Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Speeches

Year

2005

The Access Act Moving Forward: A Commissioner’s Perspective
John Reid, Information Commissioner of Canada
Ottawa, Ontario
September 8, 2005

I am very pleased to be speaking to you today and to give you my take on the state of our Access to Information Act. I referred to it as "our" Access to Information Act on purpose because I think it is essential that we, as citizens, journalists, lawyers and ordinary people remember that it is our Act. It is not the government’s Act; it is not the bureaucrats’ Act; it is not the Cabinet’s Act and it is not the Prime Minister’s Act.

This Act was Parliament’s gift of power to each and every citizen and person in Canada and it is, as the courts have called it, a "cornerstone of our democracy." If it is going to be changed, and everyone agrees that it should be changed, then it must be changed in a way that makes governments more accountable and citizens more informed. Furthermore, the very process of changing the Act must be done in broad daylight, in full view of everyone, and not by consultants, bureaucrats and ministers behind closed doors.

This is a crucial time in our democracy and for our democratic institutions, the Access to Information Act being one of those institutions. It has become easier and easier, each and every month since September 11, 2001, to justify more and more secrecy in the name of security, as well as to justify more and more intrusion into personal privacy. Already the trump card of security has been played against the Access to Information Act and, in his Framework Paper, the Minister of Justice seems willing to play it again. Therefore, it is essential that we go into the process of renewing our Act with our eyes wide open and our "BS" detector on high alert.

How did we get to where we are today? The Access to Information Act was proclaimed in force on July 1, 1983. Since that time, despite many calls for reform, the Act has remained essentially the same. One amendment worthy of note is found as section 67.1 in the Act, which makes it an offence to destroy, mutilate or alter a record; to falsify a record or make a false record; to conceal a record or to direct, propose, counsel or cause any person in any manner to do any of those things if it was done with the intent to deny a right of access under the Act. This provision became part of the law by way of a private members’ bill put forward by a Liberal backbencher, Colleen Beaumier.

Another backbench member of Parliament who consistently and persistently urged reform of the Act was former Liberal M.P. John Bryden. His Private Member’s bill, Bill C-462, was given first reading on October 28, 2003, and received unanimous support at second reading – only to die on the order paper before the last election. When Parliament sat again after the election, without Mr. Bryden, Pat Martin introduced another Private Member’s bill, Bill C-201, which reintroduced Mr. Bryden’s bill which had died. Mr. Martin’s bill was eventually withdrawn from priority by him after an agreement with the Minister of Justice that, in exchange for the withdrawal of the bill from priority, the government would introduce its own bill to reform the Access to Information Act.

That agreement has yet to be honoured by the government. On April, 2005, the Minister of Justice appeared before the House Standing Committee on Access, Privacy and Ethics, and announced that, instead of tabling a bill, he had decided to issue a "discussion paper" – A Comprehensive Framework for Access to Information Reform. This was a bitter disappointment to Pat Martin, who had only withdrawn his bill, on the understanding that a government bill would be forthcoming. Especially disappointing was the fact that the framework paper appears to be guided by the Delagrave Task Force report, which recommends additional limits to Access, rather than by the Bryden/Martin Bill.

The Standing Committee then took the unusual step of asking my office to produce a draft reform bill for its consideration, a request which I agreed to honour. Since that development, the Minister of Justice announced that he, too, would produce a draft bill this Fall.

At the same time, my appointment was ending – on June 30, 2005 – and my request to have it renewed for a further year, so that I might see the reform of this Act through, was being stalled despite the overwhelming vote of the House urging the government to renew my term for the year. At the eleventh hour, June 30th, I was given a three-month renewal, later extended to nine months, and the government announced that it was appointing an "eminent person" to advise the government on the efficacy of joining the offices of the Information and Privacy Commissioners.

I have respect for, and confidence in, Dr. Gérard La Forest, but it seems to me to be an odd time to be taking the focus away from the reform of the Act. It might cause a cynical person to believe that the government has thrown the "merger" idea on the table now, merely to justify stalling the reform process until after the next election.

Before I share with you the main items on my "wish list" for reform, I want to take a few moments to address this issue of merging the offices of the Privacy and Information commissioners under a single commissioner.

