Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Speeches

Year

2006

Federal Access to Information at the Crossroads – A Commissioner’s Perspective
Managing Government Information 4th Annual Forum
John Reid, Information Commissioner of Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
February 27, 2006

I am pleased to be here today to be part of this important conference.

My topic, today, is:  FEDERAL ACCESS TO INFORMATION AT THE CROSSROADS – A COMMISSIONER’S PERSPECTIVE”.  I believe that we find ourselves at one of those truly “life changing” moments in our history – insofar as it comes to the future of governmental accountability through transparency in Canada.

We have just changed governments again, after our second election in two years, and the appetite is great for change.  Amongst the changes that were promised by all parties in the last election were changes to strengthen the mechanisms of transparency and accountability of government.  And, too, the second report of the Gomery Commission provided further fuel for change in this area.  The Gomery report, the La Forest report on the Offices of the Information and Privacy Commissioners and the new conservative government, advocate, as a central feature of their initiatives to impact accountability, a stronger Access to Information Act.  Both advocate certain, quite far-reaching, changes to how records are managed in government – also as a means of improving accountability.  And there is a broad measure of agreement among all parties – endorsed by the Gomery Report – that the preferred model of transparency reform is that contained in the “Open Government Act”, which my office drafted last year and tabled before the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics in September of 2005.

I have put forward specific changes and pushed hard for reform because the clear lesson of my almost eight years of service as Canada’s Information Commissioner, is that – by-and-large – public officials just don’t get it!  They don’t get the basic notion that, in passing the Access to Information Act in 1983, Parliament wanted a shift of power away from ministers and bureaucrats to citizens.  Parliament wanted members of the public to have the positive legal right to get the facts, not the “spin”; to get the source records, not the managed message; to get whatever records they wanted, not just what public officials felt they should know.

Ministers and bureaucrats, regrettably, didn’t get the memo on this one!  Still, after almost 23 years of living with the Access to Information Act, the name of the game, all to often, is how to resist transparency and engage in damage control by ignoring response deadlines, blacking-out the embarrassing bits, conducting business orally, excluding records and institutions from the coverage of the Access to Information Act and keeping the system’s watchdog overworked and under funded.

No; of course not – it is not all bad news.  There has been progress.  But, the clear lesson of these past years is that governments continue to distrust and resist the Access to Information Act and the oversight of the Information Commissioner.

Vigilance, by users, the media, academics, the judiciary, Information Commissioners and Members of Parliament, must be maintained against the very real pressures from governments to take back from citizens, the power to control what, and when, information will be disclosed.

Will the new government be different?  They say they will be and I hope that they are.  The litmus test will be whether or not the new government delivers on its promise to strengthen the Access to Information Act.

I fervently believe, that the other fine initiatives to improve government accountability which were put forward by Justice Gomery, by the parties during the election and by the Liberal government in response to the sponsorship scandal – require the nourishment of unfiltered knowledge about what goes on in government, if they are to be truly effective.  There can be no true accountability, or true disincentive for corruption and maladministration, without the bright light of transparency.  That was the motivation for the changes my office has suggested to strengthen the Access to Information Act.

At the heart of my suggested changes is my plea for, my insistence on, a return to professional record making and keeping in the government of Canada.  Many of you in this room have toiled long and hard to garner, for information management issues, the profile they so desperately need if our democracy is to be healthy, our governments accountable, our decision-making high quality and our history well documented.  Small steps (such as the adoption of the MGI Policy) resulted – there were no giant leaps – no real success in getting near the top of either the PM’s or the Clerk’s priority lists.  I call the MGI Policy a small step because no one outside the MGI community knows about it; its provisions (such as the requirement to create records) are largely ignored; TBS seems to have washed its hands of monitoring the policy’s implementation; shockingly little money has been devoted to managing the government’s records; and there is no grand plan, with specific target milestones, for solving our information management crisis.

All that, I predict, is about to change.  A mandatory requirement to create records, backed up by penalties, is in the cards.  I have proposed it, Justice Gomery has proposed it, the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics has proposed it, and Stephen Harper has promised it.  Once adopted, one of the top priorities of the public service – if not the government – will be to establish record creation and record-retention protocols for every business line and activity of government – from staffing and classification, to pay and benefits, to contracting, to grants and contributions, to investigations and audits, to policy development and advice giving and to managerial activities.  Why will all this be a priority?  Because accepted record creation and retention standards for all our business lines will be a prudent defence against accusations of failure to comply with this new duty to create records.

