Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Speeches

Year

2006

4th International Conference of Information Commissioners
Introductory Remarks for the Workshop on Strategies for Changing Bureaucratic Cultures
John Reid, Information Commissioner of Canada
June 2006
Manchester, England

During my almost eight years as Information Commissioner of Canada, one reality has been driven home to me over and over again. A strong, freedom of information law is essential, but insufficient in itself, to the task of changing an entrenched bureaucratic culture of secrecy. As well, there must be tangible, clear leadership from the elected and non-elected heads of government in support of openness.

By “tangible” leadership, I mean devoting adequate resources to educating the bureaucracy and enabling public servants to search for, and process, requested records in a timely manner. By “clear” leadership, I mean personal statements of support for openness in speeches and directives and personal examples of courage to be open even if doing so may prove embarrassing. Even the smallest, most subtle indications from the head of government that freedom of information is “troublesome” or something to be circumvented (such as by refraining from creating records) – will spread like wildfire throughout a bureaucracy and further entrench a culture of secrecy.

The topic of this workshop is “Strategies for Changing Bureaucratic Cultures” and, as my office proposed this topic, I have been asked to open the discussion. I don’t intend to speak at length as I want to hear what everyone else here has to say so that I may go back to Canada with new ideas to fight this continuing battle.

Canada has had, from the very beginning of its Access to Information Act, on July 1, 1983, a solidly-entrenched bureaucratic culture of secrecy. Despite changes of government over the years, and despite my, and my predecessors’, best efforts, this culture of secrecy remains strong in our federal government. The most recent example in Canada is that it took the bureaucracy less than two months to cause the newly elected Conservative government to back away from every one of its election promises to be more open and to strengthen our access to information law.

This is not to say that my office hasn’t had some success with a few strategies to fight this culture. I would like to discuss these briefly to get the discussion going, then I’m going to sit back and take notes!

In my first year in office, I took on the task of dealing with the issue of delays in the process of answering access to information requests. In virtually every annual report of every Information Commissioner before me, the issue of delay was front and centre. The percentage of complaints which were about delays had been growing every year and had reached, by 1998, almost 50% of all complaints. In some departments, 85% of requests were not answered in time.

I decided to prepare a “report card” on government institutions, assigning them a grade (from A to F) depending on the percentage of access requests received which were answered late. The grade was, entirely objective and yet it spoke volumes about the overall performance of individual departments. Each year I make the report cards public by tabling them in our Parliament. Each year I grade new institutions and do follow-up report cards on the poor performers from previous years.

By fiscal year 2003-2004, the percentage of delay complaints had dropped to 14.5%. From this low-point, though, the percentage has begun to rise. In 2004-2005, it rose to 21.1% and in the fiscal year just ended on March 31st, it rose again to 24.1%. This concerns us greatly and brings me to the second of our strategies for changing bureaucratic cultures. Nevertheless, the overall problem of delay has diminished and this is one sign that the culture of secrecy is weakening.

In 2004, Parliament created a standing committee charged with overseeing access to information matters. It is called the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics. This new committee has made it a priority to ensure that the Access to Information Act is modernized and strengthened as well as enforced. In this latter regard, this committee has recently taken upon itself the task of calling before it top officials of departments which have received failing grades on our Report Cards. This increased level of parliamentary interest in, and scrutiny of, the operations of the Access to Information Act is a very positive sign of parliamentary leadership in nurturing the public’s right to know. This, too, is an important strategy in breaking down our bureaucratic culture of secrecy.

The third strategy we have employed, albeit sparingly, to encourage a culture of openness, is the subpoena. I have the power “to summon and enforce the appearance of persons … and compel them to give oral or written evidence on oath … in the same manner and to the same extent as a superior court of record.” We have used this power to compel the appearance of top bureaucrats, Deputy Ministers, senior political staff of ministers and Prime Ministers, as well as Ministers of the Crown, when appropriate. Nothing focuses the attention of a Deputy Minister or a Minister like being put under oath and questioned about why his or her department cannot manage to follow the clear imperatives of the law whether it be about delays, missing records, excessively slow and convoluted approval processes or the misuse of exemptions.

Even these formal proceedings become opportunities to educate senior officials about their access to information obligations and the legitimate reasons for secrecy which exist. Senior officials tend to fear access to information out of ignorance, rather than from any intellectually honest concern about the true sensitivities of information. Culture change, in this as in most fields, means calming fears and building self-confidence. This kind of work is the domain of education, mentoring and example – and it remains a focus of our work as we use the ombudsman model to its full advantage in the work of changing the culture of secrecy in Canada.

A fourth strategy is education. I discovered, at the University of Alberta Extension, a programme of Government studies, which dealt with information and privacy. Working with the Extension Department, we were able to deepen and develop a series of courses leading to a Certificate in Access and Privacy, issued by the University of Alberta. The web site is: www.govsource.net/programs/iapp. This programme has had a number of very positive impacts on the way in which FOI is delivered through the Government of Canada and its Provinces. These programmes are delivered “on line” so that individuals anywhere in the world are able to access them easily. The early demand for the revised courses was surprisingly high.

