the statutory provisions, nor does it mean that we won’t go to court to enforce those provisions.

The Commissioner has made it quite clear that if he finds that a complaint against a government institution in respect of a record under the Act is well-founded and issues recommendations for the institution concerned, he will not shy away from going to court if the institution fails to follow his recommendation on disclosure.

Even so, it is rare historically that our cases end up in court. In fiscal year 2006-2007, the office completed 1,846 investigations. No application for review by Canada’s Federal Court was filed by the Information Commissioner during this period. In the previous fiscal year, the office completed 1,656 investigations. Only four applications for review were filed by the Commissioner.

In short, we are not looking to go to court, but we will when necessary. And there is another role for litigation, perhaps its greatest role. That is to advance important public policy issues on access to information and to assist individuals or groups who would not otherwise have the financial means to embark in often lengthy litigation to assert their rights.

The case of Information Commissioner of Canada v. Minister of Industry is a case in point. In 2001, the Director of the Algonquin Nation Secretariat, a tribal council representing three Algonquin Bands, made a request to Statistics Canada for census records relating to their ancestors, as part of their research necessary to substantiate their lands claims.

The requester was refused access to the records he had requested, that is, census records for specific districts of eastern Ontario and northwestern Québec. He later complained to our Office.

The Chief Statistician took the position that the Statistics Act prohibited the disclosure of the requested records. In turn, the Information Commissioner took the position that the requested census returns could be disclosed. The Information Commissioner argued that section 35 of the Constitution Act, 1982 recognizes and affirms the existing aboriginal rights and treaty rights of aboriginals in Canada and imposes a duty on the Crown to act honourably in all its dealings with aboriginals.

The Chief Statistician did not accept this recommendation. With the requester’s consent, our Office brought an application to the Federal Court for review of the Chief Statistician’s decision.

The Federal Court allowed the application and ordered the disclosure of the requested records on specified terms. This decision was confirmed by the Federal Court of Appeal last June.

It is evident that without the Office’s intervention, these records would never have been ordered disclosed and the Algonquin Bands would have lacked access tokey evidence to substantiate their land claims.

Changes in the Access to Information Scheme

For almost a quarter century since the Access to Information Act came into force in 1983, it remained almost unchanged. However, the Federal Accountability Act, which received Royal Assent in December 2006, has brought about several changes to the Act and to our Office. A few of these changes are worth mentioning here.

First, more federal institutions were added to the Act - some 69 of them, including five Officers of Parliament, five foundations, seven Crown corporations, and over 50 subsidiaries of Crown corporations. As of now, the Act applies to 255 government institutions, an increase of 37 per cent within less than one year. This is a very positive and significant step forward for access to information in Canada.

However, this will likely lead to a significant increase in the workload of our Office, and hence poses an additional challenge to our pledge to improve our service delivery to Canadians.

Second, the Office of the Information Commissioner is now subject to the ATIA and the Privacy Act. As a result, our Office has had to implement an alternative and arm’s length mechanism to deal with potential complaints against the Information Commissioner, as it was not provided for under the legislation. The Information Commissioner was delighted to announce in April that the Honourable Peter de C. Cory, a former judge of the Supreme Court of Canada, accepted to serve as ad hoc Information Commissioner.

Third, the Act now provides for a "duty to assist" – a sort of Good Samaritan obligation for the information world. It is similar to that found in the B.C. Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act. This new section 4(2.1) requires the head of a government institution to make every reasonable effort to assist the person in connection with his or her access request, to respond to the request accurately and completely and, subject to the regulations, provide access to the record in the format requested.

This is not just a question of statutory obligation. It is a question of leadership. Ministers, deputy ministers and the heads of organizations subject to the Act should lead by example in implementing procedures that will give full force to this provision. That sort of leadership is clearly something we want to see in the future and I will come back to this later.

As we will soon celebrate the 25th anniversary of the Act, I would be remiss if I did not address briefly the subject of reform.

Recent years have seen many laudable efforts at reforming the ATIA, and also many recommendations for administrative reforms – something that is often forgotten.