Surely this is the direction we have been wanting to go in all along!  We desperately need to establish these record standards as a prerequisite to building the policies and technical infrastructure to govern their effective management.  I applaud the many very good experts throughout the system – I have been giving them kudos in annual reports for seven years – but now is the time to get serious about “finishing the check” – gathering and synthesizing our experience and setting up the end-game plan.  This small, scary, legal nudge – this lawful obligation to create records to document what we, as public officials do – is just what the information management doctor ordered!  At least, that’s how I see it.

Justice Gomery also saw this critical link between records management and good, accountable governance.  This is what Justice Gomery had to say:

“The Commission concurs with the Information Commissioner that there should be mandatory record-keeping in government, and that the obligation to create a “paper trail” should be something more than a matter of policy.  It should be an explicit part of the law of Canada.”

“Accordingly, the Commission agrees that the Access to Information Act should be amended to include an obligation on the part of every officer and employee of a government institution to create records that document decisions and recommendations, and that it should be an offence to fail to create those records.  Going further, the Commission believes that there should also be free-standing record-keeping legislation which would require public servants and persons acting on behalf of the Government to collect, create, receive and capture information in a way that documents decisions and decision-making processes leading to the disbursement of public funds.  This would make it possible to reconstruct the evolution of spending policies and programs, support the continuity of government and its decision-making, and allow for independent audit and review.  Such record-keeping legislation should state clearly that deliberate destruction of documentation and failure to comply with record-keeping obligations are grounds for dismissal.”

“The reason for the creation of legal obligations to maintain and not to destroy government records, in addition to similar rules in the access to information regime, is that the rationale for mandatory record-keeping does more than facilitate public access to information:  it ensures good government and accountability, a requirement consistent with the theme of the Commission’s overall recommendations.” [Gomery Report #2 at pp. 180-181]

I, too, believe that the legal requirement to create records is a vitally important first step – but only a first step.  The entire life cycle of recorded information held by government requires regulation.  The good guidance given in the MGI Policy has not been implemented in practice to an acceptable extent.  I, too, support a comprehensive information management Act which will enshrine accountabilities for monitoring and enforcement – accountabilities which are, at present, highly confusing.

At present, the only statute which specifically mandates a minister to pay attention to how the government’s information is managed, is the Access to Information Act.  I suspect that few of you are aware that section 70 of the Act contains this provision:

Section 70(1) “… the designated Minister (President of Treasury Board shall

(a) cause to be kept under review the manner in which records under the control of government institutions are maintained and managed to ensure compliance with the provisions of this Act and the regulations relating to access to records.”

This is the statutory basis for the TBS policy activity with respect to information management and, yet, to my knowledge, no President of the Treasury Board, in the 23 years since the Act’s passage, has ever caused a single study to be made into the effect on access rights of information management practices.  Yes, there have been efficiency studies and e-government studies and procurement initiatives and standards, and all the other good and important initiatives undertaken over the years by the Chief Information Officer Branch of TBS – but virtually no attention paid to the statutory mandate.

My office is intending to devote some considerable attention to monitoring how TBS is fulfilling its statutory obligations under the Access to Information Act and this is, perhaps, the most important of those obligations.  The other obligation placed on the TBS by law is to ensure that all government institutions capture and report annually statistics on how the Access to Information Act is being administered.  For almost 23 years, the TBS has been content to capture only basic descriptive information such as numbers of requests, categories of requesters, exemptions invoked, and so forth.  Statistics which reveal performance deficits or successes are not captured.  For example, government institutions are not required to publish the percentage of requests received which are answered late – a highly reliable predictor of the state of health of access administration in any institution.  If the proposed Open Government Act is adopted, some gathering of basic performance data such as this would be mandatory.

Now might be an appropriate time to bring these comments to a close by summarizing the main elements of ATI reform which, it is my hope, will soon be coming before Parliament.