In 2003, as Parliament agonized over what to do with George Radwanski and how to revitalize a demoralized Privacy Commissioner’s Office, I issued a paper proposing that subsection 55(1) of the Privacy Act be triggered until the end of my term. That provision authorizes the appointment of the Information Commissioner as the Privacy Commissioner. I argued then for taking the single-commissioner approach at the federal level, for the short period until the end of my term, at which time some actual experience with the single-commissioner model could be assessed and the immediate Radwanski problem could be addressed.

When you issue a public paper, you have to be prepared for the reaction to it. I received, in response to my paper of October 2003, a great deal of thoughtful feedback from members of Parliament, members of the media, academics, access requesters, the interim Privacy Commissioner, and from my provincial colleagues. Almost everyone disagreed with me. They made a strong case for keeping two commissioners and, thereby, ensuring a vigorous public debate about resolving conflicts between privacy and openness rather than incestuous, in-house discussion leading to a single-commissioner position.

Those who commented on my proposal, reminded me that the leaders and citizens of Canada have been well-served by having separate commissioners fighting and advocating for the values of openness and privacy. We have, as a result, a healthier balance between these two values in Canada than does the United States, where freedom of information takes pride of place, or than does Great Britain, where privacy holds sway.

I have been impressed by these arguments; I have recanted; I no longer advocate the single-commissioner model. I accept that there are few shortcomings in the dual-commissioner model and I now admit that the dual-commissioner model is far less open to abuse than would be the single-commissioner model. In the single-commissioner model, it is certainly possible that one value – openness or privacy – would get preferential treatment. In the single-commissioner model, that which is most healthy in a democracy – public debate – gives way to internal, bureaucratic discussion and compromise.

And so, I tell you here, as I have recently told the government, through Dr. La Forest, that I no longer support or advocate the single-commissioner model. I believe that the public interest would not be served by moving to the single-commissioner model. Enough said! Now, I would like to get back to the business of real reform of the Access to Information Act.

To be worthy of the term "reform" any proposals to amend the ATIA must have the following features:

  • All exemptions should contain an injury test and be discretionary. As well, all exemptions should be subject to a public interest override. In this way, Parliament would send the clear message that this is an openness law not a secrecy code and that the default position is disclosure.
  • Public officials should be required to document their decisions, actions, considerations and deliberations. This law, this right of access, means nothing if public officials don’t keep appropriate records and conduct governance in an oral culture.
  • The last vestiges of unreviewable government secrecy – i.e. cabinet confidences – should be brought within the coverage of the law and the review jurisdiction of the Commissioner, by being made an exemption. Cabinet confidentiality risks being too broadly, and too self-servingly, applied by governments when it is free from independent oversight. We have had considerable experience in this.
  • The coverage of the Access law must be made comprehensive to all the mechanisms of government through which public funds are spent or public functions discharged. Of course, I refer here to all Crown Corporations, Foundations, Agents of Parliament as well as Ministers’ offices and the PMO. The right to know is at profound risk when governments have the discretion to decide which entities and, hence, which records, will be subject to the right of access and which will not.  The very purpose of the Access to Information Act was to remove the caprice from decisions about disclosure of government records; now we must remove the caprice from decisions about which entities will be subject to the Act.
  • Connected with this notion, that the coverage of the Act should be comprehensive, is the notion that the Act should be a complete code setting out the openness/secrecy balance. No longer should we permit secrecy provisions in other statutes to be mandatory, in perpetuity, without meeting any of the tests for secrecy in the Act’s substantive exemptions. Section 24 of the Access to Information Act, which sets out this open-ended, mandatory, class exemption, should be abolished.

And there are a host of other important changes such as:

  • setting out the roles and responsibilities of Access coordinators,
  • establishing incentives for respecting response deadlines, and
  • expanding the mandate of the Information Commissioner
  • The features I have outlined constitute the general framework of the reforms I will be tabling in Bill form with the Standing Committee on Access to Information, Privacy and Ethics at the end of this month. In many respects, they echo recommendations made by the CNA.

    The CNA deserves high praise for its careful attention to the state of health in Canada of the right to know. The right – including the role of my office – is under serious threat and I urge you to continue to be vigilant and active in the coming months to hold the government’s feet to the fire when it comes to improving the openness of government.

    There are others, too, who I am urging to do battle for a stronger Access to Information Act. One of these is Mr. Justice Gomery. As you know, the second element of Justice Gomery’s mandate is to make recommendations to prevent sponsorship and advertising mismanagement in future and to clarify the respective accountabilities and responsibilities of ministers and public servants. In his call for public input, Justice Gomery identifies the Access to Information Act as one of the accountability and transparency mechanisms about which he will make recommendations.