 

There are many outstanding administrative and legislative issues, including:

  1. standardizing the criteria for inclusion of government institutions in the Act;
  2. dealing with the exercise of discretion under the Act and how it is applied;
  3. determining whether Cabinet confidences should continue to be excluded from the Act;
  4. dealing with the issue of frivolous, vexatious or abusive access requests;
  5. re-examining the time limits for replying to an access request and the rules for taking extensions of time;
  6. considering incentives for compliance with the time limits for response;
  7. reviewing the fee structure for the various aspects of making an access request as well as the process of fee waivers; and
  8. revisiting the scope of the mandate of the Information Commissioner to include such items as formal mediation, advisory functions, practice assessments and education.

In addition, we may get some good ideas from provincial or territorial access to information laws, many of which post-date the federal legislation and may therefore be more avant-garde in some respects.

However, the Commissioner has made it clear that his position on legislative and policy issues will be stated first before the House of Commons Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics, should the Committee choose to address these issues. In the meantime, our Office has offered its assistance to the Committee, the Minister of Justice and the President of the Treasury Board in developing legislative and administrative reforms of the Access to Information Act.

Looking Towards the Future of Freedom of Information

We live in a very different world than that of 1983, when the federal Act came into force. Although our Office believes that the Act, and the administration of the Act, is sound in terms of concept, structure and balance, it may need to adapt to the realities of the 21st century.

Globalization has increased interdependence among our world’s nations so that information on any particular subject is now likely to be found in more than one country. Canadians expect their government to be accountable for its involvement in matters here and abroad. This means that government transparency requirements are now cross-border.

Our governance structure has transformed significantly over the last 24 years since the Act was first enacted. The Canadian government has restructured to reduce costs and improve efficiency. A number of new public, semi-public and private and not for profit organizations have been created for the provision of services that were previously delivered directly by departments and agencies. Our legislative regime must ensure that entities delivering public services are subject to the Act.

Further, our policy development depends ever increasingly on the input of bodies that are outside of the traditional government. The complexity of the issues facing Government today has led to increased horizontality requiring input from several departments and institutions. Indeed, many issues facing government today, such as environmental and health issues, cross jurisdictions. As Janice Stein would put it, we are in the era of "networked federalism".

Lastly, the advances in technology have resulted in an increase in the speed of decision-making at all levels of government, with an increase in the quantity of data that is stored within government institutions, and with that, new challenges in keeping appropriate records of electronic information.

Any reform of the legislative and administrative regime at the federal level will have to take these challenges into consideration when deciding how the federal program of access to information is designed to best respect the 10 basic Right to Know principles that the Open Society Institute, a non-governmental international organization, identified and claimed as essential to the promotion of democratic governance in honour of the Right to Know Day celebrations in 2003.

But legislative and administrative reforms take some time. Therefore, in closing today, and in the spirit of this Right to Know week, let me share with you some of my Commissioner’s thoughts on how we can all make a difference in furthering the culture of openness in Canada by demonstrating leadership.

For his part, the Commissioner is making it a priority to improve service delivery to Canadians. As he aptly puts it, a right delayed is, in a lot of cases, a right denied. Also, in this era of information and knowledge-based society, he will strive to maximize the information he provides to parliamentarians, government institutions and Canadians about our Office’s processes and decisions, while preserving confidentiality under our Act.

From the perspective of government institutions and requesters of information, the Commissioner would like to offer some food for thought on how leadership could be demonstrated. The leaders of government institutions can have a significant impact on implementing a culture of openness by prioritizing a meaningful implementation of the new provision dealing with duty to assist. They could also be more proactive in disclosing information to the public as a matter of course and less reactive in disclosing it only when prompted by a formal access request. Given the ever increasing complexity of our governance structures, the breadth of information and the speed at which it is created within government institutions, such a leadership approach is bound to have meaningful and positive consequences on the Right to Know in Canada.

As a corollary, the Commissioner would suggest that requesters should exercise their rights in a responsible manner and work cooperatively with government institutions to clearly articulate their request for information.

Ultimately, leadership responsibilities for the implementation of the Right to Know rests with all of us. Indeed, I believe that the future of freedom of information will depend on leaders who are committed to instilling a culture of openness.

In closing, let me leave you with the words of Alain Dubuc, a journalist at La Presse, when he provided comments to the Delagrave Task Force that reviewed the ATIA in 2000:

 

"The achievement of transparency is an ongoing process more than a revolution. It should not be a partisan debate but a common effort toward better democracy."