Some of the Federal Departments are now paying the costs to permit their staff to take the courses; and it has now become a requirement for individuals seeking to do investigative work for the Information Commissioner to have taken some courses and be prepared to earn their certificate.

The results of this initiative have been very helpful, and we can see better delivery of the FOI to Canadians where individuals in Departments have taken these courses. These graduates know why and why not information should be released or held back. It means that our time with them is spent efficiently. It also means that these individuals are empowered, through expertise, to stand up for the law against other Departmental interests. When and if they leave their career path in Access work, they do take this knowledge and training with them and spread it more throughout the governmental system. This programme has been most helpful in spreading the necessary information throughout government but also in making professional the individuals working in the system. In the long term, it probably will be one of the more effective initiatives we have undertaken to obtain support for FOI activities.

Enough from me. I would now like to learn from you about your strategies for changing bureaucratic cultures.

Thank you.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Discours

Année


Remarques préliminaires pour l’atelier sur les stratégies visant à favoriser l’évolution des cultures bureaucratiques - 4e conférence internationale des commissaires à l’information

Au cours des huit années ou presque que j’ai passées au poste de Commissaire à l’information du Canada, j’ai été constamment confronté à une réalité : un texte de loi solide sur l’accès à l’information est essentiel pour faire évoluer une culture bureaucratique du secret bien enracinée, mais ne suffit pas en soi. Les responsables gouvernementaux élus et non élus doivent également manifester un engagement tangible, clair, à l’égard de la transparence.

Par engagement « tangible », je veux dire « affecter des ressources suffisantes pour sensibiliser les bureaucrates et pour permettre aux fonctionnaires de chercher et de traiter les documents demandés dans les délais prévus ». Par engagement « clair », je veux dire « se prononcer en faveur de la transparence dans des discours et des directives et donner l’exemple en faisant montre de transparence en dépit des conséquences ». La moindre indication, aussi subtile soit-elle, de la part du chef du gouvernement voulant que l’accès à l’information est une source d’ennuis ou un obstacle à contourner (comme en évitant de laisser des traces écrites) – fera boule de neige dans les rangs des bureaucrates et enracinera encore plus profondément une culture du secret.

Le présent atelier porte sur les stratégies visant à faire évoluer les cultures bureaucratiques, et, parce que le Commissariat à l’information du Canada a proposé le sujet, on m’a invité à ouvrir le débat. Je n’ai pas l’intention de parler très longtemps parce que je veux entendre ce que chacun de vous a à dire de sorte que je rentre au Canada armé d’idées nouvelles sur la façon de poursuivre le combat.

Le Canada avait, aux premièrs heures de l’adoption de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, le 1er juillet 1983, une culture bureaucratique du secret profondément enracinée. Malgré les changements de gouvernements qui sont intervenus au fil des années, et malgré mes efforts et les efforts de mes prédécesseurs, cette culture du secret est encore solide dans l’administration fédérale. L’exemple le plus récent en est qu’il a fallu à la bureaucratie moins de deux mois pour amener le gouvernement conservateur nouvellement élu à reculer par rapport à toutes ses promesses électorales en faveur d’une plus grande transparence et du renforcement des dispositions législatives sur l’accès à l’information.

Cela ne signifie pas que le Commissariat n’a jamais eu le dessus sur cette culture. Des stratégies ont été fructueuses, et j’aimerais en parler brièvement pour lancer le débat, puis je promets de m’asseoir et de prendre des notes!

Pendant ma première année à titre de Commissaire, je me suis attaqué au problème des retards dans le traitement des demandes de communication. Presque tous les rapports annuels de tous les commissaires à l’information qui m’ont précédé mettaient en lumière le problème des retards. Le pourcentage de plaintes portant sur les retards augmentait chaque année et représentait, dès 1998, presque la moitié de toutes les plaintes. Dans des ministères, 85 % des demandes n’étaient pas traitées dans les délais.

J’ai alors décidé d’établir une « fiche de rendement » sur les institutions fédérales et d’attribuer à celles-ci une note (de A à F) en fonction du pourcentage de demandes de communications reçues qui n’ont pas été traitées dans les délais prévus. La note était entièrement objective et en disait quand même long sur le rendement global des ministères. Chaque année, je publie les fiches de rendement en les déposant au Parlement. Et chaque année, j’attribue une note à de nouvelles institutions et j’établis des fiches de suivi à l’égard des institutions ayant eu un piètre rendement au cours des années précédentes.

Dès l’exercice 2003-2004, le pourcentage de plaintes relatives aux retards avait diminué, passant à 14,5 %. Après avoir atteint ce bas niveau, cependant, le pourcentage a commencé à monter. En 2004-2005, il atteignait 21,1 %, et dans l’exercice qui vient de prendre fin, le 31 mars, il avait encore grimpé, s’établissant à 24,1 %. Cela nous inquiète énormément, et cela m’amène à la deuxième stratégie que nous avons adoptée en vue de l’évolution des cultures bureaucratiques. Quoi qu’il en soit, le problème général des retards s’est atténué, et c’est un signe que la culture du secret s’affaiblit.