    As have many of you, I have been intrigued by what I have heard from the Gomery Commission witnesses so far. We have heard evidence about deliberate attempts to avoid keeping a paper trail of decisions, recommendations and actions.

    We have heard evidence about the direct involvement of PMO and ministers’ offices in the management of government programs.

    We have heard evidence about the subtle, and not so subtle, ways elected officials have of ensuring that program outcomes are driven by partisan preoccupation rather than public interest preoccupations.

    We have seen how access requests are stonewalled and ignored in order to save ministers and departments from embarrassment. And, most troubling of all, we have seen evidence that, in times of perceived national unity crisis, governments may feel that the obligation to be law abiding is optional and that ends come to justify any means.

    Now these glimpses into how governance in Canada worked at a particular time and in a particular program are profound reminders that the greater the transparency of governance the smaller the risk or opportunity for abuse of power.

    For that reason I urge Justice Gomery to look carefully at my blueprint for reform of the Access to Information Act and to support my calls of a requirement to keep records, making it clear that ministers’ offices and the PMO are subject to the right of access, building in incentives for timely responses, clarifying the roles and responsibilities of access coordinators and expanding the coverage of the Act to capture all public functions and expenditures of public funds.

    If it has not already done so, I urge the CNA to make its views in this regard known to Justice Gomery. I urge your members to do all in their power to keep this matter of accountability through transparency on the front burner during the election campaign which some would say is already underway.

    I will be forever grateful, humble and proud of the opportunity I have had to serve Canada as its Information Commissioner. Not only do I have a special opportunity to help enrich the quality of our democracy, I get an up close look at the hard and effective work others are doing towards that same end. At the top of the list in this category, I put the CNA. Kudos to its member publishers and to Canadian newspaper editors, columnists and reporters who, every day, using the Access to Information Act and otherwise, help make citizens more informed and governments more accountable.

    Thank you.

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Discours

Année


« Loi sur l’accès à l’information – la voie de l’avenir – point de vue d’un commissaire »

Je suis très heureux de prendre la parole devant vous aujourd’hui et de vous livrer mes impressions sur l’état de notre Loi sur l’accès à l’information. J’ai bien dit « notre » Loi sur l’accès à l’informationparce que j’estime qu’il est essentiel que nous, comme citoyens, journalistes, avocats et membres du grand public, n’oublions jamais que c’est notre loi. Ce n’est pas la loi du gouvernement; pas la loi des fonctionnaires; pas la loi du Cabinet et pas la loi du Premier ministre.

La Loiétait en quelque sorte le « don du pouvoir » conféré par le Parlement à chaque citoyen et chaque résident du Canada, et elle constitue, pour reprendre l’expression des tribunaux, la « pierre angulaire de notre démocratie ». Si elle devait être modifiée, et tous s’entendent pour dire qu’elle doit être modifiée, il faut que ce soit pour responsabiliser davantage les gouvernements et assurer davantage d’information aux citoyens. De plus, le processus même de modification de la Loidoit être mené sous le feu des projecteurs, à la vue de tous, et non pas par des consultants, des fonctionnaires et des ministres en vase clos.

Nous vivons des temps cruciaux pour notre démocratie et nos institutions démocratiques, et la Loi sur l’accès à l’informationfait partie de ces institutions. Il est devenu de plus en plus facile, depuis le 11 septembre 2001, de justifier, au nom de la sécurité, un secret de plus en plus répandu et une ingérence de plus en plus grande dans la vie privée. On a déjà joué la carte de la sécurité contre la Loi sur l’accès à l’information,et, dans son document cadre, le ministre de la Justice semble disposé à la jouer encore. Il est donc essentiel que nous abordions le processus de refonte de notre loi les yeux grand ouverts et armés d’un scepticisme à toute épreuve.

Comment en sommes-nous arrivés là? La Loi sur l’accès à l’informationa été promulguée le 1er juillet 1983. Depuis lors, malgré de nombreux appels lancés en faveur de sa refonte, elle est restée essentiellement la même. Une modification notable figure à l’article 67.1, qui interdit la destruction, la mutilation ou la modification d’un document, la falsification d’un document ou la création d’un faux document, la dissimulation d’un document ou le fait d’ordonner, de proposer, de conseiller ou d’amener une autre personne à commettre l’une des actions mentionnées plus haut dans le but d’entraver le droit d’accès prévu dans la Loi. La disposition a été incorporée à la Loi à la faveur d’un projet de loi d’initiative parlementaire déposé par Colleen Beaumier, députée libérale d’arrière-banc.

