Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Speeches

Year

2006

Transparency, the Risk of Setbacks: The Case of Canada
Conference: Mexican National Transparency Week
John Reid, Information Commissioner of Canada
August 30, 2006

Estoy extremadamente contento al estar hoy con ustedes, en su celebración de la Semana Nacional de la Transparencia. Para mi es un honor, al poder compartir mis pensamientos con ustedes.

I am extremely pleased to be here today to join you in your celebration of National Transparency Week. I am honoured that you asked me to share my thoughts with you.

Before I left Canada to join you, I was immersed in the preparations for Canada’s Right to Know Week, which is coming up in September. These national celebrations of openness should cause all citizens to pause and consider how important the right to know is, as well as how fragile it can be.

I have been Canada’s Information Commissioner for a little over eight years now and I am coming to the end of my final term next month. Over those eight years, one reality has been driven home to me over and over again. That is, a strong freedom of information law is essential, but insufficient in itself, to the task of changing an entrenched bureaucratic culture of secrecy. As well, there must be tangible, clear leadership from the elected and non-elected heads of government in support of openness.

In the time allotted to me today, I am going to share with you some examples of how the right to know, the right of access to information, has improved the transparency of government in Canada and how it supports and strengthens other important democratic rights. I will also share with you some of the challenges that we have faced, and continue to face, which will, no doubt, also be challenges which Mexico will face.

I am anxious to focus on the infrastructure on which a healthy open government régime rests; that is: adequate resources; careful training; professionalism in the creation, retention, use, disclosure and disposal of records and readiness of senior officials to stay out of disclosure decisions so that the processing of access requests becomes a routine embedded process within government. Weakness in any of these areas will undermine even the strongest of freedom of information laws.

Canada has had, from the very beginning of its Access to Information Act, on July 1, 1983, a solidly-entrenched bureaucratic culture of secrecy. Despite changes of government over the years, and despite my, and my predecessors’, best efforts, this culture of secrecy remains strong in our federal government. The most recent example in Canada is that it took the bureaucracy less than two months to convince our newly-elected government to back away from most of its election promises to be more open and to strengthen our access to information law. Yet despite this entrenched culture of secrecy, the doors and windows of government in Canada have slowly, but steadily, opened and the light of knowledge has begun to illuminate the workings of government.

Let me give you an example of this from very recent history. In the mid-1990s, the government began a secret program to spend money in the province of Quebec to discourage separatist sentiments which had resulted in an extremely close referendum vote on the issue of Quebec’s separation from Canada. Many millions of dollars were spent by the federal government on events and advertisements promoting national unity. Yet, there were quiet suspicions that some of this taxpayer money may have been simply wasted or, worse still, funnelled into the coffers of the then-governing Liberal Party.

In 1999, a reporter for a Canadian national newspaper, the Globe and Mail, began making requests, under the Access to Information Act, about this program. This led to a series of articles which stimulated public discussion and concern about possible corruption in the administration of the program. The access requests led to audits, the audits confirmed the suspicions and resulted in the establishment of a national judicial inquiry, RCMP investigations, criminal trials, convictions and imprisonments. Courtesy of the Access to Information Act, and the processes it engendered, Canadians learned about serious corruption in the administration of a government program, political kick-backs for government largesse and deliberate actions by public officials to avoid compliance with several federal statutes, including the Access to Information Act.

Even the judge who presided over the national judicial inquiry, Mr. Justice Gomery, credited the exposure of this scandal to the access to information request made by the journalist. He documented in his reports, the internal manoeuvring by bureaucrats to try to manage the request, limit the information released, and bully the bureaucrat responsible for administering the access law in the department responsible for federal contracts. But, in the end, the requested information was released and the rest, as they say, is history, including the fall of the then incumbent Liberal government to minority status and now to opposition status.

The right to know may be in need of repair, but, when it works, it performs its functions very well. That, of course, is why no government likes freedom of information laws. That is why all governments seek, over time, to widen the net of secrecy and close the window of openness (to mix my metaphors!). But, more of this later.

This vital, fundamental link between information rights and democratic health is eloquently captured in these words from a 1997 decision of the Supreme Court of Canada:

“The overarching purpose of access to information legislation … is to facilitate democracy. It does so in two related ways. It helps to ensure, first, that citizens have the information required to participate meaningfully in the democratic process, and secondly, that politicians and bureaucrats remain accountable to the citizenry”.