I wish to thank the organizers and sponsors of this Right to Know event for giving me the opportunity not only to participate, but also to listen and learn about British Columbia’s issues and challenges about freedom of information.

Thank you.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Discours

Année


Le sommet sur l’information de la Colombie-Britannique – renforcer le droit de savoir du public
Mot de la fin :
Le futur de l’accès à l’information
Andrea Neill
Commissaire adjointe, conformité et résolution des plaintes
Commissariat à l’information du Canada
[seul le prononcé fait foi]

Je suis enchantée d’avoir été invitée au Sommet de l’information de la Colombie-Britannique pour vous parler dans le cadre de la deuxième Semaine canadienne du droit de savoir. C’est merveilleux de prendre connaissance de la variété d’activités qui ont été organisées dans le cadre du Droit de savoir en Colombie-Britannique et ailleurs au pays – conférences, discours, discussions, concours de dissertation. Mon bureau a également organisé un événement d’une journée à Ottawa mercredi dernier. Reconnaissant l’importance de cet événement national, le Commissaire a proposé à ces deux commissaires adjointes de prendre part aux activités provinciales et territoriales. Nous apprécions également l’accueil de nos homologues provinciaux. Suzanne Legault a visité les maritimes alors que je suis venue vous visiter en Colombie-Britannique.

Mes remarques portent sur le futur de l’accès à l’information. Il est habituellement difficile de parler du futur avec un degré de confort ou d’autorité. Il est encore plus difficile pour moi de parler de l’avenir car je suis nouvellement en poste au Commissariat. On m’a rappelé récemment d’une prédiction faite il y a plus d’un quart de siècle au moment de la conception de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Dans un rapport préparé pour la Commission Gomery, le professeur Alasdair Roberts notait que l’on anticipait recevoir plus de 10 000 demandes d’accès à l’information annuellement. En fait, le nombre total des demandes reçues dans les vingt premières années suivant l’adoption de la Loi était d’un peu plus de 20 000 demandes. Cette donnée provient des rapports annuels déposés par les institutions gouvernementales en vertu de l’article 72 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Je crois qu’il serait plus approprié de vous parler du Commissariat à l’information et de ses orientations pour les prochaines années. Nous avons un nouveau Commissaire à l’information - Robert Marleau - ainsi que deux nouvelles Commissaires adjointes, Suzanne Legault et moi-même. L’approche du Commissaire et du Commissariat vous donneront un bien meilleur guide sur l’avenir de la transparence du gouvernement que mes tentatives de naviguer les espaces célestes vers un futur éloigné.

J’aimerais vous faire part des orientations prochaines du Commissariat. À la fin des mes remarques, je vais soulever quelques points qui auront une perspective à plus long terme. Mais pour l’instant, je vais vous entretenir de sujets plus près de mon quotidien.

Le rôle du Commissaire à l’information du Canada

Dès le début de son mandat, le Commissaire s’est clairement engagé à protéger le droit fondamental des citoyens à l’accès à l’information sous le contrôle des institutions gouvernementales. Cet objectif est, et demeurera à l’avant-plan de chacune de nos activités.

Dans le dernier rapport annuel, le Commissaire s’est engagé à aider les gouvernements à faire mieux et les requérants à obtenir plus en ce qui concerne l’application et l’utilisation de la Loi. Il s’est également engagé à assister le Parlement à jouer son rôle essentiel, qui consiste à demander des comptes aux ministres et aux hauts fonctionnaires concernant la bonne application de la Loi.

Une juste application de la Loi doit maintenir un équilibre crucial entre, d’une part, les principes d’accès, la transparence et la responsabilisation du gouvernement, d’autre part, la reconnaissance que certaines informations gouvernementales doivent être protégées. Les droits d’accès ne sont pas absolus. Ils sont assujettis à des exceptions limitées et précises qui permettent d’établir un équilibre entre la liberté d’information et la vie privée d’une personne, le secret des affaires, la sécurité nationale et les communications franches nécessaires pour une bonne élaboration des politiques.

Nous espérons parvenir au respect optimal de la Loi et exécuter pleinement notre mandat grâce à notre approche d’enquête fondée sur ce que j’appellerai les trois C : collaboration, coopération et consultation. Cette approche des « trois C » signifie que nous favoriserons des méthodes alternatives de règlement des différends comme la médiation et la persuasion en recourant moins aux audiences formelles et à l’exercice des pouvoirs d’inquisition judiciaire durant nos enquêtes.