I believe that the proposed new Open Government Act that I presented to the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics in October, is the right blueprint for reform.  My reform proposals contain the following features:

  • All exemptions should contain an injury test and be discretionary.  As well, all exemptions should be subject to a public interest override.  In this way, Parliament would send the clear message that this is an openness law not a secrecy code and that the default position is disclosure.
  • Public officials should be required to document their decisions, actions, considerations and deliberations.  This law, this right of access, means nothing if public officials don’t keep appropriate records and conduct governance in an oral culture.
  • The last vestiges of unreviewable government secrecy – i.e. cabinet confidences – should be brought within the coverage of the law and the review jurisdiction of the Commissioner.  Cabinet confidentiality risks being broadly, and too self-servingly, applied by governments when it is free from independent oversight.
  • The coverage of the Access law must be made comprehensive to all the mechanisms of government through which public funds are spent or public functions discharged.  Of course, I refer here to all Crown Corporations, Foundations, Agents of Parliament as well as Ministers’ offices and the PMO.  The right to know is at profound risk when governments have the discretion to decide which entities and, hence, which records, will be subject to the right of access and which will not.  The very purpose of the Access to Information Act was to remove the caprice from decisions about disclosure of government records; now we must remove the caprice from decisions about which entities will be subject to the Act.
  • Connected with this notion, that the coverage of the Act should be comprehensive, is the notion that the Act should be a complete code setting out the openness/secrecy balance.  No longer should we permit secrecy provisions in other statutes to be mandatory, in perpetuity, without meeting any of the tests of secrecy in the Act’s substantive exemptions.  Section 24 of the Access to Information Act, which sets out this open-ended, mandatory, class exemption, should be abolished.

To restate my theme, then, before closing:  We are about to get, in this country, a modernized, strengthened Access to Information Act.  Yet, you in this room and your colleagues throughout government, will have more to say about the effectiveness of our “right to know” than will the strongest of new legislative provisions.  Why?  Because this right of access, this quasi-constitutional right at the heart of a free society, depends on their being records – records which can be found quickly; records which are in retrievable formats; records which are complete, accurate and up-to-date and that there be an auditable records disposal system.  And all of that basic foundation building is within the care of this community of professionals.  I have spent my entire term trying to put what you do on the front burner of the government’s priorities.  As my term comes to an end, I realize that there is no group of professionals in the public service that is so undervalued by the leaders of the government and public service.

I have tried to change that, because I believe that the future of the public’s right to know – the future of the shining ideal of open government in this country – is largely in your hands.  You have my thanks and you will always have my deep respect.

Thank you.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Discours

Année


Notes en vue d’une allocution dans le cadre du 4e forum annuel sur la gestion de l’information gouvernementale

Je suis heureux d’être avec vous aujourd’hui dans le cadre de cette importante conférence.

Mon propos aujourd’hui a pour titre : L’ACCÈS À L’INFORMATION AU GOUVERNEMENT FÉDÉRAL À LA CROISÉE DES CHEMINS – PERSPECTIVE DU COMMISSAIRE. Je crois que nous nous trouvons à l’un des moments de profonds changements de notre histoire, pour ce qui est de l’avenir de l’imputabilité du gouvernement par les voies de la transparence au Canada.

Nous venons encore de changer de gouvernement, après deux élections en deux ans, et l’appétit de changement est grand. Parmi les changements promis par tous les partis au cours de la dernière élection, il a été question de renforcer les mécanismes de transparence et d’imputabilité du gouvernement. De plus, le deuxième rapport de la Commission Gomery parlait également de changements dans ce domaine. Tant le rapport Gomery, le rapport La Forest sur les Commissariats à l’accès à l’information et à la vie privée que le nouveau gouvernement conservateur demandent une Loi sur l’accès à l’information plus solide, comme caractéristique centrale de leurs initiatives pour aider à l’imputabilité. Ils exigent des changements, parfois très profonds, quant à la façon de gérer les dossiers au gouvernement, y voyant aussi un moyen d’améliorer l’imputabilité. Et il y a un point commun entre toutes les parties – endossé par le rapport Gomery – à savoir que le modèle de réforme axé sur la transparence est celui contenu dans la « Loi sur la transparence du gouvernement », que mon bureau a élaboré l’an dernier et a déposé devant le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique en septembre 2005.

J’ai mis de l’avant des changements spécifiques et ai insisté sur le besoin de réforme parce que la leçon que je tire clairement de mon expérience de près de huit années de service comme commissaire à l’information du Canada, est que, et c’est un euphémisme, les cadres du secteur public ne comprennent pas! Ils ne comprennent pas la notion de base voulant qu’en adoptant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information en 1983, le Parlement voulait que le pouvoir passe des mains des ministres et des bureaucrates, à celles des citoyens. Le Parlement voulait que les citoyens aient le droit légal d’obtenir les faits, et non « la version officielle »; d’obtenir les dossiers sources, et non le message modifié; d’obtenir n’importe quel dossier qu’ils voulaient, et pas seulement ceux que les cadres croyaient qu’ils devraient connaître.