The recent events in Canada, which I have just recounted to you, bear eloquent witness to the truth of the Supreme Court’s words.

This brings me back to the topic of this panel, “Transparency – the risk of setbacks.” Despite each victory for transparency, despite the election promises of political parties, governments usually end up making skeptics of open government advocates. Time after time, régime after régime, scandal after scandal, government leaders raise expectations by promising to be more accountable and transparent. Just as routinely, governments maintain their deep addiction to secrecy, spin, foot-dragging and decision-making by nods and winks. When it comes to honouring the public’s "right to know", governments in Canada, and around the world, have found it profoundly challenging to "walk the walk".

This reality prompts my first caution: Do not become complacent just because a freedom of information law is on the books. Passage and adoption of an open government law guarantees nothing. It is but a first step; media vigilance, citizen pressure, academic attention, judicial support – all the forces which achieved the passage of access laws must remain organized, and fiercely determined to push back the inevitable “secrecy creep” that will emerge.

The second caution I wish to offer is that the new law will fail if there is a lack of adequate resources to do the mandated job. Chronic under-funding of the “access to information” program has been a problem in Canada, both for departments and the Commissioner’s office, since the inception of our Act in 1983. Year after year, Information Commissioners have asked ministers to provide adequate (not extravagant) funds to enable Commissioners to effectively discharge the duties Parliament gave them. The requests were routinely denied or pared down to bare bones.

So, too, is it for the small offices in each department which receive access requests from the public, search for records, apply exemptions, seek approvals and send answers. They were not adequately resourced. Answering access requests fully and quickly is a resource intensive business. Every department must be given the people necessary to answer the average annual workload of access requests within response deadline – in Canada, 30 days. When there are unusual peaks in workload, there must be a process for pulling together additional resources for the short term workload increase.

Since the Canadian access law came into force in 1983, until last year, the government – by definition the target of all my office’s investigations – had the power to set my office’s budget. Such was the fatal flaw in the care taken by Parliament to make my office independent of government. While it is true that the government continues to set my office’s budget, we have begun a two-year experiment in Canada in which a panel of representatives of all parties represented in Parliament, reviews our resource requests and makes recommendations to the government. During this experiment, the government has agreed to give serious weight to the panel’s recommendations. That process bore fruit last year and, now, for the first time in 23 years, my office is adequately resourced to investigate complaints from members of the public with thoroughness and speed.

The third caution I wish to offer is that any lack of attention to training of government ministers, government bureaucrats, access to information administrators and frequent user groups, will weaken the effectiveness of an access law. Let me speak first about the need for specialized professional training and certification of the full-time access and privacy administrators. These officials are, in every jurisdiction, the unsung heroes of openness. They are the “ham in the sandwich”, squeezed between bosses who do not want records disclosed and requesters who do, all the while being investigated and second-guessed by the Commissioners to whom dissatisfied requesters may make complaints.

In Canada, very unsatisfactory official training has been made available to them. As a result, because these administrators are not armed with the necessary knowledge base, professional attitude and ethical good sense, they are no match for the forces of secrecy in their departments. No problem has preoccupied me more than this during my tenure as Canada’s Information Commissioner. And, I am proud to say that we have made some progress in Canada, which may offer benefits for Mexico as well.

Over the last several years, my office has partnered with the University of Alberta in preparing course materials and the infrastructure for their Information Access and Protection of Privacy Certificate Program offered via the Internet. Since the program’s inception, many federal and provincial access and privacy officials, plus others from around the world, have taken and completed this certificate program, leading to better educated staff and more knowledgeable decision-making.

Our goal in Canada is to create a new professional group – the information rights administrator. A national committee has been struck to develop educational standards and a professional certification process. That work will be completed by the Fall of 2007. Thereafter, we hope to see the development of one or more professional schools to provide the needed education and to be centres of academic thought and research into information rights issues. My sense is that the University of Alberta will be at the forefront of this new profession and I was pleased to learn that it has been in talks with Mexican authorities concerning the development of a training package for information rights professionals in Mexico.

My plea to you is this: Do not repeat Canada’s mistake; do not wait 23 years to ensure that your access to information and privacy administrators are suitably educated and certified professionals.