Certains observateurs du processus d’accès à l’information jugeront que cette approche est peut-être moins dynamique que celle utilisée auparavant. Toutefois, cela ne signifie pas que les institutions fédérales n’ont pas l’obligation de se conformer pleinement aux dispositions législatives ni que nous ne nous présenterons pas devant les tribunaux pour faire respecter ces dispositions.

Le Commissaire a clairement indiqué que s’il considère qu’une plainte à l’égard d’une institution fédérale concernant un refus de communication est fondée et si ses recommandations sur la divulgation ne sont pas suivies, il n’hésitera pas à se présenter devant les tribunaux.

Toutefois, il est rare que nos dossiers se retrouvent devant les tribunaux. Au cours de l’exercice 2006-2007, le Commissariat a complété 1846 enquêtes. Aucun recours en révision par la Cour fédérale n’a été déposé par le Commissaire durant cette période. Au cours de l’exercice précédent, le Commissariat a terminé 1656 enquêtes et seulement quatre recours en révision ont été entrepris par le Commissaire.

En bref, nous ne sommes pas à la recherche des occasions pour aller devant les tribunaux. Cependant, nous irons lorsqu’il s’avère nécessaire. Un des rôles de ces litiges, peut-être le rôle le plus important, est de faire progresser les enjeux en matière de politiques gouvernementales sur l’accès à l’information et d’aider les personnes ou les groupes qui, autrement, n’auraient pas les moyens financiers d’entreprendre de longues procédures afin de faire valoir leurs droits.

L’affaire Commissaire à l’information du Canada c. le ministre de l’Industrie en est un bel exemple. En 2001, le directeur du Secrétariat de la nation algonquine, un conseil tribal qui représente les intérêts de trois bandes algonquines, a présenté une demande de relevés de recensement relative à leurs ancêtres, à Statistique Canada dans le cadre de leurs recherches visant à établir le bien-fondé de leurs revendications territoriales.

Le requérant s’est vu refuser l’accès aux relevés demandés, soit les relevés de recensement pour certains districts de l’est de l’Ontario et du nord-ouest du Québec. Le requérant a conséquemment déposé une plainte au Commissariat.

Le statisticien en chef a fait valoir que la Loi sur la statistique interdisait la communication des relevés demandés. Pour sa part, le Commissaire à l’information a estimé que les relevés de recensement demandés pouvaient être communiqués. De plus, nous avons soutenu que l’article 35 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 reconnaît et confirme les droits existants – ancestraux ou issus de traités – des peuples autochtones du Canada et impose à la Couronne un devoir d’agir de façon honorable dans tous ses rapports avec les peuples autochtones.

Le statisticien en chef n’a pas accepté cette recommandation. Le Commissariat, avec le consentement du requérant, a alors demandé à la Cour fédérale de réviser cette décision.

La Cour fédérale a accueilli la demande et ordonné la communication des relevés demandés aux conditions précisées, décision confirmée par la Cour d’appel fédérale.

Il est évident que sans l’intervention du Commissariat, la communication de ces relevés n’aurait jamais été ordonnée et les bandes algonquiennes n’auraient pas eu accès à cette source d’information dans leur quête visant à obtenir des preuves suffisantes leur permettant d’établir le bien-fondé de leurs revendications territoriales.

Changements au cadre de l’accès à l’information

Près d’un quart de siècle après l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en 1983, la Loi est demeurée essentiellement la même. Toutefois, la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité, qui a reçu la sanction royale en décembre 2006, a engendré plusieurs changements à la Loi et au Commissariat. Quelques changements valent mention.

Tout d’abord, plusieurs institutions fédérales ont été ajoutées à la Loi – quelques 69 institutions - y compris cinq hauts fonctionnaires du Parlement, cinq fondations, sept sociétés d’État et 48 filiales de sociétés d’État. À l’heure actuelle, la Loi s’applique à 255 institutions fédérales, ce qui correspond à une augmentation de 37 % en moins d’un an. Il s’agit d’une démarche très positive et d’un pas important dans la bonne direction pour l’accès à l’information au Canada.