L’ancien député libéral John Bryden était un autre député d’arrière-banc qui a réclamé sans relâche la réforme de la Loi. Son projet de loi d’initiative parlementaire, le projet C-462, est passé en première lecture le 28 octobre 2003 et a reçu l’appui unanime de la Chambre lors de la deuxième lecture – pour mourir au Feuilleton avant les dernières élections. Lorsque le Parlement a repris ses travaux après les élections, sans M. Bryden, Pat Martin a déposé un autre projet de loi d’initiative parlementaire, le projet de loi C-201, lequel ramenait le défunt projet de loi de M. Bryden. M. Martin a par la suite accepté de retirer son projet de loi de la liste des travaux prioritaires à la faveur d’une entente intervenue entre lui et le ministre de la Justice, entente voulant que, s’il retirait son texte, le gouvernement déposerait son propre projet de loi de réforme de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Le gouvernement n’a pas encore rempli son engagement. En avril 2005, le ministre de la Justice comparaissait devant le Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique et annonçait qu’il avait décidé, au lieu de déposer un projet de loi, de diffuser un « document de travail », intitulé Document cadre visant la réforme de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. Cette décision a causé une vive déception à M. Martin, qui avait retiré son projet de loi uniquement parce qu’on lui avait dit que le gouvernement en déposerait un peu après. Il était d’autant plus décevant de constater que le document cadre semble fondé sur le rapport du groupe de travail Delagrave, lequel recommande d’autres restrictions à l’accès, au lieu du projet de loi Bryden et Martin.

Le Comité permanent a alors pris la décision inusitée de demander au Commissariat à l’information de produire une ébauche de projet de loi et de la lui soumettre, ce que j’ai accepté. Depuis lors, le ministre de la Justice a annoncé que lui aussi produirait un projet de loi cet automne.

En même temps, mon mandat devait prendre fin – le 30 juin 2005 –, et on tardait à répondre à ma demande de prolongation d’une année pour me permettre d’aller au bout du processus de réforme et ce, malgré le nombre très élevé de députés à la Chambre des communes en faveur d’une résolution exhortant le gouvernement à agir en ce sens. À la onzième heure, le 30 juin, on m’a accordé une prolongation de trois mois, ultérieurement prolongée à 9 mois, et le gouvernement annonçait la nomination d’une « personne éminente » pour le conseiller sur le bien-fondé de fusionner le Commissariat à l’information et le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée.

Je respecte Gérard La Forest, et je lui fais confiance, mais le moment m’apparaît mal choisi pour rejeter dans l’ombre la réforme de la Loi. Voilà qui pourrait amener les cyniques à croire que le gouvernement lance aujourd’hui l’idée de la fusion simplement pour justifier la mise en veilleuse du processus de réforme jusqu’après les prochaines élections.

Avant de vous faire part des principaux éléments sur ma liste de souhaits en ce qui concerne la réforme, j’aimerais prendre quelques instants pour aborder la question de la fusion du Commissariat à l’information et du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée en un seul.

En 2003, au moment où le Parlement cherchait désespérément quoi faire de George Radwanski et comment redonner vie à un Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée démoralisé, j’ai rendu public un document proposant que l’on invoque le paragraphe 55(1) de la Loi sur la protection de la vie privée jusqu’à la fin de mon mandat. La disposition autorise la nomination du Commissaire à l’information au poste de Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée. J’avais alors présenté des arguments en faveur de la nomination d’un seul commissaire fédéral pour la courte période menant jusqu’à la fin de mon mandat, en soutenant que le cumul permettrait une évaluation du modèle à un seul commissaire tout en apportant une solution immédiate au problème Radwanski.

Quand on diffuse un document public, on doit s’attendre à des réactions. J’ai reçu, en réponse à mon document d’octobre 2003, une grande quantité de commentaires judicieux de la part de députés, de représentants des médias, d’universitaires, de demandeurs, du Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée par intérim et de mes collègues provinciaux. Presque tous étaient en désaccord avec moi et ont présenté de solides arguments en faveur du maintien de deux commissaires et, par conséquent, du maintien d’un débat public vigoureux dans la résolution des conflits entre la protection de la vie privée et la transparence, au lieu d’un débat incestueux, interne, débouchant sur la position d’un seul commissaire.