A fourth caution, and this is a delicate area, is that you must be careful not to let the fear of, or the fight against, terrorism to be used as an excuse to unreasonably, or unnecessarily, diminish the hard-won right of access to information. All access to information régimes have built into them legitimate exemptions for information that may prove to be injurious to law enforcement or national security. In Canada, we feel pressure from our allies to throw heavy blankets of secrecy over any information remotely connected with the so-called war on terrorism. I urge you to resist such temptations and to insist that the advocates of secrecy always bear the burden to demonstrate the reasonable likelihood of injury from any disclosure.

The final flag of caution I wish to raise is that an absence of good records management, including the initial, crucial step of record creation, will render an access law meaningless. In my view, there is no greater threat to transparent and accountable government than poor practices with regard to the creation and life-cycle management of government records. The challenge is especially pressing with respect to electronic records.

When records documenting the actions, decisions and considerations of public officials are not created; when such records are created but are not included in an indexed institutional system of records or when the disposition or archiving of records is left to the unguided whim of the records creator, then there can no longer be an effective right of access to information no matter how strong the words of the law may be.

As well, all the other mechanisms of accountability, too, will suffocate from the lack of information oxygen. In Canada, our Auditor General keeps warning Canadians and Parliamentarians, in ever more urgent tones with each passing year, that the audit function cannot be carried on with confidence in the absence of paper trail. Parliamentarians and Parliamentary committees are expressing consternation about the unavailability of government records to assist them in their deliberations. Journalists are becoming less able to obtain source records and data and more reliant on the carefully managed information releases from government communications spin-doctors.

The topic of information management may not seem – at first – to have much sex appeal. But we all should be passionate about it, because on it hinges our very ability as democratic societies to have transparent and accountable government. It is one of the first steps to dealing with the “democratic deficit” in any jurisdiction. Further, the failure to create appropriate records will have a negative effect on the ability of the government to operate efficiently and effectively. Poor records management leads to poor decisions!

In the Canadian federal public sector, there have been some positive developments, there is a positive momentum and our challenge is to keep pushing ahead. One way in which I have been pushing is by urging the government to amend the Access to Information Act to make it mandatory for officials to create records. Here is the provision I have recommended: “Every officer and employee of a government institution shall create such records as are reasonably necessary to document their decisions, actions, advice, recommendations and deliberations.” I have also recommended that it be made an offence to fail to comply with this requirement with the intent to deny a right of access. These recommendations are the subject of study by a Parliamentary Committee.

I hope this message of caution, this call to vigilance, will not be discouraging. You should be enormously proud of what you have accomplished and I extend my sincere congratulations to the people of Mexico on your new right to receive government records, subject to limited exemptions and subject to independent review. This new right contains the power to enrich the Mexican democracy because it takes power away from governments to control the message. Yet, for that very reason, governments will try to reclaim lost power and the new law will face challenges.

It is my hope that the lessons of the Canadian experience, which I have shared with you, will help you meet the challenges ahead. I feel sure that, in the years to come, Canada will be learning important lessons from Mexico about how to govern in the open.

Gracias!

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Discours

Année


Allocution prononcée à l’occasion de la Semaine nationale de la transparence au mexique dans le cadre de la conférence « Tour d’horizon de la transparence et de l’accès à l’information dans le monde » - « Transparence et risques d’échec : l’exemple du Canada »

Estoy extremadamente contento al estar hoy con ustedes, en su celebración de la Semana Nacional de la Transparencia. Para mi es un honor, al poder compartir mis pensamientos con ustedes.

Je suis très heureux d’être ici aujourd’hui et de pouvoir souligner avec vous la Semaine nationale de la transparence. Je suis très honoré d’avoir été invité à prendre la parole aujourd’hui.

Avant de quitter le Canada pour me joindre à vous, je me consacrais aux préparatifs de la Semaine canadienne du droit de savoir, qui aura lieu en septembre. Cette célébration nationale de la transparence devrait inciter tous les citoyens à prendre le temps de réfléchir à l’importance du droit de savoir et à prendre conscience de sa fragilité.