Toutefois, cette augmentation conduira vraisemblablement à une hausse importante de la charge de travail du Commissariat, ce qui pose un problème additionnel à l’égard du respect de notre engagement qui est d’améliorer la prestation des services.

En deuxième lieu, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada est maintenant assujetti à la LAI et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Par conséquent, le Commissariat a mis en œuvre un mécanisme alternatif pour traiter de façon indépendante les plaintes à l’égard du Commissaire à l’information puisque la législation ne le prévoit pas. En juin dernier, le Commissaire a eu le plaisir d’annoncer que l’honorable Peter de C. Cory, ancien juge de la Cour suprême du Canada, avait accepté le mandat de Commissaire à l’information ad hoc.

En troisième lieu, la Loi contient une «obligation d’aider» – c’est-à-dire un type d’obligation de bon samaritain à l’égard du monde de l’information. Cette obligation est similaire à celle dans la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels de la Colombie-Britannique. L’article 4 (2.1) exige le responsable d’une institution fédérale de déployer tous les efforts raisonnables pour aider la personne qui a présenté une demande d’accès à un dossier appartenant à cette institution, répondre de façon précise et complète à la demande, et sous réserve des règlements, communiquer le document sur le support demandé.

Il ne s’agit pas uniquement d’une obligation légale. Il s’agit d’une question leadership. Les ministres et sous-ministres assujettis à la Loi doivent prêcher par l’exemple en adoptant des procédures qui permettront l’application ferme de cette disposition. Nous voulons voir ce genre de leadership dans le futur et j’y reviendrai plus tard.

Puisque nous célébrerons bientôt le 25e anniversaire de l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi, je ne peux pas passer sous silence la réforme législative.

Au cours des dernières années, plusieurs efforts louables ont été déployés pour réformer la LAI et plusieurs recommandations ont été formulées sur les réformes administratives – ce que nous avons tendance à oublier.

Il existe plusieurs questions administratives et législatives à traiter, notamment :

  1. la normalisation des critères d’inclusion des institutions fédérales dans la Loi;
  2. l’application du pouvoir discrétionnaire en vertu de la Loi;
  3. la détermination de la pertinence de l’exclusion des documents confidentiels du Cabinet;
  4. le traitement des demandes d’accès frivoles, vexatoires ou injustifiées;
  5. le réexamen des délais de réponse à une demande d’accès et les règles régissant la prolongation du délai;
  6. la prise en considération d’incitatifs visant le respect des délais de réponse;
  7. l’examen du barème des droits selon les différents aspects de la présentation d’une demande d’accès, ainsi que du processus de dispense des droits;
  8. l’examen de la portée du mandat du Commissaire à l’information, afin d’y inclure certains aspects, tels la médiation officielle, la fonction de consultation, l’évaluation des pratiques et l’éducation.

De plus, on peut tirer quelques idées de réforme des différentes lois provinciales ou territoriales sur l’accès à l’information, dont bon nombre ont été adoptées après la loi fédérale et qui peuvent être, dans certains cas, plus avant-gardistes.

Le Commissaire a étéclair à l’effet que ses prises de position en ce qui a trait aux questions législatives et d’orientation stratégique seront dévoilées au Comité permanent de la Chambre des communes de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique, s’il décide d’aborder ce sujet. D’ici là, dans un esprit de collaboration, de coopération et de consultation, le Commissariat a offert son assistance au Comité permanent, au ministre de la Justice et au président du Conseil du Trésor pour l’élaboration d’initiatives législatives et administratives applicables à la réforme de la LAI.

Regard vers le futur de l’accès à l’information

Nous vivons dans un monde très différent de celui de 1983 lorsque la Loi est entrée en vigueur. Bien que le Commissariat est d’avis que la Loi est solide en matière de concept, de structure et d’équilibre, tout comme son administration, elle devra être adaptée aux réalités du XXIe siècle.

La mondialisation a accru l’interdépendance entre les nations du monde, ce qui veut dire que l’information sur un sujet donné peut se trouver dans plusieurs pays. Tous les Canadiens s’attendent à ce que le gouvernement rende des comptes quant à sa participation à certains dossiers au pays et à l’étranger. Cela veut donc dire que les exigences en matière de transparence du gouvernement dépassent maintenant nos frontières.