Les ministres et les bureaucrates, malheureusement, n’ont pas reçu la note de service à ce sujet! Encore aujourd’hui, presque 23 ans après l’adoption de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, il est trop souvent question de résister aux efforts de transparence et de s’engager dans des démarches pour restreindre les dommages en ignorant les délais de réponse, en noircissant les passages embarrassants, en travaillant sans rien consigner par écrit, en excluant des dossiers et des institutions de la couverture de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et en gardant le cerbère du système débordé et sous-financé.

Non : évidemment, il n’y a pas que de mauvaises nouvelles. Il y a eu des progrès. Mais la leçon qu’on peut clairement tirer de ces années passées est que les gouvernements continuent de ne pas faire confiance et de résister à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de contourner le Commissaire à l’information.

Que ce soit par les utilisateurs, les médias, les universitaires, le monde judiciaire, les commissaires à l’information et les députés, il faut exercer une vigilance pour que les pressions très réelles des gouvernements ne fassent en sorte qu’ils retirent aux citoyens le pouvoir de contrôler quelle information doit être divulguée, et à quel moment.

Est-ce que le nouveau gouvernement sera différent? Il dit qu’il le sera et j’espère qu’il en sera ainsi. Le point décisif sera de voir si le nouveau gouvernement respectera sa promesse de renforcer la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Je crois fermement que les autres initiatives pour améliorer l’imputabilité du gouvernement qui ont été mises de l’avant par le juge Gomery par les partis durant l’élection, et par le gouvernement libéral en réponse au scandale des commandites, nécessitent une connaissance non filtrée de ce qui se passe au gouvernement, si on veut qu’elles soient vraiment efficaces. Il ne peut y avoir de réelle imputabilité, ou de réel frein à la corruption ou à la mauvaise administration, sans la lumière de la transparence. C’est ce qui a motivé mon bureau à suggérer de renforcer la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Au cœur des changements que j’ai suggérés se trouve un retour à la conservation professionnelle des dossiers et à leur maintien au sein du gouvernement du Canada. Plusieurs d’entre vous ici avez trimé dur pour créer le profil qui est si nécessaire, dans le domaine de la gestion de l’information, pour que notre démocratie soit en santé, nos gouvernements, imputables, notre processus de prise de décision, de grande qualité et notre histoire, bien documentée. Il s’agit de petites étapes (comme l’adoption de la Politique sur la GIG) – on ne parle pas de pas de géant – et non pas d’atteindre le haut des listes de priorités du PM ou du Greffier. Je crois que la Politique sur la GIG constitue un petit pas car personne à l’extérieur de la communauté de la GIG ne sait de quoi il s’agit; ses dispositions (comme l’exigence de créer des dossiers) sont largement ignorées; le SCT semble s’être lavé les mains du contrôle de la mise en œuvre de la politique; il est choquant de constater que si peu d’argent ait été affecté à la gestion des dossiers du gouvernement; et il n’y a pas de grand plan, avec des cibles bien précises, pour résoudre notre crise de gestion de l’information.

Je prévois que tout cela est à la veille de changer. Une obligation de créer des dossiers, assujettie à des pénalités, est dans l’air. Je l’ai proposé, le juge Gomery aussi, ainsi que le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique, en plus de Stephen Harper. Une fois adoptée, l’une de principales priorités de l’administration publique – sinon du gouvernement - sera d’établir des protocoles de création et de conservation de dossiers pour chaque activité du gouvernement – de la dotation à la classification, à la paie aux avantages sociaux, à l’attribution de contrats aux subventions et contributions, aux enquêtes et aux vérifications, à l’élaboration de politiques et de la prestation de conseils aux activités de gestion. Pourquoi faut-il que toute cette question devienne une priorité? Parce que le fait d’avoir des normes acceptées relatives à la création et à la conservation de dossiers pour toutes nos activités constituera une défense prudente contre les accusations de refus de nous conformer à cette nouvelle obligation de créer des dossiers.

Il est certain que c’est la direction que nous voulions prendre! Nous avons désespérément besoin d’établir ces normes en matière de dossiers comme préalable pour construire les politiques et l’infrastructure technique pour gouverner leur gestion efficace. Je salue les excellents experts que nous avons partout dans le système – je les ai remerciés dans mes rapports annuels pendant sept ans – mais il est maintenant temps d’être sérieux de mettre la dernière touche à cette entreprise – de rassembler et de synthétiser notre expérience et de penser à un plan de match définitif. Cette petite poussée, épeurante, juridique – cette obligation juridique de créer des dossiers pour documenter ce que nous faisons, en tant que membres de l’administration publique – ne représente que ce que le docteur de la gestion de l’information a prescrit! À tout le moins, c’est comme ça que je vois les choses.