Je suis commissaire à l’information du Canada depuis un peu plus de huit ans, et je terminerai mon dernier mandat le mois prochain. Ces huit années m’ont permis d’en arriver à une conclusion inéluctable : bien qu’essentielle, l’adoption d’une loi solide relative à l’accès à l’information ne peut à elle seule venir à bout d’une culture bureaucratique du secret bien enracinée. Il faut également que les dirigeants gouvernementaux élus et non élus favorisent l’ouverture en prenant des engagements clairs et concrets à cet égard.

Je vais utiliser le temps qui m’est consenti aujourd’hui pour vous présenter des exemples de situation où le droit de savoir, le droit d’accès à l’information, a amélioré la transparence de l’activité gouvernementale au Canada, et où il soutient et renforce d’autres droits démocratiques importants. Je décrirai aussi quelques-uns des défis persistants auxquels nous sommes confrontés, et auquel le Mexique, sans aucun doute, se heurtera aussi.

Laissez-moi tout d’abord décrire les piliers sur lesquels repose un régime gouvernemental sain et ouvert : des ressources adéquates; une formation approfondie; le professionnalisme au chapitre de la création, de la conservation, de l’utilisation, de la communication et de l’élimination de dossiers; et la volonté des cadres supérieurs de ne pas s’ingérer dans la prise de décisions relative à la communication, afin que le traitement des demandes de communication devienne une fonction intégrée à l’activité gouvernementale. Toute lacune à l’égard de ces aspects minera l’efficacité des dispositions législatives relatives à l’accès à l’information, si fortes soient-elles.

Depuis les tout débuts de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, le 1er juillet 1983, le Canada est aux prises avec une culture bureaucratique du secret solidement enracinée. Malgré les changements de gouvernement au fil des ans, et malgré les efforts que mes prédécesseurs et moi avons déployés, cette culture du secret conserve son emprise sur l’administration fédérale. Tout récemment, au Canada, la bureaucratie a mis moins de deux mois pour convaincre notre gouvernement nouvellement élu de ne pas donner suite à la plupart de ses promesses électorales relatives à une plus grande transparence et au renforcement de notre loi régissant l’accès à l’information. Pourtant, malgré cette culture du secret très tenace, les portes et fenêtres du gouvernement du Canada se sont ouvertes, lentement mais sûrement, et la lumière de la connaissance a commencé à jaillir sur les rouages du gouvernement.

Laissez-moi vous donner un exemple très récent de cet état de fait. Au milieu des années 1990, le gouvernement a lancé un programme secret pour dépenser de l’argent dans la province de Québec de façon à contrer la montée du séparatisme qui avait mené à un vote très serré à l’occasion du référendum sur la séparation de la province d’avec le Canada. Le gouvernement fédéral a consacré des millions de dollars sur des événements et des annonces publicitaires faisant la promotion de l’unité nationale. Or, des doutes planaient quant à la possibilité que ces deniers publics aient été gaspillés ou, pire encore, versés dans les coffres du Parti libéral, alors au pouvoir.

En 1999, un journaliste du quotidien national Globe and Mail a commencé à présenter des demandes de renseignements au sujet de ce programme, en vertu de Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Les renseignements obtenus ont donné lieu à une série d’articles qui ont suscité un débat sur la place publique et soulevé des préoccupations sur la corruption possible de l’administration de ce programme. Les demandes de communication ont mené à la tenue de vérifications, lesquelles ont confirmé les doutes et débouché sur la tenue d’une enquête judiciaire à l’échelle nationale, d’enquêtes de la GRC, de procès criminels et de peines d’emprisonnement. Grâce à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et aux processus qui en découlent, les Canadiens ont été mis au courant de la grande corruption qui affligeait l’administration d’un programme gouvernemental, du versement de pot-de-vin en vue de l’obtention de faveurs gouvernementales, et de gestes commis délibérément par des fonctionnaires dans le but de se soustraire à l’application de plusieurs lois fédérales, y compris la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Même le juge Gomery, qui a présidé la Commission nationale d’enquête, attribue la mise au jour de ce scandale à la demande de communication faite par le journaliste. Les rapports du juge décrivent les manœuvres internes de fonctionnaires tentant de garder la haute main sur la situation, de limiter l’information communiquée et d’intimider l’agent responsable des demandes de communication du ministère responsable des contrats fédéraux. L’information demandée a toutefois fini par être communiquée, ce qui a mené, comme nous le savons tous, à la déchéance du gouvernement libéral, qui a d’abord perdu sa majorité en Chambre et ensuite été défait.