Notre structure de gouvernance s’est considérablement transformée depuis les 24 dernières années, soit depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi. L’administration fédérale s’est restructurée pour réduire les coûts et améliorer l’efficacité. On a créé un certain nombre d’organisations de nature publique et semi-publique ou d’organisations privées sans but lucratif dont le mandat est d’assurer certains services qui étaient auparavant la responsabilité directe de ministères ou d’organismes gouvernementaux. Notre régime législatif doit veiller à ce que les entités qui assurent la prestation de services aux citoyens soient assujetties à la Loi.

De plus, l’élaboration des politiques dépend de plus en plus de l’apport d’organismes qui ne relèvent pas du mode de gouvernement traditionnel. La complexité des enjeux auxquels le gouvernement doit faire face exige la participation de divers ministères et institutions. De fait, bon nombre de ces enjeux, comme ceux liés à l’environnement et à la santé, dépassent les frontières. Comme le dirait Janice Stein, nous vivons à l’époque du « fédéralisme connecté ».

Finalement, les progrès de la technologie ont accéléré la rapidité avec laquelle les décisions doivent être prises par tous les niveaux de gouvernement, font augmenter la quantité des données conservées par les institutions fédérales et, par conséquent, engendrent de nouveaux défis quant à la conservation de dossiers électroniques pertinents.

Toute réforme du régime législatif et administratif au niveau fédéral devra tenir compte de ces défis lorsque viendra le temps de décider comment le programme fédéral d’accès à l’information pourrait respecter au mieux les dix principes de base du droit de savoir.

Mais les réformes législatives et administratives prennent du temps. En conclusion, et dans l’esprit de la Semaine du droit de savoir, permettez-moi de vous faire part de quelques réflexions sur la façon dont nous pouvons tous promouvoir la culture de la transparence au Canada en faisant preuve de leadership.

Pour sa part, il est prioritaire pour le Commissaire d’améliorer la prestation des services du Commissariat aux Canadiens. Un droit d’accès qui ne peut être exercé avec célérité est, dans bien des cas, un droit perdu. De même, dans notre société de l’information et du savoir, il veut maximiser les renseignements que sont communiqués aux parlementaires, aux institutions fédérales et aux Canadiens sur nos processus et décisions, tout en préservant la confidentialité en vertu de la LAI.

Du point de vue des institutions fédérales et des auteurs de demandes de renseignements, le Commissaire aimerait présenter des suggestions sur la façon dont le leadership pourrait être exercé. Les dirigeants des institutions fédérales peuvent jouer un rôle important dans la mise en place d’une culture de la transparence en accordant la priorité à une mise en œuvre efficace de la nouvelle disposition sur l’obligation d’aider. Ils pourraient également adopter des mesures proactives et systématiques dans la publication d’informations au lieu d’attendre qu’une demande d’accès soit formulée pour divulguer l’information.

Compte tenu de la complexité sans cesse croissante de nos structures de gouvernance, de la diversité de l’information et de la vitesse à laquelle elle est créée au sein des institutions fédérales, une telle approche en matière de leadership ne peut qu’avoir des répercussions significatives et positives sur le droit de savoir au Canada.

Incidemment, le Commissaire incite les auteurs des demandes à exercer leurs droits de façon responsable et à travailler en collaboration avec les institutions fédérales afin d’exprimer clairement leurs demandes d’accès à l’information.

Finalement, les responsabilités en matière de leadership pour mettre en œuvre le droit de savoir relèvent de nous tous. Je crois que l’avenir de l’accès à l’information dépendra des leaders qui sont engagés à inculquer les valeurs de transparence.

En terminant, permettez-moi de citer les mots d’Alain Dubuc, journaliste à La Presse, lorsqu’il a présenté ses commentaires au groupe d’étude Delagrave qui était chargé de réviser la Loi :

« La recherche de la transparence est un processus continu plus qu’une révolution et cela ne doit pas être un enjeu partisan mais un effort commun pour améliorer la démocratie. »

J’aimerais remercier les organisateurs et les commanditaires de cet événement lié au Droit de savoir de m’avoir permise non seulement de participer mais également d’écouter et d’apprendre sur les questions et les défis de l’accès à l’information en Colombie-Britannique.