Les gens qui ont fait des commentaires sur mon idée m’ont rappelé que les responsables et les citoyens du Canada ont été bien servis en ayant des commissaires distincts qui se battent et militent en faveur des valeurs de la transparence et du respect de la vie privée. Nous avons, par conséquent, un équilibre plus sain entre ces deux valeurs au Canada qu’aux États-Unis, où l’accès à l’information a la place d’honneur, ou qu’en Grande-Bretagne, où la protection de la vie privée tient le haut du pavé.

Ces arguments m’ont convaincu, et je suis revenu sur ma position : je ne préconise plus le modèle à un seul commissaire. Je conviens que le modèle à deux commissaires présente peu d’inconvénients, et je reconnais désormais que le modèle à deux commissaires prête beaucoup moins le flanc aux abus que le modèle à un commissaire. Avec un seul commissaire, il est certainement possible qu’une valeur – la transparence ou la protection de la vie privée – soit privilégiée. Avec un seul commissaire, l’aspect le plus sain de la démocratie, soit le débat public, est remplacé par les discussions et les compromis internes et bureaucratiques.

Pour ces raisons, je vous dis ici ce que j’ai récemment dit au gouvernement, par l’intermédiaire de M. La Forest, soit que je ne soutiens ou préconise plus le modèle à un commissaire. J’estime qu’il ne serait pas dans l’intérêt public d’adopter le modèle à un commissaire. Voilà! J’aimerais maintenant revenir à la question d’une réforme véritable de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.

Pour constituer une réforme digne de ce nom, toute proposition visant la modification de la Loi doit comporter les éléments suivants :

  • Toutes les exceptions devraient prévoir un critère fondé sur le préjudice et être de nature discrétionnaire. De plus, toutes les exceptions devraient être assujetties à la primauté de l’intérêt public. Ainsi, le Parlement indiquerait clairement qu’il s’agit d’une loi sur la transparence, et non pas d’une loi sur le secret, et que la communication constitue la position par défaut.
  • Les responsables gouvernementaux devraient être tenus de mettre par écrit leurs décisions, interventions, considérations et analyses. Cette loi, la loi sur l’accès à l’information, ne rime à rien si les responsables gouvernementaux ne tiennent pas les dossiers appropriés et gèrent les affaires publiques sous l’angle d’une culture orale.
  • Les derniers vestiges du secret gouvernemental inviolable – c.-à-d. les documents confidentiels du Cabinet – devraient être assujettis à la Loi et aux révisions du Commissaire, en étant considérés comme une exception. Le caractère secret des documents du Cabinet risque en effet d’être appliqué de manière trop large et trop intéressée par les gouvernements lorsqu’il est à l’abri d’un examen indépendant. Nous en avons fait maintes fois l’expérience.
  • La Loi sur l’accès à l’information devrait couvrir tous les mécanismes gouvernementaux qui dépensent des fonds publics ou qui mènent des opérations gouvernementales. Je parle évidemment de la totalité des sociétés d’État, des fondations, des agents du Parlement ainsi que des cabinets des ministres et du cabinet du Premier ministre. Le droit de savoir est gravement compromis lorsque les gouvernements ont le pouvoir de décider quelles institutions et, par conséquent, quels documents, sont assujettis au droit d’accès et quelles institutions et quels documents ne le sont pas. L’objet même de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information était l’élimination de l’arbitraire des décisions ayant trait à la communication de documents. Maintenant, nous devons éliminer l’arbitraire des décisions quant à quelles institutions sont assujetties à la Loi.
  • Dans le même ordre d’idées, soit un vaste champ d’application pour la Loi, la Loi devrait être un texte exhaustif, énonçant l’équilibre à trouver entre la transparence et le secret. Il ne devrait plus être possible que les dispositions relatives au secret figurant dans d’autres lois soient exécutoires jusqu’à la fin des temps et ce, sans avoir à remplir le moindre critère relatif au secret prévu dans les exceptions de fond de la Loi. L’article 24 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, où figure cette exception universelle et exécutoire, devrait être abrogé.
  • La réforme devrait aussi prévoir toute une série de changements importants, dont :

  • L’énonciation des rôles et des responsabilités des coordonnateurs de l’accès à l’information,
  • L’établissement d’incitatifs pour le respect des délais de traitement,
  • L’élargissement du mandat du Commissaire à l’information.
  • Les éléments que je viens d’énumérer constituent le cadre général des réformes que je déposerai sous forme de projet de loi auprès du Comité permanent de l’accès à l’information, de la protection des renseignements personnels et de l’éthique à la fin du mois. À bien des égards, ils reprennent les recommandations faites par l’Association canadienne des journaux.