Le juge Gomery a également vu le lien critique entre la gestion des dossiers et la bonne gouvernance imputable. Voici les mots qu’il utilise à ce sujet :

« La Commission convient avec le Commissaire à l’information que la tenue de dossiers devrait être obligatoire au gouvernement, et que l’obligation de produire une « piste papier » devrait être plus qu’une politique et être énoncée de manière explicite dans une loi.

Par conséquent, la Commission partage son opinion qu’il convient de modifier la Loi sur l’accès à l’information pour y stipuler que chaque agent et employé d’un organisme du gouvernement a l’obligation de créer des dossiers documentant ses décisions et recommandations, et que toute dérogation à cette règle constituera une infraction. De plus, la Commission croit qu’il devrait également y avoir une législation autonome sur la tenue de dossiers, exigeant des fonctionnaires et des personnes agissant au nom du gouvernement qu’elles rassemblent, créent, reçoivent et saisissent les informations de manière à documenter les décisions et processus de décision ayant entraîné le déboursement de deniers publics. Cela permettrait de retracer l’évolution des politiques et programmes de dépenses, améliorerait la continuité des services gouvernementaux et des processus de décision, et permettrait d’entreprendre des examens et vérifications indépendants. On devrait indiquer clairement dans cette législation sur la tenue de dossiers que détruire délibérément des documents et déroger aux obligations de documentation serait un motif de congédiement.

La raison pour laquelle il convient de créer l’obligation légale de maintenir et de ne pas détruire des dossiers gouvernementaux, outre que cela correspond à des dispositions similaires du régime d’accès à l’information, est que cela fait plus que de faciliter l’accès du public à l’information, cela contribue aussi aux objectifs de bon gouvernement et d’imputabilité concordant avec le thème général des recommandations de la Commission. » (rapport Gomery no 2, pp. 198-199)

Je crois aussi que les exigences juridiques de créer des dossiers constituent une première étape extrêmement cruciale – mais ne représentent que la première étape. Le cycle de vie entier de l’information en dossier détenue par le gouvernement a besoin d’être réglementé. La bonne orientation donnée par la Politique sur la GIG n’a pas encore été mise en pratique à un niveau acceptable. J’appuie aussi une loi globale pour la gestion de l’information qui enchâsserait les responsabilités pour le contrôle et l’exécution – responsabilités qui, à l’heure actuelle, prêtent beaucoup à confusion.

À l’heure actuelle, la seule loi qui donne à un ministre le mandat particulier de voir à ce que l’information du gouvernement soit gérée est la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Je suis porté à croire que peu d’entre vous savez que l’article 70 de la Loi contient cette disposition :

« Paragraphe 70(1) « … le ministre désigné [Président du Conseil du Trésor] est responsable :

(a) du contrôle des modalités de tenue et de gestion des documents relevant des institutions fédérales dans le but d’en assurer la conformité avec la présente loi et ses règlements. »

Il s’agit là de la base statutaire pour l’activité du SCT relativement à la gestion de l’information et, à ma connaissance, aucun président du Conseil du Trésor, depuis l’adoption de la Loi, il y a 23 ans, n’a commandé une étude sur l’effet sur les droits d’accès des pratiques de gestion de l’information. Bien sûr, il y a des études d’efficience et des études du gouvernement en direct et des initiatives et des normes relatives à l’approvisionnement, et bien d’autres bonnes initiatives importantes entreprises depuis des années par le chef de la Direction générale de l’information au SCT, mais aucune n’a porté sur le mandat statutaire.

Mon bureau entend porter une attention toute particulière à la façon dont le SCT remplit ses obligations statutaires en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et il s’agit là peut-être de la plus importante de ses obligations. L’autre obligation statutaire du SCT est de voir à ce que toutes les institutions gouvernementales rassemblent des statistiques et fassent rapport annuellement sur la façon dont la Loi sur l’accès à l’information est administrée. Depuis près de 23 ans, le SCT s’est contenté de ne rassembler que des données descriptives de base comme les nombres de demandes, les catégories de demandeurs, les exceptions invoquées, et le reste. Les statistiques qui révèlent les déficits de rendement ou les succès ne sont pas rassemblées. Par exemple, les institutions gouvernementales ne sont pas obligées de publier le pourcentage de demandes reçues qui ont obtenu une réponse en retard – ce qui constitue un élément hautement fiable sur la santé de l’administration de l’accès à l’information au sein de toute institution. Si la Loi sur la transparence du gouvernement proposée est adoptée, le rassemblement de certaines informations de base sur le rendement comme celles-ci deviendra obligatoire.