Le droit de savoir a peut-être besoin d’être remis en état, mais il est très efficace lorsqu’il fonctionne. C’est, bien sûr, la raison pour laquelle les gouvernements n’aiment pas les lois régissant l’accès à l’information. C’est pourquoi tous les gouvernements finissent, avec le temps, par chercher – si vous me permettez ce barrage d’images – à étendre le voile du secret et à fermer la fenêtre de la transparence. J’y reviendrai plus tard.

Ce lien crucial et fondamental entre le droit d’accès à l’information et la santé d’une démocratie est exprimé de façon fort éloquente dans un extrait d’un arrêt de la Cour suprême du Canada de 1997 :

« La loi en matière d’accès à l’information a […] pour objet général de favoriser la démocratie, ce qu'elle fait de deux manières connexes. Elle aide à garantir, en premier lieu, que le citoyen possède l’information nécessaire pour participer utilement au processus démocratique et, en second lieu, que les politiciens et bureaucrates demeurent comptables envers l’ensemble de la population. »

À la lumière des événements récents que je viens de relater, force est de constater que la Cour suprême disait vrai.

Ce qui me ramène au thème de mon exposé : « La transparence et les risques d’échec ». Malgré chaque victoire pour la transparence, malgré les promesses électorales des partis politiques, les gouvernements finissent habituellement par confirmer les craintes des partisans de la transparence gouvernementale. Depuis toujours, les régimes et les scandales se suivent et se ressemblent, et les chefs gouvernementaux, quelles que soient leurs allégeances politiques, rehaussent les attentes de l’électorat en promettant d’être plus responsables et plus transparents. Malheureusement, les gouvernements cèdent tout aussi facilement à la tentation de garder des secrets, de manipuler les médias, de se traîner les pieds et de prendre des décisions en catimini. Lorsque vient le temps d’honorer le « droit de savoir » du public, les gouvernements du Canada et de partout dans le monde ont beaucoup de mal à joindre le geste à la parole.

Cette réalité m’incite à formuler cette première mise en garde : ne relâchez pas votre vigilance sous prétexte qu’on a promulgué une loi sur l’accès à l’information. L’adoption et la promulgation d’une loi sur la transparence gouvernementale n’est pas une garantie en soi. Il ne s’agit que d’une première étape : la vigilance des médias, les pressions populaires, l’attention des universitaires et le soutien de l’appareil judiciaire – bref, tous les facteurs qui ont contribué à la promulgation de lois sur l’accès à l’information – doivent continuer de se mobiliser et de lutter avec détermination contre l’inévitable retour du secret.

La deuxième mise en garde que je souhaite formuler tient au fait que la nouvelle loi est vouée à l’échec si les fonctions qu’elle prévoit ne bénéficient pas de ressources adéquates. Le sous-financement chronique du programme canadien d’accès à l’information occasionne des problèmes, tant pour les ministères que pour le Commissariat, depuis l’entrée en vigueur de notre loi, en 1983. Bon an mal an, les commissaires à l’information ont toujours demandé aux ministres de leur consentir un financement adéquat – rien d’extravagant – qui leur permettrait d’exercer efficacement les fonctions qui leur ont été conférées par le Parlement. Toutes les demandes de fonds supplémentaires ont été rejetées ou réduites au strict minimum.

Il en va de même pour les modestes bureaux de chaque ministère qui reçoivent les demandes de communication du public et qui doivent chercher les dossiers, appliquer les exceptions, obtenir des approbations et acheminer les réponses. Ces bureaux ne disposent pas de ressources adéquates. Le traitement rapide et complet des demandes d’accès à l’information est une activité qui exige beaucoup de ressources. Il faut affecter à chaque ministère le nombre de personnes nécessaires pour gérer le volume annuel moyen de demandes de communication dans les délais prescrits, c’est-à-dire, dans le cas du Canada, 30 jours. Il faut également établir, dans les cas d’accroissement inhabituel de la charge de travail, un processus permettant d’affecter à court terme des ressources supplémentaires.

Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la loi canadienne sur l’accès à l’information, en 1983, jusqu’à l’an dernier, le gouvernement – c’est-à-dire la cible de toutes les enquêtes de mon commissariat – avait le pouvoir de fixer le budget de mon commissariat. C’est la brèche fatale que le Parlement a omis de combler dans le cadre de sa démarche visant à veiller à ce que mon commissariat puisse exercer ses activités de façon autonome. Le gouvernement continue de fixer le budget de mon commissariat, certes, mais nous avons lancé au Canada un projet pilote de deux ans dans le cadre duquel un comité constitué de membres de tous les partis représentés au Parlement examine nos demandes de ressources et formule des recommandations à l’intention du gouvernement. Dans le cadre de cet essai, le gouvernement s’est engagé à prendre en considération les recommandations du comité. Cette démarche a porté fruit l’an dernier et, maintenant, pour la première fois en 23 ans, mon commissariat dispose de ressources adéquates pour donner suite aux plaintes et mener rapidement des enquêtes approfondies.

Ma troisième mise en garde est la suivante : tout manquement à l’égard de la prestation d’une formation adéquate aux ministres et aux fonctionnaires du gouvernement, au gestionnaires de l’accès à l’information et aux groupes d’utilisateurs fréquents minera l’efficacité d’une loi sur l’accès à l’information. Laissez-moi parler tout d’abord du besoin de formation professionnelle spécialisée et d’accréditation pour les administrateurs à temps plein de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels. Ces agents sont, dans toute administration, les héros méconnus de la transparence. Ils sont le « jambon dans le sandwich », pris entre le patron qui ne veut pas qu’un dossier soit communiqué et les demandeurs qui le veulent, pendant que les commissaires qui donnent suite aux plaintes de demandeurs insatisfaits mènent des enquêtes et trouvent à redire à leurs décisions.

Au Canada, la formation officielle qui leur est offerte est tout à fait insatisfaisante. Ainsi, puisque ces administrateurs ne sont pas armés de la base de connaissances, de l’attitude professionnelle et du jugement éthique nécessaires, ils ne font pas le poids face aux tenants du secret de leur ministère. Aucun autre problème ne m’a préoccupé davantage au cours de mes années passées à titre de Commissaire à l’information du Canada. Et je suis fier de dire que nous avons réalisé des progrès au Canada, et ces leçons pourraient se révéler utiles pour le Mexique aussi.

Au cours des dernières années, le Commissariat a collaboré avec l’Université de l’Alberta à l’élaboration de matériel didactique et à l’établissement d’une infrastructure pour son programme de certificat en accès à l’information et protection de la vie privée, offert sur Internet. Depuis le lancement du programme, de nombreux fonctionnaires fédéraux et provinciaux responsables de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels, ainsi que des gens de partout dans le monde, ont participé à ce programme et sont maintenant titulaires d’un certificat, de sorte que le personnel est mieux formé et est plus à même de prendre des décisions éclairées.

Notre but est de créer un nouveau groupe professionnel au Canada : le gestionnaire du droit d’accès à l’information. On a établi un comité national ayant pour mandat de mettre au point des normes de scolarité et un processus d’accréditation professionnelle. Ces travaux prendront fin au plus tard à l’automne 2007. Par la suite, nous espérons que cela mènera à l’établissement d’au moins une école professionnelle qui fournira l’enseignement nécessaire et servira de carrefour de la réflexion et de la recherche universitaires sur les enjeux liés au droit à l’information. J’ai bien l’impression que l’Université de l’Alberta fera figure de pionnier à l’égard de cette nouvelle profession, et je me réjouis du fait qu’elle tienne des pourparlers avec les autorités mexicaines concernant l’élaboration d’un programme de formation destiné aux professionnels du droit à l’information au Mexique.

Ainsi, je vous demande de ne pas répéter l’erreur du Canada : n’attendez pas 23 ans avant de faire en sorte que vos gestionnaires de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels soient des professionnels convenablement formés et accrédités.

Ma quatrième mise en garde est liée à une question délicate : vous devez veiller à ne pas laisser les autorités invoquer le terrorisme ou la lutte contre le terrorisme pour justifier, sans motif valable, l’affaiblissement du droit, durement gagné, d’accès à l’information. Tous les régimes de gestion de l’accès à l’information s’assortissent d’exceptions légitimes à l’égard de renseignements susceptibles de nuire au maintien de l’ordre public ou de porter atteinte à la sécurité nationale. Les alliés du Canada exercent des pressions afin que nous entourions d’un épais mystère toute information liée de près ou de loin à la soi-disant « guerre au terrorisme ». Je vous demande instamment de résister à cette tentation et d’insister pour que repose sur les protecteurs du secret le fardeau de la preuve quant aux risques de préjudices liés à la communication.