    L’Asssociation mérite toute notre admiration pour l’attention soutenue qu’elle porte à l’état de santé du droit de savoir au Canada. Le droit – y compris le rôle du Commissariat – est sérieusement en péril, et je vous exhorte à rester vigilants et actifs au cours des prochains mois afin de maintenir les pressions exercées sur le gouvernement quand il s’agit d’accroître la transparence.

    J’invite aussi d’autres personnes et organisations à lutter en faveur du renforcement de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information. L’une d’elles est le juge Gomery. Ainsi que vous le savez, le deuxième élément du mandat du juge Gomery consiste à faire des recommandations visant à prévenir d’autres épisodes de mauvaise gestion dans le domaine des commandites et de la publicité à l’avenir et à clarifier les responsabilités respectives des ministres et des fonctionnaires. Dans son appel au public, le juge Gomery cite la Loi sur l’accès à l’information comme l’un des mécanismes de responsabilisation et de transparence au sujet desquels il fera des recommandations.

    Comme un bon nombre d’entre vous, j’ai été intrigué par ce qu’on dit les témoins à la Commission Gomery jusqu’à maintenant. Nous avons entendu des témoignages au sujet de tentatives délibérées d’éviter de garder une trace écrite de décisions, de recommandations et d’interventions.

    Nous avons entendu des témoignages au sujet d’interventions directes du cabinet du Premier ministre et de ministres dans la gestion de programmes gouvernementaux.

    Nous avons entendu des témoignages au sujet de moyens subtils et pas très subtils employés par des élus pour que les « produits » d’un programme servent des considérations partisanes, au lieu de considérations liées à l’intérêt public.

    Nous avons vu comment des demandes de communication ont pu se perdre dans les méandres du pouvoir ou être carrément rejetées aux oubliettes pour éviter des embarras à des ministres et des ministères. Et, l’élément le plus dérangeant de tout cela, nous avons eu des preuves à l’effet que, en temps de crise d’unité nationale perçue, les gouvernements peuvent sentir que le respect de la loi est facultatif et que la fin justifie les moyens.

    Aujourd’hui, ces aperçus du mode de gouvernance au Canada à un moment particulier et dans le cadre d’un programme en particulier viennent profondément nous rappeler que, plus un mode de gestion est transparent, moindres sont les risques ou les occasions d’abus de pouvoir.

    C’est pourquoi j’exhorte le juge Gomery à examiner attentivement mon plan directeur de réforme de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à appuyer mes appels en faveur de l’obligation de tenir des dossiers en voyant à ce qu’il soit clairement indiqué que les cabinets des ministres et le cabinet du Premier ministre sont assujettis au droit d’accès, à ce que soient créés des incitatifs pour le traitement des demandes de communication dans les délais, à ce que soient clarifiés les rôles et les responsabilités des coordonnateurs de l’accès à l’information et à ce que soit élargi le champ d’application de la Loi de manière à englober toutes les opérations gouvernementales et les engagements de fonds publics.

    J’incite l’Association canadienne des journaux, si elle ne l’a pas déjà fait, à faire connaître ses vues au juge Gomery à ces égards. J’incite vos membres à tout mettre en œuvre pour garder la question de la reddition de comptes par la transparence à la une pendant la campagne électorale, laquelle, d’après certains, est déjà en cours.

    Je serai toujours ravi, honoré et fier d’avoir pu servir le Canada en tant que commissaire à l’information. Ce poste m’a permis de contribuer à l’enrichissement de la qualité de notre démocratie tout en m’offrant la chance de voir de près le travail acharné et efficace accompli par d’autres personnes et organisations en fonction du même but. Et j’inscris l’Association canadienne des journaux au haut de cette liste. Chapeau à ses éditeurs membres et aux rédacteurs en chef, chroniqueurs et journalistes canadiens qui, chaque jour, ont recours à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et d’autres moyens pour mieux informer les citoyens et responsabiliser davantage les gouvernements.

    Je vous remercie.