Il est peut-être maintenant temps de conclure ces propos en résumant les principaux éléments de la réforme de l’AI qui, je l’espère, sera bientôt déposée au Parlement.

Je crois que la nouvelle Loi sur la transparence du gouvernement que j’ai présentée au Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique en octobre, constitue un bon départ pour la réforme. Mes propositions de réforme comportent les éléments suivants :

  • Toutes les exceptions devraient comprendre un critère subjectif et être discrétionnaires. De plus, toutes les exceptions devraient être sujettes à une dérogation d’intérêt public. De cette façon, le Parlement enverrait le message clair qu’il s’agit d’une loi d’ouverture et non d’un code de confidentialité et que la position par défaut est celle de la divulgation.
  • Tous les fonctionnaires devraient avoir l’obligation de documenter leurs décisions, leurs gestes, leurs motifs et leurs délibérations. Cette loi, ce droit à l’accès, ne rime à rien si les fonctionnaires ne tiennent pas des dossiers appropriés et assument une gouvernance dans un contexte de culture orale.
  • Les derniers vestiges du secret gouvernemental non révisable – p. ex. les secrets du Cabinet – devraient être couverts par la loi et la juridiction d’examen du Commissaire. La confidentialité du Cabinet risque d’être trop largement, et trop facilement, invoquée par les gouvernements quand elle est libre d’un deuxième regard indépendant.
  • La couverture de la loi sur l’accès doit être complète pour tous les mécanismes du gouvernement par lesquels les fonds publics sont dépensés ou les fonctions publiques exercées. Naturellement, je renvoie ici à toutes les sociétés d’État, les fondations, les agents du Parlement de même que les cabinets de ministres et le BPM. Le droit de savoir est énormément à risque quand les gouvernements ont la discrétion de décider quelle entité, et par conséquent, quels dossiers, seront assujettis au droit à l’accès et lesquels ne le seront pas. L’objectif ultime de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information était de contrer l’arbitraire des décisions face à la divulgation des dossiers gouvernementaux; il faut maintenant contrer l’arbitraire des décisions quant aux entités qui seront assujetties à la Loi.
  • Avec cette notion voulant que la couverture de la Loi doit être globale, vient cette notion que la Loi devrait consister en un code complet portant sur l’équilibre entre l’ouverture et la confidentialité. Il ne faudrait plus continuer à permettre des dispositions sur la confidentialité dans d’autres lois d’être établies de manière obligatoire, à perpétuité, sans passer les tests de confidentialité dans les exceptions de fond de la Loi. L’article 24 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, qui décrit cette exception de classe, ouverte et obligatoire, devrait être abolie.

Pour en revenir à mon thème, alors, avant de terminer : nous sommes à la veille d’avoir dans ce pays, une Loi sur l’accès à l’information modernisée et renforcée. Mais, vous dans cette pièce et vos collègues du gouvernement, aurez plus d’influence sur la concrétisation de notre droit de savoir que la plus solide des nouvelles dispositions législatives. Pourquoi? Parce que ce droit d’accès, ce droit quasi-constitutionnel au cœur d’une société libre, dépend de l’existence de dossiers – de dossiers qui peuvent être retrouvés rapidement; des dossiers dans des formats adéquats; des dossiers complets, exacts et à jour et associés à un système d’élimination de dossiers qui soit vérifiable. Et toute la fondation de cet immeuble est dans les mains de la présente communauté de professionnels. J’ai passé tout mon mandat à essayer de mettre vos activités au-devant des priorités gouvernementales. Maintenant que mon mandat tire à sa fin, je constate qu’aucun groupe de professionnels dans l’administration publique n’est aussi sous-évalué par les dirigeants du gouvernement et de l’administration publique que le vôtre.

J’ai tenté de changer cette situation, parce que je crois que l’avenir du droit de savoir du public – l’avenir du grand idéal d’un gouvernement ouvert dans ce pays – réside largement entre vos mains. Vous avez toute ma reconnaissance et sachez que vous méritez tout mon respect.

Je vous remercie.