En 2004, le Parlement a mis sur pied un comité permanent chargé de la surveillance des questions liées à l‘accès à l’information. Il s’agit du Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique. Le nouveau comité s’est donné comme priorité la modernisation et le renforcement, de même que l’application, de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. À ce dernier égard, le Comité a récemment pris sur lui de convoquer les responsables des ministères ayant reçu de mauvaises notes dans nos fiches de rendement à comparaître devant lui. Cet intérêt et cette surveillance accrus à l’égard du fonctionnement de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information constitue un signe très positif de l’engagement parlementaire en faveur du droit de savoir du public. Cela représente aussi une importante stratégie pour faire échec à la culture bureaucratique du secret.

La troisième méthode que nous avons utilisée, quoique rarement, pour favoriser l’instauration d’une culture de transparence est le recours aux assignations à témoigner. J’ai le pouvoir « d’assigner et de contraindre des témoins à comparaître… à déposer verbalement ou par écrit sous la foi du serment… de la même façon et dans la même mesure qu’une cour supérieure d’archives. » Nous avons eu recours à ce pouvoir de faire comparaître des hauts fonctionnaires, des sous-ministres, des conseillers politiques de ministres et de premiers ministres ainsi que des ministres de la Couronne, au besoin. Rien ne retient davantage l’attention d’un sous-ministre ou d’un ministre que le fait de prêter serment et de devoir expliquer pourquoi son ministère ne peut pas suivre les impératifs clairs de la Loi quand il s’agit de retards, de documents manquants, de processus d’approbation trop lents ou trop compliqués ou de mauvais usage des exceptions.

Ces procédures officielles peuvent offrir l’occasion de faire connaître aux responsables leurs obligations en matière d’accès à l’information et les motifs légitimes de refuser la communication de renseignements qui sont prévus. Les hauts fonctionnaires ont tendance à craindre l’accès à l’information à cause d’un manque de connaissances et non pas d’un souci intellectuel à l’égard de la nature délicate réelle des renseignements. L’évolution des cultures, dans ce domaine comme dans un bon nombre d’autres, revient à atténuer les craintes et instaurer la confiance en soi. Ce type d’activités relève de l’éducation, du mentorat et de l’émulation – et reste au cœur de notre action lorsque nous utilisons pleinement le rôle de protecteur du citoyen pour faire évoluer la culture du secret au Canada.

La quatrième stratégie est l’éducation. J’ai découvert, au département de l’éducation permanente de l’Université de l’Alberta, un programme d’études gouvernementales qui portait sur l’information et la protection de la vie privée. En collaboration avec le département, nous avons pu approfondir et élaborer une série de cours débouchant sur un certificat en accès à l’information et protection des renseignements personnels émis par l’Université de l’Alberta. Le site Internet (anglais seulement) est : www.govsource.net/programs/iapp. Le programme a eu des effets très favorables sur le fonctionnement de l’accès à l’information dans l’administration fédérale et dans les provinces. Le programme d’études est dispensé en ligne, de sorte que des gens de partout dans le monde peuvent y avoir accès facilement. Le nombre d’inscriptions au début du programme a été étonnamment élevé.

Des ministères fédéraux assument désormais les coûts pour permettre à leurs employés de suivre les cours, et il est maintenant obligatoire pour quiconque veut travailler à titre d’enquêteur au Commissariat à l’information d’avoir suivi certains de ces cours et d’être prêt à obtenir le certificat.

Les résultats de cette initiative ont été fort utiles, et nous pouvons constater une meilleure exécution de l’accès à l’information pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes lorsque des employés des ministères ont suivi ces cours. Ces diplômés connaissent les raisons pour lesquelles les renseignements devraient (ou ne devraient pas) être communiqués. Cela signifie que notre travail avec ces employés est de beaucoup simplifié. Cela signifie aussi que ces personnes ont les moyens, grâce à leurs connaissances spécialisées, de défendre les dispositions de la Loi contre les autres intérêts des ministères. Si un jour elles devaient quitter le domaine de l’accès à l’information, elles auront des connaissances et une expérience qu’elles pourront répandre ailleurs dans l’administration fédérale. Le programme a été des plus utiles pour diffuser l’information nécessaire dans toute l’administration fédérale, certes, mais aussi pour faire en sorte que les préposés à l’accès à l’information soient des professionnels du domaine. À long terme, il s’agira probablement de l’une des initiatives les plus fructueuses que nous ayons entreprises en faveur des activités d’accès à l’information.

J’ai assez parlé. Je vous laisse maintenant nous faire part des stratégies que vous avez employées pour favoriser l’évolution des cultures bureaucratiques.

Je vous remercie.