Laissez-moi y aller d’une dernière mise en garde : une loi sur l’accès à l’information n’aura de sens que si elle est accompagnée d’une bonne gestion des dossiers, à partir de la première étape cruciale de la création de dossier. La médiocrité des pratiques de création et de gestion du cycle de vie des dossiers gouvernementaux constitue à mon avis la plus grande menace à la transparence et à la responsabilité gouvernementales. La situation est particulièrement pressante dans le cas des dossiers électroniques.

Lorsque des dossiers qui étayent les gestes, les décisions et les motifs des fonctionnaires ne sont pas créés, lorsque de tels dossiers sont créés, mais ne sont pas versés dans un système indexé des dossiers organisationnels, ou lorsque l’élimination ou l’archivage des dossiers sont laissés au bon vouloir de l’auteur du dossier, alors la loi ne peut plus favoriser une gestion efficace du droit d’accès à l’information, si rigoureuse soit-elle.

Il en va de même des autres mécanismes de reddition de compte, qui étoufferont une fois privés de leur oxygène, c’est-à-dire l’information. Au Canada, notre vérificatrice générale ne cesse de mettre en garde les Canadiens et les parlementaires d’un ton toujours plus menaçant, chaque année, du fait que la fonction de vérification ne peut être assurée efficacement sans trace écrite de l’information. Les parlementaires et les comités parlementaires se disent consternés par l’inexistence de dossiers gouvernementaux susceptibles de les aider dans leurs travaux. Les journalistes sont de moins en moins capables d’obtenir des dossiers sources et des données, et s’appuient davantage sur l’information soigneusement gérée et manipulée par les conseillers en image du gouvernement.

À première vue, le thème de la gestion de l’information ne semble pas très séduisant. Cependant, nous devrions tous nous y intéresser avec enthousiasme, car c’est sur elle que repose la capacité de nos sociétés démocratiques de se doter de gouvernements transparents et responsables. C’est l’une des premières mesures à prendre lorsqu’on veut s’attaquer au « déficit démocratique » d’une administration. Qui plus est, le fait de ne pas créer de dossiers appropriés minera la capacité du gouvernement de fonctionner de façon efficace et efficiente : une gestion médiocre des dossiers fait obstacle à la prise de décisions éclairées!

Des progrès ont été réalisés dans le secteur public fédéral canadien, et nous devons nous efforcer de continuer sur notre lancée. À cette fin, je demande au gouvernement de modifier la Loi sur l’accès à l’information afin de rendre obligatoire la tenue de dossiers officiels. La disposition que j’ai recommandée se lit comme suit : « Tout cadre ou employé d’une institution fédérale est tenu de créer les documents qui sont raisonnablement nécessaires pour documenter ses décisions, actions, avis, recommandations et délibérations. » J’ai également recommandé que l’omission de se plier à l’exigence dans le but d’entraver le droit d’accès à l’information soit considérée comme une infraction. Un comité parlementaire est en train d’examiner ces recommandations.

J’ose espérer que cet appel à la prudence et à la vigilance ne vous découragera pas. Vous devriez être énormément fier de ce que vous avez accompli, et je félicite sincèrement le peuple mexicain d’avoir acquis le droit de consulter des dossiers gouvernementaux, sous réserve de certaines exceptions et d’un examen indépendant. Ce nouveau droit a le pouvoir de renforcer la démocratie mexicaine, car il enlève aux gouvernements le pouvoir de contrôler le message. Or, c’est pour cette même raison que les gouvernements tenteront de s’emparer de nouveau de ce pouvoir et de se soustraire à l’application de cette nouvelle loi.

J’ose espérer que mon exposé sur les leçons dégagées de l’expérience canadienne saura vous aider à relever les défis qui vous attendent. Je suis certain du fait que, au cours des années à venir, le Canada tirera d’importantes leçons de l’expérience mexicaine en ce qui concerne la transparence gouvernementale.